• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Slow as LAN transfer rate

Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Bendigo,vic,AUS
System Name Aztec-PC
Processor Celery prescott 2.66Ghz @ 3.50Ghz
Motherboard ga-73vm-s2 (Gigabyte Socket 775, Nforce 410i)
Cooling Stock (from a dell :P)
Memory 2x1GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 8600GT 512MB DDR2
Storage 1x160GB seagate SATA, some IDE crap
Display(s) dont ask (CRT, flat)
Case NFI
Audio Device(s) realtek HD
Power Supply Antec Neo HE 430W
Software Vista x64 / XP 32 dual boot
Benchmark Scores ~50S in superpi 1M, ~4K in 3dm06
#1
Ok... If you look in my system specs, you'll notice i dont have the greatest computer.
But whenever soemone dumps/leeches stuff of my computer it goes really slow.
Mussels has had a look at it, Tried almost everything... And the best we can do is get it to speed up a little.

Here is what we have tried:
Reformatted and installed XP
Put a gigabit PCI card in/made it slower
New harddrive/partitions and installed vista
Swapped Lan cables

I dont know about the rest, If you think you know how to fix this issue post here.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#2
might just be the network/router or possibily its just your cpu/ram/etc depending on the speed and what not.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Bendigo,vic,AUS
System Name Aztec-PC
Processor Celery prescott 2.66Ghz @ 3.50Ghz
Motherboard ga-73vm-s2 (Gigabyte Socket 775, Nforce 410i)
Cooling Stock (from a dell :P)
Memory 2x1GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 8600GT 512MB DDR2
Storage 1x160GB seagate SATA, some IDE crap
Display(s) dont ask (CRT, flat)
Case NFI
Audio Device(s) realtek HD
Power Supply Antec Neo HE 430W
Software Vista x64 / XP 32 dual boot
Benchmark Scores ~50S in superpi 1M, ~4K in 3dm06
#3
Evil

Ive ran my computer on a few switches and they still run like ****.
:banghead:
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#4
id say Vista tbh

mines exactly the same ,a max of about 7mb/s copy large files over my network,strangely tho if i use 1 of my xp based PC's then send it from there to the vista pc i get 11mb/s but only 7mb/s the other way around.
 

panchoman

Sold my stars!
Joined
Jul 16, 2007
Messages
9,595 (2.52/day)
Likes
1,148
Processor Amd Athlon X2 4600+ Windsor(90nm) EE(65W) @2.9-3.0 @1.45
Motherboard Biostar Tforce [Nvidia] 550
Cooling Thermaltake Blue Orb-- bunch of other fans here and there....
Memory 2 gigs (2x1gb) of patriot ddr2 800 @ 4-4-4-12-2t
Video Card(s) Sapphire X1950pro Pci-E x16 @stock@stock on stock
Storage Seagate 7200.11 250gb Drive, WD raptors (30/40) in Raid 0
Display(s) ANCIENT 15" sony lcd, bought it when it was like 500 bucks
Case Apevia X-plorer blue/black
Audio Device(s) Onboard- Why get an sound card when you can hum??
Power Supply Antec NeoHe 550-manufactured by seasonic -replacement to the discontinued smart power series
Software Windows XP pro SP2 -- vista is still crap
#5
id say Vista tbh

mines exactly the same ,a max of about 7mb/s copy large files over my network,strangely tho if i use 1 of my xp based PC's then send it from there to the vista pc i get 11mb/s but only 7mb/s the other way around.
hmm interesting.. i wonder if thats the answer and solution?

maybe you want to test the speeds on windows and then on ubuntu live.
 
Joined
Oct 18, 2008
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
2
Location
Bendigo,vic,AUS
System Name Aztec-PC
Processor Celery prescott 2.66Ghz @ 3.50Ghz
Motherboard ga-73vm-s2 (Gigabyte Socket 775, Nforce 410i)
Cooling Stock (from a dell :P)
Memory 2x1GB DDR2 800 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) 8600GT 512MB DDR2
Storage 1x160GB seagate SATA, some IDE crap
Display(s) dont ask (CRT, flat)
Case NFI
Audio Device(s) realtek HD
Power Supply Antec Neo HE 430W
Software Vista x64 / XP 32 dual boot
Benchmark Scores ~50S in superpi 1M, ~4K in 3dm06
#6
The transfer speed is faster after i installed vista.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#7
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#8

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
good post, i forgot to make this thread for you.

To re-iterate what she said with a few extra facts.

1. Original setup was XP and onboard 100Mb lan. Transfer speed was 3MB/s average.
2. Second setup was vista + PCI gigabit card. Speed was ~500KB/s
3. Vista w/ onboard lan, max speed is 5-6MB/s

We have changed switches, cables, OS, drivers, and network cards. I seriously cant think of anything else.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#10
You might want to define slow, and tell us what kind of "leeching". ie is it Windows file sharing? Is it FTP? Some other application? Does the issue exist in other applications as well? Any network devices in between? Siwtch/hub? Collisions? etc
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.55/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#11
It could be as simple as bad cables betwen the router and the PC.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#13
If the onboard is 10/100, 5-6MB/s isnt all that slow. My old setup with my old router (10/100) peaked at around 9MB/s.
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,230 (1.49/day)
Likes
661
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#14
if mussels try first that mean there is no much idea's but there is maybe somethings like
did you use ftp cables or utp and what about rg's is it good
sometimes pci lan do some problems so try other driver for lan
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#15
if mussels try first that mean there is no much idea's but there is maybe somethings like
did you use ftp cables or utp and what about rg's is it good
sometimes pci lan do some problems so try other driver for lan
Unless they put the cable through a microwave and/or are extremely long (nearing the 100M limit) there isn't much difference between ftp and utp on 100Mbit networks. Getting around 10MB/s should be healthy.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#16
You can try this and if don't do it for ya, you can turn it back on. It may go a little faster, but I don't think it will hit light speed...

Start >> Control Panel >> Programs and Features

Click on " Turn windows features on or off" on the left side of the panel

Takes a sec to load all the features

Uncheck "Remote Differential Compression"

And here is an explanation of it. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa372948.aspx
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
557 (0.15/day)
Likes
118
Processor i7 920
Motherboard SABERTOOTH X58
Cooling Fans
Memory 24 GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) gtx460
Storage spinners
Display(s) Dell 2001F
Case Lian Li
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply X750
Software win 7 x64 pro
Benchmark Scores fast...
#17

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#18
try turning off the onboard LAN in BIOS
Tried that initially, when i had only the gigabit card.


You can try this and if don't do it for ya, you can turn it back on. It may go a little faster, but I don't think it will hit light speed...

Start >> Control Panel >> Programs and Features
Click on " Turn windows features on or off" on the left side of the panel
Takes a sec to load all the features
Uncheck "Remote Differential Compression"

And here is an explanation of it. http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/aa372948.aspx
I've tried that before with success, however we had this problem in XP as well as vista, and XP doesnt have remote differential compression. It might be worth a try anyway.

A few others in this thread need to read posts, as we DID swap lan cables, and all were under 5 meters long.

Pinchy: other systems on that network with 100Mb cards get 9-10MB/s flat. She has a 610i chipset (not 410i, that was a typo) with an Nvidia network card. I dont think its that weak, that 5MB/s is its best.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,274 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,361
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#19
What is the CPU utilization like while transfering? Maybe the NIC is using so much CPU that the Celeron can't handle it, though I doubt that is the case, it is worth a look.

Also, have you disabled all firewalls, including the one installed with the nVidia chipset drivers(if you chose to install it)?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#20
What is the CPU utilization like while transfering? Maybe the NIC is using so much CPU that the Celeron can't handle it, though I doubt that is the case, it is worth a look.

Also, have you disabled all firewalls, including the one installed with the nVidia chipset drivers(if you chose to install it)?
All firewalls are off. XP/vistsa/kaspersky (which was installed after initial tests only).

We didnt install the bonus NV things, god those are terrible.


CPU usage isnt showing to be high in task manager - but that was our conclusion in the end as well. Unfortunately, the only way to find out if its the CPU or not is to buy one - and thats proving harder than it should be, to get CPU's for around $50-$75 au
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#21
Pinchy: other systems on that network with 100Mb cards get 9-10MB/s flat. She has a 610i chipset (not 410i, that was a typo) with an Nvidia network card. I dont think its that weak, that 5MB/s is its best.
Yeah 5MB/s is pretty weak. I know mine used to average at around 8MB/s and as I said top out at like 9, but thats because my hardware was poor. (no name router, old cables)

and thats proving harder than it should be, to get CPU's for around $50-$75 au
Dang it pick up the e1200 from MSY for $65 :p!
 
Joined
Nov 14, 2007
Messages
1,773 (0.48/day)
Likes
232
Location
Detroit, MI
Processor Intel i7 4790k
Motherboard Gigabyte z97X-Gaming 7
Memory 4x4GB Kingston/Micron DDR3 665mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) AMD HD7930
Storage Intel 180GB SSD (boot), Intel 240GB SSD, 2x Samsung 512GB SSD's, Hitachi 2TB HDD
Display(s) 27" Qnix PLS LCD @1440, 27" Samsung Syncmaster@1080, 24" HP EliteDisplay @1200
Power Supply Corsair Modular HX620w
Software Windows 10 Pro
#22
Got fresh drivers? I've had weird NIC and onboard LAN problems before that were solved by picking drivers (somewhat compatible) from the list in the Add Hardware Wizard. Not sure why it worked, but sticking on other drivers, having them fail, then reloading the correct ones have solved something like this for me before.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#23
Got fresh drivers? I've had weird NIC and onboard LAN problems before that were solved by picking drivers (somewhat compatible) from the list in the Add Hardware Wizard. Not sure why it worked, but sticking on other drivers, having them fail, then reloading the correct ones have solved something like this for me before.
we tried the ones provided with windows for the giga, and the Nvidia ones for the Nforce onboard.

Pinchy: I've never liked MSY. their website is... well, you know.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,525
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#24
We've managed to fix this problem, by only doing network transfers one way.

If she copies files from over the network, she now gets 12MB/s - at 90-100% CPU usage. If we try and copy files to her PC, it slows to 3MB/s and her CPU lags out.