• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Slow Computer Problem And Also My DVD Drive Freezing When I Put CD/DVD's In The Drive

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#1
About a week ago, I built my new computer. When I was all done and finished, I turned on the computer and it was taking forever to get onto Windows and also I noticed my DVD Drive not reading CD/DVD. My computer would freeze and nothing would happen. I seriously don't know what's causing this. Help on this please?

I have a

ASUS M2N-SLI

AMD Athlon X2 4600 (2.4GHz)

2GB Corsair Twin RAM, PC2-6400

INNO3D GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB

600W Magna PSU
 
Joined
May 10, 2007
Messages
1,396 (0.36/day)
Likes
124
Location
London, England
#2
Did you reinstall Windows on the machine, or did you just keep an old install?
Also, that, not being able to read CDs/DVDs, make sure it's even found by the BIOS (should show up in a page in the BIOS menu, or when the PC is doing the POST), because otherwise, it might be that it's not connected, or not selected as Master/Slave as it should be, could be a load of reasons, even that the DVD drive has failed.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#3
I re-installed Windows and it finds it in the BIOS set as Primary IDE Slave. It worked on my previous computer but until now I put it with my new upgrade, it don't want to work.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#4
Can anyone help me out please?
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#5
what dvd drive is it? btw go update your system specs! :)
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#6
It's a Pioneer DVD R/RW x8. I have a ASUS M2N-SLi, AMD Athlon X2 4600, 2GB Corsair PC2-6400 RAM, 500GB Seagate HDD SATA II, NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS 640MB, 600w Magna PSU (17Amps)
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#7
i can't find that psu! but the 8800gts requires a Minimum of a 400 Watt power supply.
(Minimum recommended power supply with +12 Volt current rating of 26 Amps.) so the psu is underpowered for sure! but it hanging idk!

my computer would hang on my samsung sh-182d drive and i got a rma and that fixed it! as you have said you have already reformatted, and that didn't fix it right?
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#8
I formatted but still nothing, same result in other words. Do you think it's my PSU? I was having a conversation with a friend of mine and he said it might be the number of amps in my PSU and when I told him that it has 17A, he said "you're joking right?" then he said it most likely might be my PSU that's causing my computer to run slow and stuff.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#9
Doubt it's your PSU if it's at boot up, probably a device or cabling error causing a time-out. I ran across the same thing when I had a power plug or cable issue with my DVD (I'm still not sure if it was power or cable, but that fixed it).

Check your cables carefully (take them out and plug them back in)
Jumpers (master/slave/cs drive settings)
You sharing a HDD with the DVD on the same IDE channel?
Defective DVD rom (that does happen) - try a different one
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#10
I've checked my cables numerous times, checked the jumper settings, they are all correct. My DVD Drive is Master on the primary IDE and my CD Rom drive is Slave, my HDD is by itself on SATA II.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2004
Messages
33 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Location
Trebinje, BiH
Processor Q6600@3.2 1.3v
Motherboard Asus P5K
Cooling Scythe Mugen 2
Memory 2x2GB Kingston HyperX 1066Mhz
Video Card(s) Palit 4850 Sonic 1GB
Storage 640GB WD Blue + 1TB WD Green
Display(s) SAMSUNG 21" 1100p+ CRT :-D
Case Custom with 5 fans
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Chieftech 450W
Software ...
#11
Try to disconnect your DVD, and see what happens.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#12
I will try that.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#13
yeah, it isn't your psu! but it wouldn't hurt to get a better one with more amps, it does sound like a dvd issue! if it is then you can get a sata dvd drive.....
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#14
I've checked my cables numerous times, checked the jumper settings, they are all correct. My DVD Drive is Master on the primary IDE and my CD Rom drive is Slave, my HDD is by itself on SATA II.
Try cable select for both - failing that:

Try disconnecting the slave unit, and then set the slave to master and run it alone.

Try another cable?

Jump off a bridge?
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#15
Nope, nothing still. I even took out everything and re-built it back in but nothing, same result. DVD R/RW is on Master and CD ROM is on Slave on the same IDE and HDD on SATA II.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#16
Did you try unplugging the whole channel and booting? Just to make sure it's a time-out with the DVD or CD...

Perhaps you have a faulty drive.
 

freaksavior

To infinity ... and beyond!
Joined
Dec 11, 2006
Messages
8,086 (2.01/day)
Likes
889
System Name Absolute Zero | M.A.S.S
Processor Intel i7 4770k | i7 920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z87X-UD4H | EVGA X58 FTW3 SLI
Cooling Phanteks ph-tc14pe | CM 212+ Push Pull
Memory Mushkin 16Gb at 2400Mhz | Corsair Vengence 6x8Gb=48Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA SC GTX 770 2Gb | Nvidia 7300GT
Storage Sandisk 256Gb Ultra Plus x 2 raid0 + 72.12 500Gb | Intel 320 80Gb 2x1.5Tb, 2x2Tb 2x.5Tb + 3 x6Tb
Display(s) Samsung 245BW + Asus PB278Q + Samsung 40" 650A | None
Case NZXT H630 |Rosewill 8bay 4u server chasiss
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar HDAV + GTX770 | Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone DA800 | Rocketfish 700w aka fsp
Software Windows 7 ultimate X64 | Debian 7 wheezy
#17
Did you try unplugging the whole channel and booting? Just to make sure it's a time-out with the DVD or CD...

Perhaps you have a faulty drive.
it sound like a faulty drive! so i second that!
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#18
The drive can't be faulty because it worked fine in my old system.
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2005
Messages
9,800 (2.23/day)
Likes
3,786
Location
Manchester, NH
System Name Working on it ;)
Processor I7-4790K
Motherboard MSI Z97
Cooling Be Quiet Pure Rock Air
Memory 16GB 4x4 G.Skill CAS9 2133 Sniper
Video Card(s) Intel IGP (Dedicated GPU TBD)
Storage WD 320 / 500KS / 500KS / 640KS / 640LS / 640LS / 640LS / 1TBFAEX and a NAS with 2x2Tb WD Black
Display(s) 24" DELL 2405FPW
Case Rosewill Challenger
Audio Device(s) Onboard + HD HDMI
Power Supply Corsair HX750 (love it)
Mouse Logitech G5
Software Win 7 Pro
#19
Try each drive separately?

Grasping at straws.