• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Some heads up..

xnox202

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2006
Messages
276 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Location
Brunei Darussalam
Processor AMD Opteron 146 [[300x10 @ 1.50v]]
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF3 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake 760i Bigwater Cooling Kit
Memory Cheapo Apacer, 1GB DDR-400 [[250Mhz 3-4-4-8 1T @ 2.7v]] W00T!
Video Card(s) Backup VGA, GeForce FX5500 256MB.
Storage WD3200 320GB 16MB IDE HDD / Maxtor DM9 120GB SATA HDD x2
Display(s) Compal F708 17" CRT Monitor
Case Antec 900 Gaming Case Rev. 1
Audio Device(s) Onboard Soundcard
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 500W Modular PSU
Software Windows XP Professional (Service Pack 2)
#1
Guys, I'm just wondering.. What's a bus width again? I'm not sure. Lets say, I have a Athlon 64, so to say its a 64bit bus width cpu?

Pretty weird actually but, i'm having this weird hardware lesson at the moment, and it says in the notes i'm reading at the moment, pentium 4 with 256 bus width, wtf? :ohwell:

P/S: I'm at my school now. lol, I'm thinking there's alot of wrong points written in this hardware notes. and the teacher does well explaining it. :lol:. I may have to attach the notes probarbly up here to let some of you guys read.
 

xnox202

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2006
Messages
276 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Location
Brunei Darussalam
Processor AMD Opteron 146 [[300x10 @ 1.50v]]
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF3 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake 760i Bigwater Cooling Kit
Memory Cheapo Apacer, 1GB DDR-400 [[250Mhz 3-4-4-8 1T @ 2.7v]] W00T!
Video Card(s) Backup VGA, GeForce FX5500 256MB.
Storage WD3200 320GB 16MB IDE HDD / Maxtor DM9 120GB SATA HDD x2
Display(s) Compal F708 17" CRT Monitor
Case Antec 900 Gaming Case Rev. 1
Audio Device(s) Onboard Soundcard
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 500W Modular PSU
Software Windows XP Professional (Service Pack 2)
#2
Instructor continues saying Pentium 4 has faster cpu bandwidth than Athlon 64. Hmm, I need some a little bit of understanding here about different cpus and how to calculate bandwidths and stuff. Isn't pentium 4 supposed to compete with Athlon XP, thus Athlon 64 should be better than pentium 4? or something? :slap:
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#3
Instructor continues saying Pentium 4 has faster cpu bandwidth than Athlon 64. Hmm, I need some a little bit of understanding here about different cpus and how to calculate bandwidths and stuff. Isn't pentium 4 supposed to compete with Athlon XP, thus Athlon 64 should be better than pentium 4? or something? :slap:
Ok, what the 64 in A 64 refers to is the capability of the CPU to process 64 bit. Oh and btw, the bus on core 2's, A 64, P4, is 64 bits. Which is why current architecture is called X86-64, not X86-128.
 

xnox202

New Member
Joined
Dec 12, 2006
Messages
276 (0.07/day)
Likes
2
Location
Brunei Darussalam
Processor AMD Opteron 146 [[300x10 @ 1.50v]]
Motherboard DFI Lanparty UT NF3 Ultra-D
Cooling Thermaltake 760i Bigwater Cooling Kit
Memory Cheapo Apacer, 1GB DDR-400 [[250Mhz 3-4-4-8 1T @ 2.7v]] W00T!
Video Card(s) Backup VGA, GeForce FX5500 256MB.
Storage WD3200 320GB 16MB IDE HDD / Maxtor DM9 120GB SATA HDD x2
Display(s) Compal F708 17" CRT Monitor
Case Antec 900 Gaming Case Rev. 1
Audio Device(s) Onboard Soundcard
Power Supply Enermax Liberty 500W Modular PSU
Software Windows XP Professional (Service Pack 2)
#4
so if the cpu is capable to process 64bit, does it relates to the bus width?
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#5
Ok, what the 64 in A 64 refers to is the capability of the CPU to process 64 bit. Oh and btw, the bus on core 2's, A 64, P4, is 64 bits. Which is why current architecture is called X86-64, not X86-128.
Except for the fact that a 64bit CPU has nothing to do with any bus, it's internal. The width of a bus basically is the amount bits that are sent every clock. This applies to any bus, agp, pci (x/e) FSB etc.
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2007
Messages
3,962 (1.00/day)
Likes
184
Location
Severn, MD, USA.
Processor C2D T7200@2 ghz vcore: .9875
Motherboard generic laptop board
Cooling fan control and antec notebook cooler
Memory 2 GBs@ 533 mhz ddr2
Video Card(s) x1400 mobile, overclocked: 526mhz core/ 882mhz ddr
Storage 120 GB@ 5400 rpm fujitsu
Display(s) 15.4" 1440x900
Audio Device(s) integrated
Software vista 32 bit home premium
#7
Except for the fact that a 64bit CPU has nothing to do with any bus, it's internal. The width of a bus basically is the amount bits that are sent every clock. This applies to any bus, agp, pci (x/e) FSB etc.
Yeah, I was just saying that A 64 had the 64 in it because it signified it could process 64 bits.

@xnox: the original p4 design couldn't process 64 bits but had a 64 bit bus. Same with p3.