1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Strange overvoltage problem has started today.....

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by HookeyStreet, Oct 26, 2007.

  1. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    I usually run my Q6600 G0 @ 3.4GHz (1.45v) 24/7 with no problems. But today, I turn my system on and it immediately powers down! It does this one more time, then boots on the 3rd, because the BIOS has now reset to default (2.4GHz, 1.25v) So I go back into the BIOS and select my normal settings (the ones that give me 3,4GHz and 1.45v) and yet again I get the same problem!

    How could this problem suddenly develop after shutting down my system last night? Does anyone know what the problem could be?

    PS: right now Im running it at stock voltage, fsb 370, giving my a speed of 3.33GHz on the CPU.....alls fine!?!?!? Has my CPU suddenly stopped liking 3.4GHz/1.45v!?!?!?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Richieb0y

    Richieb0y New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    471 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    The Netherlands Almere
    have u rest ur CMOS LOL at gigabyte mobo whit my DS3 i had never probs but whit this 1 i cant clock over 3ghz i mean it can but i cant runs orthos no matter what volts i set

    and now u have troubles to
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. HookeyStreet

    HookeyStreet Eat, sleep, game!

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Messages:
    7,123 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    524
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, England
    TBH I havent m8, do you think that would help? Also Im using the F10 BIOS, do you think I should upgrade to the F11?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,413 (1.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    156
    Location:
    England
    Try a lower voltage at the same frequency. It should have burnt in, which allows for lower voltages, I think. I dunno, I'll have a look in my uber-leet OCing guide I got yesterday.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. DRDNA

    DRDNA

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2006
    Messages:
    5,523 (1.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,206
    Location:
    New York
    I would focus on possibly ram and ram settings ...try going to one stick for kicks...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)