• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Super simple noob question: How do I group multiple Chrome.exe windows into 1 in Windows 11?

Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
639 (0.12/day)
Location
Norway, which means Amazon is not available...
System Name Winter v3.2024
Processor Intel i7 12700K (since november 2021)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X (since november 2021)
Cooling Air Liquid Freezer II 360 with LGA1700 kit (since november 2021)
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x16gb 3600mhz C16 (since november 2021)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3060 Ti Gaming OC Pro LHR - Rev3.0 (since july 2022)
Storage 1x 1TB WD Blue SN570 SSD, 1x Seagate 4TB SATA
Display(s) 1x 55" LG C1 4k OLED, 1x Gigabyte 32" M32Q and 2x AOC 27" CG1
Case Fractal Design Define R6 (since 2018 and still working like a charm!)
Power Supply Corsair RM850x black (since august 2022)
Mouse Razor Deathadder v2 (since december 2021)
Keyboard Varmilo VEA109 v2 MX Silent Red (since august 2022)
Software Windows 11 Pro
On Windows 11, I had it so everytime i opened up a new chrome.exe, it was grouped together instead of a new task/window for each chrome.exe, meaning when i hovered the mouse cursor over it, it showed all the tabs and windows... But when Windows 11 was installed, that grouping method was gone...

I simply want all my chrome.exes in 1 window, but how do i do this?

I tried to google in both english and my language, but i couldn't get figure out how to do this... Any ideas?!
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,697 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Sounds like your shortcut is broken or stuck on new window.

Left click and hold the tab of your current window then drag the tab (not the window) to the other chrome window and it will merge them.

 
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
639 (0.12/day)
Location
Norway, which means Amazon is not available...
System Name Winter v3.2024
Processor Intel i7 12700K (since november 2021)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X (since november 2021)
Cooling Air Liquid Freezer II 360 with LGA1700 kit (since november 2021)
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x16gb 3600mhz C16 (since november 2021)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3060 Ti Gaming OC Pro LHR - Rev3.0 (since july 2022)
Storage 1x 1TB WD Blue SN570 SSD, 1x Seagate 4TB SATA
Display(s) 1x 55" LG C1 4k OLED, 1x Gigabyte 32" M32Q and 2x AOC 27" CG1
Case Fractal Design Define R6 (since 2018 and still working like a charm!)
Power Supply Corsair RM850x black (since august 2022)
Mouse Razor Deathadder v2 (since december 2021)
Keyboard Varmilo VEA109 v2 MX Silent Red (since august 2022)
Software Windows 11 Pro
Sounds like your shortcut is broken or stuck on new window.

Left click and hold the tab of your current window then drag the tab (not the window) to the other chrome window and it will merge them.

Apologies for explaining it badly/wrong.

What i meant was to group these separate chrome.exe's into one task. Meaning that when i have 2 chrome.exe opened, they are grouped instead of like on the picture below. Not the tabs within chrome, as that part works like it should.

Here's what i am talking about:
into1.jpg
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
18,903 (2.87/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling Be Quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 2 x 16GB Kingston Fury 3400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT Speedster MERC 319
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Black SN750 2TB |WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB | Seagate Expansion 8TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J590U 4K + BenQ GL2450HT 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones, Nektar SE61 keyboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850x v3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 1.0 TKL Brown
VR HMD Acer Mixed Reality Headset
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Rimworld 4K ready!
Apologies for explaining it badly/wrong.

What i meant was to group these separate chrome.exe's into one task. Meaning that when i have 2 chrome.exe opened, they are grouped instead of like on the picture below. Not the tabs within chrome, as that part works like it should.

Here's what i am talking about:
View attachment 317917

That's how Win11 works. Always group, no choice. Unless there is some third party software that does it.
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,697 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Apologies for explaining it badly/wrong.

What i meant was to group these separate chrome.exe's into one task. Meaning that when i have 2 chrome.exe opened, they are grouped instead of like on the picture below. Not the tabs within chrome, as that part works like it should.

Here's what i am talking about:
View attachment 317917

oh yeah

go to

1697576363968.png


and change it to "Never" and it should make it how you want. I just tested it.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
2,467 (2.14/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master Hyper 103 or similar
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless non-mesh
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
oh yeah

go to

and change it to "Never" and it should make it how you want. I just tested it.
That option only came in the 23H2 service pack.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
639 (0.12/day)
Location
Norway, which means Amazon is not available...
System Name Winter v3.2024
Processor Intel i7 12700K (since november 2021)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X (since november 2021)
Cooling Air Liquid Freezer II 360 with LGA1700 kit (since november 2021)
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x16gb 3600mhz C16 (since november 2021)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3060 Ti Gaming OC Pro LHR - Rev3.0 (since july 2022)
Storage 1x 1TB WD Blue SN570 SSD, 1x Seagate 4TB SATA
Display(s) 1x 55" LG C1 4k OLED, 1x Gigabyte 32" M32Q and 2x AOC 27" CG1
Case Fractal Design Define R6 (since 2018 and still working like a charm!)
Power Supply Corsair RM850x black (since august 2022)
Mouse Razor Deathadder v2 (since december 2021)
Keyboard Varmilo VEA109 v2 MX Silent Red (since august 2022)
Software Windows 11 Pro
oh yeah

go to

View attachment 317923

and change it to "Never" and it should make it how you want. I just tested it.

That option only came in the 23H2 service pack.

Ahh, that'd do the trick, but i don't have that option... How can i get that update to my Windows 11? I have 22H2 and I tried running Windows Update, but it didn't fetch me that update....
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,697 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
that doesnt appear to be correct info.

I am currently running

Edition Windows 11 Pro
Version 22H2
Installed on ‎7/‎20/‎2023
OS build 22621.2428
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22674.1000.0

I am just doing normal updates. I do however have:

1697578265575.png


since this is my main machine and I dont run insider builds on it.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
639 (0.12/day)
Location
Norway, which means Amazon is not available...
System Name Winter v3.2024
Processor Intel i7 12700K (since november 2021)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X (since november 2021)
Cooling Air Liquid Freezer II 360 with LGA1700 kit (since november 2021)
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x16gb 3600mhz C16 (since november 2021)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3060 Ti Gaming OC Pro LHR - Rev3.0 (since july 2022)
Storage 1x 1TB WD Blue SN570 SSD, 1x Seagate 4TB SATA
Display(s) 1x 55" LG C1 4k OLED, 1x Gigabyte 32" M32Q and 2x AOC 27" CG1
Case Fractal Design Define R6 (since 2018 and still working like a charm!)
Power Supply Corsair RM850x black (since august 2022)
Mouse Razor Deathadder v2 (since december 2021)
Keyboard Varmilo VEA109 v2 MX Silent Red (since august 2022)
Software Windows 11 Pro
that doesnt appear to be correct info.

I am currently running

Edition Windows 11 Pro
Version 22H2
Installed on ‎7/‎20/‎2023
OS build 22621.2428
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22674.1000.0

I am just doing normal updates. I do however have:

View attachment 317930

since this is my main machine and I dont run insider builds on it.
Okay, after i restarted, it did an update and now i also see the options you see.

However, apologies AGAIN for sucking at explaining things properly. :(

Let me try again...

I want to have my 2 Chrome tasks/windows GROUPED into 1. Meaning that when i open up a new Chrome.exe, it will be grouped under one task instead of having another window/task next to the other chrome.exe... Did it make any sense now, or?
winows.jpg
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,697 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
Okay, after i restarted, it did an update and now i also see the options you see.

However, apologies AGAIN for sucking at explaining things properly. :(

Let me try again...

I want to have my 2 Chrome tasks/windows GROUPED into 1. Meaning that when i open up a new Chrome.exe, it will be grouped under one task instead of having another window/task next to the other chrome.exe... Did it make any sense now, or?
View attachment 317933

?? don't apologies, never underestimate how stupid I can be.

I mean that should be default behavior. Mine looks like this.

1697579146512.png


is that what your meaning?

Even with multiple you can see the stacking, but on mouse over it will show both.

1697579181457.png


You do this by setting the option I mentioned above to "always".
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 15, 2009
Messages
639 (0.12/day)
Location
Norway, which means Amazon is not available...
System Name Winter v3.2024
Processor Intel i7 12700K (since november 2021)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Gaming X (since november 2021)
Cooling Air Liquid Freezer II 360 with LGA1700 kit (since november 2021)
Memory Crucial Ballistix 2x16gb 3600mhz C16 (since november 2021)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3060 Ti Gaming OC Pro LHR - Rev3.0 (since july 2022)
Storage 1x 1TB WD Blue SN570 SSD, 1x Seagate 4TB SATA
Display(s) 1x 55" LG C1 4k OLED, 1x Gigabyte 32" M32Q and 2x AOC 27" CG1
Case Fractal Design Define R6 (since 2018 and still working like a charm!)
Power Supply Corsair RM850x black (since august 2022)
Mouse Razor Deathadder v2 (since december 2021)
Keyboard Varmilo VEA109 v2 MX Silent Red (since august 2022)
Software Windows 11 Pro
?? don't apologies, never underestimate how stupid I can be.

I mean that should be default behavior. Mine looks like this.

View attachment 317934

is that what your meaning?

Even with multiple you can see the stacking, but on mouse over it will show both.

View attachment 317935

You do this by setting the option I mentioned above to "always".
Got it to work now. Thanks for the help.

I apologised because i have always had trouble explaining things, even in my main language (which isn't english)...

But yeah, that did the trick, so thank you for the help! :)

Thread SOLVED!
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
2,467 (2.14/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master Hyper 103 or similar
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless non-mesh
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
that doesnt appear to be correct info.

I am currently running

Edition Windows 11 Pro
Version 22H2
Installed on ‎7/‎20/‎2023
OS build 22621.2428
Experience Windows Feature Experience Pack 1000.22674.1000.0

I am just doing normal updates. I do however have:

View attachment 317930

since this is my main machine and I dont run insider builds on it.
A-ha. I have the exact same versions of everything but the "get the latest updates" option turned off, which must be the reasaon that both "combine buttons" settings are missing in my 22H2.

Whatever it may be, sources such as Bleeping Computer said the setting was added in 23H2.
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,697 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
A-ha. I have the exact same versions of everything but the "get the latest updates" option turned off, which must be the reasaon that both "combine buttons" settings are missing in my 22H2.

Whatever it may be, sources such as Bleeping Computer said the setting was added in 23H2.

Good to know they were wrong in this case.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2021
Messages
2,467 (2.14/day)
Location
Slovenia
Processor i5-6600K
Motherboard Asus Z170A
Cooling some cheap Cooler Master Hyper 103 or similar
Memory 16GB DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) IGP
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250GB
Display(s) 2x Oldell 24" 1920x1200
Case Bitfenix Nova white windowless non-mesh
Audio Device(s) E-mu 1212m PCI
Power Supply Seasonic G-360
Mouse Logitech Marble trackball, never had a mouse
Keyboard Key Tronic KT2000, no Win key because 1994
Software Oldwin
Good to know they were wrong in this case.
They weren't actually wrong; this setting didn't exist in Win 11 until August 2023 or so. But they "backported" it to 22H2. I can confirm that, after turning "get the latest updates" on and getting KB5030509 (this), I got it too.
 

Solaris17

Super Dainty Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
25,697 (3.80/day)
Location
Alabama
System Name Rocinante
Processor I9 13900ks
Motherboard EVGA z690 Dark KINGPIN
Cooling EK-AIO Elite 360 D-RGB
Memory 64GB Gskill Trident Z5 DDR5 6000 @6400
Video Card(s) MSI SUPRIM Liquid X 4090
Storage 1x 500GB 980 Pro | 1x 1TB 980 Pro | 1x 8TB Corsair MP400
Display(s) Odyssey OLED G9 G95SC
Case Lian Li o11 Evo Dynamic White
Audio Device(s) Moondrop S8's on Schiit Hel 2e
Power Supply Bequiet! Power Pro 12 1500w
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis (White)
Keyboard Monsgeek M3 Lavender, Akko Crystal Blues
VR HMD Quest 3
Software Windows 11
Benchmark Scores I dont have time for that.
They weren't actually wrong; this setting didn't exist in Win 11 until August 2023 or so. But they "backported" it to 22H2. I can confirm that, after turning "get the latest updates" on and getting KB5030509 (this), I got it too.

Yes I didn't respond with more detail since I was mobile. They may be correct in that it will be baked into 23Hx but it is not exclusive too 23Hx builds. "Backporting" also isn't a correct word.

The features are not back ported. Features are worked on in tandem to the core OS and is part of Micosofts big push since 8 for modularity. With 11 being the best iterative example so far. The example itself being that features no longer need to be "baked" into "builds" but instead can be presented as either feature or cumulative updates. Beating 8 and 10 which needed "seasonal" or bi annual "build" updates to present the same feature functionality as the insider/look ahead programs.

Its important to make these distinctions, something bleeping did not as this ability is a pretty big core part about the OSs evolution as a whole.

In that regard bleeping was well wrong. But so was my defense in calling it such.

As you can see this explanation of the nuance is a little difficult to put into words when I'm ordering a sub.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
18,903 (2.87/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling Be Quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 2 x 16GB Kingston Fury 3400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT Speedster MERC 319
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Black SN750 2TB |WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB | Seagate Expansion 8TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J590U 4K + BenQ GL2450HT 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones, Nektar SE61 keyboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850x v3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 1.0 TKL Brown
VR HMD Acer Mixed Reality Headset
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Rimworld 4K ready!
Top