• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

system restore, no cd

booner

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
hi, is it possible to do a system restore on xp without the cd? i was told that it was possible to download a tool to do a restore.
Reason i want to do this is my pc says all that ' not genuine windows' and ' pc could be at risk', type stuff, which im sure is down to some malware on my pc, and just wondered if a restore would aid removal of this malware?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,096 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,523
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
thats not malware, thats one of two things

1. you have a pirated copy of windows and got caught

2. your system clock is wrong (wrong year, most likely) and has made windows think its pirated
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
415 (0.13/day)
Likes
40
Location
Pakistan
System Name Mean Machine
Processor Intel Core i5 2400 at 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus can't remember the model
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 103
Memory Kingston 4GB 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 1 GB
Storage WD Cavier SEII 3200AAKS 320 GB and Seagate 500 GB
Display(s) HP X22 LED
Case Generic
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Audigy
Power Supply Cooler Master Real Power Pro 650W
Software Pro/E, Delcam Powermill, These things just for work.
#3
Malware?????????? LOLzzzzzzz

Dear check your copy of Windows.
 

booner

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#4
well i bought my pc(and all that goes with it) from pc world nearly four years ago and it has been fine up until the last 6 months, presumably pc world are a bone fide outlet, i am a bit confused by all this, oh and by the way, im not your 'dear', and was looking for something abit more intelligent from this thread than that. you both failed to answer my first question regarding system restore also,:ohwell:
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.29/day)
Likes
2,801
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#5
Mussels did not fail, those two are answers are very common with what you are describing. You can try to go back to a system restore point located in the help folder in control panel. Have you created any recent restore points?
 

booner

New Member
Joined
Aug 26, 2009
Messages
27 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#6
maybe im not explaining it properly, im not the most conversant with pc's, but i want to basically wipe my computer and 'start again', i seem to remember doin it once before but needed to use the apropriate cd but cannot seem to find it, i was under the impression it could be downloaded or something?
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2009
Messages
1,129 (0.35/day)
Likes
128
Location
Christchurch New Zealand
System Name My Computer!
Processor AMD 6400+ Black @ 3.5
Motherboard Gigabyte AM2+ GA-MA790X DS4
Cooling Gigabyte G-Power 2 pro
Memory 2x2 gig Adata 800
Video Card(s) HD3870x2 @ 900gpu and 999mem
Storage 2x wd raid edition 120gig + 1 samsung 320 + samsung 250
Display(s) Samsung 40inch series6 full HD 1080p
Case NZXT Lexa
Audio Device(s) ALC889A HD audio with Enables a Superior Audio Experience (on board)
Power Supply Vantec ION2+ 550w
Software Vista Home pream 64
#7
go into add remove programs and uninstall microsoft genuine advantage tool
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#8
maybe im not explaining it properly, im not the most conversant with pc's, but i want to basically wipe my computer and 'start again', i seem to remember doin it once before but needed to use the apropriate cd but cannot seem to find it, i was under the impression it could be downloaded or something?
You should be able to do a system restore through windows in the Control Panel.


If you lost the CD, you can call or email Microsoft Customer Service and get a new one for a small fee. Start here: http://support.microsoft.com/gethelp/default.aspx?content=kb;en-us;322389
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#9
What troyrae360 said, un-install the WGA and the message should go away, this will probably "break" some updates that Windows "has done"/"will preform" that required system validation.
Also if when you bought your computer it did not came with a copy of Windows (even if a recorded OEM one) and an unique serial number then your Windows is not a genuine one (pirated).
And you can't "reset" the system the way you want to (complete system clean) without a Windows CD.

On a side note, check if there is some sticker on your computer case that looks like this

if you find one, then I say (and this is me saying) that it's ok to download a copy of Windows (same version that you have now) from the internet, recorded it and use the serial that was shipped with your computer (at least this does not seem that illegal to me, it would just be like a backup copy right?), but if there is no sticker, then there is nothing (at least legal) that you can do either then install some copy of Windows 7 RC (maybe?).