• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 Released

Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
658 (0.12/day)
higher leakage = higher temps but higher OC
Lower leakage=lower temps but usually low OC.

Bad leakage? that is not even a type of leakage. Every transistor has some type of leakage, that is why ES CPUs in previous gens to SB OC so much higher, because usually they had unlock TDPs. I woudl actually expect the higher binned cards for the same type to have lower ASIC if the leakage is what they say is quality of the silicon.

My ref gigabyte GTX 570 is 89.7%

i don't think ASIC refers to just leakage.
overclockers should want higher as higher leakage transistors usually can work faster, that is why they use them in very critical parts of teh GPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,213 (0.98/day)
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni The Great White Dragon in Zen Glass
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900X "ZEN2"
Motherboard MSI B450 Gaming Pro Carbono AC
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24
Memory Geil Dragon 4x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC)
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid | Sapphire Radeon RX 590 Nitro+ Special Edition
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | LG 55UK6100PLB IPS 4K HDR
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail)
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK-Logitech G305
Software Win10 Pro UK x64
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
658 (0.12/day)
BTW right now Ivy bridge has an issue where the leakage is just crazy, so its air/water clocks are coming out like SB. but on LN2 its like amazing compared to all previous intel platforms IMO. .
 

cristian.a

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
System Name pheny
Processor Phenom II x 2 550 c3
Motherboard Foxconn A85GM
Cooling stock
Memory 4 x 1 GB DDR2 800 Mhz Saikano "kisoku"
Video Card(s) IGP HD 4200
Storage Wester Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB 16 MB cache
Display(s) LCD LG W1943TE
Case I DON`T HAVE :(
Audio Device(s) EDIFIER X100
Power Supply Saikano "Kanzen" Mass 500w
Software WINDOWS 7 X64
my radeon hd 6670 gddr5, say popup "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card." :wtf:

Why, why, why ????????

edit:
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,700 (0.47/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 7800X 4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Silverstone Tundra Lite
Memory 32Gb Corsair 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 SC icx
Storage PNY M.2 480GB Seagate 4TB
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w
Software Windows 10 Home
Which one? The ASIC percentage is simply read off the chip.
And how do you do that? When I click the question mark I get the window to start the test, I just want to get the ASIC reading.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,011 (8.60/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise


Stock volts. I've been running it like this since I got it. Water block should be here next week, hopefully it likes some extra volts. :)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,012 (1.04/day)
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
And how do you do that? When I click the question mark I get the window to start the test, I just want to get the ASIC reading.
Right click the title bar of the window (where it says TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8) to open a context menu that has the ASIC reading option.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,700 (0.47/day)
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 7800X 4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Silverstone Tundra Lite
Memory 32Gb Corsair 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 SC icx
Storage PNY M.2 480GB Seagate 4TB
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w
Software Windows 10 Home

jaredpace

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
Can you get vrm temperature sensor readings for the 7970 in gpuz?
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,747 (0.62/day)
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard ASRock X399 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling Alphacool LT240
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 4x8GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 1
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Mouse Razer Naga (2014)
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
So, who's got the lowest ASIC quality? My first 470 reads a massive 36.9%, which sounds about right. It was never a strong overclocker. Default VID of 1.037V can be overclocked to 725/1800 at stock volts or 775/1900 at 1.087V. Nothing too spectacular. Best I've ever gotten it was 850/1900 at I think 1.15V. It wasn't 100% stable and the card alone drew more than 400W in Furmark. (Don't worry I had the AXP on it and it never got above 75°C, worry about the VRMs though.)

My other 470 with a quality of 60.9% is a little better. Default VID is 0.975V. 725/1800 at 0.975V and 775/1900 at 1.037V.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,145 (1.02/day)
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
It doesn't work for me on 6990s, it says "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card."
Same on an ASUS 6970 DirectCU II
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
137 (0.04/day)
Location
Cheonan, South Korea
Processor R5 2600
Motherboard MSI B450M Mortar
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 3200mhz no RGB shenanigans
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Storage Adata SX8200Pro 512gb + 1TB + 2TB Seagate Desktop
Display(s) Samsung S24F350
Case Cooler master Q300L
Power Supply Corsair CX600v3
Mouse Loigtech G402
Keyboard Corsair Strafe non-RGB
my radeon hd 6670 gddr5, say popup "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card." :wtf:

Why, why, why ????????

edit:
It doesn't work for me on 6990s, it says "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card."
Same on an ASUS 6970 DirectCU II

Didn't you read this? "The next new feature is ASIC quality, designed for NVIDIA Fermi (GF10x and GF11x GPUs) and AMD Southern Islands (HD 7800 series and above),"
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,145 (1.02/day)
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
Nope sorry, totally missed it :)
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
88 (0.02/day)
Location
AR, USA
Processor AMD 2700 @ 4.0GHz all-core
Motherboard Asrock X470 Taichi
Cooling EK Fluid Gaming A240R + Extra 240 Rad
Memory 2x8GB GSkill DDR4-3533 CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon Vega 64 @ 1672MHz
Storage HP EX920 1TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) MSI Optix G24C 1080p 144Hz 24", Dell P2214H 22" 1080p LCD
Case Fractal Design Focus G Red
Power Supply Rosewill Hive 750S 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
I got 97.4% on an EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Core FTW
Currently running factory overclocked 797/975/1594 @ 1.013 V

This seems exceptionally good, am I right? Which would seem to support EVGA doing binning.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
278 (0.08/day)
System Name MSI GT72S 6QE
Processor Core i7 6820HK
Motherboard Intel Sunrise Point CM236
Cooling 2 fans
Memory 2x 8 GB SO-DIMM DDR4-RAM (2133 MHz)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M - 8192 MB
Storage 1 ssd 3 hard drives
Display(s) 17.3 inch 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel, LG Philips LP173WF4-SPF1 (LGD0469), IPS, Full HD
Case ??!!!
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC899
Power Supply most beautiful brick you have ever seen
I got 97.4% on an EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Core FTW
Currently running factory overclocked 797/975/1594 @ 1.013 V

This seems exceptionally good, am I right? Which would seem to support EVGA doing binning.
Yea well my POS Gigabyte gtx 460 which has given me a lot of headaches has an ASIC quality of 110.3%. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
231 (0.05/day)
System Name Uh, my build?
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz (3.9GHz turbo)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (F8 BIOS)
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD7970 3GB 1GHz Core/5.5GHz Memory
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 960GB & 2TB WD Black & 1TB WD Green
Display(s) 1x Samsung 23" Syncmaster P2350 1x LG 23"
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard now since store didn't RMA properly
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 - P8456 - http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3372758
ASIC quality reading is not supported on this card.
:(
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
88 (0.02/day)
Location
AR, USA
Processor AMD 2700 @ 4.0GHz all-core
Motherboard Asrock X470 Taichi
Cooling EK Fluid Gaming A240R + Extra 240 Rad
Memory 2x8GB GSkill DDR4-3533 CL16
Video Card(s) Radeon Vega 64 @ 1672MHz
Storage HP EX920 1TB NVMe SSD
Display(s) MSI Optix G24C 1080p 144Hz 24", Dell P2214H 22" 1080p LCD
Case Fractal Design Focus G Red
Power Supply Rosewill Hive 750S 80+ Bronze
Software Windows 10 Pro 64bit
Yea well my POS Gigabyte gtx 460 which has given me a lot of headaches has an ASIC quality of 110.3%. :ohwell:
I wonder where Wizz is pulling this number from and what it was originally meant to represent?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
20,202 (3.48/day)
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
I wonder where Wizz is pulling this number from and what it was originally meant to represent?
it's from the gpu silicon, and it's used to calculate the gpu voltage.

"bad" gpus get a higher voltage so they make the default clock. "good" gpus can do it with lower voltage

as you've seen in this thread, the scale for nvidia isnt perfect yet, so i'll apply some fixes once I have more data that suggests the typical ranges of gpu leakages
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.28/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
it's from the gpu silicon, and it's used to calculate the gpu voltage.

"bad" gpus get a higher voltage so they make the default clock. "good" gpus can do it with lower voltage

as you've seen in this thread, the scale for nvidia isnt perfect yet, so i'll apply some fixes once I have more data that suggests the typical ranges of gpu leakages
Any chance for some old card support ? Like the HD5770 ?
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,953 (1.97/day)
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher
Processor E5 2683 v3
Motherboard ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32 GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
Curious to see what my two GTX 580's would show:



Looks like my second card should oc better than my first one in the SLI setup.

Thanks W1zz for this nice little enhancement:toast:
 

jaredpace

New Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2009
Messages
165 (0.04/day)
wiz any word on AMD 7900 series vrm temperature sensor readings in the next gpuz
 

cristian.a

New Member
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
System Name pheny
Processor Phenom II x 2 550 c3
Motherboard Foxconn A85GM
Cooling stock
Memory 4 x 1 GB DDR2 800 Mhz Saikano "kisoku"
Video Card(s) IGP HD 4200
Storage Wester Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB 16 MB cache
Display(s) LCD LG W1943TE
Case I DON`T HAVE :(
Audio Device(s) EDIFIER X100
Power Supply Saikano "Kanzen" Mass 500w
Software WINDOWS 7 X64

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
7,141 (1.28/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen7 1300X 4.0GHz
Motherboard MSI X470 Gaming Plus
Cooling Noctua
Memory Gskil TridentZ RGB DDR4 3000MHz RAM
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech LanAir Pro.
Audio Device(s) Denon AVR3802
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/jkke77][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/jkke77-2.png[/img][/url]
Top