• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8 Released

Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
658 (0.13/day)
Likes
78
#76
higher leakage = higher temps but higher OC
Lower leakage=lower temps but usually low OC.

Bad leakage? that is not even a type of leakage. Every transistor has some type of leakage, that is why ES CPUs in previous gens to SB OC so much higher, because usually they had unlock TDPs. I woudl actually expect the higher binned cards for the same type to have lower ASIC if the leakage is what they say is quality of the silicon.

My ref gigabyte GTX 570 is 89.7%

i don't think ASIC refers to just leakage.
overclockers should want higher as higher leakage transistors usually can work faster, that is why they use them in very critical parts of teh GPU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
5,002 (1.02/day)
Likes
1,681
Location
Whatever my internet protocol shows I guess O.o
System Name Lynni and The Great White Dragon in Tempered Glass | Lynni-Stick
Processor Intel Core i7-8086K (Coffee Cups) | Intel Atom X5-Z8300 "Cherry Trail"
Motherboard ASRock Z370 Taichi (Bios: P3.20 Disabled Intel ME modded by R-T-B) | Intel Compute Stick board
Cooling Fractal Design Celsius S24 | Fan xD
Memory Geil Dragon 2x8GB@3000mhz 15-17-17-35 (GWW416GB3000C15DC) | 2GB DDR3-L @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Nvidia GTX 1080 Ti FE "Pascal" Hybrid Core/Mem: +130MHz GPU Boost: 2000MHz+ | Intel HD Graphics
Storage OS/Games:Samsung 970 EVO 500GB NVME|Samsung EVO 850 1TB SSD|Data:3xWD Red/Purple 4TB & WD SE 1TB
Display(s) Dell S2417DG 1440p@165hz G-Sync | Philips 50PFT4009/12
Case Phantek Eclipse P400 Black/White | Intel Compute Case
Audio Device(s) Audio-Technica A550Z @ Creative Sound Blaster Z (Retail) | Intel HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair SF600 | Generic Intel Power Adapter (3amp)
Mouse Logitech G502 | Logtech MK270 kit
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK | Logitech MK270 kit
Software Win10 Pro SCU UK x64 | Win10 Home SCU x86
Benchmark Scores Time Spy: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/33868867?
#77
Joined
Sep 4, 2005
Messages
658 (0.13/day)
Likes
78
#78
BTW right now Ivy bridge has an issue where the leakage is just crazy, so its air/water clocks are coming out like SB. but on LN2 its like amazing compared to all previous intel platforms IMO. .
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name pheny
Processor Phenom II x 2 550 c3
Motherboard Foxconn A85GM
Cooling stock
Memory 4 x 1 GB DDR2 800 Mhz Saikano "kisoku"
Video Card(s) IGP HD 4200
Storage Wester Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB 16 MB cache
Display(s) LCD LG W1943TE
Case I DON`T HAVE :(
Audio Device(s) EDIFIER X100
Power Supply Saikano "Kanzen" Mass 500w
Software WINDOWS 7 X64
#79
my radeon hd 6670 gddr5, say popup "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card." :wtf:

Why, why, why ????????

edit:
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,691 (0.52/day)
Likes
305
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 7800X 4.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Silverstone Tundra Lite
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 SC
Storage PNY M.2 480GB Crucial M500 WD Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#80
Which one? The ASIC percentage is simply read off the chip.
And how do you do that? When I click the question mark I get the window to start the test, I just want to get the ASIC reading.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,839 (9.31/day)
Likes
18,827
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake Core X5
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster Zx
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse Finalmouse Pro
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
#82


Stock volts. I've been running it like this since I got it. Water block should be here next week, hopefully it likes some extra volts. :)
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,010 (1.16/day)
Likes
1,669
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 Ti Hybrid SC2 11GB @ 2012/5151 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
#83
And how do you do that? When I click the question mark I get the window to start the test, I just want to get the ASIC reading.
Right click the title bar of the window (where it says TechPowerUp GPU-Z 0.5.8) to open a context menu that has the ASIC reading option.
 
Joined
Apr 10, 2010
Messages
1,691 (0.52/day)
Likes
305
Location
London
System Name Jaspe
Processor i7 7800X 4.3Ghz
Motherboard MSI X299 Gaming Pro Carbon AC
Cooling Silverstone Tundra Lite
Memory 16Gb Corsair 3200mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 SC
Storage PNY M.2 480GB Crucial M500 WD Velociraptor
Display(s) AOC Q2778VQE
Case In Win GRone
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec Signature 650
Software Windows 10 Home
#84
Joined
Mar 6, 2008
Messages
2,729 (0.68/day)
Likes
1,385
Location
Minnesota
System Name I Dub Thee Infinity
Processor AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X
Motherboard ASRock X399 Phantom Gaming 6
Cooling Alphacool LT240
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V 4x8GB 3000MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti SC+
Storage SanDisk Ultra Plus 256GB, OCZ V2 180GB, 2x Toshiba X300 5TB RAID 1
Display(s) Acer XB270HU
Case Cooler Master HAF X
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium + Sennheiser HD598 + Klipsch ProMedia 2.1
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 850W
Mouse Razer Naga (2014)
Keyboard Gigabyte Aivia Osmium (MX Brown)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#86
So, who's got the lowest ASIC quality? My first 470 reads a massive 36.9%, which sounds about right. It was never a strong overclocker. Default VID of 1.037V can be overclocked to 725/1800 at stock volts or 775/1900 at 1.087V. Nothing too spectacular. Best I've ever gotten it was 850/1900 at I think 1.15V. It wasn't 100% stable and the card alone drew more than 400W in Furmark. (Don't worry I had the AXP on it and it never got above 75°C, worry about the VRMs though.)

My other 470 with a quality of 60.9% is a little better. Default VID is 0.975V. 725/1800 at 0.975V and 775/1900 at 1.037V.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,145 (1.17/day)
Likes
916
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
#87
It doesn't work for me on 6990s, it says "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card."
Same on an ASUS 6970 DirectCU II
 
Joined
Jun 13, 2011
Messages
137 (0.05/day)
Likes
23
Location
Cheonan, South Korea
Processor Intel Core i5 3570K @stock
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen 3 (fried) | Asrock B75M
Cooling Corsair H100i (usless with B75 mobo)
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 480 Nitro+ 4GB
Storage Patriot Ignite 240GB + 1TB + 2TB Seagate Desktop
Display(s) Samsung S24F350
Case Corsair Carbide 300R Windowed
Power Supply Corsair CX600v3
Mouse Loigtech G402
Keyboard CM Storm Quickfire Ultimate blue switch | Corsair Strafe non-RGB
#88
my radeon hd 6670 gddr5, say popup "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card." :wtf:

Why, why, why ????????

edit:
It doesn't work for me on 6990s, it says "ASIC quality reading not supported on this card."
Same on an ASUS 6970 DirectCU II

Didn't you read this? "The next new feature is ASIC quality, designed for NVIDIA Fermi (GF10x and GF11x GPUs) and AMD Southern Islands (HD 7800 series and above),"
 
Joined
Oct 26, 2011
Messages
3,145 (1.17/day)
Likes
916
Processor 8700k Intel
Motherboard z370 MSI Godlike Gaming
Cooling Triple Aquacomputer AMS Copper 840 with D5
Memory TridentZ RGB G.Skill C16 3600MHz
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 Ti
Storage Crucial MX SSDs
Display(s) Dell U3011 2560x1600 + Dell 2408WFP 1200x1920 (Portrait)
Case Core P5 Thermaltake
Audio Device(s) Essence STX
Power Supply AX 1500i
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win10
#89
Nope sorry, totally missed it :)
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
87 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
AR, USA
System Name Uberputer2
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K (turbo @ 4.4GHz)
Motherboard MSI Z64MA-ED55
Cooling CM Hyper212+
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon R9 290X
Storage Corsair Force F80A SSD, 3TB Seagate 7200rpm (ST3000DM001-ICH116)
Display(s) Yamakasi Catleap Q270SE 27" LED 1440p, Dell S2209W 22" 1080p LCD
Case Fractal Design Define Mini
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#90
I got 97.4% on an EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Core FTW
Currently running factory overclocked 797/975/1594 @ 1.013 V

This seems exceptionally good, am I right? Which would seem to support EVGA doing binning.
 
Joined
Jun 24, 2010
Messages
270 (0.09/day)
Likes
156
System Name MSI GT72S 6QE
Processor Core i7 6820HK
Motherboard Intel Sunrise Point CM236
Cooling 2 fans
Memory 2x 8 GB SO-DIMM DDR4-RAM (2133 MHz)
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce GTX 980M - 8192 MB
Storage 1 ssd 3 hard drives
Display(s) 17.3 inch 16:9, 1920x1080 pixel, LG Philips LP173WF4-SPF1 (LGD0469), IPS, Full HD
Case ??!!!
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC899
Power Supply most beautiful brick you have ever seen
#91
I got 97.4% on an EVGA GTX 560 Ti 448 Core FTW
Currently running factory overclocked 797/975/1594 @ 1.013 V

This seems exceptionally good, am I right? Which would seem to support EVGA doing binning.
Yea well my POS Gigabyte gtx 460 which has given me a lot of headaches has an ASIC quality of 110.3%. :ohwell:
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2008
Messages
231 (0.06/day)
Likes
23
System Name Uh, my build?
Processor Intel Core i7 3770k 3.5GHz (3.9GHz turbo)
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H (F8 BIOS)
Cooling Coolermaster Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD7970 3GB 1GHz Core/5.5GHz Memory
Storage SanDisk Extreme Pro 960GB & 2TB WD Black & 1TB WD Green
Display(s) 1x Samsung 23" Syncmaster P2350 1x LG 23"
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard now since store didn't RMA properly
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W
Software Win 10 Pro 64bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 - P8456 - http://3dmark.com/3dm11/3372758
#92
ASIC quality reading is not supported on this card.
:(
 
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
87 (0.03/day)
Likes
21
Location
AR, USA
System Name Uberputer2
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K (turbo @ 4.4GHz)
Motherboard MSI Z64MA-ED55
Cooling CM Hyper212+
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3-1600 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) HIS Radeon R9 290X
Storage Corsair Force F80A SSD, 3TB Seagate 7200rpm (ST3000DM001-ICH116)
Display(s) Yamakasi Catleap Q270SE 27" LED 1440p, Dell S2209W 22" 1080p LCD
Case Fractal Design Define Mini
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#93
Yea well my POS Gigabyte gtx 460 which has given me a lot of headaches has an ASIC quality of 110.3%. :ohwell:
I wonder where Wizz is pulling this number from and what it was originally meant to represent?
 

W1zzard

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
May 14, 2004
Messages
18,707 (3.46/day)
Likes
20,973
Processor Core i7-4790K
Memory 16 GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1080
Display(s) 30" 2560x1600 + 19" 1280x1024
Software Windows 7
#94
I wonder where Wizz is pulling this number from and what it was originally meant to represent?
it's from the gpu silicon, and it's used to calculate the gpu voltage.

"bad" gpus get a higher voltage so they make the default clock. "good" gpus can do it with lower voltage

as you've seen in this thread, the scale for nvidia isnt perfect yet, so i'll apply some fixes once I have more data that suggests the typical ranges of gpu leakages
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,712 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,047
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
#95
it's from the gpu silicon, and it's used to calculate the gpu voltage.

"bad" gpus get a higher voltage so they make the default clock. "good" gpus can do it with lower voltage

as you've seen in this thread, the scale for nvidia isnt perfect yet, so i'll apply some fixes once I have more data that suggests the typical ranges of gpu leakages
Any chance for some old card support ? Like the HD5770 ?
 

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,819 (2.14/day)
Likes
5,369
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i9 7980XE / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard ASUS ROG STRIX X299 XE / ASRock X99 Extreme4/3.1
Cooling EK RGB Monoblock / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32 GB 3200 / G.Skill Trident Z 32 GB
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / Old ATI card
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case TT Core V51 / Rosewell
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / Thermaltake 550
Software Ubuntu 18.04 / Ubuntu 16.04
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#96
Curious to see what my two GTX 580's would show:



Looks like my second card should oc better than my first one in the SLI setup.

Thanks W1zz for this nice little enhancement:toast:
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2010
Messages
13 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
System Name pheny
Processor Phenom II x 2 550 c3
Motherboard Foxconn A85GM
Cooling stock
Memory 4 x 1 GB DDR2 800 Mhz Saikano "kisoku"
Video Card(s) IGP HD 4200
Storage Wester Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB 16 MB cache
Display(s) LCD LG W1943TE
Case I DON`T HAVE :(
Audio Device(s) EDIFIER X100
Power Supply Saikano "Kanzen" Mass 500w
Software WINDOWS 7 X64
#99

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,712 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,047
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Top