• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Thinking of setting up a HTPC

Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#1
Hi guys,

I have a few spare parts lying around, enough to make a e8400 system, i'm either going to sell it or make a HTPC and hook it up to my network and TV.

Having never done this before, i have no idea what i need in terms of TV card and what it would be capable of.

Ideally i would like to be able to use Windows media centre and have the ability to pause and record TV... is that possible?

I have seen an AVerTV Volar GO for a fairly reasonable price, would this be capable of doing what i want or would i need something different? Is there anything else i would need? i see it comes with a Remote, but i'm guessing, this wouldn;t be compatible with Windows media centre, right?

Thanks for any help guys.
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#2
Just check your HTPC video out and TV-set video IN matching. Ideal is HDMI, becaos it ports sound + video. If the TV is older you might need Composite or S-Video out on your videocard.

For recording, an USB HDTV part is enough.

Remotes: I only use a small wireless keyboard with mousepad for everything from the sofa (passwords, internet surfing, youtube searching, file exploring...). I have already too many remotes anyway and I never used the included remotes of TV-cards or sticks (I must have about 6 unused then :) .
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#3
Just check your HTPC video out and TV-set video IN matching. Ideal is HDMI, becaos it ports sound + video. If the TV is older you might need Composite or S-Video out on your videocard.

For recording, an USB HDTV part is enough.

Remotes: I only use a small wireless keyboard with mousepad for everything from the sofa (passwords, internet surfing, youtube searching, file exploring...). I have already too many remotes anyway and I never used the included remotes of TV-cards or sticks (I must have about 6 unused then :) .
Cool, thx.

Yea i will get an 5xxx with hdmi for the TV, is it practical to use this kind of setup as my primary tv viewing experience? i.e. watch TV and do everything else through the HTPC so i can stick to one remote?
 
Joined
Mar 24, 2010
Messages
4,571 (1.62/day)
Likes
917
Location
Independent in Imperialistic
System Name Oh the name!
Processor i7 7700K
Motherboard MSI Z270 Xpower
Cooling EK 360 Extreme
Memory 16Gb G.Skill TridentZ 3866
Video Card(s) nVidia 1080 Ti Flanders Edition
Storage 1 Intel PCIE SSD750, 2 Sam 840Evo 1TB SSD, WD Black 2TB, Toshiba 3TB
Display(s) Acer Predator X1 (32")
Case Rajintek Paean
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair AX860
Mouse Mad Catz Pro X
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software W10Pro
#4
yes, I doo. Switch the TV on with its remote and forget it.

But depending on your HTPC hardware, of course it can take longer to boot up and you have to wait more to play music, or TV or movies... But in my case I have a low end 4 core AMD whatever processor, but with nearly no shit programms installed and it boots very fast compared to a much more powerfull desktop but with dozens of peripherals and software.

Good luck
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#5
You need to do a little more investigation about the TV recording thing. In the United States anyway, depending on how you receive your TV programming, you may or may not be able to record it with a PC. If you get your programming over with air with an antenna, you can likely record it. If you get your programming from a cable TV provider or a satellite TV provider, you will likely not be able to record it. How do you receive your TV programming?
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,621 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#6
i'm getting cable piped down a regular coax cable, just like the antenna. No decoder or anything and afaik it's not digital.

Should work, right?
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#7
Yes, you should be able to record it if it analog cable TV. You need to buy a TV tuner card that has an analog cable TV tuner in it. Be careful to purchase a card with that kind of tuner.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2008
Messages
922 (0.28/day)
Likes
281
Location
Akron, OH
System Name Main Rig
Processor Athlon 5350
Motherboard AsRock mITX
Memory 4gb
Storage 120gb Kingston HyperX SSD
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 740N
Power Supply Corsair 430 watt
#8
You will also need to research whether or not Media Center is able to get TV program listings for where you are. If you can not get those from the Internet, you will not be able to search or record by program name, which greatly reduces the usefulness of Media Center.
 

brandonwh64

Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!
Joined
Sep 6, 2009
Messages
19,516 (6.46/day)
Likes
6,937
Location
Chatsworth, GA
System Name The StarCrunch Defender! | X58 Cruncher!
Processor I7 6700K @ STOCK | Intel I7-920
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 | Alienware MS-7543 X58
Cooling Corsair A70 Push/Pull | Corsair H50
Memory Crucial Ballistix DDR4 2400 MHz | Pereema 3x2GB DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Gaming G1 GTX 1070 | Gigabyte 7970 3GB
Storage 2x Samsung Pro 256GB M.2 SSD's in Raid 0 | 4TB Western Digital SATA drive
Display(s) ViewSonic VG2227wm 1080P | OLD viewsonics
Case NZXT Tempest 410 Elite | NZXT Source 210
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair 750TX | Enermax Liberty 500W
Mouse MX518 | MX502
Keyboard TESORO Mechanical | ANZO Mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro on both
#9
While using spare parts would be nice for a HTPC but wouldn't a E8400 get very hot using quite cooling?

Honestly I would look at a cheap sandy bridge CPU with a H61 Motherboard and 4GB of DDR3

Intel Pentium Dual-Core G620T Sandy Bridge 2.2GHz LGA 1155 35W Dual-Core Desktop Processor = 82.99$

ASUS P8H61-M LE/CSM (REV 3.0) LGA 1155 Intel H61 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard = 54.99$

GeIL Pristine 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model = 20.99$

APEX DM-318 Black Steel Micro ATX Media Center / Slim HTPC Computer Case w/ ATX12V Flex 275W Power Supply = 39.99$ + 9.99$ Shipping

Total = 208.95

OR!

Find used AMD Am2+ mATX motherboard (at least 780G) with Athlon X2 CPU (Around 4400+) and 2GB of DDR2 (667/800mhz) Then purchase the case above :)