• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Throttlestop no longer working on games

Zeta-86

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2022
Messages
5 (0.05/day)
I've got a Medion Erazer Guardian X10 Laptop and they generally always seem to run on very high temperatures, atleast for their cpus. Throttlestop helped me stop that for browsing etc. but it still ran hot in games (i tried SW: jedi fallen order to test it). To fix this i raised the Offset Voltage from -67 (safe for browsing) to -87 to -97 (only safe in games/intense tasks). This worked perfectly and also raised my gpu usage a lot. This way it was running jedi fallen order at ~71° for the Gpu and ~75° for my CPU. This worked about three times but after that just stopped working when starting the game again.
This also causes my GPU to immediately get much higher temps with a rather low usage.
It seems that changing the Offset Voltage from -67 to -97 doesnt make a difference anymore (below -100 it'll start crashing in-game). I also tried a bunch of settings like changing speedshift, the Clock Mod, enabling turbo again (it otherwise constantly bumps up the temperature without any performance decrease outside of loading times), and changing the power limit controls. Most barely changes anything.

I also once tried it on Assassins Creed Odyssey and that worked even worse (this try might've even been when it stopped working but i wouldnt have an idea if its related to the game)

My specs are:
Rtx 2070
i7-10750H 2.60 GHz
32G Ram
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
5,107 (0.97/day)
Here is the thread for ThrottleStop questions and to report any problems.

Post some screenshots so I can see your ThrottleStop settings. Run a log file while gaming for 15 minutes so I can see how your computer is performing.

Have you opened up your laptop and cleaned it out lately? Have you replaced the thermal paste? ThrottleStop has not suddenly changed. Does the FIVR monitoring table still show that your undervolt is being applied?

Download ThrottleStop 9.5
 
Last edited:

Zeta-86

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2022
Messages
5 (0.05/day)
Here is the thread for ThrottleStop questions and to report any problems.

Post some screenshots so I can see your ThrottleStop settings. Run a log file while gaming for 15 minutes so I can see how your computer is performing.

Have you opened up your laptop and cleaned it out lately? Have you replaced the thermal paste? ThrottleStop has not suddenly changed. Does the FIVR monitoring table still show that your undervolt is being applied?

Download ThrottleStop 9.5
The final two werent taken while the profile was active because it could make my laptop crash outside of games.
I started playing at almost exactly 21:59
I didnt clean my laptop and it doesnt look like i can even open it. Have owned it for a bit more than a year now.
The FIVR monitoring table also does my Undervolt as being applied.
The final picture is from after closing the game.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 210205.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 210205.png
    31.7 KB · Views: 37
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 210330.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 210330.png
    56.7 KB · Views: 37
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 210345.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 210345.png
    95.6 KB · Views: 37
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 210552.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 210552.png
    94.9 KB · Views: 31
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 212102.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 212102.png
    70.1 KB · Views: 29
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 215044.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 215044.png
    98.1 KB · Views: 28
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 215054.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 215054.png
    97.3 KB · Views: 31
  • 2022-07-04.txt
    123.6 KB · Views: 14
  • Screenshot 2022-07-04 222210.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-04 222210.png
    8.1 KB · Views: 36

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
5,107 (0.97/day)
Who set the MSR PL2 power limit to 10W? That is causing massive power limit throttling. Set that to at least 60W, check the MMIO Lock box and run another log file.

I will have a second look to see if I can find any other settings that are completely out to lunch.

Set Power Limit 4 to a value of 0.

Why are your turbo ratios set so low? Are you trying to control heat? Laptops need regular maintenance. You need to find a way to open your laptop and clean it out.
 
Last edited:

Zeta-86

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2022
Messages
5 (0.05/day)
Played at 1080p 60fps high settings again. didnt seem to make a difference. Also the PL2 power limit is something that has to stay around 10W while browsing, otherwise the CPU temp immediately jumps to 82-92° and sometimes even stays there during mild tasks. Also just noticed that the cpu clock is way down while gaming.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot 2022-07-05 103406.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-05 103406.png
    32.2 KB · Views: 16
  • Screenshot 2022-07-05 103616.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-05 103616.png
    104.8 KB · Views: 15
  • Screenshot 2022-07-05 103625.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-05 103625.png
    95.1 KB · Views: 16
  • 2022-07-05.txt
    79.7 KB · Views: 12
  • Screenshot 2022-07-05 110037.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-05 110037.png
    8.5 KB · Views: 14
  • Screenshot 2022-07-05 105844.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-05 105844.png
    28 KB · Views: 14
  • Screenshot 2022-07-05 105853.png
    Screenshot 2022-07-05 105853.png
    14.1 KB · Views: 16

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
5,107 (0.97/day)
Code:
   DATE       TIME    MULTI   C0%   CKMOD  BAT_mW  TEMP    VID   POWER
2022-07-05  10:39:50  25.80   60.6  100.0       0   85   0.7366   18.7   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:39:51  28.41   49.5  100.0       0   85   0.8110   19.8   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:39:52  31.25   36.9  100.0       0   85   0.8269   20.4   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:39:53  31.03   36.4  100.0       0   85   0.8320   20.0   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:39:54  30.10   41.5  100.0       0   85   0.8035   20.0   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:39:55  30.08   39.3  100.0       0   85   0.8093   19.9   TEMP

TEMP in the log file indicates constant thermal throttling. This is happening at 85°C which is 15°C less than the Intel specified 100°C. In the Options window, did you or the BIOS set PROCHOT Offset to 15? Doing this to make your laptop run cool reduces performance. The longer you use your laptop, the slower the CPU must run to keep it from exceeding 85°C.

About 6 minutes later, look what happens to the MULTI column in the log file. This represents your CPU speed. The CPU is now running at less than 1300 MHz, power consumption is only 10W and still your CPU is overheating and constantly thermal throttling.

Code:
   DATE       TIME    MULTI   C0%   CKMOD  BAT_mW  TEMP    VID   POWER
2022-07-05  10:45:59  12.58   64.4  100.0       0   85   0.5608   10.1   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:46:00  13.00   57.0  100.0       0   85   0.5714    9.8   TEMP
2022-07-05  10:46:01  13.72   59.5  100.0       0   85   0.5845   10.5   TEMP

CPU temp immediately jumps to 82-92°
If using your computer on the internet is causing your CPU to run at over 90°C then it is time to fix your cooling issues. There is no point in creating a thread claiming that ThrottleStop does not work anymore when the real problem is that your laptop is due for some basic maintenance. If you want maximum performance and good temperatures, all gaming oriented laptops need to be disassembled and properly cleaned on a regular basis. I have no idea what thermal paste Medion used or how long it normally lasts for. I just know that your laptop needs to be cleaned inside and the thermal paste needs to be replaced. Learn how to do this or take your laptop into a shop.
 

Zeta-86

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2022
Messages
5 (0.05/day)
PROCHOT Offset is at 5 so idk why it stops at 85°. Changing the voltage offsets etc. doesnt seem to have any effect so it definitely does look like throttlestop doesnt work anymore
And im not gonna try to disassemble my entire laptop for a useless turbo boost. it doesnt increase performance so setting the limiter above 10W is just shooting yourself in the foot for no reason.
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
5,107 (0.97/day)
PROCHOT Offset is at 5 so idk why it stops at 85°.
Does the Options window show a lock icon to the right of the Lock PROCHOT Offset setting?

1657130025050.png


If you see a lock icon where that red box is, the BIOS or some software on your computer has locked the PROCHOT Offset setting. You cannot change PROCHOT Offset to 5 if it is locked. If PROCHOT Offset is locked to 15, your CPU will start to thermal throttle at 85°C instead of 100°C.

Changing the voltage offsets etc. doesnt seem to have any effect
After someone cut your arm off, if someone gave you a Band-Aid to put on your arm, if you were still bleeding, would you conclude that Band-Aids do not work anymore? I think most people would conclude that a Band-Aid is no solution for a severed arm. It is not going to solve the problem.

That is kind of where you are at with your laptop. The heatsink is either filthy or the thermal paste has pumped out and failed. Probably a little of both. Here is an example of thermal paste pump out.


Pump out is a real thing that happens to laptops. Gaming oriented laptops require regular maintenance. Your cooling system is in such bad shape that it cannot even keep the CPU from thermal throttling when power consumption is only 10W. Your CPU is slowing down to only 1200 MHz to 1300 MHz. How is ThrottleStop supposed to solve that disaster?

Your laptop is running at a fraction of its rated speed because it is overdue for some routine maintenance.
 

Zeta-86

New Member
Joined
Jul 4, 2022
Messages
5 (0.05/day)
Well then why did work perfectly at ~75-76° just a week ago. I mentioned this at the top
 

unclewebb

ThrottleStop & RealTemp Author
Joined
Jun 1, 2008
Messages
5,107 (0.97/day)
Maybe your heatsink is loose. ThrottleStop did not suddenly change overnight. It continues to work the same on my computer and on everyone else's computer. If ThrottleStop suddenly stopped working, it would stop working for everyone.

Your problem can only be fixed by opening up your laptop. Do some YouTube searching. Take a day off from trying to play games and do some maintenance. It is not that hard.
 
Top