• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Throw it away or try to squeeze out what I can?

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#1
:cry: Honestly I need opinions here. Because I don't know what I can do.

You see, I've had been using a P4 with an FX5500 and 768MB RAM (of which a 256MB stick died) for over 7 years.

Last year I decided that I want new stuff so I got the parts and assembled the rig in my system specs and now am quite satisfied.

The only problem is that I passed on my (then still working) P4 as a 'toy' to my 6 year old daughter. At that time it was already causing problems. For example, it kept rebooting and never loading windows, until I removed the original old 256MB RAM module and left it with 512MB. If I left the 256MB module in there the pc wouldn't even post or beep. Nothing.

A couple of months later it started losing data, newly installed programs appeared as corrupted, I'd re-install them, they'd work for a day or 2 and become corrupted again. I'd install games for my kid and the next day the icon would vanish from the desktop and they wouldn't even be visible through the search function.

So I ran the SMART utility which told me the drive was only 18% fit due to the Reallocated Sector Count of 395 which meant that my HDD is in its last throes there.

Now I can't afford to spend more on pc stuff. After I got all the stuff for my present pc I already upgraded from an 8600GTS to an 8800GT and purchased a widescreen 22" instead of my 19"... I'm at the limits now.

I have to get or make some pc working for my daughter, so far it was a 1.6Ghz Willamette on a socket 423 with DDR 512MB which some 5 years ago I upgraded from an MX400 graphics to FX5500, always on a P4VXMS ECS (Elitegroup) motherboard. And believe me at her age she already realised that my pc is much faster than 'her' pc.... :wtf:

What would be your ideas. I cannot really afford to spend much money. Should I keep 'patching up' perhaps getting new stuff like a new HDD? English is not my first language but I guess it is a PATA IDE? I don't know the correct terminology which is a disadvantage.

Should I throw the whole tower into the rubbish?
Thinking of it, if I were to buy new stuff, it'd be more worth if I hand over the pc in my specs... and get something better..... :confused: it'd cost more but be more worth, especially for me, at the end..
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#2
you can buy a IDE hard drive but it will cost like $45 new or maybe you find an old IDE hard drive in the "for sale" threads for $10 but IMO to do something with that computer it would be worth less than what it would cost to get it working again. to be brutally honest IMO its not worth spending even $10 on. i would save pull the cpu and ram out and sell it in "for sale" threads and toss the rest.

you have the 19" monitor and the 8600gts so you should give her your cpu and motherboard and get yourself a quad core and P35 or better motherboard so for her you will only need to buy ram, HDD, and dvd player to go with them. IMO this is the way you should go.
 
Last edited:

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#3
If she still uses the PC, it is not a lost cause.
Go to the FS/FT area and ask for stuff cheap. People will understand that you do not want to spend hardly any money on an old system that you just want to keep running.
Most people will probably give you older parts if you are willing to pay the shipping. Most people here have a ton of old crap laying around (at least I do).

If you cannot afford to get her a new system, I think we here at TPU can keep it going for a while longer for you, and maximize what you get.
 

zOaib

New Member
Joined
Sep 23, 2005
Messages
977 (0.22/day)
Likes
32
Location
FL
System Name BabaJinn's U.F.O
Processor Intel Core i7 975 Extreme @ 3.8 ghz (for now)
Motherboard Asus Rampage Xtreme II X58
Cooling ZALMAN 9900 CPU COOLER Led
Memory 12GB Crucial Ballistix Tracers (Blue Led) 1600 DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI NVIDIA GTX 480 1.5 GB DDR5 384-BIT
Storage 2 x WD Velociraptor 10k rpm 300GB sata + 2x 500GB WD Caviar Sata + 320 GB Seagate Barracuda Sata
Display(s) DELL U2711 27inch Goodness @ 2560 x 1440
Case Mountain-Mods U2-UFO Custom Case (Made in USA)
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX X-Fi MB (Creative)
Power Supply ZALMAN 1000W PSU MODULAR
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit (Retail Version)
#4
you can buy a IDE hard drive but it will cost like $45 new or maybe you find an old IDE hard drive in the "for sale" threads for $10 but IMO to do something with that computer it would be worth less than what it would cost to get it working again. to be brutally honest IMO its not worth spending even $10 on. i would save pull the cpu and ram out and sell it in "for sale" threads and toss the rest.

you have the 19" monitor and the 8600gts so you will need to get a motherboard, ram, HDD, and cpu to go with them. for about $200 you could do this (maybe cheaper from the "for sale" threads) and IMO this is the way you should go.
I AGREE
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.48/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 Extreme @ 3.0 GHz
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula
Cooling ZeroTherm Nirvana NV120 Premium
Memory 8GB (4 x 2GB) Corsair Dominator PC2-8500
Video Card(s) 2 x Sapphire Radeon HD6970
Storage 2 x Seagate Barracuda 320GB in RAID 0
Display(s) Dell 3007WFP 30" LCD (2560 x 1600)
Case Thermaltake Armor w/ 250mm Side Fan
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX 8ch Audio
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 750W Modular
Software Win8 Pro x64 / Cat 12.10
#5
Come on guys,

If a TPU'er needs to keep his daughter gaming with a little help from us, I think we have the heart to make it happen until he can afford something better.
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.70/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#6
someone was giving old stuff away for free a while back, can anyone remember who had that thread? maybe we can get his help.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2006
Messages
6,374 (1.54/day)
Likes
983
System Name ICE-QUAD // ICE-CRUNCH
Processor Q6600 // 2x Xeon 5472
Memory 2GB DDR // 8GB FB-DIMM
Video Card(s) HD3850-AGP // FireGL 3400
Display(s) 2 x Samsung 204Ts = 3200x1200
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2
Software Windows Server 2003 R2 as a Workstation now migrated to W10 with regrets.
#7

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#8
you have the 19" monitor and the 8600gts .
I had sold those.


I had some time to kill this morning and decided to play around with this pc again.

Btw, the reallocated sector count has increased from 395 to 399.

I thought it had been working normally after my last clean install. I even downloaded all updates, however I couldn't get the AC97 to work by loading the mobo drivers...

A day or 2 later, the pc wouldn't load windows. Kept restarting itself in an endless cycle just before showing the blue loading windows screen it would BSOD with a little message of only 2 lines, so brief it gives me no time to read.

So today I tried clean installing again. I think I've done it about 3 or 4 times now, nearly learnt the coa by heart...

Funnily enough I can't complete the install. No matter if I partition the disk, or if I do quick NTFS format or do it the long way.

Here are some of the errors I keep getting. I don't get them all during one attempted install. Sometimes I get one error, other times I get 2 of them, all at random:

An error has been encountered that prevents setup from continuing. Setup failed to install the product catalogues. This is a fatal error. The setup log files should contain more information. Press OK to view the setup log file.

In the log file I find:

initpki.dll couldn't be registered.

Error 800b001 The signature for XP Home is invalid.


Another one:

Windows could not load the installer for Diskdrive. Contact your hardware vendor for assistance.

and another two similar errors to the above, but saying CDRom or Battery instead of Diskdrive.

And another one, which I think happens after I input the product key (the ones above happen before):

Cannot install this hardware:
System.
The data is invalid.


System??? :confused:

Well, I'm not going to get my hopes high, I've got the impression that working on that pc is like flogging a dead horse... but I'd love your opinion.

Probably next Monday I'll take the pc to a friend of mine who has a lot more pc parts than I have, and we can then try replacing the ram, try another hdd etc... Which reminds me, I do have 2 hdd's to test, but I don't know their condition...

Edit: NVM that... I got 2 museum pieces there... their capacity is 1200MB!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 7, 2006
Messages
1,335 (0.33/day)
Likes
90
Processor e8200 3.93mhz@1.264v
Motherboard P5E3 Pro
Cooling Scythe Infinity
Memory 4gb of G.Skill Ripjaw 6-7-7-18@1404 and 1.62v
Video Card(s) HIS 5770 v2 940/1275mhz stock volts
Storage 1TB Hitachi
Display(s) Acer 22" Widescreen LCD
Case Blue Cooler Master Centurion
Audio Device(s) Onboard audio :(, and Klipsch 5.1 Pro Media's
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG
Software Vista 64 Ultimate
#9
If that is ddr1 I can sell you two 256mb sticks for $5 plus shipping (like 3-4) if you get it running and want more ram, it is 266mhz.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,088 (0.23/day)
Likes
360
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#10
put the HDD in other sys make a full format also a disk check (with the option to repair the errors on) and is a chance you can use it again.
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#11
put the HDD in other sys make a full format also a disk check (with the option to repair the errors on) and is a chance you can use it again.
Just discovered that I can't do that.

On the rig in my system specs, I can't run a disk check.:twitch:

It was a problem also on the pentium, but in that case I thought it was because of the hdd...

I get this message:

"The disk check could not be performed because the disk check utility needs exclusive access to some Windows files on the disk. These files can only be accessed by restarting Windows. Do you want to schedule this disk check to occur the next time you restart the computer?"

If I click yes and restart, nothing happens and if I try the disk check again I get the same message above.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,088 (0.23/day)
Likes
360
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#12
can you make a full format in your rig?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#13
I guess so.

Also, I found out that I can run the disk check but only if I leave the 'automatically fix errors' and the 'scan for bad sectors and attempt recovery' boxes not ticked.
 
Joined
Jan 11, 2005
Messages
1,088 (0.23/day)
Likes
360
Location
66 feet from the ground
System Name 2nd AMD puppy
Processor Phenom II x4 BE 970-3.6 Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-970A-UD3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX2
Memory 16 Gb DDR3:8GB Kingston HyperX Beast + 8Gb G.Skill Sniper(by courtesy of tabascosauz &TPU)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6850 Cyclone;860/1100 Mhz
Storage SSD-840 pro 128 Gb;Seagate 500Gb;WD-1Tb
Display(s) Samsung 2032BW
Case NZXT 820 PHANTOM
Audio Device(s) Audigy SE with Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Cooleer Master RP M520
Mouse Razer copperhead / Gamdias zeus (by courtesy of sneekypeet & TPU)
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software win7 64bit sp1
Benchmark Scores irrelevant for me
#14
do you have more partitions? important data on?
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderator™
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,957 (2.32/day)
Likes
2,166
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) Zotac 670 4GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#15
Uhhh, do I really need to format this rig to solve the problems of the pentium?

Sorry Laszlo, don't take it as an offence, I know you're trying to help.

But the thing is I checked this disk with s.m.a.r.t., it's in very good condition. I don't mind that windows doesn't want me to check it. I didn't mind that windows didn't want my dvd drive to burn either, I just use a third party program... lol get what I mean?
 

novacheck

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
530 (0.15/day)
Likes
24
Location
At the end of the world, and turn left.
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5N-D
Cooling Xigmatec HDT-S1283 - Lapped
Memory 4x1gb OCZ Fatality DDR2 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA 8800GT SC SLI
Storage Seagate 7200.10 320gb HDD ; 2x Barricuda 7200.10 80gb RAID-0 ; 2x Spinpoint 120gb RAID-0
Display(s) Westinghouse LCM 22W3 22" LCD Widescreen,
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec TPQ 850 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x-64
#16
I had a problem like this once. Not identical, but similar. When trying to install xp, I kept getting bsod's. It turned out to be my ram, and harddrive. Just a thought for you. I would like to see a fellow pc man get some help. Let us know what kind of motherboard you have. I may have some ram for you. I have 1gb of ddr2-667 (which is probably NOT the kind you need, though I am not sure), and a 128mb stick of pc-133 sdram, plus various other sizes. I did just get rid of my old ddr1 set. Plus, I have several old ide hdd's, that I would be willing to let go of for next to nothing. I have 2x 80gb, 4x 10gb drives and a 30gb drive. I am not sure if I can help with what I have, but I am here if you can use it. Good luck.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2005
Messages
10,241 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,107
Location
Granite Bay, CA
System Name Big Devil
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K
Motherboard ECS P67H2-A2
Cooling XSPC Rasa | Black Ice GT Stealth 240 | XSPC X2O 750 | 2x ACF12PWM | PrimoChill White 7/16"
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance LP Arctic White 1600MHz CL9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ACX SC
Storage Intel 520 Series 180GB + WD 1TB Blue
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2650x1600 IPS
Case Corsair 600T SE
Audio Device(s) Xonar Essence STX | Sennheisser PC350 "Hero" Modded | Corsair SP2500
Power Supply ABS SL 1050W (Enermax Revolution Rebadge)
Software Windows 8.1 x64 Pro w/ Media Center
Benchmark Scores Ducky Year of the Snake w/ Cherry MX Browns & Year of the Tiger PBT Keycaps | Razer Deathadder Black
#17
Want a 120GB IDE for free? If you pay shipping, it's yours. I was going to sell it for $35 or so, but if it's for your daughter and she needs a working PC, I'll let it go.
 

novacheck

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
530 (0.15/day)
Likes
24
Location
At the end of the world, and turn left.
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5N-D
Cooling Xigmatec HDT-S1283 - Lapped
Memory 4x1gb OCZ Fatality DDR2 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA 8800GT SC SLI
Storage Seagate 7200.10 320gb HDD ; 2x Barricuda 7200.10 80gb RAID-0 ; 2x Spinpoint 120gb RAID-0
Display(s) Westinghouse LCM 22W3 22" LCD Widescreen,
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec TPQ 850 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x-64
#18
Sorry, forgot you already posted the mobo. I am checking right now if I have what you may need. Yeah, my ram would work for you. Again, I am not saying that is what YOUR problem is, just that I had close to the same symptoms as you a while back. If you would like to try my ram, It would be free of charge. Just PM me if you are interested.
 

novacheck

New Member
Joined
Mar 3, 2008
Messages
530 (0.15/day)
Likes
24
Location
At the end of the world, and turn left.
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard Asus P5N-D
Cooling Xigmatec HDT-S1283 - Lapped
Memory 4x1gb OCZ Fatality DDR2 1066mhz
Video Card(s) 2x EVGA 8800GT SC SLI
Storage Seagate 7200.10 320gb HDD ; 2x Barricuda 7200.10 80gb RAID-0 ; 2x Spinpoint 120gb RAID-0
Display(s) Westinghouse LCM 22W3 22" LCD Widescreen,
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec TPQ 850 watt
Software Windows Vista Home Premium x-64
#19
Want a 120GB IDE for free? If you pay shipping, it's yours. I was going to sell it for $35 or so, but if it's for your daughter and she needs a working PC, I'll let it go.
That is better than what I can offer. :D
 

btarunr

Editor & Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 9, 2007
Messages
34,335 (9.23/day)
Likes
17,427
Location
Hyderabad, India
System Name Long shelf-life potato
Processor Intel Core i7-4770K
Motherboard ASUS Z97-A
Cooling Xigmatek Aegir CPU Cooler
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Beast DDR3-1866
Video Card(s) 2x GeForce GTX 970 SLI
Storage ADATA SU800 512GB
Display(s) Samsung U28D590D 28-inch 4K
Case Cooler Master CM690 Window
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Recon3D PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Mouse Razer Abyssus 2014
Keyboard Microsoft Sidewinder X4
Software Windows 10 Pro Creators Update
#20
Set up a thin-client network between your PC and hers. When your PC is not very busy, her PC can use the processing power and system resources of yours and best part is, boot from your PC using network boot, you minimise the need of a hard-drive on hers. If only the clustering features of Linux was with Windows, you could go a step further and use her PC's resources when its idle and give yours a healthy boost.

append: http://publib.boulder.ibm.com/infocenter/db2luw/v8//topic/com.ibm.db2.udb.doc/start/t0007233.htm