• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Time to change this PSU?

Status
Not open for further replies.

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
Is this PSU giving its last breath? :) its been like this for a while.

1700422163711.png
1700422205556.png
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
18,904 (2.87/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 5600
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling Be Quiet! Pure Rock 2
Memory 2 x 16GB Kingston Fury 3400mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT Speedster MERC 319
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Black SN750 2TB |WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB | Seagate Expansion 8TB
Display(s) Samsung U32J590U 4K + BenQ GL2450HT 1080p
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones, Nektar SE61 keyboard
Power Supply Corsair RM850x v3
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Cherry MX Board 1.0 TKL Brown
VR HMD Acer Mixed Reality Headset
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Rimworld 4K ready!
Hard to tell without knowing make and model.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
Hard to tell without knowing make and model.
Its an old PSU , Thermaltake Smart SE 550-600w (i think), i just noticed that the voltages are a bit low even under moderate loads.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
11,904 (1.85/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Hard to tell without knowing make and model.
How is that going to tell you? Cheap no name PSUs can last for years and years. And the best models from the best brands can die after a few weeks.

@izy - According to the ATX Form Factor standard, PSUs must maintain voltage tolerances within ±5% of required specifications.

Acceptable tolerance maximums:

12VDC ±5% = 11.4 to 12.6VDC
5VDC ±5% = 4.75 to 5.25VDC
3.3VDC ±5% = 3.14 to 3.47VDC

Your PSU is fine - according to the right side of your screen shot. If you are referring the 11.08V on your GPU rail, that may indicate a regulator issue with the motherboard, or graphics solution.
 

freeagent

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
7,322 (3.67/day)
Location
Winnipeg, Canada
System Name Altered Beast
Processor AMD R9 5900X, 5800X3D
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VIII Dark Hero
Cooling Thermalright Aqua Elite 360 V3 1x TL-B12, 2x TL-C12 Pro, 2x TL K12
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) Zotac 4070 Ti Trinity OC
Storage WD SN850X 2TB, SN850 1TB, SN770 1TB - Asus Hyper M.2, 2x SN770 1TB
Display(s) LG 50UP7100
Case Fractal Torrent Compact RGB
Audio Device(s) JBL 2.1 Deep Bass
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 750w G+, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero
Keyboard Logitech G213
VR HMD Oculus 3
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
Im using it on my AMD system with 5700x + 2060 super and i dont game much.
Yeah goes down to 11v on the GPU on the PCIE and 8 pin and 11.6v on the MB , the 5v doesnt seem stable either but seems that the values are in the ATX standard i see.
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
2,509 (2.23/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev. 7
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 7900 XTX Vapor-X
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 4TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG 27GR93U, LG 27GN950-B
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
i would throw this thing out even if it would be brand new.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2021
Messages
807 (0.93/day)
Location
People's Republic of Banania
Processor Threadripper 3955WX
Motherboard M12SWA-TF
Cooling Arctic Freezer 4U SP3
Memory G.Skill Trident Z DDR4-3733 (2x8GB)
Video Card(s) 5700XT + 3x RX 590
Storage A lot
Display(s) ViewSonic G225fB
Case Corsair 760T
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z SE
Power Supply be quiet! DPP12 1500W
Keyboard IBM F122
Software 10 LTSC

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
i would throw this thing out even if it would be brand new.
Why? :) it did its job for a long time without any issue, is Thermaltake bad? I dont think this system takes more than 400W under my loads , mainly CPU loads, but i had a problem lately , my computer was rebooting but seems that the CO on my best cores was a bit too aggressive , went down a notch and seems to work just fine now, not sure why because a month ago was just fine with the older CO values, thought its because of an BIOS update or the PSU but seems that had something to do with the CO.

Edit: I was getting this:
A fatal hardware error has occurred.
Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 0 (and 5)
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
2,509 (2.23/day)
Location
Germany
System Name Sunk Cost Fallacy
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7800X3D
Motherboard ASRock B650E Steel Legend Wifi
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360 Rev. 7
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro+ RX 7900 XTX Vapor-X
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 4TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG 27GR93U, LG 27GN950-B
Case Lian Li O11 Air Mini
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
i don't trust cheap PSUs. and looking at a 300mv vdroop with barely any load reflects why.
rather spend the 50 bucks and get a well made, quality unit for the next 5-10 years before one of the cheap ones blow up and take a GPU, motherboard or something else with it.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
17,523 (2.64/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K P-Cores @ 5Ghz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
CO or you meant OverClock?
CPU Curve Optimizer.
i don't trust cheap PSUs. and looking at a 300mv vdroop with barely any load reflects why.
Well , yeah .. it did fine back in the day when i was running 280x + 1700x (way higher W, and yeah that old it is), i didnt want to replace anything that was just working because i was thinking to retire this system at some point and upgrade to something like 7800x3d and some newer GPU next year , just not sure what GPU to get with how the prices are atm (and i want NVIDIA), anyway i was just not sure if the reboots were from the PSU (and i have to change it right away) or it was just my aggressive CO (tho it was working just fine till a month ago). - Thermaltake seemed good back then, got it on offer , didnt pay too much attention to the PSUs back then:)

Edit: Any suggestion on a good PSU at a decent price? I dont need high W , mostly im going to go for 7800x3d + RTX 4070 or something like that in the future , i have a small case (that i like).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 28, 2023
Messages
45 (0.24/day)
It's a Smart PSU, meaning it's was a very smart choice to buy.

Yes, ripple may be higher or even double compared to other units, you can force voltages out of spec since it uses ancient group regulated topology and OPP only works once(it kills the PSU), but people use worse units.

I would use this very smart Thermaltake Smart as long it works, it's rated for 100,000 hrs minimum, ballpark estimate 8 hours a day which should make it good for 34 years!!!
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2023
Messages
758 (2.14/day)
System Name Stugots IV
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk
Cooling Thermalright PA-120 Black
Memory 2 x 16GB G.Skill 3600Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) ASUS Dual RTX 4070
Storage 500GB WD SN750 | 2TB WD SN750 | 6TB WD Red +
Display(s) Dell S2716DG (1440p / 144Hz)
Case Fractal Meshify 2 Compact
Audio Device(s) JDS Labs Element | Audioengine HD3 + A8 | Beyerdynamic DT-990 Pro (250)
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus 850W
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Leopold FC750R
Software Win 10 Pro x64
  • Like
Reactions: izy
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
11,904 (1.85/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Edit: Any suggestion on a good PSU at a decent price?
Why? There's no reason to replace a PSU just because it has a few years on it AS LONG AS it is working fine. No where have you indicated you are having issues with freezes, sudden reboots, or shutdowns - typical symptoms of a failing PSU. You didn't even complain about coil whine or fan bearing noise.

Just make sure the case is clean of heat trapping dust, you have decent air flow through the case and enjoy your computer.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
8,774 (3.36/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R9 7900 - Alphacool Eisblock XPX Aurora Edge
Motherboard ASRock B650 Pro RS
Cooling 2x 360mm NexXxoS ST30 X-Flow, 1x 360mm NexXxoS ST30, 1x 240mm NexXxoS ST30
Memory 32GB - FURY Beast RGB 5600 Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX 7900 XT - Alphacool Eisblock Aurora
Storage 1x Kingston KC3000 1TB 1x Kingston A2000 1TB, 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) LG UltraGear 32GN650-B + 4K Samsung TV
Case Phanteks NV7
Power Supply GPS-750C
I guess the question is do you have any issues ? Those readings are not accurate, if the voltage drops were problematic you'd know by now because it would crash the system all the time.

By the way the GPU readings are from the GPU not the PSU.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,523 (6.55/day)
Location
USA
Its an old PSU , Thermaltake Smart SE 550-600w (i think), i just noticed that the voltages are a bit low even under moderate loads.
Have you measured them directly with a multimeter? Using software readings can be a less than accurate method of measurement. Also, if you're not hitting max load or overloading, chances are that PSU will be fine.

I guess the question is do you have any issues ? Those readings are not accurate, if the voltage drops were problematic you'd know by know because it would crash the system all the time.
This, and...
By the way the GPU readings are from the GPU not the PSU.
...this.

If you're not having power problems, you don't need to replace it. That PSU is a good quality unit and it isn't THAT old.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
11,904 (1.85/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Those readings are not accurate, if the voltage drops were problematic you'd know by know because it would crash the system all the time.
We don't know if accurate or not. Since the readings ARE within allowed tolerances and since the OP has not indicated there are problems with crashing, that would suggest they are fairly accurate.

And for the record, software monitoring of voltages "IS" accurate. All the software is doing is reading a number value provided by the sensor. It is just like you or me seeing the number 837659 on a meter. Unless we are blind, we can assume we are accurately reading 837659.

The issue is the sensors. Is the very low-tech sensor accurately reading the actual voltage? We don't know unless we put a known to be accurate voltmeter on test points.
 

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
Conflicting opinions , let me see how it goes after i adjusted the CO , seems to be fine now, i pref to keep it than just replacing it for now as its a hell to replace it in this case in the first place.

Have you measured them directly with a multimeter? Using software readings can be a less than accurate method of measurement. Also, if you're not hitting max load or overloading, chances are that PSU will be fine.
I didnt , only saw this in HWINFO.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,523 (6.55/day)
Location
USA
I didnt , only saw this in HWINFO.
Definitely get a mutlimeter and measure those voltages directly. When you do, keep in mind that variations of 5% are considered within spec. So the 5V rail measuring 5.25V or 4.75V is fine and is not an indication of a problem with the PSU. Likewise, the 12V can read 12.6V or 11.4V and still be within spec.

EDIT:
Also keep in mind that when the system is under full load, voltage droop of another 5% is normal and very common. Again, not an indication of PSU failure.
 
Last edited:

izy

Joined
Jun 30, 2022
Messages
922 (1.50/day)
Definitely get a mutlimeter and measure those voltages directly. When you do, keep in mind that variations of 5% are considered within spec. So the 5V rail measuring 5.25V or 4.75V is fine and is not an indication of a problem with the PSU. Likewise, the 12V can read 12.6V or 11.4V and still be within spec.

EDIT:
Also keep in mind that when the system is under full load, voltage droop of another 5% is normal and very common. Again, not an indication of PSU failure.
Good to know , thanks, only worried because i had those reboots, seems fine for the moment .. probably CPU got worse or the bios changed something.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,523 (6.55/day)
Location
USA
Good to know , thanks, only worried because i had those reboots, seems fine for the moment .. probably CPU got worse or the bios changed something.
Maybe. Without getting directly hands-on, none of us can give you a definitive answer, but based on what you've stated and the screenshot above, that PSU seems solid. In that screenshot, the system seems under a good load and at that load, the voltages seems very reasonable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: izy
Joined
Jan 29, 2021
Messages
1,739 (1.54/day)
Location
Alaska USA
CPU Curve Optimizer.

Well , yeah .. it did fine back in the day when i was running 280x + 1700x (way higher W, and yeah that old it is), i didnt want to replace anything that was just working because i was thinking to retire this system at some point and upgrade to something like 7800x3d and some newer GPU next year , just not sure what GPU to get with how the prices are atm (and i want NVIDIA), anyway i was just not sure if the reboots were from the PSU (and i have to change it right away) or it was just my aggressive CO (tho it was working just fine till a month ago). - Thermaltake seemed good back then, got it on offer , didnt pay too much attention to the PSUs back then:)

Edit: Any suggestion on a good PSU at a decent price? I dont need high W , mostly im going to go for 7800x3d + RTX 4070 or something like that in the future , i have a small case (that i like).
https://pcpartpicker.com/product/zF...lly-modular-atx-power-supply-mag-a850gl-pcie5
MSI MAG A850GL PCIE5 850W 80+ Gold $89.99

 
  • Like
Reactions: izy
Joined
Mar 13, 2021
Messages
326 (0.30/day)
Processor AMD 7600x
Motherboard Asrock x670e Steel Legend
Cooling Silver Arrow Extreme IBe Rev B with 2x 120 Gentle Typhoons
Memory 4x16Gb Patriot Viper Non RGB @ 6000 30-36-36-36-40
Video Card(s) XFX 6950XT MERC 319
Storage 2x Crucial P5 Plus 1Tb NVME
Display(s) 3x Dell Ultrasharp U2414h
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower PF3 850 watt
How is that going to tell you? Cheap no name PSUs can last for years and years. And the best models from the best brands can die after a few weeks.

@izy - According to the ATX Form Factor standard, PSUs must maintain voltage tolerances within ±5% of required specifications.

Acceptable tolerance maximums:
12VDC ±5% = 11.4 to 12.6VDC​
5VDC ±5% = 4.75 to 5.25VDC​
3.3VDC ±5% = 3.14 to 3.47VDC​

Your PSU is fine - according to the right side of your screen shot. If you are referring the 11.08V on your GPU rail, that may indicate a regulator issue with the motherboard, or graphics solution.
12v is only ±5% in ATX12VO standard and looks like recenty ATX 2.3x+ standards

ATX 3.0 is actually +5% to -7% for some reason and older ATX2.x power supplies had a ±10% on the 12v rail under peak load but ±5% under other conditions.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
11,904 (1.85/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 32GB (4 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Logitech M190
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
ATX 3.0 is actually +5% to -7% for some reason
According to the official Design Guide the change to -7% is,
to allow for the power excursion requirements now described in Section Section 3.1.
It goes on to say the nominal "could" be changed to 12.1 or 12.2 to compensate. But "could" does not mean "will". So that leaves it up to the manufacturers.

older ATX2.x power supplies had a ±10%
True, but that was much older. It has been ±5% for many years now.

Another significant change (IMO) is the Hold-up Time requirement has been eased up - which frankly I am not happy with. It used to be required PSUs maintain output, with maximum loads, a minimum of 17ms - something sadly, many PSUs (including otherwise excellent rated PSUs) failed to do.

Now it is only 12ms at 100% load and "recommended" 17ms at 80% load. Fortunately, most "good" UPS with AVR are able to react and cutover over to battery backup in 10ms or less.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top