• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

To SSD or not?

ckydmk

New Member
Joined
Mar 1, 2008
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
Processor Intel q6600 @ 3.02GHZ
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula
Cooling Zalman 9700LED
Memory Muskin 2x2GB
Video Card(s) XFX 8800 Ultra
Storage 2 - Seagate 500GB
Display(s) 19" Samsumg LCD
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) w/ mobo
Power Supply PC P&C silencer 750
#1
I'm building a new computer for my dad who is going to use it for his CAD programs. So far I've sourced:
i7-3770K
Patriot Viper 3 Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133MHz
Asus P8Z77-V PRO

He suggested that he wants to use an SSD to store the OS and all his CAD programs and write to a HDD. Is this the best way to do this? What would be a good SSD and what size should it be?
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#2
yes that's the best way, i'd suggest 80-120 - more depending on the programs, idk how big they are. 80 should be enough and 120 more than enough, but again idk the software.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
I'm building a new computer for my dad who is going to use it for his CAD programs. So far I've sourced:
i7-3770K
Patriot Viper 3 Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133MHz
Asus P8Z77-V PRO

He suggested that he wants to use an SSD to store the OS and all his CAD programs and write to a HDD. Is this the best way to do this? What would be a good SSD and what size should it be?
120GB or so SATA 6 GB/s SSD + 2 TB HDD. The cheaper SSDs are slower, so look for one of the faster ones.


Of course, since you have Z77, you do have the option of 60 GB SSD and any size HDD, and they can be set as RAID device with the 60 GB SDD acting as a cache drive for the HDD. Commonly loaded programs/DATA are cached to the SSD for fast retrieval, the rest is sourced from the HDD, and it just appears as a single drive.


Personally, I prefer to separate the SDD/HDD, just because, but if Windows is installed in RAID mode to any HDD, you'll have the option to add the SDD as the cache drive at any time. You do need to connect to the Intel ports, of course.
 
Joined
Jul 4, 2012
Messages
574 (0.29/day)
Likes
220
Location
Australia
Processor Intel® Core i5 6600
Motherboard Asus H170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hyper 212 Evo
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws V Series 16GB DDR4 2400mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Geforce GTX 960 G1 4GB Gaming
Storage 256GB Intel SSD 525 Series
Display(s) 24" LG LED Monitor
Case Corsair Carbide 200R
Power Supply Seasonic MK12II 620W
Mouse Logitech G5
Keyboard Logitech G110
Software Windows 10 x64
#4
120GB or so SATA 6 GB/s SSD + 2 TB HDD. The cheaper SSDs are slower, so look for one of the faster ones.

Personally, I prefer to separate the SDD/HDD, just because, but if Windows is installed in RAID mode to any HDD, you'll have the option to add the SDD as the cache drive at any time. You do need to connect to the Intel ports, of course.
Took the words right out of my mouth! +1 =)


:toast:
 

45shanew

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
why would anyone post ssd or not? ssd is the future and hdd is the past its a no brainer
 
Joined
Sep 13, 2011
Messages
252 (0.11/day)
Likes
55
Location
Malaysia
Processor Intel Core i3-2100 @ 3.1 GHz
Motherboard Asus P8H61-M LX (B3)
Cooling Intel stock HSF
Memory 2x 4GB Kingston DDR3 @ 1333 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Radeon HD 6750 OC
Storage Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB SATA 3
Display(s) HP W2072a 20"
Case Cooler Master Elite 430 Black
Audio Device(s) Integrated (Realtek ALC887)
Power Supply Cooler Master eXtreme Power Plus 500W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
#6
why would anyone post ssd or not? ssd is the future and hdd is the past its a no brainer
But SSD performance will be terribly bad when they're almost full, HDD didn't. That's a major flaw.

Hope SSD technology will evolve and this problem might be get rid of.
 
Joined
Aug 2, 2009
Messages
4,014 (1.31/day)
Likes
1,832
System Name Abacus
Processor i5 2500K
Motherboard ASRock p67 Extreme4 Gen3
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X, EK HF Copper, 2.120 rad, 3.120 rad
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Sniper 1600
Video Card(s) 2 Zotac GTX 770 4GB w/ FC EK Blocks
Storage WD 640BG x2/WD 250GB/Samsung 2TB
Display(s) QNIX 27" PLS
Case Corsair 700D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi XtremeGamer
Power Supply EVGA G2 750W
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB MX Brown
Software Windows 10
#7
why would anyone post ssd or not? ssd is the future and hdd is the past its a no brainer
Probably not the best choice of attitude for a first post, but welcome to TPU;)
 

45shanew

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#8
I hear your concern re ssd slowing down as they fill up, but its really not an issue at all compared to old hdd tech which needs constant defraging and is slower than a snail on sunday. im currently using an ocz vector and its very full and still very fast. Hdds really are obsolete sir.
 

45shanew

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
BTW , im also using a samsung 840pro 512gb and 3 ocz vertex 3 max iops in my set up and theyre all loaded with FSX and BF3 and lots other demanding games and none of them are remotely slower than the 600gb HDD velociraptors i replaced them with .
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2012
Messages
1,588 (0.74/day)
Likes
517
Location
Bulgaria
System Name HyperMainframe
Processor G4560
Motherboard Asus PRIME H270M-PLUS
Cooling Thermaltake Gravity i1
Memory 1 x 8GB Cruicial 2400 mhz DDR4
Video Card(s) RX 560 2 GB Gigabyte Gaming Edition
Storage Cruicial M.2 275GB drive + WD black 500 GB + WD Blue 640 GB
Display(s) 2560x1080 LG 29" + LG 22mp67vq-p
Case Deepcool D-Shield
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon 3D
Power Supply Cooler Master Silent Pro M500W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Somethin wireless
Software Windows 10 x 64 bits
Benchmark Scores Superposition benchmark : 1080p Medium - 4270 pts.
#10
I hear your concern re ssd slowing down as they fill up, but its really not an issue at all compared to old hdd tech which needs constant defraging and is slower than a snail on sunday. im currently using an ocz vector and its very full and still very fast. Hdds really are obsolete sir.
It's not only that, SSD in their current form, doesn't seem to be the future. Don't get me wrong, I am a huge fan, but the reality is different than the dreams. If you are willing to spare some time, check out the scientific experiment of The Department of Computer Sciences and Engineering, University of California called "The bleak future of NAND Flash Memory" . I am not into electronics, but basically with very large volumes (1TB,2TB,3TB etc)- the electronic gate that let's the information flow becomes very unstable. So much, that it is practically unusable. So far things look for SSDs as chache or relatively small volumes for OS and APPs, programs. That's not bad of course, it's just they are not almighty bullet-proof as we-the fans, are trying to depict them, to the non-tech savy people.
 
Last edited:

HammerON

The Watchful Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Mar 2, 2009
Messages
7,434 (2.32/day)
Likes
4,740
Location
Up North
System Name Cruncher / Cruncher 2
Processor i7 6900K / E5 2683 v3
Motherboard X99A Gaming Pro Carbon / ASRock X99 Extreme 4/3.1
Cooling EK Supremacy EVO Elite 2011-3 / EK Supremacy
Memory G.Skill Trident Z 32GB 3200 / G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB 3200
Video Card(s) EVGA 980 Ti Classified / ATI 3650
Storage Samsung 960 Pro 512 GB + Mushkin Reactor 1 TB / OCZ Vertex 4 256 GB
Display(s) Dell UltraSharp U3011 30"
Case Corsair Obsidian 800D / TT Core V51
Audio Device(s) On-board
Power Supply Corsair AX1200 / EVGA 500W
Software Win 10 Pro/ Win 10
Benchmark Scores Always changing~
#11
45shanew - welcome to TPU:)
Please do not double post. Use the Edit, Quote or Multi-Quote features.
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,603 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,362
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#12
Id go with the best, a 256GB Vector! Never had a single problem with any of my ocz drives and there fast as fast can be :cool:
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2009
Messages
782 (0.25/day)
Likes
958
Location
Romania
System Name Asus ROG G752VY
Processor i7-6700HQ
Memory 24GB DDR4 2133mhz
Video Card(s) nvidia 980m
Storage Samsung SSD 850 pro 2TB+1tb hdd 7200rpm
Software Mageia 6 + Windows 10
#13
Hi, I work everyday with Photoshop, first I used a 10k rpm hdd, then a 256gb ssd, and now(and I am happy with that) I use a 512gb ssd Samsung 830(it reliable and have same speed for un/compresible data), I put all my work files on ssd+OS,I still have the 10k rpm hdd for backup my working files(usually at 30days I make a backup)...I recommend a 512gb samsung and to make 2 parttion(one for OS+software and second for working files)...
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2008
Messages
3,622 (1.09/day)
Likes
937
Location
Vietnam
System Name Gaming System / Laptop / HTPC
Processor i5 8600K @4.6Ghz / i5 540m / i7 970
Motherboard Z370 Aorus Ultra Gaming / Acer / Shuttle sx58j3
Cooling CM Seidon 120 XL / Laptop Cooling / SE-903
Memory T Group Nighthawk (3000 MHz)/ 4GB DDR3 / 12gb DDR3
Video Card(s) Colorful 1080Ti / G210m / 7870XT
Storage 750G MX300 + 3TB HDDs / 250G Ultra II /250G 850 EVO
Display(s) Dell U2515H + Asus VX239H/ 15.6" Laptop Screen / 720p 42" Plasma TV
Case Cooler master HAF 922 / Laptop Case / Corsair Air 240
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek
Power Supply Andyson N700 Titanium / Laptop Power / ACBell 700 W
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard CM Quickfire XT (Cherry MX Reds)
Software Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Firestrike = xxxxx Timespy = 9097 Heaven = xxxx
#14
120GB or so SATA 6 GB/s SSD + 2 TB HDD. The cheaper SSDs are slower, so look for one of the faster ones.


Of course, since you have Z77, you do have the option of 60 GB SSD and any size HDD, and they can be set as RAID device with the 60 GB SDD acting as a cache drive for the HDD. Commonly loaded programs/DATA are cached to the SSD for fast retrieval, the rest is sourced from the HDD, and it just appears as a single drive.


Personally, I prefer to separate the SDD/HDD, just because, but if Windows is installed in RAID mode to any HDD, you'll have the option to add the SDD as the cache drive at any time. You do need to connect to the Intel ports, of course.
Is it still called RAID when set up this way? With the SSD + HDD is it still a Redundant Array of Independent Disks?
 

DarkFX

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Oslo, Norway
#15
All SSD

I'm building a new computer for my dad who is going to use it for his CAD programs. So far I've sourced:
i7-3770K
Patriot Viper 3 Venom Red 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133MHz
Asus P8Z77-V PRO

He suggested that he wants to use an SSD to store the OS and all his CAD programs and write to a HDD. Is this the best way to do this? What would be a good SSD and what size should it be?
The best ( For such softwares ) is to have it on the same SSD. Raid is bullshit unless you buy two cheap SSD's.

Try 1 250-400 Gb SSD for the OS and softwares, and a little 7,2K RPM HD for projects savings ( If the SSD is'nt big enough ). I personally run programs as Photoshop, aftereffects and Autodesk MudBox, and having it all on a SSD is the best choice.

But does he run several programs at the same time?
 

DarkFX

New Member
Joined
Mar 31, 2013
Messages
8 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Oslo, Norway
#16