• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
762 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Soon...
20230112_154742.jpg


And who knows, maybe a Xeon as well. Maybe it's my bad luck but that i7 920 I have in there (C0 stepping, as far as I remember) can't undervolt at all.
 
Joined
Jul 8, 2022
Messages
237 (0.33/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-11900K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus XIII Hero
Cooling Arctic Liquid Freezer II 360
Memory 4x8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) Alienware RTX 3090 OEM
Storage OEM Kioxia 2tb NVMe (OS), 4TB WD Blue HDD (games)
Display(s) LG 27GN950-B
Case Lian Li Lancool II Mesh Performance (black)
Audio Device(s) Logitech Pro X Wireless
Power Supply Corsair RM1000x
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Elite 2

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,136 (1.95/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
162 (0.07/day)
Location
Turkey
This thread is forcing me to post a lot.
Because I have purchased so many motherboards and other hardware since 2007 that I can't even remember the number.
I took pictures of all of them and I keep them as archives.
I would like to share them all here, but I am very busy and I am looking for the 25th hour.:D

DFI Lanparty DK P35 T2RS​

It was one of the Legendary motherboards at that time.


I don't think you've seen this motherboard before.
I could be wrong, but it was made in South Korea and in my opinion the P35 Series is one of the best motherboards for overclocking.

J&W JW IP35-PRO​


 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
762 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Have ordered this just today, not sure if it'll ship tomorrow or on Monday. Not my pic, had to use a random one for now.

cdcd47e8-1ff9-40a5-8eac-ae150656af22.jpg


ASRock 970 Extreme3 + Phenom II X4 965 and supposedly a 8GB stick of RAM.

Thanks to a few folks over the previous posts I might also look into more Xeons, if I can source them cheap enough (well, not THAT cheap but not too pricey either - just the right spot!). One of the mobos I'd like to see run a Xeon would be the EX58-UD5. Especially so if it can both undervolt and overclock stable enough with the Corsair Dominators.

I also have an old JNC case I'll probably give some TLC to store one of the machines in. To be exact, the one from this post. I still have the parts from that Soyo build - the CPU is now running on a ABIT BE6-II mobo, the RAM sticks are on the same BE6, the V3 card runs on a K6-II+ build, and the DVD-ROM is also in that K6-II+ build. What I want to do is make the colours on it remote controlled - I'll have to look on how that can be done, as well as having a blue 80mm on the sidepanel instead of that RGB fan (which has no control whatsoever, it's just 12v/GND glue logic.)

And on a related note, I have found a list of the AMD AM2+/AM3 chips that can unlock. (AFAIK, the AM3+ FX chips are all unlocked by default, right?)
 
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,100 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
Soon...View attachment 278765

And who knows, maybe a Xeon as well. Maybe it's my bad luck but that i7 920 I have in there (C0 stepping, as far as I remember) can't undervolt at all.
Make sure you check CPU compatibility before buying Xeon. That is EX58, not EX58A. ;)
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,149 (1.95/day)
Location
UK
Just grab a PC case you already have & see if it fits in the suitcase. Hard to say from here.
The guy got back to me about the size and weight of that heavy Retro PC.Size and weight is as follows. (rounded up) 21cm(W) 45cm(H) 51cm(D) 15KG
Converting to inches as I am old school rounding it up
9 x 18 x 21 and 33lbs.It will fit nicely in my wheeled luggage case. It would be to heavy to put in one inside the other of those laundry bags 33lbs is fair too heavy, o_O although I could drag it. but a case with wheels is a better bet.:):I thought it would be bigger than that but glad it isn't,:).I am collecting it on Saturday.
The guy got back to me stating it boots up but it might be faulty . I knew that anyway as it was in the info for it. And said someone else was interested in it. For a fiver, it is worth it for the parts and that cool-looking heatsink fan.
1673559482226.png
1673559407854.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Messages
2,100 (0.50/day)
Location
Spencerport NY
System Name Master
Processor Pair of Xeon X5675's @ 4.3
Motherboard SR-2 Classified
Memory 12 GB of Corsair Dominator GT's @ 2000 7-7-7-21
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX680
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 750
That board is HUGE... what case are you using??
Cubitek HPTX Ice

EVGA Classified SR-2 (270-WS-W555)
I know very few people have this motherboard.
I felt like sharing something like a gift for those who have this motherboard.
The Bios of this motherboard is locked and I unlocked it. (Attention!!!!! I will only share the unlocked bios file if requested. For novices, using unlocked bios may brick the motherboard.)
At the same time, I added 16 different models and brands of NVMe SSD modules to the Bios file content.
@Mr.Scott that's for you.

I laughed out loud at this post..:laugh::laugh::laugh:
Got it. Thank you. :)
File is passworded. Message me password.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
762 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Make sure you check CPU compatibility before buying Xeon. That is EX58, not EX58A. ;)
As far as it shows, it supports Xeons, both standard and Nehalem-WS chips.
 
Joined
Feb 9, 2018
Messages
162 (0.07/day)
Location
Turkey
Cubitek HPTX Ice


Got it. Thank you. :)
File is passworded. Message me password.
I sent the File Password from Private.
Bios unlocked file I have to do like this as it can create security issue..
Novices are likely to brick this motherboard.
Also in addition:
The Marvell driver Module in the Bios of this motherboard is faulty.
This Fabrication is a faulty module.
This cannot be fixed with bios modding or module replacement.
Its technique is different.
Because it is a standalone module.
It is not integrated into the bios.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,819 (6.45/day)
In addition:
You can use ECC rams with a XEON series processor on that motherboard.
You can also get a Total of 48GB Capacity with Single Module 8GB DDR3 rams.
This!! ECC is the best. It's more expensive, but it eliminates single-bit errors and even some multi-bit errors that can happen and cause system problems.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
762 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Definitely would... if prices per stick wouldn't be way too expensive where I live. I'd roughly spend $96 worth of ECC RAM - while standard 6x8GB sticks would set me back around $50.

That... and even if it's a Xeon, what am I gonna do with 48GB worth of RAM? :laugh: I won't be doing Blender/VEGAS/Premiere editing anytime soon, that's for sure (I don't really know how to use Premiere and Blender, and for VEGAS, my i5-3470 + 16GB DDR3 proves to be enough for it to run smoothly.)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2020
Messages
1,256 (0.95/day)
Location
Tel Fyr
System Name Purple Haze | Vacuum Box
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D (-30 CO) | Intel® Xeon® E3-1241 v3
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk Max | Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
Cooling Dark Rock 4 Pro, P14, P12, T30 case fans | 212 Evo & P12 PWM PST x2, Arctic P14 & P12 case fans
Memory 32GB Ballistix (Micron E 19nm) CL16 @3733MHz | 32GB HyperX Beast 2400MHz (XMP)
Video Card(s) AMD 6900XTXH ASRock OC Formula & Phanteks T30x3 | AMD 5700XT Sapphire Nitro+ & Arctic P12x2
Storage ADATA SX8200 Pro 1TB, Toshiba P300 3TB x2 | Kingston A400 120GB, Fanxiang S500 Pro 256GB
Display(s) Mi 2K Gaming Monitor 27", AOC 24G2U
Case Modded MS Industrial Titan II Pro RGB | Heavily Modded Cooler Master Q500L
Audio Device(s) Audient iD14 MKII, Adam Audio T8Vs, Bloody M550, HiFiMan HE400se, Tascam TM-80
Power Supply Rosewill Capstone 1000M | Enermax Revolution X't 730W (both with P14 fans)
Mouse Logitech G305, Bloody A91, Amazon basics, Logitech M187
Keyboard Redragon K530, Bloody B930, Epomaker TH80 SE, BTC 9110
Software W10 LTSC 21H2
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,149 (1.95/day)
Location
UK
This thread is forcing me to post a lot.
Because I have purchased so many motherboards and other hardware since 2007 that I can't even remember the number.
I took pictures of all of them and I keep them as archives.
I would like to share them all here, but I am very busy and I am looking for the 25th hour.:D

DFI Lanparty DK P35 T2RS​

It was one of the Legendary motherboards at that time.


I don't think you've seen this motherboard before.
I could be wrong, but it was made in South Korea and in my opinion the P35 Series is one of the best motherboards for overclocking.

J&W JW IP35-PRO​


Nice lot of boards there. :)
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2013
Messages
2,641 (0.69/day)
Location
Alabama
Processor Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard X470 Tachi Ultimate
Cooling Scythe Big Shuriken 3
Memory C.R.S.
Video Card(s) Radeon VII
Software Win 7
Benchmark Scores Never high enough
Have ordered this just today, not sure if it'll ship tomorrow or on Monday. Not my pic, had to use a random one for now.

ASRock 970 Extreme3 + Phenom II X4 965 and supposedly a 8GB stick of RAM.

Thanks to a few folks over the previous posts I might also look into more Xeons, if I can source them cheap enough (well, not THAT cheap but not too pricey either - just the right spot!). One of the mobos I'd like to see run a Xeon would be the EX58-UD5. Especially so if it can both undervolt and overclock stable enough with the Corsair Dominators.

I also have an old JNC case I'll probably give some TLC to store one of the machines in. To be exact, the one from this post. I still have the parts from that Soyo build - the CPU is now running on a ABIT BE6-II mobo, the RAM sticks are on the same BE6, the V3 card runs on a K6-II+ build, and the DVD-ROM is also in that K6-II+ build. What I want to do is make the colours on it remote controlled - I'll have to look on how that can be done, as well as having a blue 80mm on the sidepanel instead of that RGB fan (which has no control whatsoever, it's just 12v/GND glue logic.)

And on a related note, I have found a list of the AMD AM2+/AM3 chips that can unlock. (AFAIK, the AM3+ FX chips are all unlocked by default, right?)
Yes, all FX chips regardless of core/module count for AM3+ are unlocked.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
762 (0.20/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 43 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse ASUS RoG Cerberus mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Just for the fun of it, I dropped 24 GB on the i7 920. Was surprised that it recognized it all at first, then remembered that 24GB is the maximum the CPU will register.
20230113_015051.jpg

1673567299318380.png

20230113_015059.jpg

The config I got it running was 3x2GB Corsair Dominator 1600MHz on the blue slots, and a mix of 2x8GB SK-Hynix on the first two white slots, ending with a 2GB Hynix stick on the last slot. Runs surprisingly well although I have left one of the BIOS settings on Standard rather than Turbo or Extreme, as I've usually had issues with running in those two modes.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,149 (1.95/day)
Location
UK

MSI Nividia Geforce GTX 670 Twin Frozer OC Version 2GB £50 “Full working order, excellent and clean cosmetic condition”Any one who keeps the box and everything that it came with has to be good. :) How does it compare to a normal GTX 670?Here's my fav UK Youtuber​

 

Attachments

  • 1673618664512.png
    1673618664512.png
    2.4 MB · Views: 58
  • 1673618697701.png
    1673618697701.png
    3 MB · Views: 37
  • 1673618733736.png
    1673618733736.png
    1.7 MB · Views: 38
  • 1673618827809.png
    1673618827809.png
    2.7 MB · Views: 43
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 24, 2021
Messages
453 (0.43/day)
Location
Tornado Alley
System Name Main W10
Processor i7 2700K
Motherboard Gig Z77 HD4
Cooling Xigmatech Tower Cooler
Memory 16 GB G-Skill 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080ti 11GB
Storage WD Gold 2 TB HD
Display(s) Acer 27" 1440P
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro
Audio Device(s) JDS Labs Element DAC/AMP
Power Supply Rosewill Hive 650 watt
Mouse MX 518
Keyboard Cherry 3000 with Blues
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
653 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
My wife used to drag a Compaq version of that home from work back in the late '80 - early '90s. We used the term "Luggable" back then as well. :laugh:
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,149 (1.95/day)
Location
UK
I have just seen this
Gigabyte GeForce Windforce GTX 770 2Gb Graphics Card WORKING SN1345010062 £45 make an offer it seems a bit cheap for a 770. It has been taken off now, i think he must have made a miss take on the price, and taken it off.
I wish i could get stuff as cheap as this guy does. :(
he is one of my fav you tubers though.:)

 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 8, 2019
Messages
480 (0.27/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard AsRock B550M Pro4
Cooling Arctic Freezer 34 Esports
Memory 32GB (4x8gb) Hynix 3466mhz CL17 (2x8 Team Dark Z DDR4-4000 CL18 + 2x8 Vcolor Prism DDR4-3466 CL17)
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1660 Super 6gb
Storage Sabrent Rocket Q 1tb NVME + 500gb Samsung HDD
Display(s) Triple monitor setup w/ Viewsonic 1080p 144hz main + 2 Dell Ultrasharps
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 w/ 3x Arctic F14 PWM + 3X Arctic F12 PWM
Audio Device(s) Logitech X530 5.1 Spearkers + Beyer Dynamic DT770 PRO's driven by a Creative Labs Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX750i 80+ Platinum
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Leopold FC750R Cherry MX Brown
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional x64
I got a other lot of 775 CPUs which included another 925 to try and overclock. On my P5W DH Deluxe I got it to 4.8ghz, although it wasn't very stable and it refused to go past this at all.

20230113_171824~2.jpg

I tried running it on my EVGA 680i SLI (reference) board but I am struggling to get it to oc much at all. There are so many different settings, especially nforce related ones that I don't know what to do with, so that's probably it.
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
653 (0.10/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GM-750
Mouse HP Gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
If I remember correctly, I read the nforce 680i has 'FSB holes' that made overclocking really difficult. You think you've found a FSB wall, then try 15 or 20 MHz higher & it works. Definitely made it a challenge.
 
Top