• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
X5690s are cheap as dirt now. I’ve picked up 2 for about $65 total. Some of the Ivy Bridge EP stuff is even cheaper. You can snag 10 core CPUs for like $10. I thought about getting a base Trash Can Mac Pro, as they are getting pretty cheap now. It’s a more involved procedure, but the 12C/24T Ivy EP is also really cheap and is drop in compatible. My main gripes are the limited storage room and the old proprietary Tahiti Radeons. Still, I might one day just to have owned one.
I saw two Mac PC,s either the G5 or the Mac pro version at my local market. How can you tell what is in them? I dare say they were both the G5 version. Those fans in the G5 are noisy :rockout:It must be hard to get the parts for them, and if you do must cost an arm and leg for them.o_O
This giy is good
:)
Come to think of it had more than one bay in the front so they must have been Mac Pros. Have you heard of MorphOS?
So is this guy's videos:)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,597 (0.63/day)
Location
Tanagra
I saw two Mac PC,s either the G5 or the Mac pro version at my local market. How can you tell what is in them? I dare say they were both the G5 version. Those fans in the G5 are noisy :rockout:It must be hard to get the parts for them, and if you do must cost an arm and leg for them.o_O
Depends on the model/year. Anything called PowerMac is PowerPC, so yeah, hard to find. Anything Mac Pro is Intel based, with mostly off the shelf parts. Pre-2009 used RAMBUS, so the memory is more complicated and maybe harder to find. 2009-2012 is Nehalem and Westmere Xeons, and you can often get the base tower for under $200, and the CPU upgrades are anywhere from $5-40 on eBay, depending on what CPU you get. ECC DDR3 is abundant and cheap. I got 48GB for about $60. Mac Pros also accept most off-the shelf GPUs, but you lose the initial boot screen. Install OpenCore to the EFI partition to fix that, and to run more recent versions of MacOS.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
No that came with with the one in the photo Cooler Master which only cost me £5. on F.M.P:)Defnetly the place to buy stuff on there.:)That PSU works fine.:)Good review by the Aussie ,looks a good case for building in.:)I am going to take the 1155 out of and put Asus P5N 775 board in the there.I have so many cases now i will have to start building.The intel heatsink fan is noisy on the 1155 board. :(
I just tried the PSU that came with the case you see here which was free. :)I did not think it was working, o_O I am not sure I would trust to use it with a build though.o_O
 

Attachments

  • DSC01330.JPG
    DSC01330.JPG
    6.5 MB · Views: 39
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
707 (0.19/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 32 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
A "teaser" of my next build :D




The PSU is Raidmax only by the shell - its original internals are long gone (aside from the fan, that is) and have been replaced by a Spire Jewel 380W's recapped internals.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
A "teaser" of my next build :D




The PSU is Raidmax only by the shell - its original internals are long gone (aside from the fan, that is) and have been replaced by a Spire Jewel 380W's recapped internals.
That must take some doing to replace the PSU innards. o_O

Depends on the model/year. Anything called PowerMac is PowerPC, so yeah, hard to find. Anything Mac Pro is Intel based, with mostly off the shelf parts. Pre-2009 used RAMBUS, so the memory is more complicated and maybe harder to find. 2009-2012 is Nehalem and Westmere Xeons, and you can often get the base tower for under $200, and the CPU upgrades are anywhere from $5-40 on eBay, depending on what CPU you get. ECC DDR3 is abundant and cheap. I got 48GB for about $60. Mac Pros also accept most off-the shelf GPUs, but you lose the initial boot screen. Install OpenCore to the EFI partition to fix that, and to run more recent versions of MacOS.
It is an expensive thing to do I would have thought.o_O Does anyone own one of that trash can Macs? I understand there still selling for high prices, even though the high-spec ones are very low these days.
Sounds like a lot of delicate work to upgrade it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,597 (0.63/day)
Location
Tanagra
That must take some doing to replace the PSU innards. o_O


It is an expensive thing to do I would have thought.o_O Does anyone own one of that trash can Macs? I understand there still selling for high prices, even though the high-spec ones are very low these days.
Sounds like a lot of delicate work to upgrade it.
You can get the base model 6,1 on eBay for $350 or so. A 12C/24T Ivy Bridge E is only like $20 on eBay, so if you have about $400, you can do it. I’ve thought about it and might do it one day. One is is the GPUs are old Pictairn proprietary jobs, so you are stuck with old performance and replacement GPUs that are really hard to find. My 5,1 has an RX 480 in it currently, but I have a 5600 XT on the way. You can run up to a 6800 XT in these older Macs, and it’s one of the many reasons Apple users rejected the Trash Can Pro. Apple screwed that one up really bad. Not bad as far as engineering goes, but certainly not a Pro machine. The Classic Pro runs circles around the Trash Can when it comes to peripheral upgrades. I have a PCIe to NVME card in mine, so I get 1400MB/s r/w. I can add 2 more of those, and I have 4 SATA bays and 2 SATA optical bays where I could put even more storage. I wish Apple had just kept the classic design with the 6,1, but they blew it.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
^x4, Is that a VIA chipset s754 board? But yes, going from 500W to 380W, should still work on those. Could not see what AGP GPU you have there.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
707 (0.19/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 32 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
ASUS K8N, nForce 3 250GB. GPU is a 3D Prophet 9700 Pro.

I do have two K8V-X SE as well, but they have bulging caps from being unused (known problem with Chemicon KZG series).

As for the PSU, I don't think it's gonna see past 250W max of load - nothing in there would go past that IMO
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
To others&youngsters, some info here about (link) nForce3
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
I thought it looks on the smaller size. o_O What about the motherboard that looks like a wifi card in there if it is it would be a micro board as the mini ones only have one PCI slot on them. Is that your Pc you have shown?It only has three slots at the back though.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
Is that your Pc you have shown?It only has three slots at the back though.
No, just dug from the net as an example.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 16, 2017
Messages
1,597 (0.63/day)
Location
Tanagra
Definitely a mATX. If it was a mini ITX the GPU would have to be using the first and second case slot. The wifi card in the bottom is the other big giveaway. You can run a miniITX board in a mATX case, but that's not what you see here.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
No, just dug from the net as an example.
Ok thanks to everyone. :)
Definitely a mATX. If it was a mini ITX the GPU would have to be using the first and second case slot. The wifi card in the bottom is the other big giveaway. You can run a miniITX board in a mATX case, but that's not what you see here.
Thats what i was hoping.And because it has a WHFI card in there the board must be a micro board :)The reason i was asking this question was i bought it yesterday.And did not check all the specs as i usually do as it was such a good deal for the price £230 including £18 for the postage.The guy even said he would take that off if he could deliver within 70 miles,i am a lot more than that.I have never heard anything like that before o_OOnly if you are local.
 
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
^ off topic, looks like the motherboard is a Gigabyte B450M DS3H ?
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
No, just dug from the net as an example.
  • Very compact and quiet- nicely built by CCL Computers. Great all round PC with very little use. Was reset 13/3/23.

AOC G2778VQ 1ms 75Hz Gaming MonitorBefore i saw that after you mentioning about RYZEN i did intend to to build a RYZEN after all the rave reviews of how good they are compared to Intel.I was ready to buy a RYZEN 5 3600 for £55.So when i saw a complete PC with WIFI card 2600s and RX580 plus This​

as well as this keyboard and mouse unused .:)I could not give that a miss for the price. :)
.

^ off topic, looks like the motherboard is a Gigabyte B450M DS3H ?
If it is that one thats ok with me.
if i had been building one myself i would have got the AsRock b450m pro 4 as i did want 3,2 GEN 2, but it seems that there on few.and far between
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
I have good experiences with Gigabyte boards on AM3 and AM4, they are durable. BIOS support been good too, taking care of compatibility.
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2006
Messages
971 (0.15/day)
Location
Malaysia
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5700G
Motherboard Gigabyte B450M-S2H
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu Mark II
Memory 2 x 16GB SK Hynix OEM DDR4-3200 @ 3666 18-20-18-36
Video Card(s) Colorful RTX 2060 SUPER 8GB
Storage 250GB WD BLACK SN750 M.2 + 4TB WD Red Plus + 4TB WD Purple
Display(s) AOpen 27HC5R 27" 1080p 165Hz
Case COUGAR MX440 Mesh RGB
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium HD + Kurtzweil KS-40A bookshelf
Power Supply Corsair CX750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Essential
Keyboard Cougar Attack2 Cherry MX Black
Software Windows 10 Pro 22H1 x64
I have good experiences with Gigabyte boards on AM3 and AM4, they are durable. BIOS support been good too, taking care of compatibility.
Yep I been using even cheaper B450M-S2H with only 2 DIMM slots. Regular BIOS updates means I could plug 5800x3D with latest AGESA fixing compatibilty with it.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,083 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
Yep I been using even cheaper B450M-S2H with only 2 DIMM slots. Regular BIOS updates means I could plug 5800x3D with latest AGESA fixing compatibilty with it.
Sounds good to me ,i am glad it has four Ram slots. :) It looks like it is the board droid-says it is.Off course i want know tell i Receive it.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
707 (0.19/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 32 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
And the K8N is set up on the bench. I legitimately forgot this was one of the two K8N I have that has had a custom splash screen applied.

And yes, I went ahead and just said "screw it", and dropped XP x64's install disc image onto a 4GB microSD card. Blazing fast, considering USB 2.0 was still new voodoo magic back when this board released.

I did also find the other stock K8N... but it's in an dire need of a recap. Whatever my brain was thinking nearly 10 years ago when I installed Evercons all over the board (Evercon being one of the many names of GSC, aka the worst capacitor you'd ever find - Albatrons were their biggest vicitms as far as I remember) escapes me, but sure as heck they need to get off that board. I'll be looking whatever dead 775 board I have that I may be able to harvest polymers off and treat it to a whole polymod - the one I used here has Panasonic FL/FJ over the entire board so no need for me to replace them.
 

Attachments

  • 20230324_213909.jpg
    20230324_213909.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 51
  • 20230324_213919.jpg
    20230324_213919.jpg
    1,010.8 KB · Views: 50
  • 20230324_222659.jpg
    20230324_222659.jpg
    2.3 MB · Views: 54
  • 20230324_223749.jpg
    20230324_223749.jpg
    1.1 MB · Views: 51
  • 20230324_223755.jpg
    20230324_223755.jpg
    564.4 KB · Views: 38
  • 20230324_223828.jpg
    20230324_223828.jpg
    1.5 MB · Views: 40
  • 20230324_223843.jpg
    20230324_223843.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 43
  • 20230324_223904.jpg
    20230324_223904.jpg
    973 KB · Views: 40
  • 20230324_223925.jpg
    20230324_223925.jpg
    2.2 MB · Views: 42
  • 20230324_223931.jpg
    20230324_223931.jpg
    1.2 MB · Views: 43
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 24, 2019
Messages
276 (0.15/day)
Location
60th parallel N.
System Name sleeper Compaq
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI B550M Pro-VDH WiFi
Cooling ARCTIC Freezer 7 X, Nexus D12SL-12
Memory PNY XLR8 Gaming 2x8GB 3200Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX750Ti GDDR5 2GB
Storage XPG SX6000 Lite 128 M.2 NVMe, Seagate 500GB
Display(s) Sony 32" bravia
Case Compaq SR5700 series
Audio Device(s) Samsung Pleomax S2-500B 2.1. Sennheiser hp.
Power Supply SilverStone 500W Strider Essential ST50F-ES230 V2.0
Mouse Logitech G1
Keyboard Logitech 350
Software Win11 Home
Albatrons were their biggest vicitms as far as I remember
From my socket A times, EPoX and some MSI boards were also hit badly with the capacitor misery, can't recall if I ever an had Albatron board.
 
Last edited:
Top