• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
619 (0.09/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-850
Mouse HP gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
My question is will i be able to to use a external floppy drive to boot the floppy disk?
If you are asking about an external USB floppy drive on Win98 vintage hardware, no it will not work. The USB floppy drive might show up on a F8 or F12 boot menu with somewhat newer hardware though.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,518 (6.55/day)
Location
USA
Will I be able to to use the external floppy drive to boot the floppy disc?
That should work, yeah.

If you are asking about an external USB floppy drive on Win98 vintage hardware, no it will not work. The USB floppy drive might show up on a F8 or F12 boot menu with somewhat newer hardware though.
Some old systems from that era could boot from a USB floppy drive, particularly some from the early 2000's.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
If you are asking about an external USB floppy drive on Win98 vintage hardware, no it will not work. The USB floppy drive might show up on a F8 or F12 boot menu with somewhat newer hardware though.
Ok thanks 68Olds :)

I just got this one on auction on eBay :)

WIMAXIT 14inch Portable Touch Screen Monitor,External Second Dual... “Insolvency, Ex-demo or ex-display, in good condition.Has been handled, inspected, and tested (where ”.:).
1696366212601.jpeg

For my PI4,starting bid was £100 I was the only one who put a bid in​

I bid £102 and they just put £2 for postage.o_O I bet the seller expected more than that.o_O I think that is the problem why he did not get more bids for it ,must have put people biding with such a high starting price. The kick stand is a very unique design. With most of the others wrap around ones.

1696366160970.jpeg


If you are asking about an external USB floppy drive on Win98 vintage hardware, no it will not work. The USB floppy drive might show up on a F8 or F12 boot menu with somewhat newer hardware though.
Lex thinks it will.:) And if the guy used it on a thin clint it must do.o_O

Yeah, you should be okay @Greenslade

If you have a external floppy drive and the disk is okay, it should install.
That's the problem with floppy discs ,you never know if they will work. o_O

More details about the i-Opener - The $99 Computer i. put in here earlier


 
Last edited:

3x0

Joined
Oct 6, 2022
Messages
874 (1.70/day)
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard MSI MPG B550I Gaming Edge Wi-Fi ITX
Cooling Scythe Fuma 2 rev. B Noctua NF-A12x25 Edition
Memory 2x16GiB G.Skill TridentZ DDR4 3200Mb/s CL14 F4-3200C14D-32GTZKW
Video Card(s) PowerColor Radeon RX7800 XT Hellhound 16GiB
Storage Western Digital Black SN850 WDS100T1X0E-00AFY0 1TiB, Western Digital Blue 3D WDS200T2B0A 2TiB
Display(s) Dell G2724D 27" IPS 1440P 165Hz, ASUS VG259QM 25” IPS 1080P 240Hz
Case Cooler Master NR200P ITX
Audio Device(s) Altec Lansing 220, HyperX Cloud II
Power Supply Corsair SF750 Platinum 750W SFX
Mouse Lamzu Atlantis Mini Wireless
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Origins Aqua
I have a weird issue with my old GPUs. Previously I have tested them with my old monitor @DVI connection, no adapters. Now I don't have that monitor anymore and am using my newer 1080P 240Hz VG259QM with an HDMI-DVI adapter.

8800GT, GTX280/285 no longer display an image when the OS loads (working in safe mode and normal mode before drivers are installed), but GTX 580 works when connected using the same method. I find it highly unlikely that 3 of my GPUs died in storage, and exhibit the same "failure". What's more likely is that the HDMI-DVI adapter or the monitor itself don't vibe with the old cards. Has anyone experienced something like this?
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,518 (6.55/day)
Location
USA
8800GT, GTX280/285 no longer display an image when the OS loads (working in safe mode and normal mode before drivers are installed), but GTX 580 works when connected using the same method.
While DVI & HDMI share the same signaling and protocols, not all modern displays react well to the original DVI/HDMI spec.

I find it highly unlikely that 3 of my GPUs died in storage, and exhibit the same "failure".
They're unlikely to all be failing. Not all adapters are created equal. You likely need to get a proper DVI to HDMI cable from a reputable maker. Amazon actually makes/sells very good cables and adapters.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
I have decided to give this case away as i want be using it,The case i bought earler this year for £5 it did included this motherboard and this PSU 600w 80 plus
i have taken out the Floppy Drive but not tested them yet.If someone lives in London and wants the case,it would be nice for it to go to a good home.:)I don,t supose there are any other people in here from London in here o_OIf not i will put it on Gumtree or
1696514068458.png


I have just noticed the dvd drive was a slot one.o_OI have never seen a full sized internal one before.

Pioneer DVD ROM Drive Slot Loading IDE PATA Molex Vintage Retro Pc Part .I only saw one on eBay.I should think it is very unique.:)Only one sold for only £10 one bid untested.It looks cool​


Rare slot loading dvd reader drive

It will help complete your retro pc setup, it certainly will :)
1696516386136.png
 

Attachments

  • DSC01766.JPG
    DSC01766.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 30
  • DSC01765.JPG
    DSC01765.JPG
    6.2 MB · Views: 33
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,480 (0.45/day)
System Name Always changing
Processor Always changing
Motherboard Always changing
Cooling Always changing
Memory Always changing
Video Card(s) Always changing
Storage Always changing
Display(s) Always changing
Case Always changing
Audio Device(s) Always changing
Power Supply Always changing
Mouse Always changing
Keyboard Always changing
I have a weird issue with my old GPUs. Previously I have tested them with my old monitor @DVI connection, no adapters. Now I don't have that monitor anymore and am using my newer 1080P 240Hz VG259QM with an HDMI-DVI adapter.

8800GT, GTX280/285 no longer display an image when the OS loads (working in safe mode and normal mode before drivers are installed), but GTX 580 works when connected using the same method. I find it highly unlikely that 3 of my GPUs died in storage, and exhibit the same "failure". What's more likely is that the HDMI-DVI adapter or the monitor itself don't vibe with the old cards. Has anyone experienced something like this?
Did you make sure to try and set your monitor to 60HZ on control panel and see if that changed anything? I’m sure that’s why safemode works as it would default to the lowest settings and resolutions. I’d imagine the older cards wouldn’t be able to display 1080P at a super high refresh rate but don’t know for sure.
 
  • Like
Reactions: 3x0
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
I think i will use the Floppy drive and the slot DVD in the other £5 case which came with a PSU not tested yet.And the motherboard you see below. along with that Retro looking screen which my landlady gave me. :)DVD working i think that is cool is a slot drive:) But not the floppy drive.:(
 

Attachments

  • DSC01768.JPG
    DSC01768.JPG
    6.4 MB · Views: 43
  • DSC01767.JPG
    DSC01767.JPG
    6.5 MB · Views: 30
  • DSC01771 1.JPG
    DSC01771 1.JPG
    6.8 MB · Views: 39
  • DSC01772 1.JPG
    DSC01772 1.JPG
    6.7 MB · Views: 38
  • DSC01774.JPG
    DSC01774.JPG
    6.2 MB · Views: 41
  • DSC01777.JPG
    DSC01777.JPG
    6.3 MB · Views: 36
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 19, 2005
Messages
619 (0.09/day)
Location
GA, USA
System Name Gamer
Processor Ryzen 7 5800X3D
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite WIFI
Cooling Apogee XL, MCR360, MCP655, Micro-rez
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill DDR4-3600 CL16
Video Card(s) Red Dragon RX 6800 XT
Storage WD SN850 1TB & SN750 1TB
Display(s) LG 32GK650F-B 32" 1440p 144Hz
Case Rocketfish (Lian Li) e-ATX
Audio Device(s) Harman Kardon HK695 2.1
Power Supply Seasonic Focus GX-850
Mouse HP gaming wired
Keyboard Logitech G110 wired
VR HMD HP WMR 1440^2
Software Win10 Pro 64bit
But not the floppy drive.:(
Some floppy cables are not keyed and can be plugged in backwards. Get out your magnifying glass & flash light (needed by me! lol) and make sure pin 1 is in the proper place on each end of the cable. Disregard if the cable is keyed.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
Some floppy cables are not keyed and can be plugged in backwards. Get out your magnifying glass & flash light (needed by me! lol) and make sure pin 1 is in the proper place on each end of the cable. Disregard if the cable is keyed.
It is keyed,andwhats more just the light on it ,no floppy noise.:(
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
25,518 (6.55/day)
Location
USA
I have decided to give this case away as i want be using it,The case i bought earler this year for £5 it did included this motherboard and this PSU 600w 80 plus
i have taken out the Floppy Drive but not tested them yet.If someone lives in London and wants the case,it would be nice for it to go to a good home.:)I don,t supose there are any other people in here from London in here o_OIf not i will put it on Gumtree or View attachment 316278

I have just noticed the dvd drive was a slot one.o_OI have never seen a full sized internal one before.

Pioneer DVD ROM Drive Slot Loading IDE PATA Molex Vintage Retro Pc Part .I only saw one on eBay.I should think it is very unique.:)Only one sold for only £10 one bid untested.It looks cool​


Rare slot loading dvd reader drive

It will help complete your retro pc setup, it certainly will :)
View attachment 316283
I SOOOO miss slot loading drives!! Pioneer had a winner there!
 

Outback Bronze

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
1,859 (0.40/day)
Location
Walkabout Creek
System Name Raptor Baked
Processor 14900k w.c.
Motherboard Z790 Hero
Cooling w.c.
Memory 32GB Hynix
Video Card(s) Zotac 4080 w.c.
Storage 2TB Kingston kc3k
Display(s) Gigabyte 34" Curved
Case Corsair 460X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply PCIe5 850w
Mouse Asus
Keyboard Corsair
Software Win 11
Benchmark Scores Cool n Quiet.
Heck yeah. I always thought that cooler was epic for factory. I have that same cpu in my collection! Can’t for the life of me find a 980x or 990x in the box still. Plenty just the cpu buttttttttt

Yo :)

IMG_9222.JPG
IMG_9223.JPG
IMG_9224.JPG


Believe it or not I actually purchased this CPU to run with my X58 boards. So, it's completely original from my own hardware.

IMG_9225.JPG


You might like this too. It was mainly run on this board.

Happy days ;)
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
707 (0.19/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 32 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Heh, guess I'll have to bring my EX58-UD5 out of the box these days.

Except mine's going the Xeon route :D
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
I SOOOO miss slot loading drives!! Pioneer had a winner there!
Do you know of any videos that can show me how to repair the Floppy drive?i saw a couple on Apple drives but no Windows ones. :(I was so sure it was going to work.It makes no noise as floppy drives do.:(Has anyone owned one of these?[
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
You should be able to hop on YouTube and type in " Floppy drive repair ".
Thanks for that Lex, :) Weather or not i will be able to fix it is another mater.o_O Another question i have for you is what is a device Driver?There is no problem with the CF card i am using as a hard drive, it is a industral one.Before that message comes up it says something about the bios?.Ir is only on there a few seconds.What should it be in the Bios?
 

Attachments

  • DSC01781.JPG
    DSC01781.JPG
    6.9 MB · Views: 23

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,096 (1.98/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
Thanks for that Lex, :) Weather or not i will be able to fix it is another mater.o_O Another question i have for you is what is a device Driver?There is no problem with the CF card i am using as a hard drive, it is a industral one.Before that message comes up it says something about the bios?.Ir is only on there a few seconds.What should it be in the Bios?

If you are trying to install Windows 95 on an old system and attempting to use a CF card, I don't think it will work.
 
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
If you are trying to install Windows 95 on an old system and attempting to use a CF card, I don't think it will work.
It is on a old system.I thought a CF card was just the job for that o_O You can do it on 98 and any os after thato_OI just got this message from Windows 2000 downloaded from Internet Archive.Is that the only way to get pre XP Windows to work is to have the actual disc?.I downloaded Windows ME from the Windows selection in your forum it said Failed to download.o_OIt has now fully downloaded ME ,but i have all reafy bought the disc on eBay.
 

Attachments

  • DSC01783.JPG
    DSC01783.JPG
    7.1 MB · Views: 43
Last edited:
Joined
May 8, 2016
Messages
1,730 (0.61/day)
System Name BOX
Processor Core i7 6950X @ 4,26GHz (1,28V)
Motherboard X99 SOC Champion (BIOS F23c + bifurcation mod)
Cooling Thermalright Venomous-X + 2x Delta 38mm PWM (Push-Pull)
Memory Patriot Viper Steel 4000MHz CL16 4x8GB (@3240MHz CL12.12.12.24 CR2T @ 1,48V)
Video Card(s) Titan V (~1650MHz @ 0.77V, HBM2 1GHz, Forced P2 state [OFF])
Storage WD SN850X 2TB + Samsung EVO 2TB (SATA) + Seagate Exos X20 20TB (4Kn mode)
Display(s) LG 27GP950-B
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 XL
Audio Device(s) Motu M4 (audio interface) + ATH-A900Z + Behringer C-1
Power Supply Seasonic X-760 (760W)
Mouse Logitech RX-250
Keyboard HP KB-9970
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Thanks for that Lex, :) Weather or not i will be able to fix it is another mater.o_O Another question i have for you is what is a device Driver?There is no problem with the CF card i am using as a hard drive, it is a industral one.Before that message comes up it says something about the bios?.Ir is only on there a few seconds.What should it be in the Bios?
Depending on platform you are using to do this, you either have to use "auto detect" menu to get CF recognized correctly (and NOT be messed with by "auto" option). A manual method may be required for old board.
Next, formatting CF card from DOS 6.22 is recommended (Win98 uses DOS 7.x).
Installing Windows from USB stick is impossible on (I think ?) all Pentium III and older platforms.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2009
Messages
2,480 (0.45/day)
System Name Always changing
Processor Always changing
Motherboard Always changing
Cooling Always changing
Memory Always changing
Video Card(s) Always changing
Storage Always changing
Display(s) Always changing
Case Always changing
Audio Device(s) Always changing
Power Supply Always changing
Mouse Always changing
Keyboard Always changing
Finally have it in hand. It is hilarious how small the box is! 10x8x2.5”

Finally have it in hand. It is hilarious how small the box is! 10x8x2.5”
I’m amazed I found one still sealed. Nuts!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_6911.jpeg
    IMG_6911.jpeg
    1.8 MB · Views: 41
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
If i buy this will it defiantly work? o_O
Microsoft Windows ME Millennium
with Product Key

Originally intended for Tiny computers.
But will install on any brand of PC
PLUS
Floppy Boot Disk
Nero 7 Essentials
When i wrote to the guy he said the Floppy is only for older PC,s that can,t boot from CD and gives you a Rom driver.
1696700719921.png

Depending on platform you are using to do this, you either have to use "auto detect" menu to get CF recognized correctly (and NOT be messed with by "auto" option). A manual method may be required for old board.
Next, formatting CF card from DOS 6.22 is recommended (Win98 uses DOS 7.x).
Installing Windows from USB stick is impossible on (I think ?) all Pentium III and older platforms.
The board is GA 7V AXP mine is Athlon 2800.i have the CF card as primary master.the dvd drive is secondery slave. Neither of them wotk in the two slots ar the edge of the board.:(Perhaps there is some dirt in there.o_OIt is on auto.95 was the os i was trying to install.I took a chance on it .It was only 1.99 it had errors on the burn i new they were cracked versions but i was hoping it would work they did give me the key though.:)eBay should kick the guy off there.In the meantime i bought the ME one pictured.The guy does mot have the 98se version. :( I will jist have towait tell someone has got a 98se one for a decent price like the one pictured wgich was £12.At least i have only lost 1.99.on the cracked one.
 

stinger608

Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder
Joined
Nov 11, 2008
Messages
11,096 (1.98/day)
Location
Wyoming
System Name Dean Machine/2020 Ryzenfall
Processor Intel 4790K/AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard MSI 1150 Gaming mATX/Gigabyte AORUS ELITE B550
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 LED/SilverStone AH240 AIO
Memory 16 gigs Crucial Ballistix Tactical Tracer/16 gigs G.Skill TridentZ NEO DDR4
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1660 Super/Gigabyte GTX 1660
Storage Crucial SSD 256 and 2TB spinner/Dual Samsung 980 Pro M2 NVME 4.0
Display(s) Overlord 27" 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Air 540
Audio Device(s) On board
Power Supply Seasonic modular 850 watt Platinum/EVGA T2-850 Titanium
Software Windows 10 Pro/Windows 10 Pro
I downloaded Windows ME from the Windows selection in your forum it said Failed to download.
Hmm, I'll have to check that out. Thanks for bringing that to my attention.

The board is GA 7V AXP mine is Athlon 2800.i have the CF card as primary master.the dvd drive is secondery slave.

Yeah, that should work okay.

Installing Windows from USB stick is impossible on (I think ?) all Pentium III and older platforms.

Not to mention, trying to get USB to work on Windows 95. It was a serious PITA.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2014
Messages
707 (0.19/day)
Location
Bacau, Romania
System Name Star Platinum
Processor Intel Core i5-3470 3.20GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte B75M-D3H
Cooling EKL
Memory 16GB DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX650 1GB GDDR5
Storage 2x Seagate ST31000340NS 1TB SATA II
Display(s) Samsung 32 inch
Case Delux MG760
Audio Device(s) Realtek High Definition Audio + X-Fi XtremeGamer SB0730
Power Supply FSP Bluestorm II 500W
Mouse Marvo KM400 Mouse
Keyboard Marvo KM400 keyboard
Software Windows 10 Enterprise LTSC 1809
Does this color look familiar to y'all? :D
 

Attachments

  • RDT_20231008_0211487272542439256471864.jpg
    RDT_20231008_0211487272542439256471864.jpg
    5.2 MB · Views: 26
  • RDT_20231007_194130686299796339739174.png
    RDT_20231007_194130686299796339739174.png
    3.2 MB · Views: 25
Joined
Jun 14, 2021
Messages
2,084 (2.10/day)
Location
UK
Hmm, I'll have to check that out. Thanks for bringing that to my attention.



Yeah, that should work okay.



Not to mention, trying to get USB to work on Windows 95. It was a serious PITA.


I got the official ME disc hope fully that will work :) Shame the seller has sold out of the 98se :(I don,t want to pay the RIDICULOUS prices people are asking for those discs I could get a PC for the prices are asking for those discs.:(I am not paying £25 or over for a disc it is a rip off. :rockout:
 
Last edited:
Top