1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

TPU's Nostalgic Hardware Club

Discussion in 'TechPowerUp Club Forum' started by stinger608, Nov 14, 2009.

  1. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Location:
    Finland
    "designed for overclocking" but looks worse than the boxed coolers. :D
     
    Peter1986C and GreiverBlade say thanks.
  2. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,525 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,380
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Hell, I would think if a person has the correct video card bios and use it as a second card in a system to flash it, it should work just fine.

    Here is the TPU video card bios database: http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/...r=&model=9800+XT&interface=&memType=&memSize=

    Check to find out what brand of card you have, and you can download the proper PC bios for said card.

    I don't know why that wouldn't work.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. PolRoger

    PolRoger

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    245 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    141
    AMD XP-2500+.PNG P1040025.JPG It Lives!... Or rather... It still runs. :) AMD XP2500+ ASUS A7V8X 333FSB (VIA KT400) DDR1 in single channel. This Barton has an unlocked multi and runs ~2.2GHz (XP3200+) with stock/default vcore. Booted up this old box today which had last seen use at my parents' summer lake house.
     
    _JP_, Peter1986C, JunkBear and 2 others say thanks.
  4. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    i need to do some work on my Athlon XP rig : i managed to have it stable as a 2800+ (it is a 2000+) and redid all the setup, since i got my "server" i did not work on it a lot (the A XP rig ofc)
     
  5. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,357 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Location:
    Canada
    It's heavy, solid and does the job really well. I plan to use it on my next AMD setup I will build for backyard shed. It's reeally warm there so I need a fan that run full speed and cool well for free.
     
    9700 Pro says thanks.
  6. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    my Titan Majesty V is lighter with a smaller louder fan and keep my Athlon XP cool on a 2800+ (2024mhz) setup, your's rated 1900+ ? special overclocking? i would understand the statement for a Titan Vanessa S or L or any more elaborated Skt A HSF (look Backfire's post) but not for that lump of aluminium with a 70mm strapped on it.

    the "designed for overclocking" label on that box is just a "commercial pseudo lie" to make people buy it, just like 4gb ddr3 gpu :D a friend ended buying a 4gb DDR3 Zotac GT640 because of the box and marketing instead of having a 2gb GDDR5 7870/R9 270 for just a bit more money... : AKA never trust what is written on a packaging. ofc my friend doesn't know a thing when it come to PC and he get easily fooled by marketing... he doesn't especially want to take the cheapest gears around but he look more at the packaging than the tech spec (and cheap brand like Trust or other have a good marketing :roll: ) lucky for me he never ended buying a Razer product ... excellent marketing and horrible general quality and price
     
    Peter1986C says thanks.
  7. JunkBear

    JunkBear

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2013
    Messages:
    1,357 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    655
    Location:
    Canada
    I don't own any older chipset now. I will just use it for my AM2 dualcore setup in backyard shed. The cooler is not cheap aluminium like today it's heavy aluminium with a weight around 1.5 pounds.
     
  8. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    aluminium is still aluminium ;) my Titan Majesty V is lighter but not less sturdier, tho too loud ... yet it handle 2800+ (pretty sure it would handle more if my FSB was not 150)
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    i need to seek a Arctic cooper silent 3
    [​IMG]

    or find a new deal on a Titan Vanessa type S or type L
    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    i totally forgot : this was the highest i could achieve 2.25ghz with 180mhz FSB
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014
    _JP_, Random Murderer and stinger608 say thanks.
  9. 9700 Pro

    9700 Pro

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,560 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,153
    Location:
    Finland
    That still looks kinda crappy :D Glacialtech had the good cheap 462 coolers since they were used ^^


    sorry for my bad English ^^
     
  10. stinger608

    stinger608 Dedicated TPU Cruncher & Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    9,525 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    8,380
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Found an ole Diamond Stealth 3D 2000 among some old stuff a fella brought to me yesterday!!!

    One of these: http://vintage3d.org/virge.php#sthash.GzIythIF.dpbs Its the one in the first picture

    Also added that site to the original post for some great reference.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2014
    GreiverBlade says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    525 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    Location:
    Bahrain
    OK this somewhat passes on the nostalgia score, got it when i upgraded a relative's PC :
    Mobo: ga-k8nf-9 (with a 512MB stick)
    [​IMG]
    Athlon 64 3000+
    [​IMG]
    Chipset
    [​IMG]
    and a 9400GT
    [​IMG]

    kinda sad it's just a 1.8GHz single core, but thinking positively i can see how much i can overclock it "if i can" and can be on the lookout for a phenom or somethin :D
     
    _JP_, stinger608 and GreiverBlade say thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. Peter1986C

    Peter1986C

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,439 (1.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,690
    Location:
    NL, Europe
    A skt 939 Phenom? Do such procs exist?
     
    Doc41 says thanks.
  13. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    afaik no AM2+ is compatible with phenom and phenom II but 939 the highest would be Athlon 64 FX-60

    http://www.cpu-world.com/CPUs/K8/AMD-Athlon 64 FX-60 - ADAFX60DAA6CD (ADAFX60CDBOX).html

    my Asus M3N78-CM is compatible till the Phenom II X6 1099T :D

    noticed a dual 250(troy) is a win/win over a 246(sledghammer) less tdp higher frequencies :D
    i did well to choose the 250x2 instead of getting a single 246(sh)
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/19...v._C0)_vs_AMD_Opteron_250_(68W__rev._E4).html

    now if the K8D can really handle a pair of 270 ... i might jump on it
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2014
    Doc41 says thanks.
  14. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    525 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Crunching for Team TPU
  15. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    obviously ... some serie 1xx ... i didnt mentioned because for me it was obvious:D

    so the best in line for that socket is still Athlon 64 FX-60 :D

    Some uni-processor Opterons were also manufactured for socket 939. These microprocessors were essentially fast Athlon 64 processors - they could work with less expensive unbuffered RAM and had only one Hypertransport link.
    ... ok thats easier to find than a FX-60 i reckon... :roll:

    "AMD Opteron 156 is the fastest single-core processor for socket 939. Clocked internally at 3 GHz, the OSA156DAA5BN is 600 MHz, or 20% faster than the fastest single-core socket 939 Athlon 64 CPU, and 400 MHz (15%) faster than dual-core Athlon 64 FX FX-60 or Opteron 185. This makes it a perfect, albeit expensive, upgrade for old socket 939 motherboards when the best single-core performance is required. When upgrading a general purpose motherboard always make sure that the motherboard supports this Opteron processor"

    awww too bad not compatible ... even for a single core this one is a blast ...

    oh well look ebay for a 185 they are cheap normally (i paid 6chf for both 250)
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Compare/904/AMD_Athlon_64_FX_FX-60_vs_AMD_Opteron_250_(68W__rev._E4).html
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2014
    Peter1986C and Doc41 say thanks.
  16. d1nky

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3,800 (2.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,325
    i found a store where they always have old cheap used gfx cards and some 1st gen intel cpus.

    just bought a 8800 GT 512mb for £20, repasted it and now benching it.
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
  17. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    20pounds make it expensive for me imho ... i can get used 8800 GT and 9800 GT for between 1 and 20chf, i have 2 9800 GT (Matrix 512mb with a scrapped off chip on the back but i cant see what it is and a HP OEM 1gb) i brought for 3chf (including a 4870 in the pack) but not "fully working" :D

    oh well that still cheaper than initial launchprice :)
     
  18. Random Murderer

    Random Murderer The Anti-Midas

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    6,977 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,903
    Location:
    Florida, A.K.A. the Sweatbox
    The Opty 165 was the one to have, iirc. Was cheap for what it was, and many would run 3+ GHz.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Jetster

    Jetster

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    9,716 (3.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,317
    Location:
    Oregon
    I remember the Opterons. I loved my 939 board. They had a better quality silicon I believe and would overclock.
     
  20. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    yeah... but instead of buying a 1800mhz and praying for a 3ghz clock ... why not take directly a 185 have a 800mhz bost in the direction of the 3ghz ... and if a 165 OC a 185 should do it too (if basing on a iirc then : anything's possible xD)
    and since they have the same TDP then the 185 is a plus value (if you find around 2€ on ebay no matter wich one you take :D ) plus the 185 is faster in single task (mostly due to the 800mhz bump i reckon )

    Mini Review
    AMD Opteron 165 advantages
    • None

    AMD Opteron 185 advantages
    • The CPU performs 40% better when running single-threaded tasks.
    • Multi-threaded performance of this microprocessor is higher.
    • Memory performance of the processor is better.

    165 vs 185 power consumption comparison
    Thermal Design Power

    110W

    110W
     
  21. brunello

    brunello

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2014
    Messages:
    65 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14
    X700se 256MB, the fan has died some weeks ago!

    CAM00041.jpg
     
    Peter1986C, stinger608 and _JP_ say thanks.
  22. Doc41

    Doc41

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    525 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    482
    Location:
    Bahrain
    All supported CPUs i looked for on ebay were expensive for me (atleast 40$ for Athlon 64x2 4400+\ 100$ for FX 60) but i did find an Athlon 64x2 3800+ for 19$ which i might buy..
    and i'll be messing around with what i got after lunch, will post CPUZ shots later
     
    stinger608 says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,975 (2.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,294
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    Love my s939 rig also.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. Bones

    Bones

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2013
    Messages:
    222 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    241
    Location:
    Alabama
    Most of the time this was true BUT the higher binner Optys had a tendency to run hotter thanks to their higher stock clockspeed if ran that way.
    For OC'ing the higher models were preferred since with the 165's max multi of 9X, you'd need a board capable of some high bus speeds to see it's real potential. If the board you had wasn't capable of that, the chip would never be able to run at the max speed it would be capable of reaching. I have three of these dual core Opty's myself (165,175,180) and they've been great with all three topping 3.2GHz no prob. I also have a pair of Opty 146 single core chips too I can run whenever I want.

    Personally I'd suggest at least a 170 or higher binned model to help offset problems with a deficient board if you want to OC but as long as the board you have can hit some high bus speeds, the 165 itself is great and it's the cheapest to get - That was it's greatest appeal back then from a $$ perspective and why so many had them.
    Anything from an Opty 175 and up, you're gonna pay for it nowadays.
     
  25. GreiverBlade

    GreiverBlade

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    5,749 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,121
    Location:
    Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
    well for Doc41 yes :D

    for me as i use MP board : no settings for it i run 2 250 i intend to get either a new board with 2 270 or fetch some 280 and try it with the K8D and the lastest bios in date ... tho that setup feel sluggish ... i suspect the board to have some issues, even the Athlon XP rig feel snappier... oh right the XP has a Radeon X1950GT 512 ... but 768mb instead of 4gb, also i re put together the HP compaq DC7700p i finally found where the problem was: the embedded graphic from intel go south when you install the drivers and make the whole setup unstable ... so for the moment i put the FX 5200 PCI 128 and i will seek a little LP PciE X16 gpu for later :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)