• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Transferring Games Files Question

MatTheCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
883 (0.25/day)
Likes
129
System Name Bitch
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD80 (G3)
Cooling Noctua nh-u12p se2
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) POWERCOLOR HD 7970 3GB
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD / 2*320GB WDC RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 21" 1650*1080
Case Lian Li PC B-25
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Professional PCI
Power Supply OCZ PC Power & Cooling 860W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Having recently upped my gfx card to a 4870, I now fancy having a sniff at Vista purely for DX10 purposes.

I have two 360Gb Hard drives (HD1 + HD2), 1 with XP64 and utilities, drivers, etc etc, the other laden down with music files, downloads, and my Game installations.

Since it is my preference that I use 1 HD for XP64 and the other for Vista Ultimate 64bit, I am faced with either having to install every single game I own onto HD1, or copying them over from HD2, to HD1.

This may sound like a silly question, but is there any reason why I shouldn't just copy the games directories fully onto HD1 rather than reinstalling every single game all over again?
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.73/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#2
i think you may have to re-insert the game key but that's it.
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#3
Not sure that a simple transfer will work since a bunch of things is written in the registery.

It may be a pain in the arse, but a clean install is always the best thing to do.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,724
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Depends on the game like Armed Assault you can and with Half Life 2 you can. Remember most games put your saves \ cfg files in my documents these days
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
1,993 (0.52/day)
Likes
268
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
^ True, most profiles and game saves are put in users directory, plus if you just copy pasted, you'd need to enter your keys for the games.

Here's what I do before formatting, re-inst os's back up my profiles/saves and keys.
Then when the os is all set up, I just re-install/re patch everything and copy the backed up profiles/configs/saves to the destined folders. I know it's tedious but it reduces a cause of problem for me.
 

MatTheCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
883 (0.25/day)
Likes
129
System Name Bitch
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD80 (G3)
Cooling Noctua nh-u12p se2
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) POWERCOLOR HD 7970 3GB
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD / 2*320GB WDC RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 21" 1650*1080
Case Lian Li PC B-25
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Professional PCI
Power Supply OCZ PC Power & Cooling 860W
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
Hrmmm..

I think that if I am to try out Vista for a bit of DX10 action, then I will be looking at installing it on same HD as XP64 in seperate partition.....tedium is one thing I can do without for the time being....My Time is Prime Time!