• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Transferring Games Files Question

MatTheCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
883 (0.25/day)
Likes
129
System Name Bitch
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD80 (G3)
Cooling Noctua nh-u12p se2
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) POWERCOLOR HD 7970 3GB
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD / 2*320GB WDC RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 21" 1650*1080
Case Lian Li PC B-25
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Professional PCI
Power Supply OCZ PC Power & Cooling 860W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
Having recently upped my gfx card to a 4870, I now fancy having a sniff at Vista purely for DX10 purposes.

I have two 360Gb Hard drives (HD1 + HD2), 1 with XP64 and utilities, drivers, etc etc, the other laden down with music files, downloads, and my Game installations.

Since it is my preference that I use 1 HD for XP64 and the other for Vista Ultimate 64bit, I am faced with either having to install every single game I own onto HD1, or copying them over from HD2, to HD1.

This may sound like a silly question, but is there any reason why I shouldn't just copy the games directories fully onto HD1 rather than reinstalling every single game all over again?
 
Joined
Jul 30, 2007
Messages
6,560 (1.71/day)
Likes
835
System Name Vintage
Processor i7 - 3770K @ Stock
Cooling Scythe Zipang II
Memory 2x4GB Crucial DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX970
Storage M4 124GB SSD// WD Black 640GB// WD Black 1TB//Samsung F3 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung SM223BW 21.6"
Case Generic
Power Supply Corsair HX 520W
Software Windows 7
#2
i think you may have to re-insert the game key but that's it.
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.46/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#3
Not sure that a simple transfer will work since a bunch of things is written in the registery.

It may be a pain in the arse, but a clean install is always the best thing to do.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,372 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,783
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#4
Depends on the game like Armed Assault you can and with Half Life 2 you can. Remember most games put your saves \ cfg files in my documents these days
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,010 (0.52/day)
Likes
279
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F7b
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 - 16 - 16 - 30 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
^ True, most profiles and game saves are put in users directory, plus if you just copy pasted, you'd need to enter your keys for the games.

Here's what I do before formatting, re-inst os's back up my profiles/saves and keys.
Then when the os is all set up, I just re-install/re patch everything and copy the backed up profiles/configs/saves to the destined folders. I know it's tedious but it reduces a cause of problem for me.
 

MatTheCat

New Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2008
Messages
883 (0.25/day)
Likes
129
System Name Bitch
Processor Intel i7 2600K @4.6Ghz
Motherboard MSI Z68A-GD80 (G3)
Cooling Noctua nh-u12p se2
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengeance 1866MHz 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) POWERCOLOR HD 7970 3GB
Storage OCZ Vertex 2 240GB SSD / 2*320GB WDC RAID 0
Display(s) Samsung 226BW 21" 1650*1080
Case Lian Li PC B-25
Audio Device(s) Creative X-FI Professional PCI
Power Supply OCZ PC Power & Cooling 860W
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
Hrmmm..

I think that if I am to try out Vista for a bit of DX10 action, then I will be looking at installing it on same HD as XP64 in seperate partition.....tedium is one thing I can do without for the time being....My Time is Prime Time!