• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Turbo monitoring on SB & IB?

Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#1
Hello gents,
i have quite the interesting conundrum with my new IB box:
In order to tune to overclocking, power limits and turbo limits i need something to log/monitor the exact multiplier/clockspeed of all the cores continuosly and through time.

¿Is there some tool like this?, CPU-Z is of no use because if i load some fullscreen app then i can't monitor anymore(and also monitoring all 4 cores means 4 windows, not very useful).
¿What are the reviewers using to monitor this when doing OC tests?
Also, is there a tool to load individual cores synthetically?, do i use prime95 with cpu affinity to test how long can the cpu maintain steady state?
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#2
noone, really? :/

i could do this with rivatuner in the past, but ever since that became abandonware... (and hardly works on win7 64), and MSI afterburner is crap that's a no go.
CPUID tmonitor log option is meh, and it wakes up parked cores unnecesarily
occpt doesn't has anything of the sort
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#3
:
In order to tune to overclocking, power limits and turbo limits i need something to log/monitor the exact multiplier/clockspeed of all the cores continuosly and through time.

No, you don't need to do this. You're over-complicating things here.

set voltage to 1.25 V, set multi, test. Power limits on all boards I've had so far adjusted automatically.

Frankly, you're wasting time going into such detail on how overclocking with Turbo works. Intel has done a fantastic job of making Turbo THE way to OC IVB chips, so most of what you need to do is automated already. There is literally ZERO skill needed to OC IVB.


Anyway, you could also check out "Throttlewatch".
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
21,079 (6.22/day)
Likes
10,201
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#4
I tried to make a program that would monitor clockspeeds and graph them but the source for the values I was using (registry) never changed so it was kind of useless. :(
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
No, you don't need to do this. You're over-complicating things here.

set voltage to 1.25 V, set multi, test. Power limits on all boards I've had so far adjusted automatically.

Frankly, you're wasting time going into such detail on how overclocking with Turbo works. Intel has done a fantastic job of making Turbo THE way to OC IVB chips, so most of what you need to do is automated already. There is literally ZERO skill needed to OC IVB.


Anyway, you could also check out "Throttlewatch".
i want to know exactly for how long does each core stays in whic multiplier under different loads, if i wheren't concerned about itd i wouldn't have gotten a K chip nor invested in the cooling i have.
and it's of no much use if the highest turbo only maintains for 10 or 20seconds then goes back down to +1 or stock
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,719 (5.75/day)
Likes
9,477
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#7
checking
ona bright note, cpuid also finally released an updated tmonitor, i'll be testing that
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#8
i want to know exactly for how long does each core stays in whic multiplier under different loads, if i wheren't concerned about itd i wouldn't have gotten a K chip nor invested in the cooling i have.
and it's of no much use if the highest turbo only maintains for 10 or 20seconds then goes back down to 1 or stock
It's very simple. The multi will stay at whatever you set it as long as the chip is loaded. You have the option of setting the four different multi options...singlecore, dual, triple, and quad loads. You can set them independantly, or all the same.

As long as the workload remains, that Turbo mode stays initiated.

Singlecore mode will see a single core @ 3900 MHz on 3770K, while the other cores will sit with thier respective multis...3800 MHz for one, and 3700 Mhz for the last two. Like this:



Dual core mode will see 3800 MHz for two core, and 3.7 GHz for the other two.

Triple-core loading will see 3700 MHz for three cores, and the fourth will sit @ 3600 MHz.

Quad-core loads see 3600 Mhz on all cores.

Cores remain at speeds dictated by the load, and do not drop in speed until the thread is complete.

This isn't older Intel CPUs...I could understand your interest with older chips, but these new chips..you really do not need to worry about this stuff, and when OC'ing, you use that Turbo mode to set multis, and YOU designate which multi you get for which load.


Now, if you want to cusatomize the speed of your CPU to match your workload needs, I can understand that, but I see such as a waste of time when it's best to set all multis to the same value, so that you get the same multi no matter what load...like 4.6 GHz on all cores, as I run. Like this:



Again, what multi the CPU uses is dictated by the load the CPU is under, and the multi set remains until that load changes, so I'm not sure why you need to test such, really, other than to satisfy curiosity. If a thread moves to another core, the multi moves with it.

You asked what reviewers use? SInce I do motherboard and memory reviews here @ TPU, I can say that I use CPU-Z, as pictured above.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#9
i see, interesting data cadaveca.
How do you go about touching the base multiplier?, or you don't touch it at all and just fiddle with the turbo multiplier(s)?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#10
i see, interesting data cadaveca.
How do you go about touching the base multiplier?, or you don't touch it at all and just fiddle with the turbo multiplier(s)?
Yeah, leave base alone, use Turbo to OC. 1155, you can OC by base alone, but you lose all power-saving features for idle periods. On SKT2011, both my 3960X's require Turbo to OC...you cannot adjust the base.


I really cannot say enough times how easy Intel has made it. It's actually very impressive to me that they have clearly invested a lot of R&D into Turbo, and quite successfully turned it from something OC'ers disable, into the DEFACTO was to OC. Many complained at SNB launch that OC was dead with SKT1155...if you ask me, they made OC easy for the masses.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#11
thanks for the tips, i was worrying about touching the base multi and losing turbo & power savings(C1E etc etc).
And luckily my MSI MB has that fancy "super turbo" which boost all cores to max turbo all the time.

Since you have a 3770 i'm going to piggyback another question: do you notice ANY of the cores parking?, i have a i3-2100 at work and i notice one of the cores is parked all the time, but my brother's i5-2400 and my 3570K never park a core
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#12
No parking noticed here. Ithink we might see this more in Windows8..I think a kernel change is needed? Not sure on that exactly.


When testing motherboards, I do tend to pay close attention to the system, watching voltages, power consumed, temps, and various other things...I'm not the sort to just run benchmarks then write a review.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#13
that's weird, i'm running the exact same windows 7(pro 64bit), the only difference is that the office pc is a Dell branded one, my brother uses an inte P67l mb(which should support al the intel gadgetry most of all).
When(or IF) i get another i3 passing through the shop i'll check to see if it's only happening on i3 SNB cpus
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#15
i have that on my MSI mobo, and AFAIK ErP is for when the pc is in S3/S5 to use less than 1W(removing usb power and stuff)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,581 (3.85/day)
Likes
10,950
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#16
Yeah, not that one exactly...but one of them. :p As far as I know, SNB and IVB both support core parking, but there's more to that than jsut having the CPU compliant...board, board BIOS, and OS all need to be as well, as perhaps Windows settings can affect it as well.


Guess it's about time I delved deeper into it and checked it out.;)
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#17
cool, you have access to more hardware than i get here at the shop most likely.
i'll be looking forward to that article
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,520 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,600
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#18
On SKT2011, both my 3960X's require Turbo to OC...you cannot adjust the base.
I have turbo turned off on my 3820. I'm running 126x35, and Turbo doesn't need to be enabled until I go over 36. I've been able to squeeze up to 135mhz out of my bclk on my 3820 so far, but I haven't really tried for more. All in all, this is a moot point because SB and IVB aren't going to let you do much to the bclk anyways.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
92 (0.03/day)
Likes
14
System Name "The scratcher"
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard MSI Z77MA-G45
Cooling watercooled custom loop
Memory kingston hyperx black 2x8GB
Video Card(s) GB GTX1070 G1 gaming
Storage several
Display(s) Dell 2708WFP
Case CM Cosmos RC1000
Power Supply CM UCP 750W
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#19
Yeah, not that one exactly...but one of them. :p As far as I know, SNB and IVB both support core parking, but there's more to that than jsut having the CPU compliant...board, board BIOS, and OS all need to be as well, as perhaps Windows settings can affect it as well.


Guess it's about time I delved deeper into it and checked it out.;)
i've confirmed the issue on a customer PC, it has a i3-2120 with an intel H61 motherboard and the 2nd core was parked almost all the time, it was even with a stock win7 professional x64(no SP, no drivers pack, nothing).
Since i haven't been able to test some combos to confirm i can so far deduce:
1) it's restricted to core i3 SNB and upper(no IVB i3 yet...)
2) it's restricted to H6x series chipsets

what's missing is testing an i5(IVB/SNB) on an H6x or an i3 on a Z77/P67/Z67
Sadly i won't be able to test that since i don't have easy access so those components at the same time(too "high end" to see them normally on the shop)

and on the turbo and overclock note, i just rearmed my waterloop(the s1156 backplate arrived) and haven't tested much with multis, so far i can run at full turbo on all cores all the time(x38), i'll see how far can i get without touching vcore