• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Turn off GPU in PCIE Slot while the card is plugged in

Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Location
India
System Name The Tamed Beast / LAVA ETAB XTRON+/Mipad/Mi Max
Processor Intel Core i3-3220 X4 3rd gen Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading / Cortex A9 1.6 Ghz X2/
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H Ultra Durable 4 classic Socket 1155 / RK3066
Cooling Stock
Memory G. Skill RipjawsX 2X2=4GB running at 1600 Mhz / 1GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ZT-61201-10M ZOTAC GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 (Editor's Choice)/MALI 400 MP4@250 Mhz
Storage WD10EZRX 1TB Single Platter "Green"HDD / 8GB NAND FLASH, 16 GB San Disk Class 10 Ultra Micro SD
Display(s) Dell IN2030M TN LED backlit LCD (1600x900) / 1024X600 7" IPS
Case Cooler Master K281 Plus
Audio Device(s) Stock (Motherboard)
Power Supply Builder Series™ CX430 V2 — 80 PLUS® Certified Power Supply (28A at 12V)
Software Iobit ASC & Smart Defrag, WinPatrol, Utorrent, CCleaner , Nvidia Inspector, KIS
Benchmark Scores 47.2fps and 39.8 fps at 1600x900 in valley extreme 4xaa and 8xaa (ultra) 63.9 fps in Nenamark 2
As the title says, Is it possible to have the same effect that taking out the card without actually doing that would have through BIOS or something. Motherboard is Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,689 (0.38/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Some BIOSes have an option to change the adapter, as long as the motherboard has onboard graphics. The option is usually called something like "init display first" and the options will be something like PCI-E, PCI, Integrated

Switch that to integrated (assuming your motherboard has onboard graphics, looks like that motherboard does) and that should do the trick.

Alternatively, sometimes you can use windows device manager. Go into the device manager and expand the display adapters section. If there are two display adapters there, you can disable the card, and it will go back to the onboard graphics. That only works sometimes though.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2012
Messages
9,691 (3.13/day)
Location
Massachusetts
System Name Americas cure is the death of Social Justice & Political Correctness
Processor i5 8600k
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Extreme 4
Cooling Corsair H-110i GTX
Memory 2x 4Gb Crucial Sport LT
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 980 Gaming
Storage Samsung 850 evo 250Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultra Sharp Widescreen 24" 1200P
Case Fractal Design Meshify-C
Power Supply Seasonic Focus+ 750 Gold
Mouse Logitech G502 spectrum
Keyboard AZIO MGK-1 RGB (Kaith Blue)
Software Win 10 Professional 64 bit
Switching primary graphics adapter if that's what you mean generally in my past experience only changes video out but the card still gets power

This is entirely on asrock boards though

Either way, you still have to unplug the discrete GPU and in the process defeating the purpose
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,689 (0.38/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Ah, you require it to be completely powered down?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Location
India
System Name The Tamed Beast / LAVA ETAB XTRON+/Mipad/Mi Max
Processor Intel Core i3-3220 X4 3rd gen Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading / Cortex A9 1.6 Ghz X2/
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H Ultra Durable 4 classic Socket 1155 / RK3066
Cooling Stock
Memory G. Skill RipjawsX 2X2=4GB running at 1600 Mhz / 1GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ZT-61201-10M ZOTAC GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 (Editor's Choice)/MALI 400 MP4@250 Mhz
Storage WD10EZRX 1TB Single Platter "Green"HDD / 8GB NAND FLASH, 16 GB San Disk Class 10 Ultra Micro SD
Display(s) Dell IN2030M TN LED backlit LCD (1600x900) / 1024X600 7" IPS
Case Cooler Master K281 Plus
Audio Device(s) Stock (Motherboard)
Power Supply Builder Series™ CX430 V2 — 80 PLUS® Certified Power Supply (28A at 12V)
Software Iobit ASC & Smart Defrag, WinPatrol, Utorrent, CCleaner , Nvidia Inspector, KIS
Benchmark Scores 47.2fps and 39.8 fps at 1600x900 in valley extreme 4xaa and 8xaa (ultra) 63.9 fps in Nenamark 2
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,689 (0.38/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Hm... I have seen ONE board in all my time that allowed the PCIE slot to be disabled completely. It was in the chipset configuration. I doubt your board has it, but it's worth a look. And I don't remember if it prevented power, or if it just prevented the slot from talking to the motherboard.

If I may ask, what's the main goal here?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Location
India
System Name The Tamed Beast / LAVA ETAB XTRON+/Mipad/Mi Max
Processor Intel Core i3-3220 X4 3rd gen Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading / Cortex A9 1.6 Ghz X2/
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H Ultra Durable 4 classic Socket 1155 / RK3066
Cooling Stock
Memory G. Skill RipjawsX 2X2=4GB running at 1600 Mhz / 1GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ZT-61201-10M ZOTAC GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 (Editor's Choice)/MALI 400 MP4@250 Mhz
Storage WD10EZRX 1TB Single Platter "Green"HDD / 8GB NAND FLASH, 16 GB San Disk Class 10 Ultra Micro SD
Display(s) Dell IN2030M TN LED backlit LCD (1600x900) / 1024X600 7" IPS
Case Cooler Master K281 Plus
Audio Device(s) Stock (Motherboard)
Power Supply Builder Series™ CX430 V2 — 80 PLUS® Certified Power Supply (28A at 12V)
Software Iobit ASC & Smart Defrag, WinPatrol, Utorrent, CCleaner , Nvidia Inspector, KIS
Benchmark Scores 47.2fps and 39.8 fps at 1600x900 in valley extreme 4xaa and 8xaa (ultra) 63.9 fps in Nenamark 2
Hm... I have seen ONE board in all my time that allowed the PCIE slot to be disabled completely. It was in the chipset configuration. I doubt your board has it, but it's worth a look. And I don't remember if it prevented power, or if it just prevented the slot from talking to the motherboard.

If I may ask, what's the main goal here?
Well, as a new card that i'm gonna buy is gonna be used scarcely, I would like to keep it as new as possible. There is some stupid stuff like power irregularities and heat in my country among some other things which could be damaging or reduce the life to say the least, I though it would be best to keep the gaming pc at my parent's place and they can use the Intel HD. since we are on the topic, replacing gtx 650 ti boost with 1060 and i3-3220 with an i5 power wise viable? I am probably looking to buy the next nvidia gen. and are there any compatibity issues with ga b75 d3h, power is cx430 v2, gonna have the psu checked out of it's still good.
The idea of externel gpu on a laptop doesn't seem viable either.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,778 (4.94/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Hm... I have seen ONE board in all my time that allowed the PCIE slot to be disabled completely. It was in the chipset configuration. I doubt your board has it, but it's worth a look. And I don't remember if it prevented power, or if it just prevented the slot from talking to the motherboard.

If I may ask, what's the main goal here?

Some boards also have jumpers to completely disable PCI-E slots, but I doubt an inexpensive board like the one the OP has has either of these functions.

replacing gtx 650 ti boost with 1060 and i3-3220 with an i5 power wise viable?

I personally wouldn't risk it on a CX430.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Location
India
System Name The Tamed Beast / LAVA ETAB XTRON+/Mipad/Mi Max
Processor Intel Core i3-3220 X4 3rd gen Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading / Cortex A9 1.6 Ghz X2/
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H Ultra Durable 4 classic Socket 1155 / RK3066
Cooling Stock
Memory G. Skill RipjawsX 2X2=4GB running at 1600 Mhz / 1GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ZT-61201-10M ZOTAC GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 (Editor's Choice)/MALI 400 MP4@250 Mhz
Storage WD10EZRX 1TB Single Platter "Green"HDD / 8GB NAND FLASH, 16 GB San Disk Class 10 Ultra Micro SD
Display(s) Dell IN2030M TN LED backlit LCD (1600x900) / 1024X600 7" IPS
Case Cooler Master K281 Plus
Audio Device(s) Stock (Motherboard)
Power Supply Builder Series™ CX430 V2 — 80 PLUS® Certified Power Supply (28A at 12V)
Software Iobit ASC & Smart Defrag, WinPatrol, Utorrent, CCleaner , Nvidia Inspector, KIS
Benchmark Scores 47.2fps and 39.8 fps at 1600x900 in valley extreme 4xaa and 8xaa (ultra) 63.9 fps in Nenamark 2
Some boards also have jumpers to completely disable PCI-E slots, but I doubt an inexpensive board like the one the OP has has either of these functions.



I personally wouldn't risk it on a CX430.
Umm, the tdp pretty much matches up to the current config. What's your recommendation?
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2009
Messages
3,505 (0.80/day)
When I had 760 GTX, my max power draw from my rig (in system spec) was 324watt when I was rendering both on CPU and GPU.

I got 1060 now and my max power draw is down to 257watt.

CX430 should be fine.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,689 (0.38/day)
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer
Processor AMD Ryzen 2600
Motherboard ASUS ROG Strix B350-F
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW
Case Fractal Designs
Power Supply 800w CM
Mouse Corsair M65 Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Well, as a new card that i'm gonna buy is gonna be used scarcely, I would like to keep it as new as possible. There is some stupid stuff like power irregularities and heat in my country among some other things which could be damaging or reduce the life to say the least, I though it would be best to keep the gaming pc at my parent's place and they can use the Intel HD. since we are on the topic, replacing gtx 650 ti boost with 1060 and i3-3220 with an i5 power wise viable? I am probably looking to buy the next nvidia gen. and are there any compatibity issues with ga b75 d3h, power is cx430 v2, gonna have the psu checked out of it's still good.
The idea of externel gpu on a laptop doesn't seem viable either.

Gotcha. I'd recommend removing the card anyway. I know it's a hassle to do, but power spikes and such will kill the card whether it's powered up or not, if it's plugged into the motherboard. The fact that it's powered off won't change that.

Or just invest in a good surge protector? The "life" of the card isn't going to be hurt just by daily use. Not to any measurable degree anyway. If you protect it with a good surge protector (and your house is wired to use it, of course) then it should be fine.

Or just pull it out when you leave.
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2013
Messages
259 (0.09/day)
Location
India
System Name The Tamed Beast / LAVA ETAB XTRON+/Mipad/Mi Max
Processor Intel Core i3-3220 X4 3rd gen Ivy Bridge with Hyperthreading / Cortex A9 1.6 Ghz X2/
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75-D3H Ultra Durable 4 classic Socket 1155 / RK3066
Cooling Stock
Memory G. Skill RipjawsX 2X2=4GB running at 1600 Mhz / 1GB DDR3
Video Card(s) ZT-61201-10M ZOTAC GeForce GTX 650 Ti Boost 2GB 192-bit GDDR5 (Editor's Choice)/MALI 400 MP4@250 Mhz
Storage WD10EZRX 1TB Single Platter "Green"HDD / 8GB NAND FLASH, 16 GB San Disk Class 10 Ultra Micro SD
Display(s) Dell IN2030M TN LED backlit LCD (1600x900) / 1024X600 7" IPS
Case Cooler Master K281 Plus
Audio Device(s) Stock (Motherboard)
Power Supply Builder Series™ CX430 V2 — 80 PLUS® Certified Power Supply (28A at 12V)
Software Iobit ASC & Smart Defrag, WinPatrol, Utorrent, CCleaner , Nvidia Inspector, KIS
Benchmark Scores 47.2fps and 39.8 fps at 1600x900 in valley extreme 4xaa and 8xaa (ultra) 63.9 fps in Nenamark 2
Gotcha. I'd recommend removing the card anyway. I know it's a hassle to do, but power spikes and such will kill the card whether it's powered up or not, if it's plugged into the motherboard. The fact that it's powered off won't change that.

Or just invest in a good surge protector? The "life" of the card isn't going to be hurt just by daily use. Not to any measurable degree anyway. If you protect it with a good surge protector (and your house is wired to use it, of course) then it should be fine.

Or just pull it out when you leave.
haha, I actually have 2 surge protectors, a UPS (backup power) and I'm still paranoid. I guess I wouldn't just pull a masterpiece as 1060 or even my beloved 650 ti boost, gonna look for some alternate measures. So, Currently, I'm on a 20" 1600x900 (bought it back to keep fps up), what's the recommendation for bf1? cpu is i3-3220 and gpu is 650 ti boost, how should I move forward? I'm also gonna buy a new TV (still rocking a 22" lg crt, I dont care, sd looks better than any other screen that ive seen here), so, thought about using the same for monitor if i made a new build. How would the experience be on the current setup and some recommendations specifically for bf1 multiplayer.
 
Top