1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ubisoft will drop StarForce

Discussion in 'News' started by Dark Ride, Apr 13, 2006.

  1. Dark Ride Mushkin Rep

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    514 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    28
    A French community manager just announced that the copy protection Ubisoft will be using for its upcoming games will not be Starforce. Also, his colleague Fabrice Cambounet confirmed on the official forum that Heroes V and GRAW (PC) will not include Starforce as well.
    There is no information about what kind of copy protection will be used instead, but those news will be a huge relief for the fans of the Heroes series.

    Source: Gameguru Mania
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. Sandman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    140 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    w00t! Starforce sucks.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,078 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,253
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    heh...

    Not really anything big, starforce gets blamed for for stuff that it has nothing to do with. The starforce problems are greatly exaggerated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. Sandman New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Messages:
    140 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Like slowly choking off your IDE drives? That's a pretty real problem.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,078 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,253
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yep, it sure is. I really wish MICROSOFT would fix this problem so it would stop being blamed on starforce.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,078 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,253
    Location:
    Indiana, USA

    Windows does it all on its own. The presence of starforce has nothing to do with it, and it does happen on machines without starforce. In fact I see more machines come into my shop with the problem that don't have starforce then ones that do have starforce.

    Starforce does not cause the problem, or cause the OS to cause the problem. It is a problem with the Microsoft ATA controller drivers plain and simple. It has nothing to do with Starforce.

    You use your Chevy example, it is like the spark plugs that came in the car from the factory causing engine damage. Chevy needs to fix the problem.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)