• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Ubisoft's Far Cry 2 System Requirements Published

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Publisher Ubisoft issued today the minimum and recommended system requirements for the PC edition of Ubisoft Montreal's open-world first person shooter Far Cry 2. The successor of the original Far Cry game is also due to be released on PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 this fall. "It has always been our intention to make Far Cry 2 as accessible to everyone as possible, and we have worked continuously to optimize Far Cry 2 to achieve this goal," said lead technical director Dominic Guay. The full specs follow below.


Show full news post
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#2
They seem moderate. I guess they optimized it well! But 12gb.. jesus lol
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#3
well not as demanding as farcry when it first came out by a long shot, surprised at the reccomended specs, thought they would be a bit more demanding, this is definately good news for most gamers, means most people will be able to run it with all eye candy at reasonable frames :toast:
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,560 (0.63/day)
Likes
271
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#4
Wow, those are pretty low. Wonder if they`re realistic tho`:ohwell:
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#5
i doubt they are realistic... have you seen the game footage...
Thats going to eat loads of ram and need a beefy gpu or two... no getting around it.

also they were going on about crysis being able to run well on low hardware before launch...remember that ;)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2008
Messages
3,166 (0.91/day)
Likes
467
Location
North Chili, NY
System Name Woot!:D
Processor Intel Core i5 4690k
Motherboard AsRock z97 Extreme3
Cooling Stock
Memory 16GB 1333 DDR3
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780
Storage 240GB Intel SSD 2TB Seagate Barracuda
Display(s) Cintiq 21UX 1600x1200, LG 23" 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake v6
Power Supply EVGA 850 B2
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64 bit
#6
Hopefully they didn't pull a bethesda. The 'recommended' requirements could barely run oblivion..
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#7
The specs seem kind of odd to me.

Why require a 6800, but only an x1650 on the ATi side? Wasn't the 6600GT about the same performance wise to the x1650?

And why make the x1900 the recommended on the ATi side, but make it a generation higher on the nVidia side? Why not just make the recommended a 7900GT or something around the same performance as the x1900 from the same generation?
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#8
X800's weren't shader model 3, it probably requires it.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,242 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,821
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#9
worst thing to do is release a PC series to Console then Release it to PC, UT3 was like this as majority of internal tweaks were for XB360 only.
 

CY:G

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
173 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
System Name CYGNUS X4
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67Pro
Cooling ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme
Memory 2 * 4GB DDR 3 1600MHz = 8GB
Video Card(s) 2 * 6950 2GB In Crossfire and a 3870
Storage 2 * 640 GB WD AAKS in RAID 0
Display(s) 4 * 24" Dell LCDs
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair HX650
#10
There is no way those requirements are realistic, have you guys seen all the stuff that can go on at once in this game...
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.06/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#11
I bet that when this game comes out people who can't play it at very high 1920x1080 will complain that it is unoptimised and a crap engine.
 

Ketxxx

Heedless Psychic
Joined
Mar 4, 2006
Messages
11,507 (2.67/day)
Likes
562
Location
Kingdom of gods
System Name Prowler. V9.
Processor Intel i5 3570k @ 4.6GHz 1.2v
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme6
Cooling Modded CoolIT ECO ALC, 3x 120mm Coolermaster Sickleflow fans
Memory 2x4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 2133MHz 10-10-10-25 1N (T)
Video Card(s) HD7950 Vapor-X @ 1.25GHz 1.05v, 6GHz 1.5v
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB, 32MB cache, SATA
Display(s) 22" LG Flatron W2242S
Case NZXT Apollo
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX 7.1 PCI-E
Power Supply Corsair HX850w modular
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
Average specs. Not a fan of how much HDD space will be eaten though. For that kind of space when firing the game up it better be like walking into a new world and make my eyes bleed with all the lush details.
 

CY:G

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
173 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
System Name CYGNUS X4
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67Pro
Cooling ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme
Memory 2 * 4GB DDR 3 1600MHz = 8GB
Video Card(s) 2 * 6950 2GB In Crossfire and a 3870
Storage 2 * 640 GB WD AAKS in RAID 0
Display(s) 4 * 24" Dell LCDs
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair HX650
#13
I bet that when this game comes out people who can't play it at very high 1920x1080 will complain that it is unoptimised and a crap engine.
That's the thing, when they release this Recommended Settings they never say at what resolution....

For all we now, they may have tried it at 640 * 480...
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.06/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#14
That's the thing, when they release this Recommended Settings they never say at what resolution....

For all we now, they may have tried it at 640 * 480...
Thats ok for me :p I still have an orange monochrome monitor in the back that does that res nicely :laugh: Smooth gaming for me.
 

CY:G

New Member
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
173 (0.04/day)
Likes
12
System Name CYGNUS X4
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus p8p67Pro
Cooling ThermalRight Ultra 120 Extreme
Memory 2 * 4GB DDR 3 1600MHz = 8GB
Video Card(s) 2 * 6950 2GB In Crossfire and a 3870
Storage 2 * 640 GB WD AAKS in RAID 0
Display(s) 4 * 24" Dell LCDs
Case Cooler Master Cosmos
Power Supply Corsair HX650
#16
Thats ok for me :p I still have an orange monochrome monitor in the back that does that res nicely :laugh: Smooth gaming for me.
Lucky you :), i play at 5760 * 1200 with 128 bit colors and nothing runs :(
 

DrPepper

The Doctor is in the house
Joined
Jan 16, 2008
Messages
7,482 (2.06/day)
Likes
799
Location
Scotland (It rains alot)
System Name Rusky
Processor Intel Core i7 D0 3.8Ghz
Motherboard Asus P6T
Cooling Thermaltake Dark Knight
Memory 12GB Patriot Viper's 1866mhz 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) GTX470 1280MB
Storage OCZ Summit 60GB + Samsung 1TB + Samsung 2TB
Display(s) Sharp Aquos L32X20E 1920 x 1080
Case Silverstone Raven RV01
Power Supply Corsair 650 Watt
Software Windows 7 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 18064 http://img.techpowerup.org/090720/Capture002.jpg
#17
The screen shots look very cartoony, but still intriguing.
Looks the same as crysis to me, I just watched the trailer.

@CY:G Must need 1gb video ram just to show the desktop
 

Tatsumaru

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2008
Messages
26 (0.01/day)
Likes
1
Location
Boston, Massachusetts
#18
Well it looks nice ! Much Nicer than Crysis came out last year with its Devastating Requiremnets..
they say it will take full advantage of Quad Cpus...
But will it ?
and if so just hof much more diffrense there wiil be between a Quad and a Dual cpu in this game ?
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2006
Messages
599 (0.15/day)
Likes
407
Location
Pacific N.W.
System Name SYS-1//SYS-2//SYS-3//SYS-4
Processor AMD FX-8350//AMD FX-8350//AMD X6 1090T //AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Biostar TA990FXE//Gigabyte 990FX-G//MSI 890GXM-G65//ASUS M5A99FX Pro 2.0
Cooling ZEROtherm Nirvana//Corsair H-110i//AMD PII Cooler//AMD CL Water Cooler
Memory REDLINE 1866 (4X4g)//REDLINE 2133 (4X4g)//Geil (4x2g)//AMD R9 G 2400 (4x4g)
Video Card(s) XFX R9 270 (CF)//R9 270x(CF) Devil's//XFX HD7870//R9 270X(CF) Devil's
Storage Corsair ForceIII GS-360 //Samsung 850-Pro//Samsung 840-Pro//Hyper-X Savage 480
Display(s) Samsung 214T 21.3" LCD//BENQ G2400WD 24" LCD
Case SIGMA LUNA//Corsair 650D //Silverstone SG-01//Cooler Master HAF-XB
Audio Device(s) X-FI Fatality Pro//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z//Sound Blaster Z
Power Supply Corsair HX620W//Corsair HX850i//Corsair HX620//Corsair HX 750
Software Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Premium-64//Win 7 Ult-64//Vista Ult-64
#19
Requirements look about the same as crysis also.
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#20
it goes:

minimum: looks crap and choppy as hell but playable
reccomended: looks good, playable on med/high settings at average res
high spec: all eye candy on full, and high res

high spec is probably top end dual/quad core, 4gb ram, crossfire/sli 4870/gtx260/280
 

DarkMatter

New Member
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
1,714 (0.46/day)
Likes
182
Processor Intel C2Q Q6600 @ Stock (for now)
Motherboard Asus P5Q-E
Cooling Proc: Scythe Mine, Graphics: Zalman VF900 Cu
Memory 4 GB (2x2GB) DDR2 Corsair Dominator 1066Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) GigaByte 8800GT Stock Clocks: 700Mhz Core, 1700 Shader, 1940 Memory
Storage 74 GB WD Raptor 10000rpm, 2x250 GB Seagate Raid 0
Display(s) HP p1130, 21" Trinitron
Case Antec p180
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi PLatinum
Power Supply 700W FSP Group 85% Efficiency
Software Windows XP
#21
Maybe I'm wrong, but I think these requirements are the same that Crysis had. I mean minimum and recommended requirements mean squat nowadays.
 

tigger

I'm the only one
Joined
Mar 20, 2006
Messages
10,476 (2.44/day)
Likes
1,673
System Name Black to the Core MKIV
Processor Intel I7 6700k
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming socket 1151
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61 280mm radiator
Memory 2x8gb Corsair vengeance LPX 2400 DDR4
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon R9 290 4gb ddr5
Storage Patriot Blast 120gb ssd Boot and WD10EADX-22TDHB0 1TB Data
Display(s) Dell 2408WFP 24" 1920x1200
Case Nzxt IS 340
Audio Device(s) Asus xonar dsx pci-e
Power Supply Corsair CX750
Mouse Logitech G502
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#22
Looks fine to me,not arsed about 12gb required as i have a 195gb game partition.

Farcry was a beast to run when it came out,wonder if this is gonna be underestimated specs like that was.
 

mullered07

New Member
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.67/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#23
Maybe I'm wrong, but I think these requirements are the same that Crysis had. I mean minimum and recommended requirements mean squat nowadays.
how do they mean squat ? i think its pretty self explanatory, minimum is what you can play the game at on lowest settings, reccomended will give you a nice playable experience whilst looking quite nice, if anything the only way it could possibly be misleading, is people misinterpretting reccomended specs for playing at max settings with all eye candy in which case there should be a high end specs also
 

ShadowFold

New Member
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#24
I haven't reformatted in 8 months. I think I should get to it :laugh: 12gb is alot for me.. I only have 72gb free.
 
Joined
Nov 8, 2006
Messages
5,052 (1.25/day)
Likes
540
Location
Manchester, United Kingdom
Processor AMD FX 8320 @ 4GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 rev1
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 4 x 4GB DDR3 Ripjawz 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vapor-X AMD R9 280X
Storage 1 x 500GB Samsung Evo 850, 1 x 500GB Vrap Data Drive, 3 x 2TB Seagate, 1 x 1TB Samsung F1
Display(s) 3 x DGM IPS-2402WDH
Case Coolermaster HAF X
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Coolermaster 1000W Silent Pro M
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
how do they mean squat ? i think its pretty self explanatory, minimum is what you can play the game at on lowest settings, reccomended will give you a nice playable experience whilst looking quite nice, if anything the only way it could possibly be misleading, is people misinterpretting reccomended specs for playing at max settings with all eye candy in which case there should be a high end specs also
Unless you are epic games, in which case minimum is the minimum spec required to run the game at full detail at 1024x768. :laugh:

I think that's what he means, minimum and recommended don't mean a thing anymore because we have no idea what they deem to be a playable minimum.

There will always be people who bitch that the minimums are too low or misleading, because they expect to play the latest game at full on their huge-ass monitor with no slow-down, but we just don't know what the devs say is minimum. *shrugs*