• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Unrecognized HDD...

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#1
i booted up for the first time (my first build) and realized that it was only recognizing the disc drive i also decided to boot from the disc (to install windows) but it had nothing to install it to
as the HDD wasn't recognized (waste of time i now realize). I have switched the sata cables from the disc drive to the HDD to see if it's sata not working but still it was only the disc drive being recognized. I'm not sure what raid is but my motherboard manual describes very briefly what raid is next to describing where the sata connectors are(so i'm guessing that raid is something to do with sata or HDD, so not to sure if this is a raid problem? so when i first boot i have two options. 1. 'continue' which i have established boots from the disc drive and 2. 'enter set up' which i have no idea what happens when/if i click that...

what should i do?



thanks in advance :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
18
Location
Denmark
System Name Strix
Processor I5 8600k
Motherboard ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING
Cooling CPU: Corsair H115i/GFX: Evga hybrid kit
Memory 16 GB G Skill Ripjaws V 3200 mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward 980 GTX
Storage Adata SX7000 128gb, WD 1tb blue/ 2x Hitachi 1tb
Display(s) Agon AG271QG
Case Aerocool Xpredator Cube
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX S1220A
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Gold
Mouse G700s
Keyboard G710+
Software Win 10 64bit
#2
Raid is 2 or more Hd's setup to different configs:

Raid 0 (stripe) = 2 hd's looking like 1 big drive aka 2 80gb = 160gb, great for speed

Raid 1 (mirror) 2 hd's having their original size, but having the same data on both (cloned) aka 2 80gb = 80 gb, great for backups

Jobd = Just a bunch of Disks = all Hd's put together aka 2 80gb +500gb+1tb = 1660gb as 1 Hd

If ur only using the disc drive + 1 hd then enter setup (Bios) and change raid to IDE and u should be able to see both.
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#3
Raid is 2 or more Hd's setup to different configs:

Raid 0 (stripe) = 2 hd's looking like 1 big drive aka 2 80gb = 160gb, great for speed

Raid 1 (mirror) 2 hd's having their original size, but having the same data on both (cloned) aka 2 80gb = 80 gb, great for backups

Jobd = Just a bunch of Disks = all Hd's put together aka 2 80gb +500gb+1tb = 1660gb as 1 Hd

If ur only using the disc drive + 1 hd then enter setup (Bios) and change raid to IDE and u should be able to see both.

and it doesn't matter that its a sata drive?
 
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
41 (0.02/day)
Likes
18
Location
Denmark
System Name Strix
Processor I5 8600k
Motherboard ROG STRIX Z370-G GAMING
Cooling CPU: Corsair H115i/GFX: Evga hybrid kit
Memory 16 GB G Skill Ripjaws V 3200 mhz
Video Card(s) Gainward 980 GTX
Storage Adata SX7000 128gb, WD 1tb blue/ 2x Hitachi 1tb
Display(s) Agon AG271QG
Case Aerocool Xpredator Cube
Audio Device(s) ROG SupremeFX S1220A
Power Supply Seasonic 650 Gold
Mouse G700s
Keyboard G710+
Software Win 10 64bit
#4
no both ide and sata drives can be setup as raid

What is ur motherboard? if u dont know how to change it in Bios from raid to ide. I can look it up and tell u what/where u have to change a setting.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#5
You probably have the Jmicron RAID screen post making the time to get to the boot screen longer.
Instead of changing form RAID to IDE as suggested by Dacur switch it to AHCI which seems to be the standard nowadays if you have it on that board which you should.

Although if you were installing XP you would have to change it to IDE.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#6
definitely use AHCI instead of IDE.


make sure your OS drive is not on the Jmicron ports, but on the regular intel ones - those extra SATA controllers require you to manually add their controllers drivers as if they were in RAID, and their performance always sucks.
 
Joined
May 31, 2008
Messages
5,787 (1.66/day)
Likes
855
Location
Switzerland, Heart of Europe
System Name Fractality 1.0
Processor Intel Core i7-860 @ 3.6GHz
Motherboard EVGA P55 SLI
Cooling Prolimatech Megahalems and four Fractal Design 120mm fans, sleeved
Memory 16GB Kingston Hyper RAM
Video Card(s) PNY GeForce 580 XLR8
Storage 64GB and 180GB SSDs / 1TB and 2TB HDDs
Display(s) 24" Acer V243W
Case Fractal Design Define R2, sleeved all I/O cables
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX750W modular, sadly only stock sleeving
Software Win 7 64bit
#7
"enter setup" is the gateway to your BIOS. There, in the boot device manager menu, you can set which harddrive is set to boot from. And in the hardware manager (you have to search around a bit its different from BIOS to BIOS), you can see which HDDs are active and which disabled, and in what order.

Entering BIOS you can do without fear as you can leave it and discard any changes you might have made.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#8
Took a look at the ASUS site and I see it has an nVidia chipset so you will be looking for nVidia RAID most likely.

Other common ones I've come across are Jmicron and Silicon Image.

The chipset might explain the big heat sink and from what I remember when I was working one one, the big heat sink didn't take long to get very hot.
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,119 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,546
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#9
oh if its nvidia, that explains a lot. he may just need to manually install the AHCI/RAID drivers then.
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#10
ok so i went to the advance screen in the bios and found something called NVRAID (which was disabled) then i enabled and then enabled sata port 4 (where my HDD is) it seems to have recognized something, i'll try to install windows now and see if it works... :)


which did not work, got to the point where windows asked where do i want install windows and there was no HDD :(

also in the bios menu there is something called primary IDE master and with in that there is: PIO mode UDMA mode primary IDE master and access mode which are all on auto and there is something called primary IDE slave which has the same things in it.

now it isn't even recognizing the disc drive and i cant enter the bios :(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#11
Make sure NVRAID is disabled.
Make sure you have all SATA ports enabled.
I can not imagine Windows 7 needing the chipset drivers to be installed prior to get the HDD to be recognized but that maybe required.

When I installed windows 7 on to my old machine with nforce4 chipset it didn't complain about not finding a Hard drive.

Does the hard drive show up in BIOS along with the DVD drive?

The BIOS should show what peripherals installed.

EDIT:-
The machine is no longer posting again?
If so clear CMOS.
If you don't know where the jumper is pull the power cable, flick out the battery and press the power button for five seconds to get rid of any residue power.
Wait a few seconds then re insert the CMOS battery and power back on.
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#12
Make sure NVRAID is disabled.
Make sure you have all SATA ports enabled.
I can not imagine Windows 7 needing the chipset drivers to be installed prior to get the HDD to be recognized but that maybe required.

When I installed windows 7 on to my old machine with nforce4 chipset it didn't complain about not finding a Hard drive.

Does the hard drive show up in BIOS along with the DVD drive?

The BIOS should show what peripherals installed.

EDIT:-
The machine is no longer posting again?
If so clear CMOS.
If you don't know where the jumper is pull the power cable, flick out the battery and press the power button for five seconds to get rid of any residue power.
Wait a few seconds then re insert the CMOS battery and power back on.
ok i'll get that battery out :)

EDIT-

ok im back in the bios :)

EDIT-
the only way that i can have all sata pots enabled is by having NVRAID enabled

where i look i just can't find the hdd.

hmm, i do have a external hdd laying around somewhere...

EDIT -

when i do enable the NVRAID and enable all the sata ports and go back to the first boot up screen it does recognize something in sata 4 (where my hdd is) next to the sata 4 it has ST_M13FQBL 04081508 but then underneath that it says cmos checksum error - defualts loaded... but in the main menu of bios it is recognizing something in sata 4 with 4141mb

do you think i should whack the motherboard disc in?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#13
SOUnds like you may have to manually install the sata drivers for this motherboard prior to installation :/

But none the less the HDD should show up in BIOS along with the DVD drive.

EDIT:-NVRAID Must be disabled.
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#14
SOUnds like you may have to manually install the sata drivers for this motherboard prior to installation :/

and how do i do that :confused:
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#15
Hold on been doing some searching on your system.
It appears this motherboard has no AHCI support.

Do you have IDE enabled?
There should be a setting to treat SATA as IDE in your BIOS.
This maybe the problem.

and how do i do that :confused:
The last time I have had to do this was in Vista which was a long time ago.
I have never encountered an installation issue where chip set drivers were needed for Windows 7.
If so you will need to download the windows 7 64bit drivers for your motherboard from the ASUS site and install them when the screen comes up where you should see the HDD.
At the bottom there is an icon which says load or something along those lines where you can install the chipset drivers.

EDIT:-You might have to install the SATA RAID drivers or the chipset drivers to get windows 7 to recognise the drives if the previously mention BIOS settings do not work.
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#16
The last time I have had to do this was in Vista which was a long time ago.
I have never encountered an installation issue where chip set drivers were needed for Windows 7.
If so you will need to download the windows 7 64bit drivers for your motherboard from the ASUS site and install them when the screen comes up where you should see the HDD.
At the bottom there is an icon which says load or something along those lines where you can install the chipset drivers.
to sum up, get all the drivers off the asus site, put on disc, load windows 7 then take that disc out put drivers disc in load those drivers

EDIT -

when i do go into a sata port in the bios it always says 'extended IDE drive, not sure what that means...
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#17
to sum up, get all the drivers off the asus site, put on disc, load windows 7 then take that disc out put drivers disc in load those drivers

EDIT -

when i do go into a sata port in the bios it always says 'extended IDE drive, not sure what that means...
Okay I've been doing some more google searching.
You're not the only one with this issue and has been resolved.
Apparently none of the mentioned is going to help.

The HDD needs to be formatted before windows recognizes it apparently.

As for extended IDE I honestly do not know.
I can only assume it that it means it is in IDE mode.
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#18
Okay I've been doing some more google searching.
You're not the only one with this issue and has been resolved.
Apparently none of the mentioned is going to help.

The HDD needs to be formatted before windows recognizes it apparently.

As for extended IDE I honestly do not know.
I can only assume it that it means it is in IDE mode.
so i should forget about drivers and formatt the drive, how on earth do i do that
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#19
If this is your only system to format the drive then from what I gather it's going to be a pain unless you are able to install say an old XP installation on it first so it will actually have a partition.

Run DISKPART from a DOS command window, from within the Win 7 Install environment ( <shift-F10> )

run diskpart command from a prompt.

Then each of these commands, followed by the enter key after each one.

list disk (to show the ID number of the hard disk to partition, normally Disk 0)

select disk 0 (change 0 to another number if applicable)

clean (this deletes all partitions)

create partition primary size=80000 (creates a partition with 80 GB space; to use the entire disk as one partition, omit the “size=value” parameter switch; use a similar command to create more partitions if needed or create in Windows 7 after installation)

select partition 1

active

format fs=ntfs quick

exit
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#20
If this is your only system to format the drive then from what I gather it's going to be a pain unless you are able to install say an old XP installation on it first so it will actually have a partition.

i'll give it ago

EDIT -

i think i have an old 80gb hdd with linux installed on it...

EDIT -

after the list disk command it is still only showing the disc in the disc drive and if i do carry on to the select partition 1 command it says 'virtual disk service error: the disk is not intialized'

EDIT -

i connected up the old 80gb hdd and that was recognized :) but it has linux mint installed, and for some reason has a username and password so i cant get to the desktop, am i totally screwed or what, haha.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#21
Joined
Feb 19, 2009
Messages
1,566 (0.49/day)
Likes
546
Location
Warwick
System Name PC-Chips
Processor Intel core I5 4690K
Motherboard Asrock z87 Extreme 3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory G-Skill Ripjaws 2133mhz 4x4gig
Video Card(s) Sapphire RX-480 Nitro+ 8gig
Storage Samsung 250gig 840 SSD / 1TB HDD
Display(s) Samsung C27F591 27 inch Curved LED
Case NZXT phantom 410
Audio Device(s) Realtek digital out - Yamaha A-S501 - Wharfedale pacific evo 20 speakers - Wharfedale SW150 sub
Power Supply Cooler Master G650M
Mouse logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech delux 250
Software Windows 10 pro 64bit
#22
Have you tryed putting the HDD on sata port 1 and how many drives are you using? HDD and dvd drive? or more.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#23
I guess you are running off a laptop at the moment?

The other option maybe to get a docking station to format your drive or download Ubuntu and install that on to the drive just so it is formatted and has a partition.= for Windows 7 to recognize.
 

de.das.dude

Pro Indian Modder
Joined
Jun 13, 2010
Messages
8,201 (2.99/day)
Likes
2,389
Location
Pune
System Name la de da... | Samsung NP355V5C-S05IN
Processor FX 8320 | AMD A8-4500
Motherboard ASRock 990FX Extreme 4 | Samsung something something
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO push:pull+ 1 panaflow 113CFM + 2 x 120mm NZXTs | Coolermaster Notepal
Memory 2x4GB DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CL9 | Samsunng 4GB + 2GB DDR3 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD 7790 GHZ edition! | 7670M + 7640G
Storage 1TB WD10EZEX | W.D 500GB Green AADS | Samsung 1TB
Display(s) dell S2240l 1080p IPS 21.5" | Samsung antiglare 15.6"
Case NZXT Guardian 921RB(@home) and Antec ASK4000B U3(Current)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892 with THX True Studio | Realtek something
Power Supply Corsair GS600 | 90W Brick, 6 cell 48000mAh battery
Mouse Logitech G400, GOD TIER MOUSE!! LOGitech F310 gamepad!
Keyboard Logitech K200
Software Windows 8.1 x64 | Windows 8.1 x64
Benchmark Scores real men do bench presses not bench marks.
#24
is this a new HDD? arent you supposed to format it using dos or something from a CD?
 

guitarguy

New Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2011
Messages
48 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Location
UK brighton
Processor core 2 quad
Motherboard asus p5n-d
Cooling zalman cnps9900 cpu cooler
Memory 2x2gb corsair xms2 ddr2
Video Card(s) msi n550 gtx-ti
Storage seagate 500gb
Case cooler master haf 932
Power Supply cooler master 800w gold
Software windows 7 64 bit
#25
I guess you are running off a laptop at the moment?

The other option maybe to get a docking station to format your drive or download Ubuntu and install that on to the drive just so it is formatted and has a partition.= for Windows 7 to recognize.
yes, could i not take the hdd from my laptop (which has vista running) and run that, then formatt the new hdd somehow?