• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Using current memory in Z77 mainboard ?

BATOFF

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
Earth
Processor Core I5 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality Performance Z77
Cooling Thermaltake BigWater 760i
Memory 2 x 4gb Corsair Vengence DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6970 2gb
Storage Kingston ssdnow v+200 120gb / Samsung F3 1 Tb sata
Display(s) Samsung 2253BW + B2240W + Asus VW222U Eyefinity
Case A-Link Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy value
Power Supply Corsair TX 850w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#1
Im upgrading in a few days and want to use my current DDR3 two sets of Corsair Dominators. Each pair is identical but both sets are not. I have included pics to show what I mean. One set has XMP profiles while the other set does not seem to have it. Anyway would I have any problems using these with a 2500K and a Z77 board ?
Current board is a DFI X48 chipset.
Thanks for any help.
 

Attachments

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#2
Yes, it shoudl work, but you'll have to manually set things up. JEDEC settings ahve a great chance of working fine, it's more about specific BIOS support for the ICs on the sticks. Some boards have excellent compatibility, others do not.
 

BATOFF

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
Earth
Processor Core I5 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality Performance Z77
Cooling Thermaltake BigWater 760i
Memory 2 x 4gb Corsair Vengence DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6970 2gb
Storage Kingston ssdnow v+200 120gb / Samsung F3 1 Tb sata
Display(s) Samsung 2253BW + B2240W + Asus VW222U Eyefinity
Case A-Link Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy value
Power Supply Corsair TX 850w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#3
Great, thanks for the advice. When I do a windows re install I think I will just use 1 set at first until I get the system up and running, then install the second set.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#4
If you have any issues, I can probably point you in the right direction to get things working. Keep us updated. ;)

THe only real issues revolve around XMP-rated profiels not working properly. There are some new settings for memory with Z77, and some that are gone, that makes the XMP profiles basically invalid. JEDEC settings, though, shoudl work jsut fine, unless there is one of those compatibility issues i mentioned before.
 

BATOFF

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
Earth
Processor Core I5 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality Performance Z77
Cooling Thermaltake BigWater 760i
Memory 2 x 4gb Corsair Vengence DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6970 2gb
Storage Kingston ssdnow v+200 120gb / Samsung F3 1 Tb sata
Display(s) Samsung 2253BW + B2240W + Asus VW222U Eyefinity
Case A-Link Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy value
Power Supply Corsair TX 850w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#5
thanks will do. It wont be till early next week that I can get this upgrade started. If I run into any problems I will post back here.
 

BATOFF

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
Earth
Processor Core I5 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality Performance Z77
Cooling Thermaltake BigWater 760i
Memory 2 x 4gb Corsair Vengence DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6970 2gb
Storage Kingston ssdnow v+200 120gb / Samsung F3 1 Tb sata
Display(s) Samsung 2253BW + B2240W + Asus VW222U Eyefinity
Case A-Link Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy value
Power Supply Corsair TX 850w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#6
Update on build.....Running 2500K @ 4.5 on a Asrock Fatality ,vcore maxes out at around 1.32, max temp under 50c while playing BF3.
@ cadaveca, I only put the ram that has the XMP profiles as the other set was actually rated 1.8v DDR3 1600 and was giving me grief if I used them.
Overall happy with my results. Running 4.5ghz 24/7 as I type this.
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#7
Ai ai ai! 1.8 V ram is too much voltage!


:roll:


I would imagine, yeah, it was not so nice. ;)

At least you got the other kit working. Cool beans!
 
Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
194 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
#8
1.8v WTF they do not even make DDR3 that requires that much voltage .... pretty sure if you ran 1.8v though any sb/ibv chip they would instant fry
 

BATOFF

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
68 (0.02/day)
Likes
11
Location
Earth
Processor Core I5 2500K @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Asrock Fatality Performance Z77
Cooling Thermaltake BigWater 760i
Memory 2 x 4gb Corsair Vengence DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD6970 2gb
Storage Kingston ssdnow v+200 120gb / Samsung F3 1 Tb sata
Display(s) Samsung 2253BW + B2240W + Asus VW222U Eyefinity
Case A-Link Full Tower
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster Audigy value
Power Supply Corsair TX 850w
Software Win7 Ultimate 64bit
#9
Here is a scan of the modules. These were running on an X48 chipset platform with a Q6600.
Ive actually bought 2x4gb Corsair vengence for my Z77 Fatality.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
194 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
#10
Here is a scan of the modules. These were running on an X48 chipset platform with a Q6600.
Ive actually bought 2x4gb Corsair vengence for my Z77 Fatality.
doesnt matter do NOT run more then 1.60/1.65 though ANY SB/IB chip period you WILL KILL IT
1.8v is WAYY TO MUCH intel recommends never to exceed 1.65 period you should not even be using 775 era ram on a z68/z78/z77
we mean it when we tell you 1.8 is WAY to much back it down to 1.65 and to hell with the rated speed!!!!
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,543 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,907
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#11
doesnt matter do NOT run more then 1.60/1.65 though ANY SB/IB chip period you WILL KILL IT
1.8v is WAYY TO MUCH intel recommends never to exceed 1.65 period you should not even be using 775 era ram on a z68/z78/z77
we mean it when we tell you 1.8 is WAY to much back it down to 1.65 and to hell with the rated speed!!!!
Actually, Intel recommends 1.5 V, +/- 5% for IVB, and up to 1.85 V for SB-e.


They do NOT mention ANYTHING about 1.65 V. The default is 1.5 V, and that's that. To Intel, really, 1.65 V for ram is FAR TOO HIGH. 1.575 V would be the max, actually.


ASUS Maximus V Gene has a built-in memory profile for 1.85 V, too. Of course, that is meant for the extreme guys. But I've still tried it, nothing to report here, chip is just as it was before I tried(I spent roughly 12 hours @ 1.85 V, 1.15 V VCCSA and VTT) .

Does that mean it's 100% OK?

Nope.

But it does mean that it may NOT kill the CPU...but I digress, with the Tuning Plan warranty, you can do basically whatever you like, and they will replace the chip.


http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/default.aspx


Intel said:
So what we are saying is this: Go ahead and push it, we've got your back.

This isn't X58 or P55 or AMD where IMC voltage and DDR voltage needed to be within a specific ratio, or death would occur.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 27, 2012
Messages
194 (0.09/day)
Likes
41
#12
Actually, Intel recommends 1.5 V, +/- 5% for IVB, and up to 1.85 V for SB-e.


They do NOT mention ANYTHING about 1.65 V. The default is 1.5 V, and that's that. To Intel, really, 1.65 V for ram is FAR TOO HIGH. 1.575 V would be the max, actually.


ASUS Maximus V Gene has a built-in memory profile for 1.85 V, too. Of course, that is meant for the extreme guys. But I've still tried it, nothing to report here, chip is just as it was before I tried(I spent roughly 12 hours @ 1.85 V, 1.15 V VCCSA and VTT) .

Does that mean it's 100% OK?

Nope.



But it does mean that it may NOT kill the CPU...but I digress, with the Tuning Plan warranty, you can do basically whatever you like, and they will replace the chip.


http://click.intel.com/tuningplan/default.aspx





This isn't X58 or P55 or AMD where IMC voltage and DDR voltage needed to be within a specific ratio, or death would occur.
O I know just trying to raise a red flag because 1.8v is stuooooopid high for now adays