1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Ver. 3.0.2.5 Firmware Update to NEC(Renesas) USB 3.0 controller-unloading fix

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 95Viper, Sep 2, 2010.

  1. Cypherdude

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It depends. Do you have any problems with your USB 3.0 right now? If not, don't upgrade.

    If you do have problems, are you sure it's because of your drivers and not something else?

    If you have any problems and it's because of the drivers, are you willing to take a chance with a 3rd party site, Station-Drivers.com? Yesterday I used this anti-virus page to check 3 different Station-Drivers.com pages:
    VirusTotal Anti-Virus check page I used

    These are the 3 Station-Drivers.com pages I checked with VirusTotal
    Station-Drivers JMicron page I checked
    Station-Drivers Marvell page I checked
    Station-Drivers Renesas page I checked

    VirusTotal says they are clean. I downloaded 6 files, 3 firmware and 3 drivers. I checked all 6 with Symantec Norton Internet Security. Symantec also says they are clean. Even if the Station-Drivers.com pages are clean, you're still taking a chance on the firmware and the drivers because these files may be written for another machine.

    From what I understand, a lot of users, at expert level, have used the Station-Drivers.com files with little problems. Ultimately, it's up to you if you want to take a chance or not. If you do apply the firmware and drivers, please post what your results are here.
     
  2. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,647 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    994
    Updated my EVO from 1850 to 2302 and now I get that "plural host controller" crap.
     
  3. Cypherdude

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2011
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    UPDATE: I did a little checking and JMicron says NOT to use their Firmware for onboard mobo controllers. JMicron says they're for their add-on cards:
    ftp://driver.jmicron.com.tw/SATA_Controller/Option_ROM/Notice.txt
    "The JMB363 Option-Rom is for the Add-on Cards.

    For JMB36x on board customers, please contact with your motherboard manufacturer for the system BIOS update."

    So, 1 firmware file is out. BTW, I looked inside the latest Station-Drivers JMB36x firmware file, jmb36x_flash_1.21(www.station-drivers.com).zip. I can't even FIND the actual firmware content bin file inside the ZIP file. WHERE IS IT?! I also looked at the Marvell firmware and it's pretty convoluted. I'm not sure I want to use that file either. You're really taking a chance if you use the Station-Drivers.COM firmware files. That's my 2¢

    This is Asus's fault. If they continued to support their motherboards, even after they come out with later models, we would not be having this problem. Da** them, da** them all to h***!

    [​IMG]
     
  4. RedDwarf New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2010
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I have a Shentek USB 3.0 2+2 port PCI-e uPD720201 Renesas chipset card and I'm having big problems getting it to work properly.

    The card keeps auto resuming from S3 standby and when it does, my PC is usually locked up and none responsive. That means that I lose any work that I was doing which is a very big problem for me.

    S1 standby seems to work fine but that isn't much use to me unfortunately.

    I've tried 3.0.20.0 and 3.0.23.0 drivers and 20.0.18 and 2.0.20 firmwares and they made no difference. I've moved the PCI-e the card is fitted in. Tried 3 different slots, PCI-e x1 v1.1?/1.01? and PCI-e x16 v2.0. I've tried disabling PME wake up in my Bios, I've tried disabling power management in the drivers and so far nothing has worked.

    I've also had disappearing drivers from device manager as well as the auto resuming from standby and lock ups on resume.

    Does anyone know of a solution that will get this card to work?

    Other than these problems, the card works extremely well. It can do what no other USB interface on my PC, including other add in USB 2.0 cards could do and I'm not referring to speed, I mean error free transfers from my PVR. Only an nforce 2 chipset USB 2.0 worked as well. Intel USB has been utter crap by comparison and therefore I would like to find a solution to these problems because if it wasn't for the problems, it would be the holy grail of usb solutions for me.
     
  5. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,833 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    234
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Norway
    did you try the ancient asus drivers?
    http://nwgat.wordpress.com/2011/03/23/necfresco-logic-usb-3-0-controller-drivers/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. jumpman

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    35 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    How do I know which chip I have so I know which driver to install? I have a Asus N61jq laptop and my usb 3 port that I have my keyboard connected to always disconnects. Using the USB 3.0 Host controller information, the driver version is 1.0.18 and firmware version 3021.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    glad this thread is around, although now i'm having the same problem as someone else had on page 1 - "plural host controllers detected"
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,951 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,354
    I might have that as well. I have two showing, although one's in an error state. I just ignore it, but just because I'm too busy :/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    nothing i can do lets me update it, booo.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,524 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    Just a thought... have you tried Ghostbuster to get rid of it? I doubt it; but, it maybe worth a try.
    Download page <-- Use the download page to get the portable version or the msi version... if you click on DOWNLOAD on the main page it will use the click once installer (which will ask if you want to install other stuff).

    Can look at the device properties and see what error code they show?
    May help in fixing the problem. Maybe a code 37, 39, or ??

    Another solutions to look into is getting the "Class GUID" and scour the registry for it and remove it.
     
  11. Zetmor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Got the problem back... on Windows 10! The Windows 10 Microsoft driver just doesn't work for me: no error in the device manager, but the USB port is working at USB 2.0 only.
    I tried to install the last available Windows 7 driver from Renesas (on Win10): it installs, it works at USB 3.0... but only some seconds, then hangs and goes back to USB 2.0.
    It's on my "old" trusty PC that has a Gigabyte GA-Z68X-UD5-B3 motherboard, with that Renesas µPD720200 controller. I loved that motherboard because it has a Texas Instrument firewire controller (the one I need for an audio interface).
    I updated the controller firmware of course, with the last version available (3.0.2.8.0.8 fw 2.1.39.0 driver), thanks to you all here. BIOS also is the last one (F10 from 2012). But no chance, it's not working.
    I'm still using that PC as a dedicated streaming machine, and my USB3 video capture device needs a USB3 Renesas port: it doesn't work on my new PC with USB3.1 ports.
    Any chance to have a firmware or driver update for Windows 10? (station-drivers doesn't seem to have any driver for Renesas anymore)
    Else I'll revert back to Windows 7 on my old PC.

    (sorry to bump that old thread, but that's the page I got first when I was looking about the issue with my Renesas chipset, so might help others who upgraded to Windows 10)

    EDIT> by looking in Google cached pages, I found the 3.0.3.4 firmware for µPD720200.
    Here at station-drivers: http://www.station-drivers.com/inde...itory&Itemid=353&func=fileinfo&id=121&lang=en
    I'll give it a try tonight...
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
  12. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    Why the heck you simply don't use 2.1.39.0 driver with old handshake method dll (Works like win7 without needing proper USB descriptor, useful for some mobile devices.)

    I HAVE ZERO problems on WIN10 using NEC µPD720200 with that.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Zetmor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    How you do that? :)
     
  14. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    14,454 (4.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    US
    I believe he's on about extracting the driver package and going though device manager and installing the driver manually though it's .inf file.
     
  15. Zetmor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh, ok. That I did already: « I tried to install the last available Windows 7 driver from Renesas (on Win10): it installs, it works at USB 3.0... but only some seconds, then hangs and goes back to USB 2.0. » o_O
     
  16. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    The installer still does work fine and does the job.

    upload_2015-10-14_14-57-11.png
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. Zetmor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    So! I have flashed the 3.0.3.4 firmware... and it got a step forward: now all seems to be fine, USB3 thumbdrive copy works fine now.
    But my AverMedia video capture device still hangs (after 3-4 seconds and needs a reboot to work again). The ports stays at USB3 now though. It might be now an AverMedia driver issue, but it was working fine on my new PC. Well. I don't have any clue. I'm just gonna change my capture devices for PCI Express cards, and that's it.
    (the only USB device I'll be using on that streaming PC would be the bluetooth dongle on USB 2.0 port...)

    [​IMG]

    (all that was working flawlessly for years, and for hundreds of hours of streaming, on my Windows 7...)
     
  18. Ferrum Master

    Ferrum Master

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,182 (1.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,756
    Location:
    Rīga, Latvia
    What are you doing? Using capture on a USB3??? They will NEVER WORK. They are so latency flawed... use USB2 ONLY!
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Zetmor

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    5 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ExtremeCap U3 works on USB 3.0 only: it's not sending a compressed mp4 stream, but it's sending each frame uncompressed. That's a lot of data. And I don't care the latency, since anyway I'm configuring the delays for a perfect (below the frame) sync.
    That one has a latency of just 233ms, which is not that much: it's a uncompressed capture, frame by frame ( = if it skips a frame it won't unsync, it just skips a frame).
    I was using a USB 2.0 capture device also, the Elgato Game Capture HD; that one (for the lowest USB2 bandwidth) was compressing to mp4, and had a HUGE latency (1533ms). But again, it did not matter that much: with the right delays on each capture device & each sound source, it was just perfect. Except the Elgato wasn't uncompressed frame by frame but it was a mp4 stream, meaning: if the USB isn't responding for a short time or the device skips a frame, everything gets unsynced. It's with those USB2 capture devices that your stream gets unsynced other time (each time a frame is lost you get an additionnal 16ms delay to your video feed that is adding up other time).
    USB3 devices are good, if it's uncompressed, and of course it's stable (not crashing). You can freeze, skip frames, whatever, it's always frame by frame, so it always sync again when it's working back.
    The final stream & video had all synced below 10ms (both video feeds & both sound sources): checked frame by frame with Premiere Pro.
    But anyways, that's not the topic, hehe. That worked really well on that same exact PC, but on Windows 7, until I upgraded it to Windows 10.
    I just bought two PCIexpress capture card, so that's solved, anyway (and delays will be much easier to configure with the two same cards). If that works. :)
    (took two Elgato HD 60 Pro; they provide a beta driver that can deal with multiple cards)

    I liked that ExtremeCap U3 because it has a special "feature": it was delivering 60 fps no matter the real HDMI signal and adds duplicate frames if needed. My game & game capture was pure 60.0 Hz (RGB HDMI)... but my cam is 59.94 Hz (NTSC HDMI). With the ExtremeCap U3, that "feature" allowed to add duplicate frames and have a perfect sync with the other capture device at 60 fps. I just duplicate a frame every 1001 frames, so it's not really noticable (that's just one duplicate frame every 17 seconds, at 60im/s you don't see it). I hope OBS will be able to do it also by software with my new Elgato PCIe cards (one at 59.94 the other at 60). But that's another (long) story. :D

    Again I don't care the latency: it's important for those casting & gaming from a single PC, because you can't delay the local screen capture, and it's the camera that has a big latency (so you would need to be able to delay the screen capture to sync it with the cam). But with a two PC setup (or single PC but two capture devices), you can delay any capture (the camera, the game capture, the sound sources), so you can sync everything perfectly. Not easy, I admit, but once you know how to check the latency, it's quite straight forward (I just check the video frames sync & audio latency with Premiere Pro on a recorded footage and add the corresponding delay to that device). ;)
    (go check twitch.tv/zetmor this Sunday if you want to check it! hehe... I'm playing Rocksmith, learning guitar with it since this monday)
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2015
  20. dorsetknob

    dorsetknob

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Messages:
    4,476 (1.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,287
    Location:
    Dorset where else eh? Thats ENGLAND

    given time shit happens guess you wrote to soon hope you sort the prob out
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,524 (1.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,526
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    I hope he has... it has been over a year.

    For everyone who needs it and is running into the plural host detected, here is a read for you: Flashing a NEC/RENESAS USB 3.0 uPD720200/uPD720200A firmware
     
    dorsetknob says thanks.
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,474 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,758
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i just changed to a newer mobo with intel USB 3.0 :p problem solved!
     
    95Viper says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,923 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,076
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Sorry to necro, but some of us may still need to add usb 3 controllers to x58. Bought a new HP1-SU3 from ncix, and it has the d720202 chip. It was flashed with 2015 firmware. Couldn't access the mini-cd driver disk.
    Station-drivers has 2036 firmware, and driver 3023 available: http://www.station-drivers.com/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=353&func=select&id=196&lang=en
    After updating bios, my xfer rates are through the roof on my usb3 flash drive. This is under Win7 x64. Decent little card and chipset.
    Edit: If you want to flash, make sure if you have a 200, 200a, or 201/202 chip. Use only the firmware and driver for each. They label them all.
    http://www.ncix.com/detail/mediasonic-hp1-su3-2-port-usb-05-50576-1461.htm
    This card has the 202 chip. Canada only, I'm not sure if Ncix US has this.
    They have a 4 port version too, but I can't verify what chipset is in it.
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2015

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)