• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vga light and no display after restart

AkshayJoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Hey guys,
I just build my new system,
Ryzen 5600x
Msi Suprim 3070
Aorus B550 Pro AC wifi (rev 1.x) motherboard
16gb 3600mhz ram
Coolermaster 750W full modular psu.
Nvme m.2 1Tb ssd + 2tb HDD
Dell s2721dgf monitor.

My problem is that the VGA light on my mobo stays on, it takes me about an hour of restarts and re-plugging of graphics card and/or DP cable to get the system running, when the system is running, it functions super smooth untill I shut it down, the the problem repeats.
Graphic card is getting power, the rgb on it lights on and fans spin. Monitor is working as well.
Can someone please help me with this?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,190 (1.54/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
A common mistake by the less experienced and distracted pros alike is to insert one or more extra standoff in the case under the motherboard. Any extra standoff creates the potential for an electrical “short” in one or more circuits. The results range from "nothing" (everything works perfectly) to odd "intermittent” problems to "nothing" (as in nothing works at all :().

So I recommend you pull everything out of the case and assemble the computer on a large wooden bread/cutting board. See if the system boots fine there and while everything is out, verify you only inserted a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole.
 

AkshayJoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
A common mistake by the less experienced and distracted pros alike is to insert one or more extra standoff in the case under the motherboard. Any extra standoff creates the potential for an electrical “short” in one or more circuits. The results range from "nothing" (everything works perfectly) to odd "intermittent” problems to "nothing" (as in nothing works at all :().

So I recommend you pull everything out of the case and assemble the computer on a large wooden bread/cutting board. See if the system boots fine there and while everything is out, verify you only inserted a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole.
Before putting the parts in the case, I assembled everything on the mobo box and ran it. It worked fine. So I fitted everything inside the case and it booted up as well. I used it for like 12-13 hrs. Then I shut it down and went to sleep. When I woke up and tried to restart it, it wasn't giving me any display. I get power supply to all my parts. All rgbs on, fans spinning.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,190 (1.54/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
You need to verify all your power and data cables are connected properly and securely. If they are, then I would still verify there are no foreign objects or extra standoff under the board.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
36 (0.34/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB
Memory LPX 4x8 2666
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw, ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini
Does the system boot to bios with no drives connected? Could be having issues with your boot order as you have an SSD and HDD. Also what was your method to install your OS?
 

AkshayJoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
Does the system boot to bios with no drives connected? Could be having issues with your boot order as you have an SSD and HDD. Also what was your method to install your OS?
It booted perfectly fine for first couple of times. Then it just doesn't boot after it has been turned off for a long time. Like 6-7hrs. Or sometimes even if it is turned of for like a 15-20 mins. But I am getting no crashes, performance issues or anything else when the system is actually running.

You need to verify all your power and data cables are connected properly and securely. If they are, then I would still verify there are no foreign objects or extra standoff under the board.
Re-seated the motherboard thrice. Re-assembled the pc thrice. Tried testing parts outside the case twice. Still every morning I wake up with the fear that my system won't boot and I may have to reassemble. *Sigh*
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
36 (0.34/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB
Memory LPX 4x8 2666
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw, ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini
It booted perfectly fine for first couple of times. Then it just doesn't boot after it has been turned off for a long time. Like 6-7hrs. Or sometimes even if it is turned of for like a 15-20 mins. But I am getting no crashes, performance issues or anything else when the system is actually running.


Re-seated the motherboard thrice. Re-assembled the pc thrice. Tried testing parts outside the case twice. Still every morning I wake up with the fear that my system won't boot and I may have to reassemble. *Sigh*
Have you tried disconnecting the drives since then and tried booting? If the system boots without any drive (SSD/HDD) connected well their is your answer. Also does the system boot when outside the case? If it does then that sounds like a possible short. But on the simple what if is your power button wired correctly?
 
Last edited:

AkshayJoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
ever did a simple cmos reset?
Nope. But I reflashed the bios using q-flash(gigabyte) twice. My motherboard doesn't support zen3 processors without bios update.

Have you tried disconnecting the drives since then and tried boot? If the system boots without any drive (SSD/HDD) connected well their is your answer. Also does the system boot when outside the case? If it does then that sounds like a possible short. But on the simple what if is your power button wired correctly?
Yes. It booted inside and outside the case every time I re-assembled it. I also thought that my m.2 ssd or HDD is causing an issue so for every re-aseembly I changed the slots for that. Same results.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,190 (1.54/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Re-seated the motherboard thrice. Re-assembled the pc thrice.
That may suggest your cables are properly fastened, but it does not mean you triple checked to make sure you didn't insert an extra standoff under the board.

If you are 300% sure you only have a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole, then you need to swap in another PSU and see how it goes - since everything inside the case depends on good, clean, stable power, that must be verified before thinking about RMAing any other components.
 
Joined
Nov 16, 2020
Messages
36 (0.34/day)
Location
USA
Processor i9-10900x
Motherboard Evga x299 FTW-K
Cooling EK-AIO 240 D-RGB
Memory LPX 4x8 2666
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super Founders
Storage 1TB WD Blue M.2
Display(s) Alienware 34 aw3418dw, ROG Swift pg27q
Case Lian Li o11 dynamic
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Platinum 750w
Mouse Model O
Keyboard Frozen Llama Ducky One 2 Mini
Also make sure you are not daisy chaining the PCIE power cables to the GPU. Give each 8 pin plug-in its own cable.
 

AkshayJoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
That may suggest your cables are properly fastened, but it does not mean you triple checked to make sure you didn't insert an extra standoff under the board.

If you are 300% sure you only have a standoff where there is a corresponding motherboard mounting hole, then you need to swap in another PSU and see how it goes - since everything inside the case depends on good, clean, stable power, that must be verified before thinking about RMAing any other components.
I am getting Power to all my components. I am not an expert but I am pretty sure about this one fact. And yes, I am sure about the stand-offs. That was the first thing that was suggested to me if I was getting a black screen for a new build.

Also make sure you are not daisy chaining the PCIE power cables to the GPU. Give each 8 pin plug-in its own cable.
I haven't tried this. Will try that. Thanks! But the 8+8 pin Power connector should work right? I mean nothing else is connected to it. It just connects my psu to my graphics card.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
212 (0.09/day)
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
i had a similar experience like this...my pc had an airconditioner blowing directly over it...intermittently in the morning after being switched off all night, it would not boot up..the only solution was to remove the ram sticks and reseating them..i found out that one of the ram clips broke and ram stick would work itself loose from the slot due to the cooling and heating cycle......replaced the ram clip and the machine worked perfectly for 7 years..it was a cheap G31motherboard though...just check and clean your ram slots..
 

AkshayJoshi

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2021
Messages
6 (0.17/day)
i had a similar experience like this...my pc had an airconditioner blowing directly over it...intermittently in the morning after being switched off all night, it would not boot up..the only solution was to remove the ram sticks and reseating them..i found out that one of the ram clips broke and ram stick would work itself loose from the slot due to the cooling and heating cycle......replaced the ram clip and the machine worked perfectly for 7 years..it was a cheap G31motherboard though...just check and clean your ram slots..
Reseating ram didn't work :(
The VGA debug light is ON on my motherboard.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
212 (0.09/day)
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
well then, the only things l can think of is
1. Use a bios debug card to see the cause of VGA debug light..

20210114_124259.jpg


2. use a different pcie connector or cable
3.a different graphics card
4.a different monitor and/or cable
4.use a different psu and
5. if all else fails..a bios flash with the latest bios for your mother board.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,190 (1.54/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
I am getting Power to all my components.
It is not about getting power. It is about getting good, clean, stable power consistently. And the only way to verify this is to swap in another known good PSU.
 
Joined
Sep 18, 2014
Messages
212 (0.09/day)
Location
620004
System Name Blackbelt 2
Processor AMD FX 8350
Motherboard ASUS M5A99FX PRO R 2.0
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper TX3 evo
Memory 8GB Corsair Value Select DDR3
Video Card(s) ASUS R7260X DC2OC 2GB
Storage INTEL 530 series SSD 120 GB, Seagate Barracuda 1 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) DELL ST 2240L
Case Cooler Master Elite 311
Power Supply CORSAIR VS Series 550W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark 11 6532
And i found this on google about amps rating of psu rails...not sure if its applicable to you...maybe the experts here can help.

Screenshot_20210128-214556_Chrome.jpg
 
Top