• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Vista Pro 32bits VS Seven Pro 32bits

Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#1
Hi. I just tried the seven 32 bits on my computer and its really slower than my vista 32 bits i prevously had. Vista detect 4gigs or ram and seven only 3.25gis.. Will they throw out a service pack soon? it did the same with vista at first. Also my computer is really slower...less bugs but slower and sometimes with Seven the computer just wont shut down it goes into endless loop.
Really disappointed but i paid only 40$ as a student i got a Seven pro upgrade from microsoft.
I decided to go back at Vista 32 bits ...doing the job and only some stuff are different like the toolbar...but as a normal user i dont really see the difference ...expect the slower Seven.
 

Polarman

New Member
Joined
Jun 24, 2008
Messages
1,626 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Rimouski
System Name Polar's Dragon
Processor AMD Phenom II 975BE
Motherboard MSI 890FXA-GD65 (Bios 18.7)
Cooling Zalman CNPS 9700 Led
Memory Gskill 8GB DDR3-1333 (8,8,8,21)
Video Card(s) MSI HD6870 Hawk
Storage WD Raptor 250 - WD RE4 500GB
Display(s) Samsung T240 (1920 X1200)
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply PC Power&Cooling Silencer 750 (Red)
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64Bit + SP1
#2
Was it a clean install or just an upgrade on top of Vista?
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#3
no, anything 32bits can only see 3.25. Either someone is lying to you, the computer is lying to you, or you are lying to yourself. As for the decreased speed, i cant be sure. Vista is full of bloatware, I dont see how win7 is slower.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#4
My computer clearly indicate the 4 gigs of rams on Vista 32 bits after service pack 2 install. The Seven is also 32bits but its an upgrade to vista i had. I decided to go back to Vista 32 ...less bugs and faster.
 

Fourstaff

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 29, 2009
Messages
9,379 (3.15/day)
Likes
2,101
Location
Home
System Name Asus K50-X5DAB \\ Orange!
Processor Athlon QL-65 2.2Ghz \\ 3570K
Motherboard Laptop \\ ASRock z77 Extreme4
Cooling Laptop \\ H100i
Memory 1x1GB + 1X2GB \\ 2x4Gb 1600Mhz CL9 Corsair XMS3
Video Card(s) Mobility Radeon HD4570 512mb \\ Zotac 660Ti OC 2Gb
Storage 250Gb \\ Samsung 840 250Gb + Toshiba DT01ACA300 3Tb
Display(s) 15.6" 1366x768 \\ LG 22EA53VQ
Case Laptop Chassis \\ NZXT Phantom 410 Black/Orange
Power Supply Power Brick \\ Corsair CXM500w
#5
Do a fresh install? I remember my Windows 7 32bit being faster than vista except in shutdowns and startups where it is roughly the same.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,549
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#6
Any time you upgrade it is going to be slower, do a clean install, it is possible and easy to do with ugprade media.

And Vista 32-bit reported 4GB after SP2, however it was still only using 3.25GB. Microsoft added that feature to make it "less confusing" for the consumer. But I guarantee you only 3.25GB was usable.
 
Joined
Feb 26, 2008
Messages
4,870 (1.35/day)
Likes
681
Location
Joplin, Mo
System Name Ultrabeast GX2
Processor Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 @ 4.0GHZ 24/7
Motherboard Gigabit P35-DS3L
Cooling Rosewill RX24, Dual Slot Vid, Fan control
Memory 2x1gb 1066mhz@850MHZ DDR2
Video Card(s) 9800GX2 @ 690/1040
Storage 750/250/250/200 all WD 7200
Display(s) 24" DCLCD 2ms 1200p
Case Apevia
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Digital on-board, 5.1 digital hooked up
Power Supply 700W RAIDMAXXX SLI
Software winXP Pro
Benchmark Scores 17749 3DM06
#7
Joined
Jan 21, 2009
Messages
1,864 (0.57/day)
Likes
119
#8
I did both fresh install with the upgrade Cd and upgrade only with the same upgrade cd. Both do the same slow thing. Anywya i stay with vista :) Thx