• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Water Cooling T-Line Question?

Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#1
Currently I am running a single loop in this config....

Pump/Res>CPU>360Rad>2xFull GPU Blocks>240rad>(Back 2 original) Pump/Res

and I noticed in my setup it is going to make it difficult to drain. So I am considering adding a t-line to help with that in the future.

But I have never added a t-line and I had a few questions before I did....

1. Is it a good Idea to use a res and a t-line in a single loop like this?

2. Will it cause a decrease in water movement?

3. Will it cause a lot of problems to bleed my loop because of it?

4. If all of these are not problems ..... where would be the best placement for it?

Thanks in advance guys! :toast:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,580
Likes
5,811
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#2
I'm running res-pump-quad rad-(t-line)-cpu-gpu(soon to be)-res. I have no temp issues, runs quiet and cool enough. I'll post a pic of the t-line when I get in from work.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#3
Put the T line at the highest point if possible it will help with bleeding the loop
 
Joined
Aug 3, 2011
Messages
742
Likes
331
Location
At the Pub
System Name Kaby Doll
Processor i5 7600K W.C.
Motherboard Z170 Pro Gaming
Cooling Hardline Acrylic W.C.
Memory 2x8GB Corsair 3000
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Sli W.C.
Storage M.2 850 Evo 512
Display(s) 4K 40" BDM4065UC
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) Asus Zonar
Power Supply Corsair AX1200
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software Win 10 x64 atm
#4
Put the T line at the highest point if possible it will help with bleeding the loop
Thats weird. I though it would be at the bottom. Doesnt water always want to drain to the lowest point? Please explain? I always drain mine at lowest point in the loop.
 
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
6,580
Likes
5,811
Location
Glasgow - home of formal profanity
System Name New Ho'Ryzen
Processor Ryzen 1700X @ 3.82Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling TR Le Grand Macho & custom GPU loop
Memory 16Gb G.Skill 3200 RGB
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti (Heatkiller WB) @ 2Ghz core/1.5(12)Ghz mem
Storage Samsumg 960 Pro m2. 512Gb
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp 27" (2560x1440)
Case Lian Li PC-V33WX
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic Prime TItanium 850
Software W10
Benchmark Scores Look, it's a Ryzen on air........ What's the point?
#5
Thats weird. I though it would be at the bottom. Doesnt water always want to drain to the lowest point? Please explain? I always drain mine at lowest point in the loop.
ditto. low point on mine too.

IMAG0708.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#6
Thanks for the Advice guys.... yeah if we could clear up top or bottom mount that would be awesome.
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,848
Likes
2,305
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Asus Crosshair VI Hero
Cooling CH6 EK MonoBlock
Memory TridentZ 16GB DDR4 3600
Video Card(s) GTX 1080Ti EK Full Cover Block
Storage Samsung 960 Pro
Display(s) LG 34UC88 Curved Ultrawide
Case EVGA DG86
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#7
Highest point if you need easier fill access and help bleeding your loop,the bottom if all you want to use it for is a drain
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
put one on both, that way you have an air trap at the highest point, and a drain when you need to replace the coolant or add a component later;)
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#9
Thanks guys.... Guess it will work just fine. I was just more worried about it being to much of a problem in terms of liquid flow for a single pump.

But it doesn't sound like it will be a problem at all. I have the standard Adjustable Alphacool VPP655 pump that I am sure is strong enough
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,606
Likes
9,331
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
water will try to find the easiest route. Through the t-line it will tend to pass that junction due to no place for the flow to go (sort of is an eddy in the loop).
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 6, 2009
Messages
2,793
Likes
835
Location
Midwest USA
System Name My Gaming System
Processor Intel i7 4770k @ 4.4 Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus VI Impact (ITX)
Cooling Custom Full System Water cooling Loop
Memory G.Skill 1866 Mhz Sniper 8 Gb
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780 ti SC
Storage Samsung SSD EVO 120GB - Samsung SSD EVO 500GB
Display(s) ASUS W246H - 24" - widescreen TFT active matrix LCD
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Power Supply Corsair AX760 Modular PSU
Software Windows 8.1 Home Primeum
#11
water will try to find the easiest route. Through the t-line it will tend to pass that junction do to no place for the flow to go (sort of is an eddy in the loop).

Makes sense.... I didn't think about it that way.... But it totally makes sense
 

Irocing

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2012
Messages
41
Likes
4
Location
AZ (Area 52)
System Name Works For Me
Processor I7 930 Lapped
Motherboard Asus P6X58D-E
Cooling 3 Rads- 600.5 ST XT-MR-MCP 355
Memory Crucial 3x2 1600@1723
Video Card(s) Sapphire 7970 OC Edition 1250/1650 1.200v Stable
Storage Crucia 128 SSD Boot/ WD 640 Sata3 Storage
Display(s) Sammy 1200x1920 26"
Case CM 690 11 Adv Swiss Cheezed
Audio Device(s) CL Titanium Bose 2.1
Power Supply CM 850W Modular Gold
Software Win 7 HE
Benchmark Scores 4.51 HT ON 1.41 Stable 24/7 Run 4.3 Normally
#12
I'd put it as low as you can but also depends where the rez is as to help in bleeding.

Mine, And works great.
Just a thought.




Later;)