• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Western Digital Black WD1002FAEX Health bad

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#26

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#28
When I start HDD Regenerator all is OK.

http://gyazo.com/34d448823b576d5154c90131fd2ac7b0.png

Passing some time the alerts come up.
As I said, it's fine. I have drives in worse condition according to SMART that still work fine.

This by no means says it's okay to not keep a backup of your stuff. Drives can fail without warning, even if it is okay now, although there are no indications that it's about to blow up in your face.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,399 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,480
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#30
I should ignore HDD Regenerator?
I thought I answered that question already. ;)

Your smart values at 100% fine. That application doesn't know what it's saying, I would ignore it except for the raw SMART values which all look fine to me. Some drives spin up faster than others and 3 seconds for a black is normal.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#33
dont worry about hdd regen saying back up data immediatley. it always says that.
but it will turn red if it really wants you to do it.

also the smart errors hdd regen sees are probably from when you had the 1st problem and smart data went to 0.
smart remembers stuff like that. unfortunatley theres no way to reset the smart info.

the drive looks fine.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
#34
dont worry about hdd regen saying back up data immediatley. it always says that.
but it will turn red if it really wants you to do it.

also the smart errors hdd regen sees are probably from when you had the 1st problem and smart data went to 0.
smart remembers stuff like that. unfortunatley theres no way to reset the smart info.
Ah ok, so no worries, right?

The 1st problem was bug, as HDD is OK now.
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#35
i wouldnt worry about it. it says 0 errors 0 bad sectors 0 delays 0 reallocated. drive is fine.
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#37
As have been said countless times. UNINSTALL that piece of crap HDD REGEN. It's a terrible problem.

if Crystal Disk says it is okay, it is okay, IGNORE HDD REGEN
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#38
hdd regen is fine. but dont use it to monitor drives.
its actual surface scan is good. but its smart monitoring isnt great.
 
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
#39
hdd regen is fine. but dont use it to monitor drives.
its actual surface scan is good. but its smart monitoring isnt great.
Yes when I scan it give me OK, 0 bad sectors and passes ALL, just say me to do backup when this crazy SMART things appear, which are incorrect.

So, I'm safe, right?
 
Joined
May 3, 2010
Messages
566 (0.20/day)
Likes
121
Location
Essex, England
System Name Hellfire
Processor Intel I7 4790K OC to 4.6 @ 1.27V
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mk1
Cooling Corsair H100i in Push/Pull with 4x SP120 fans.
Memory Corsair XMS3 8GB PC3-12800 1600MHz (4x2GB)
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9 280X Vapor X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro SSD (OS), 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Secondary, 2TB Caviar Black SATA III Tertiary,
Display(s) 2x Samsung S24B300 @ 1920*1080 + 1 Samsung LE40B550 40inch @ 1920*1080
Case Corsair 750D
Audio Device(s) onboard 7.1 HD Audio
Power Supply XFX Pro Series 850W Black Edition PSU
Software Windows 7 64bit/Ubuntu
#41
As has been said so many times I will not even say it again.


I'm out
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#42
your hard disk is fione, ignore smart errors from hdd regen. surface scan said is fine with hddd regen so it is fine. other apps say smart is fine. so it is fine..
the hard disk is fine.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.61/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#44
Don't use Norton.
Uninstall Norton.
Never speak of Norton again.

Problem solved.
I use NIS and I like it.

Norton
Norton
Norton
 
Joined
May 3, 2014
Messages
615 (0.47/day)
Likes
120
System Name Sham Pc
Processor i5-2500k @ 4.33
Motherboard INTEL DZ77SL 50K
Cooling 2 bay res. "2L of fluid in loop" 1x480 2x360
Memory 16gb 4x4 kingstone 1600 hyper x fury black
Video Card(s) hfa2 gtx 780 @ 1306/1768 (xspc bloc)
Storage 1tb wd red 120gb kingston on the way os, 1.5Tb wd black, 3tb random WD rebrand
Display(s) cibox something or other 23" 1080p " 23 inch downstairs. 52 inch plasma downstairs 15" tft kitchen
Case 900D
Audio Device(s) on board
Power Supply xion gaming seriese 1000W (non modular) 80+ bronze
Software windows 10 pro x64
#45
norton sucks serious fat hairy ones.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.61/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#46
Joined
Jun 30, 2013
Messages
81 (0.05/day)
Likes
0
#47
In other forum anyone said me this:

"Problem is that some sectors are damaged but they have been reallocated (140 reallocated sectors).
Your drive is going to die, backup your data on a new one soon as possible"
 

Norton

Moderator & WCG-TPU Captain
Staff member
Joined
Dec 21, 2011
Messages
12,670 (5.80/day)
Likes
36,213
Location
USA
System Name My Fortress/Trish (WCG)/Julia (WCG)/Ella (WCG)/Junior(WCG)/Cruncher 1 & 2/Kreij (WCG)
Processor Ryzen 1700X/i7-970/2600K/i7-980X/3930k/Opteron 6168x4/Ryzen 1600X/FX-8350
Motherboard X370 Taichi/ ASUS R3E/Asus P8P67 Pro/P9X79 Pro/EVGA X58 SLI 3/SuperMicro 4P
Cooling NH-D14/Phanteks/NH-U14S/H70/DeepCool/CM 212+ (x4)/NH-U14S/CM212
Memory 16GB GSkill TridentZ-3200 (1700X), 16GB GSkill FlareX-2400 (1600X),... various...., 4P- 16x1GB
Video Card(s) RX 580/HD 4670/HD 7770/HD 7770/HD 7770/onboard/HD 7770/onboard
Storage WD 500GB SSD/Seagate 2TB SSHD, everything else is Western Digital (mostly)
Display(s) Dell U2414H & 2409W / Dell 2208WFP (shared)
Case Silverstone FT01B/Source 530/Corsair 230T/Define XL R2/Silverstone FT05/Define R4/custom
Audio Device(s) on board (All)
Power Supply Corsair HX850/TX650/CS650M/X Gold 750/EVGA P2 850/X Gold 1050/HX650
Mouse Logitech G300s
Keyboard Thermaltake Challenger Prime (Great for $30!!!)
Software Win 7 Home 64 (Win 10 Pro 64)/Win Pro 64 or Ubuntu 12.04 LTS/14.04 LTS/17.04
Benchmark Scores Why sit on the Bench when you can get in the game and Crunch!!!
#48
Don't use Norton.
Uninstall Norton.
Never speak of Norton again.

Problem solved.
First, get rid of Norton entirely. Second, install CrystalDisk info, because that's all I'm familiar with, and run it.

If after those two steps, in order, it has SMART errors: Backup, and buy a new disk before the End Times.
I use NIS and I like it.

Norton
Norton
Norton
3 times and I appear! :D

norton sucks serious fat hairy ones.
I didn't think I was that bad :(

:laugh:-:roll:

@ OP- your drive should be fine, just make sure your backup is current
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2013
Messages
7 (0.00/day)
Likes
3
Location
Spain
System Name Main PC
Processor Intel Core i3 3220T
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B75-D3V
Cooling For CPU and VGA: standard cooling systems / for case: Scythe Gentle Typhoon 120x120mm
Memory 2x2 GB F3-10666CL9-2GBRL
Video Card(s) XFX GeForce 7900 GTX Extreme Edition
Storage SAMSUNG SSD 830 + ST2000DM001
Display(s) Benq GL940
Case Aerocool PGS VS-3 Advance
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Music
Power Supply Seasonic S12II-380Bronze
Software Windows Server 2003 Enterprise, from MSDN and unmodified
#49
If you are in doubt about the health of a given HDD, there is always the option of running the extended self-test (a test actually built-in in the drive itself, which will test the surface, mechanics and whatnot) via smartctl, or GSmartControl if you prefer a GUI for running and monitoring these tests. A better option than running HDD Regenerator and rest of supposedly miraculous scamwares. If I were you, I would run one extended self-test per week / 2 weeks. And of course, backup of critical stuff is crucial. On addition of that, I personally always create par2 files (MultiPar is the client I run and I have cmd files to create recurrently and unattendedly par2 of any folder in a tree folder) of the most important files, as an additional security measure to make sure that any eventual silent data corruption can be detected and repaired.



Highlighted the most three important attributes for WD discs. No reallocated sectors, spin-up time is good and raw read error rate is excellent. Current value mustn't be lower than the threshold, ever. Rest of "secondary" attributes are OK, such as no CRC errors due to faulty cabling.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,878 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,411
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#50
In other forum anyone said me this:

"Problem is that some sectors are damaged but they have been reallocated (140 reallocated sectors).
Your drive is going to die, backup your data on a new one soon as possible"
Ye gods, NO. Look at the "Valor Bruto" column. The values in the other columns are values, not the data itself. You could see them as scores. But Valor Bruto is the actual data, if it says 00000000000 it means 0. If the drive had just 1 reallocated sector that program would throw up a warning (or a yellow light).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/S.M.A.R.T.