• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What Cpu do I use for this?

Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
793 (7.48/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
So I've been slowly building up my old b450 board to use as a on demand Nas/general pc for the wife but now apparently we would like a CCTV system also.

If I'm to run it as CCTV then the system would then be 24/7 so many options have changed I would like to run truenas/unraid some sort of IP CCTV program and possibly a VM with pfsense running, what Cpu would be best paired that won't break the bank? As far as pfsense it's not critical as maybe the option of a sff pc using a biostar board as a standalone unit would work better, as the Nas will need to shut down reasonably frequently due to power cuts (will need some sort of smart ups that can initiate shutdown and startup).

I understand that CCTV puts some load on the CPU but I'm hoping 4-8 cameras won't be too bad I was initially looking at a athlon 3000g but I'm unsure if the 2cores can handle it.

So looking at it I think I should go 4 cores minimum, although I think my board can handle headless boot I'm going to try my luck at the local markets and look at the 2nd hand computer vendors in hopes of finding a OEM ge chip. Not so important that its a Apu but try get that 35w tdp.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,842 (4.93/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory G.Skill 16GB 3600 C18
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Even a 200GE should handle that.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
793 (7.48/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
Even a 200GE should handle that.
Im leaning towards a 3400ge if I can get one, I'd prefer a few more cores if I need to run a VM and I know zoneminder starts to eat cores if you use motion detection
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,324 (4.83/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I wouldn't worry too much about getting an E varient, the actual power usage difference is minor.
 
Joined
Aug 25, 2021
Messages
793 (7.48/day)
Location
Thailand
System Name Shoebox
Processor 3600x
Motherboard Msi b550m Mortar +WiFi
Cooling Cryorig m9
Memory Hyperx c16 3200 2x8gb
Video Card(s) Powercolor rx570 4gb
Storage WD black sn750 256gb (OS), crucial mx500 1tb(storage),Hitatchi ?? 7200rpm 500gb(Temp files)
Display(s) Samsung 65" TU7100
Case Zzaw b3
Audio Device(s) Yamaha rx-v363
Power Supply Corsair sf750
Mouse Logitech g300s
Keyboard Custom Skyloong sk64s
Software Windows 10 Pro
I wouldn't worry too much about getting an E varient, the actual power usage difference is minor.
Really I was understanding it to be half?
 
Joined
May 8, 2021
Messages
1,225 (5.70/day)
Location
Lithuania
System Name Shizuka
Processor Intel Core i5 10400F
Motherboard Gigabyte B460M Aorus Pro
Cooling Scythe Choten
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Aegis 2666 MHz
Video Card(s) PowerColor Red Dragon V2 RX 580 8GB 100 watt 1100 MHz core
Storage 512GB WD Blue + 256GB WD Green
Display(s) BenQ BL2420PT
Case Cooler Master Silencio S400
Audio Device(s) Topping D10
Power Supply Chieftec A90 550W (GDP-550C)
Mouse Steel Series Rival 100
Keyboard Hama SL 570
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
I wouldn't worry too much about getting an E varient, the actual power usage difference is minor.
Yep, because AMD lies just as much as Intel about actual power usage. Basically the logic of power consumption is the same. The less cores and clock speed you have, the less power CPU will use. However, GE variant still matters. It's still a bit lower clocked, but not by much.
 
Top