• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What is IA, GT, VTT

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#1
I built my new computer and installed Windows 7 but AIDA64 but those things confuse me and googling gives me different opinions does anyone know what those mean exactly? and if they are normal values as the CPU core voltage seems low and I don't see it increase...


Thanks
 

Athlon2K15

HyperVtX™
Joined
Sep 27, 2006
Messages
7,869 (1.81/day)
Likes
2,325
Location
O-H-I-O
Processor Intel Core i3 8350K @ 4.8GHz
Motherboard Asus Prime Z370
Cooling Corsair H115i
Memory 32GB Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 3200
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Intel DC P3700 1.6TB / Intel Optane
Display(s) LG 34UC98 Curved Ultrawide
Power Supply Corsair RM850x
Mouse Asus Strix Evolve
Keyboard Asus Strix Claymore
#2
IA is the CPU cores,GT is the graphics core and vtt is the voltage that feeds the memory controller
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#3
Many thanks, this is my very first Intel CPU and I wasn't aware of the new features :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,854 (3.74/day)
Likes
11,274
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#4
VTT = NB, but not memory controller. It provides power for PCIe and such.

The System Agent has the memory controller.

You can see by this diagram of teh SB-E core that they are seperate.

 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#5
Another question, how is posible CPU package, cores temps and IGP are higher than the CPU itself I assume "CPU" is the silicon die and "CPU package" is the exterior CPU board (outside the die) or is it the other way around??

Edit: thanks cadaveca, you posted at the same time :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,854 (3.74/day)
Likes
11,274
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#6
The iGPU/IA and System agent domains actually use different voltage supplies, as well as different types of transistors that behave differently under voltage.

Anyway, because there are different voltage supplies, each only gets the power it needs to do the task at hand. The temperatures of each should be different.

And yeah, you got those two temps right. Package would be the IHS, an estimate based probably on socket temps. I mis-understood your question at first. :p


A picture to illustrate:


tcase.jpg
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#7
Many thanks, that clarified one of my doubts of why are there more than one voltage for the CPU unlike my previous AMD one :toast:

As a side note (and last question lol) how there is no monitoring for +5V, +3.3 or +5VSB unlike my old board? (this is not a great deal as I use my DMM for measuring them). are the new board using sandy bridge chipset using only the +12V?

Thanks again :)
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Staff member
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,854 (3.74/day)
Likes
11,274
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
#8
The board and such will use all the same voltages, but seemingly the SuperIO of your board is not reporting everything. I wouldn't worry about it too much. The CPU itself wil lderive the majority of the power it comsumes via the 12 V rail, as does nearly every current CPU.


And yeah, as far as I understand, even the silicon itself is different between the cores and the system agent, with the system agent using silicon with a much lower voltage requirement(which shouldn't be pushed over 1.2v, BTW). Some boards replace the System Agent name with VTT, to make things a bit less confusing for user that used older Intel platforms.


You know, come to think of it, AthlonX2 was right...SB-E seperates VTT and the System Agent, but regular SB, both are together.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#9
I took the DMM to measure voltages and noticed 12V rail is 12.50 when idle and it lowers to 12.20-12.30 on load, is that voltage safe? (I believe the PSU is too underloaded)

Many thanks and happy new year :)
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#11
I replaced the board as the USB ports were bad and using an Asus P8H61M LX now and it measures the rest of voltages OK :)

 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,471 (0.47/day)
Likes
290
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built | Netbook Samsung N145P
Processor Intel Core i3 6100 | Intel Atom N455 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Asus H110M-K-D3
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 12GB RAM
Video Card(s) MSI GT 1050 Ti 4GB| Intel GMA 3150
Storage Samsung EVO 750 120GB + Kingston HyperX Fury 120 GB + 2TB WD Hard disk | Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 22cw
Case A old one
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Generic 500W
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit 1| Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
#12
Hummm.. I am using Hwmonitor and I can see a temperature called "CPUTIN" and is greatly oscillating between 75ºC and 93ºC but the CPU itself is at 29 what's this?

Many thanks :)

edit: I see people having the same issue and say it's the BIOS but mine is updated :confused:
 
Top