• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What RAM sticks should I use?

Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
108 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Dont have a name
Processor Intel Q6600 at 3.0 GHZ
Motherboard Gigabyte P45
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory 4 GB OCZ ATI Crossfire Certified
Video Card(s) ATI 1 GB 4870
Storage 250 GB Western Digital
Display(s) Acer 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Xtreme
Software VISTA HOME PREMIUM X86
#1
Hey, I am running x64 bit version of windows and I was wondering what would be better...

I have 4x1gb sticks of OCZ DDR2 800 ram and I can push their timings @ 4-4-4-12 @2.1V

I have 2x2gb sticks of Cosair XMS DDR2 800 ram that run at 5-5-5-15 @1.8V

Should I go with half and half so I can have 6 gb of memory? Or should I stay at 4 gb of memory and have the faster speeds?
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
108 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Dont have a name
Processor Intel Q6600 at 3.0 GHZ
Motherboard Gigabyte P45
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory 4 GB OCZ ATI Crossfire Certified
Video Card(s) ATI 1 GB 4870
Storage 250 GB Western Digital
Display(s) Acer 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Xtreme
Software VISTA HOME PREMIUM X86
#2
bump
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#3
Only 1 bump per 24 hr period please.
Personally, I'd go wth the 4x1gb due to their timings.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
108 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Dont have a name
Processor Intel Q6600 at 3.0 GHZ
Motherboard Gigabyte P45
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory 4 GB OCZ ATI Crossfire Certified
Video Card(s) ATI 1 GB 4870
Storage 250 GB Western Digital
Display(s) Acer 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Xtreme
Software VISTA HOME PREMIUM X86
#5
No no. I already have these two different memory sticks. I'm not purchasing anything.
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
108 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Dont have a name
Processor Intel Q6600 at 3.0 GHZ
Motherboard Gigabyte P45
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory 4 GB OCZ ATI Crossfire Certified
Video Card(s) ATI 1 GB 4870
Storage 250 GB Western Digital
Display(s) Acer 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Xtreme
Software VISTA HOME PREMIUM X86
#6
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.14/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
#7
i ran 6gb for a while and didn't notice any improvements, so i dropped to 4gb with lower timings (see my system specs).
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
3,779 (1.14/day)
Likes
567
Location
Latin America, Uruguay
System Name The Lizard v2.4
Processor Intel Celeron G1840 (for the time being
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81-S2PH
Cooling Intel Stock Fan
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX 1600
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming GTX 750Ti (For the time being)
Storage 500GB Samsung F1, 160GB Maxtor "Older than god"
Display(s) AOC 28' LCD
Case Coolermaster N200
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Antec VP500P
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Benchmark Scores No crashes in the last 24 minutes.
#8
i would use the xms ones, sell the other and buy 4 more to complete the 8gb set
 
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
108 (0.03/day)
Likes
2
System Name Dont have a name
Processor Intel Q6600 at 3.0 GHZ
Motherboard Gigabyte P45
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer Pro 7
Memory 4 GB OCZ ATI Crossfire Certified
Video Card(s) ATI 1 GB 4870
Storage 250 GB Western Digital
Display(s) Acer 19" Widescreen
Case Antec 900
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer
Power Supply 1000W OCZ Xtreme
Software VISTA HOME PREMIUM X86
#9
i ran 6gb for a while and didn't notice any improvements, so i dropped to 4gb with lower timings (see my system specs).
did you notice an overall faster response time in gaming and just doing desktop stuff?
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#10
You wont get any difference in performance between 4gb & 6gb of ram not in a home pc anyway you would have to be running loads of apps all at once to get anywhere near filling your 4gb of ram.

But then if you do want 6gb you should be ok with one OCZ & one Cosair XMS in channel A & same for channel B. The 2 sticks in each channel dont av to be identical just have to be stable at same timings. Both your sets are good quality so you should be ok. I'd go for 5-5-5-15 @ 2.0v for that set up. Then you should still av scope for overclocking.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2008
Messages
519 (0.14/day)
Likes
60
Location
U of WY, USA
System Name Fusilli
Processor AMD Phenom II 965 C3 @ 3.9GHz (200x19.5, 1.51V)
Motherboard MSI K9A2 Platinum 790FX/SB600 (AM2+)
Cooling Zalman 9700NT, 2x silent 80mm & 2x 120mm Scythe & Enermax
Memory 4GB Patriot Viper DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.1V
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4870 512MB @ 825/1050 (3x heatpipes)
Storage 2x 250GB RAID 0 - Seagate 7200.10 16MB on Promise FastTrak
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2450 & VX1940
Case Lian-Li PC60 PlusII
Audio Device(s) Auzen X-Fi Prelude, Denon AH-D1000 headphones
Power Supply OCZ GameXtreme 600W
Software Windows 7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage - P10909
#11
did you notice an overall faster response time in gaming and just doing desktop stuff?
nope, no speed difference anywhere. i game, use photoshop, etc.

only obvious thing was a lower ram utilization :wink: with just vista ultimate just booted, 6bg was around 24% and with 4gb is around 30 or 40%

also, i had trouble running lower timings with 6gb (2x 4gb vipers + 2x 1gb mushkin enhanced) even though both sets are capable is used on their own. thats the primary reason i dropped to 4gb.
 
Joined
Nov 18, 2006
Messages
2,964 (0.73/day)
Likes
397
Location
your local vending machine
System Name HTPC||Lenovo IBM ThinkPad
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965 stock 3.4GHz||Intel C2D T9300 @ 2.5GHz
Motherboard Zotac 890GX-ITX WiFi||Lenovo 8918CTO
Cooling Stock 3x 120's||Stock stuff
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 6-6-6-15||3GB DDR2
Video Card(s) Asus 3870x2||nVidia Quadro NVS 140M
Storage 1TB Seagate Barracuda, 1x 2TB WD EARX ||Hitachi 160GB 7200RPM
Display(s) Samsung T260HD||
Case SilverStone Grandia GD05||
Audio Device(s) on-board||on-board
Power Supply Cooler Master 450W||6-cell
Software Windows 7 Pro x64||Windows 7 Pro x64/Linux Mint x64
#12
but should i have 6gb for more memeory?
You should only go after more ram if you plan on benchmarking and such. I doubt there will be a significant difference in video games, that usually depends more on the graphics card though.