• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

What's a good max temp for a Q6600 ?

Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#1
I'm trying to get a 3.2Ghz out of my Q6600 and cheap RAM.

So far I'm at 3.0ghz and 850Mhz DDR.
Bumped up the CoreV about 3 levels from stock.

I am at 50C max temp under 100% load for 10 minutes.


1. At what max temp should I stop ?
2. Can my CEON uncooled DDR go 900Mhz with + 0.2v safely ? (In most cases?)
Thanks !
 

MrSeanKon

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
267 (0.07/day)
Likes
73
Location
Athens in love with Anna :)
#2
I am at 50C max temp under 100% load for 10 minutes.
1. At what max temp should I stop?
I am an AMD guy, thus you have to based on others opinions. Generally speaking Intel CPUs (air cooled) do not encounter problems running (100% load) with temperatures up to 60 Celsius.

2. Can my CEON uncooled DDR go 900Mhz with + 0.2v safely ? (In most cases?)
Do not worry +0.2 Volts for RAM voltage is not dangerous.

Nevertheless, any overclocker should add some extra fans in case to improve air flow.
Hope I help :)
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#3
Excellent.
MAN, I love AMD... Call me an idiot but these CPU's have SOUL ! My next rig will be AMD for sure.

I am at 3Ghz, stock voltage, 850Mhz DDR. 56C 100% Temp.
I guess it's good enough until I upgrade :)

Sean Connery rules.
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2007
Messages
5,822 (1.56/day)
Likes
618
Processor Core I7 3770K@4.3Ghz
Motherboard AsRock Z77 Extreme
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 120M
Memory 12Gb G.Skill Sniper
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070
Storage Sandisk SSD + 1TB Seagate Barracuda 7200
Display(s) IPS Asus 26inch
Case Antec 300
Audio Device(s) Xonar DG
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 650 G2
Software Windows 10/Windows 7
#4
you need to know the stepping, download cpu-z and it will tell you

as for your ram you need to carefully test it.
 

MrSeanKon

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
267 (0.07/day)
Likes
73
Location
Athens in love with Anna :)
#5
Thanks Fif23. :)
To go further my PC is 4 years old. The CPU default speed is 2300 MHz and it runs at 2600 (default Vcore). But I am near 40 years old, thus no time for playing anymore.
As KainXS posted above, have you tested system's stability?
Τhere are many programs to do this (e.g. Prime95, OCCT etc)....
as for your ram you need to carefully test it.
If you run MemTest you should run it 6 hours.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#6
It's a G0 locked multi "B" stepping.
Is it recommended to turn off that auto clock manager in BIOS ? The one that sets the Clock speed at like 1700Mhz on idle .... and ramps it up at games.
Does this hinder OC ?

Right now it's fixed at 3.0Ghz at all times.

I put 5 windows of Toast for 20 minutes and it was fine but I will do more extensive testing tonight :)
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,486 (1.36/day)
Likes
927
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor Q9650
Motherboard Gigabyte.
Cooling air.
Memory 4gb kingston
Video Card(s) hd 5870
Software win7 64 bit
#8
I'm trying to get a 3.2Ghz out of my Q6600 and cheap RAM.

So far I'm at 3.0ghz and 850Mhz DDR.
Bumped up the CoreV about 3 levels from stock.

I am at 50C max temp under 100% load for 10 minutes.


1. At what max temp should I stop ?
2. Can my CEON uncooled DDR go 900Mhz with + 0.2v safely ? (In most cases?)
Thanks !
The MAX is 70*C. I would not let it get above that.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#9
Occt running. let see !
Thanks ! I will not let it go over 70.

What should I do with the Auto clock manager in the MOBO ? Off or On ?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#11
Nice ! Appreciate the super quick help !
I will report if OCCT finds anything !
 

MrSeanKon

New Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2006
Messages
267 (0.07/day)
Likes
73
Location
Athens in love with Anna :)
#12
Fif23 in most cases you should set the values manually. That is why do not let AUTO values in any field in BIOS.

The MAX is 70*C. I would not let it get above that.
Sorry for my ignorance but I remember (almost 8 years ago) the throttling issue. Thus our friend should download a throttling monitor?

Fif check my sticky here it has many useful links. If you find any broken link please post it there.

Good night from Athens, time to rest :toast:
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#13
Hi,

may I ask what VID your Q6600 has? A low VID indicates (more or less) that it can achieve high overclocks with relatively low voltage. I have here a Q6600 G0 with a VID of 1.2625V and I can overclock it to 3.2 GHz (8x400) with 1.250V and 3.4 GHz (9x378) with 1.3375V (rock stable!). You can find out what VID your Q6600 has with Realtemp or Coretemp.
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#14
HEY ! My VID is 1.21 !
Good stuff ?

Thanks Sean ! It's all Manual except the timings of the RAM.. I figured with just a 50mhz boost it can be on Auto...


OCCT Rock steady so far... close to 40 mins
 
Joined
May 25, 2011
Messages
374 (0.16/day)
Likes
131
Location
Netherlands
Processor Core i5 4690K @ 3.5 GHz \\ C2Q Q6600 @ 3.4 GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97X-Gaming 3 SLI \\ Asus P5K Deluxe
Cooling Thermaltake Water 3.0 Performer \\ Xigmatek Dark Knight
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport 2x 4GB \\ Corsair XMS2 2x 2 GB
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GTX 970 G1 Gaming v1.1 (Hynix) \\ Sapphire HD 6850
Storage Kingston SV200, 3 TB Seagate 7200.14 \\ 2x 320 GB WD Blue
Display(s) LG 24MP56HQ
Case Corsair Carbide 200R Windowed \\ CM 690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 \\ Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply Adata HM850 \\ Corsair HX520
Mouse Logitech G602, SteelSeries Sensei Raw Frostblue, Corsair M65
Keyboard Logitech Media Keyboard Elite
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 \\ Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#15
HEY ! My VID is 1.21 !
Good stuff ?

Thanks Sean ! It's all Manual except the timings of the RAM.. I figured with just a 50mhz boost it can be on Auto...


OCCT Rock steady so far... close to 40 mins
Wow, a VID of 1.21V is great and should give you awesome OC, especially with an Intel X38 or X48 motherboard. What motherboard are you using?
 
Joined
Dec 13, 2008
Messages
251 (0.08/day)
Likes
18
System Name The Browser
Processor AMD FX-8350
Motherboard Asus 90 Aura Gaming
Cooling Noctua D14
Memory Crucial Balistix Slim 16gb
Video Card(s) Sapphire AMD 7950 3GB
Storage Crucial MX 240gb + 2X3TB WD Reds
Display(s) Dell 2515H 25"
Case Corsair Carbide 540 (piece of shit case)
Power Supply Seasonic G-650W Gold
Mouse Corsair M65 RGB
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Win 10
#16
Hmm.. !
I am using a Gigabyte X38-DS5. Should be a good motherboard ! But I have some really basic DDR-II 800Mhz without any heatsinks on them.

1X ADATA vitesta and 2 CEON sticks.
 
Joined
Nov 21, 2007
Messages
3,684 (1.00/day)
Likes
402
Location
Smithfield, WV
System Name Felix777
Processor Core i5-3570k@stock
Motherboard Biostar H61
Memory 8gb
Video Card(s) XFX RX 470
Storage WD 500GB BLK
Display(s) Acer p236h bd
Case Haf 912
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Rosewill CAPSTONE 450watt
Software Win 10 x64
#17
when i had my q6600 at 3.4ghz, i wouldn't let it run anymore than 68-70 celcius at full load for a long period of time(intense gaming) and it lived for a good 4-5 years at that before i gave it away and set it back to defaults. your temps are solid, solid enough to raise the oc if you can :)
 
Joined
Apr 19, 2012
Messages
103 (0.05/day)
Likes
17
Location
San Diego, California
System Name Mi Negra
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K Sandy Bridge 3.4GHz (3.8GHz Turbo Boost) LGA 1155 95W Quad-Core Desktop Processo
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3-iSSD LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro Rev.2 with 92mm PWM Fan
Memory Patriot Viper Xtreme Series DDR3 8 GB (2 x 4 GB) PC3-12800 1600MHz
Video Card(s) Nvidia Founders Edition GeForce GTX 1080 8GB GDDR5X PCI Express 3.0 Graphics Card
Storage Samsung 750 EVO 250GB 2.5" 250G SATA III Internal SSD 3-D 3D Vertical Solid State Drive MZ-750250BW
Display(s) Samsung UN40JU6500 40" Class 4K Ultra HD Smart LED TV
Case In Win 303 Black SECC Steel/Tempered Glass Case ATX Mid Tower, Dual Chambered/High Air Computer Case
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Professional 70SB088600002 7.1 Channels 24-bit 96KHz P
Power Supply Antec High Current Pro HCP-1200 1200W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Yes, High Cur
Mouse Logitech G700s Black 13 Buttons Tilt Wheel USB RF Wireless Laser 5700 dpi Gaming Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G810 Orion Spectrum RGB Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Microsoft Windows 10 Professional 64-bit
#18
when i had my q6600 at 3.4ghz, i wouldn't let it run anymore than 68-70 celcius at full load for a long period of time(intense gaming) and it lived for a good 4-5 years at that before i gave it away and set it back to defaults. your temps are solid, solid enough to raise the oc if you can :)
70 degrees celcius is the hottest you should run that proc and 3.4ghz is right on target for that temp.