• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Whats a good PhysX GPU

Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#26
Yeah, the last bench I did in the post above was during a fight scene. I was trying to be in the middle of chaos as much as possible.
okay, figures since physx running on the cpu is quite ancient when it comes to CPU instructions used, and mostly single threaded(both things your i7 does alot better). david kanter wrote a nice piece on the subject a while back at realworldtech iirc.

Anyhow, then it would seem like there is something else the matter indeed! Have you got the right version of physx software? Seems like if you install the newest version physx can also run on your cpu, which it wont with only the physx version provided with the game.
You might want to try downgrading your physx software to the version that came with the game.
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,369 (10.18/day)
Likes
18,018
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#27
okay, figures since physx running on the cpu is quite ancient when it comes to CPU instructions used, and mostly single threaded(both things your i7 does alot better). david kanter wrote a nice piece on the subject a while back at realworldtech iirc.

Anyhow, then it would seem like there is something else the matter indeed! Have you got the right version of physx software? Seems like if you install the newest version physx can also run on your cpu, which it wont with only the physx version provided with the game.
You might want to try downgrading your physx software to the version that came with the game.
No, no problems. PhysX is definitely working as it should be.
 
Joined
Dec 3, 2009
Messages
1,205 (0.41/day)
Likes
364
Location
The Netherlands
System Name PC || Laptop
Processor AMD FX-8350 @ 4,8GHz || i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth 990FX || default
Cooling Corsair H100i Push-Pull|| Stock
Memory Samsung 30nm 4x4GB @ 1930MHz|| 2x8GB LVDDR3 @ 1600MHz
Video Card(s) AMD R9 290 @ 1060MHz / 1600MHz || Nvidia Geforce 960M
Display(s) Samsung S23A750D 120Hz + others|| 15,6" 1080P
Case Corsair 500R Fans Galore ||
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX/XD ||
Power Supply Corsair AX860i || 120Watt 19V OEM adaptor
Software Win 10 64bit || Win 10 64bit
#28
No, no problems. PhysX is definitely working as it should be.
I was thinking of the OP having that problem. But your probably right about it not being physx at all.
Perhaps some obscure nvidia control panel setting that plays havoc with fps then, or slightly corrupted game files.
 
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Xeon E3 1270v2
Motherboard ASUS P8C WS
Cooling Corsair H100 push pull Kaze's
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 ECC
Video Card(s) 2x Geforce 580
Storage OCZ IBIS + RAID 10 WD 2TB backup space
Display(s) Dell U3011
Case Thermaltake Chaser MK-I
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar STX (Win8 beta drivers - 8.0.8.1813, works great!)
Power Supply Antec HCP 1200
Software Windows 8 Pro
#29
Have to agree here that something seems pretty fishy with that level of performance and your specs. (it's a nice system that should be absolutely 'crushing' Borderlands 2)

--I've been playing the game rather extensively here, fully non-overclocked system. With a single 580 I've had absolutely no problems running 2560x1600 at 60fps (even in combat most of the time) provided that I disable SSAO. Same card performing PhysX computations as being used for rendering. Never seen a dip under 55fps at any time during gameplay.

I've removed one of my two cards from my system until I work out a solution for Windows 8.

Driver: 310.33
PhysX: 9.12.0904
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#30
Changing res doesn't seem to affect my frame rate at all stays the same also heres a screen shot of Precision both GPUs are getting used but most of the time there around 60% .

 
Joined
Nov 1, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
Processor Xeon E3 1270v2
Motherboard ASUS P8C WS
Cooling Corsair H100 push pull Kaze's
Memory 32GB DDR3 1600 ECC
Video Card(s) 2x Geforce 580
Storage OCZ IBIS + RAID 10 WD 2TB backup space
Display(s) Dell U3011
Case Thermaltake Chaser MK-I
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar STX (Win8 beta drivers - 8.0.8.1813, works great!)
Power Supply Antec HCP 1200
Software Windows 8 Pro
#31
Changing res doesn't seem to affect my frame rate at all stays the same also heres a screen shot of Precision both GPUs are getting used but most of the time there around 60% .
--Well, if lowering resolution doesn't help then you at least know that you're not GPU choked in any way, shape, or form.


Absolutely should-not be CPU choked with that processor, but..

Does setting the game to high-priority in task-manager improve performance any? (may if the Windows scheduler is making poor choices .. does immensely in games such as FFXIV and Supcom FA)

I assume that you've already touched all other settings aside from resolution and PhysX, such as view distance. If not, dropping view distance from Very High to "high" will drastically cut CPU load in BL2.


Shouldn't be necessary though as I'm playing on very high with the exception of SSAO. Your CPU overclock I assume is with Turbo disabled, so I'm guessing it can't be a throttling problem.



EDIT:

Just occurred to me. Did you use any of those online config generators? Those caused me major issues, lots of crashes..

If you have, just go into C:\Users\<user>\Documents\My Games\Borderlands 2\WillowGame\Config\
delete WillowEngine.ini and \LauncherConfig\WillowEngine.ini

Reload the game, and you'll be back to stage one / defaults.
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#32
--Well, if lowering resolution doesn't help then you at least know that you're not GPU choked in any way, shape, or form.


Absolutely should-not be CPU choked with that processor, but..

Does setting the game to high-priority in task-manager improve performance any? (may if the Windows scheduler is making poor choices .. does immensely in games such as FFXIV and Supcom FA)

I assume that you've already touched all other settings aside from resolution and PhysX, such as view distance. If not, dropping view distance from Very High to "high" will drastically cut CPU load in BL2.


Shouldn't be necessary though as I'm playing on very high with the exception of SSAO. Your CPU overclock I assume is with Turbo disabled, so I'm guessing it can't be a throttling problem.



EDIT:

Just occurred to me. Did you use any of those online config generators? Those caused me major issues, lots of crashes..

If you have, just go into C:\Users\<user>\Documents\My Games\Borderlands 2\WillowGame\Config\
delete WillowEngine.ini and \LauncherConfig\WillowEngine.ini

Reload the game, and you'll be back to stage one / defaults.
Yep I've tried all settings also tried every think on low i get 30 more frames when looking out the Lynchwood station, I get more frames inside because theres less of a view distance i found more people with this problem Google searching i think it may ether be the game or drivers.
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#33
Just installed natural selection 2 and it request more power than crysis 2 to run i booted it up and put all the settings on max and was getting 40 fps i had to force SLI to increase my frames now i get around 80-90 so i can see my SLI working.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Baku, Azerbaijan
System Name XtrEmE PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4000MHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3
Cooling Zalman CNPX10X Xtreme
Memory 16GB Mushkin Enhanced BlackLine Frostbyte #994015 (4x4GB) 2133 (PC3-17066) DDR3 10-11-10-28 1.5V
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX690 4GB 512bit GDDR5
Storage SSDs: Corsair Performance Pro 128GB & Samsung 840Pro 256GB; HDDs: Seagate 1TB & Seagate 1.5TB
Display(s) Acer G24 (1920x1200, 2ms GTG, 50K dynamic contrast, 24 inch LCD, DVI, HDMI)
Case Thermaltake Element G
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec True Power Quaddro TPQ-850, 850 Watts
Software MS Windows 8.1 Corporate x64
#34
Even with SLI 680s i get lag in BL2 with PhysX settings on high so should i buy a GPU just for PhysX ?
I used GTX690 for graphics and GT640 dedicated for PhysX. Choosed that card due to high efficiency (low power consumption + high CUDA cores count).
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
4,294 (1.11/day)
Likes
509
Processor Intel Core i9 7900X delidded @ 4.7Ghz 1.2v
Motherboard ASUS Rampage VI Extreme
Cooling EK-Supremacy EVO, EK-CoolStream PE 360, EK-CoolStream PE 240, EK-DDC Pump/X-RES 100
Memory Corsair Vengeance RED LED 32GB(8GBx4) DDR4 3400MHz
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FE ( EK 1080TI Waterblock./ Backplate )
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVME 512GB, 2x 850 Evos 1TB, WD Black 1TB
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 27" Wide PLS Monitor - 2560 x 1440
Case Corsair Carbide Air 540
Power Supply Cooler Master Vanguard Series 1000W
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12778735
#35
HAHA WTF so old.
 
Joined
Jun 17, 2010
Messages
11 (0.00/day)
Likes
1
Location
Baku, Azerbaijan
System Name XtrEmE PC
Processor Intel Core i7-3770K @ 4000MHz
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 Deluxe/Gen3
Cooling Zalman CNPX10X Xtreme
Memory 16GB Mushkin Enhanced BlackLine Frostbyte #994015 (4x4GB) 2133 (PC3-17066) DDR3 10-11-10-28 1.5V
Video Card(s) nVidia GeForce GTX690 4GB 512bit GDDR5
Storage SSDs: Corsair Performance Pro 128GB & Samsung 840Pro 256GB; HDDs: Seagate 1TB & Seagate 1.5TB
Display(s) Acer G24 (1920x1200, 2ms GTG, 50K dynamic contrast, 24 inch LCD, DVI, HDMI)
Case Thermaltake Element G
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Antec True Power Quaddro TPQ-850, 850 Watts
Software MS Windows 8.1 Corporate x64
#36
Joined
Dec 7, 2012
Messages
85 (0.05/day)
Likes
9
System Name Intel [Enthusiast LGA2011] Platform ROG:
Processor Intel Core i7-3930K BOX HT On @ 4.71Ghz - 1.424v [Offset +0.035] / VCCSA - 0.950v
Motherboard ASUS ROG Rampage IV Extreme rev 1.02 [bios 4901 modded]
Cooling Corsair H110 + 2x Thermalright TY-143
Memory Samsung Original 16GB DDR3 (DH0-CH9 4х4) @ 110ns [2.41Ghz] 11-11-11-28 (1T) Quad Channel 1.525v
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Poseidon GTX780 Platinum [2-Way SLI] @ 1200/6600 - 1.150v (both cards revision B1)
Storage SSD 128GB OCZ Vertex 4 + 1.5TB Raid0 3x500GB HDD Seagate + 1TB HDD Seagate + 500GB Toshiba HDD
Display(s) Samsung UE48H6200AKXRU 48' Smart-TV 3D [S-PVA PSA 5ms]
Case AeroCool Mechatron Black Edition PGS-B
Audio Device(s) harman/kardon AVR + Realtek ALC898
Power Supply CHIEFTEC APS-850C Modular (80+ Bronze) @ 850W
Software Windows 8.1 with Update x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores http://valid.canardpc.com/2609985 http://valid.canardpc.com/2hgtzt http://valid.canardpc.com/dwqmsh
#37
GTX 750 - best PhysX GPU :)
 

fullinfusion

Vanguard Beta Tester
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
9,600 (2.65/day)
Likes
3,354
Processor I7-7700K
Motherboard Asus Z270 Maximus IX Code
Cooling Custom water plus another cooler
Memory Corsair Vengeance LED Red 4x8GB 32GB 3200MHz kit
Video Card(s) 2 x MSI RX Vega 56 and a single MSI RX Vega 64 in test rig
Storage 960 EVO/960 Pro M.2 nvme 250/1TB, Samsumg 850 evo 256/ WD 1TB blue
Display(s) Nexius 32" freesync 2 HDR
Case Corsair Obsidion 650D/ cardboard box
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1300W
Mouse Mionix Naos 7000
Keyboard G15
Software Windows 10 Home
#38
8800 GTX lol
 
Joined
May 9, 2012
Messages
5,846 (2.86/day)
Likes
5,225
Location
Ovronnaz, Wallis, Switzerland
System Name Monster Panzer Max [MPM]/Nostalg33k/Shield/Neo U1/Nokia 5
Processor i5-6600K @4.4/C2D E8500/Tegra K1/Amlogic S905 4X1.535ghz Cortex A53/Snapdragon 430 8x Cortex A53
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X Gaming 7/XFX 650i Ultra/nvidia/AMlogic P200-2G/uh?
Cooling Corsair H115i /Alphacool Eisberg /magnesium/Aluminum heatsink/uh? bis
Memory 4x4gb HyperX Predator 2800 CL14/2gb DDR2 800/2gb/2gb LPDDR3/2gb LPDDR3
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 ARMOR 8gb OC/XFX 8800 GTX/GK20A/Mali 450MP5/Adreno 505
Storage 120gb OCZ VertexIII,60gb Patriot Blaze,1tb/8gb SSHD,2xToshiba 1tb/none/16gb+64gb/32gb/16gb+128gb
Display(s) Philips 273E3LH 27" 1920x1080 1ms/Toshiba 32L1343DG 1920x1080/8"1920x1200/5.2" 1280x720
Case Cougar Panzer Max/none/well... /Minix Neo U1/mono-bloc aluminum
Audio Device(s) Creative Recon3Di/SB Audigy 2 Platinum/HDMI output
Power Supply Seasonic M12II Evo 750 /Enermax Coolergiant 480/5v 3A/5V 2A
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Keyboard Logitech G410 Atlas Spectrum/Minix Neo A2 Lite/touch
Software Win10 64/none/Android 5.1.1 Zombiepop/Android 5.1.1 + Kodi/Android 7.1.1 Nougat (08.01.17 SPatch)
Benchmark Scores bench...mark? i do leave mark on bench sometime, to remember which one is the most comfortable. :o
#39
well afaik anything above a GTX260 was recommended but ... none needed in the end, none of the PhysX needing game i play show major fps drop with a R9 290 and the PhysX calculation made by the CPU (FX-6300)

GTX 750 - best PhysX GPU :)
for his price... no it's the most expensive (albeit power efficient) PhysX dedicated card if used like that.