1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

What's the best 2.0 speakers for my budget?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by happita, Apr 29, 2011.

  1. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    I've been using my monitors weak 2x1w speakers and they've been going in and out lately. So I want to get myself a pair of speakers that can produce decent sound quality. I had 2.1 speakers before but the subwoofer had no place to sit except on my desk and it took quite a bit of room, so 2.0 speakers will have to suffice.
    So, in conclusion, I need 2.0 speakers with a headphone jack AND mic jack(and preferably to be tall & thin). Any suggestions or experience with said speakers?
    My budget can't be over $70 shipped.
     
  2. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    happita and tigger say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    I'm using a pair of hif-fi speakers rigged up to a amp/dock for a iphone, its 8watts/channel. Does the job till i get a new amp.

    They are very pretty Paulieg, you tried 'em, what do they sound like?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Dawn
    I was going to suggest some M-Audio studio monitors, but your budget is a little low. If you're interested, I have a pair of used M-Audio Studiopro 3's that I have no need of anymore. They're studio monitors that are pretty nice. 10 watts per channel (20 total) I could give them up for about 50 shipped.

    Link
     
    tigger says thanks.
  5. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    Jump on them Happita, they look real nice.
     
    happita says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,772 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,241
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    I suggest buying a pair of Klipsch Promedia 2.1 on eBay.
     
  7. Paulieg The Mad Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2007
    Messages:
    11,961 (3.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,055
    Location:
    Wherever I can find the iron.
    I had the 2.0's before I bought the 2.1 Pro-Media's. Honestly, they sound like a set of mid level bookshelf speakers, maybe like a lower end set of Polk bookshelfs....until you start turning the volume up, and with less bass. I'm not a true Audiophile though, as I don't have the "good ear" that some do...

    This is what I would have suggested if he wanted 2.1 speakers, but he made it clear in the OP that he does not want a sub.
     
    Last edited: Apr 29, 2011
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. BumbleBee

    BumbleBee

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5,772 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,241
    Location:
    Cybertron aka Canada
    beggars can't be choosers? :laugh:
     
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,346 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Location:
    Home
    Creative Gigaworks T40 II any good? I have not heard it before, but if its a step up the T20, I think it might be worth considering.
     
  10. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Those M-Studio speakers seem nice, but they look a little too boxy, which is going to take more room than I would like.

    I read the specs for these, and tells me it has a headphone and auxiliary inputs....does that mean it can be anything? Can I plug my headset's mic into the auxiliary?

    Those look like they're good. I'll have to check em out.
     
  11. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,346 (3.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,097
    Location:
    Home
    I saw the ninja edit :p

    Anyways, I took a look at Amazon US and I was pretty shocked that it costs so much more in relation to UK prices. Perhaps not worth considering now?
     
  12. happita

    happita

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.75/day)
    Thanks Received:
    758
    Yea hahaha, your too quick for me :D

    Honestly the Gigaworks are way too expensive for me.


    Does anyone know if the auxiliary input can support a headset's mic jack?
     
  13. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    18,725 (4.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,357
    Location:
    Florida
    aux is input so yes.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,472 (2.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,686
    If your soundcard/onboard sound has jack retasking you can just assign it as mic whichever socket you plug it into.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. MicuAndrei

    MicuAndrei

    Joined:
    May 25, 2008
    Messages:
    19 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    London
    Try to find Microlab. You won't be desapointed
     
  16. theubersmurf

    theubersmurf

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2009
    Messages:
    877 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    102
    Location:
    Dawn
    I think in order for the input to be able to input to your sound device, and not out simply to the speakers, one, it has to be wired to do so by the manufacturer of the speakers. two, you'd need a flexijack on the back of the card that said speakers were plugged into. I'd more likely count on them being able to playback from your ipod/phone directly to your speakers than be a useful microphone input. Check with the manufacturer how the jack behaves. My studiopro 3's did, but only when paired with an m-audio sound card, so be prepared for limitations.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)