• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WHEA Logger Event ID 18

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
Hey guys,

Since weeks i've had problems with my pc. Randomly shutting down (90% of the time with a BSOD).

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X 3.80 GHz
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Edge Wifi
GPU: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Red Devil 8GB
Memory: Corsair DIMM 32GB DDR4-3600 (2x 18GB)

Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
NVMe Samsung SSD970 SCSI Disk Device
KINGSTON SA400S37480G

First time today:
Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

Second time today:
Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 14

Anyone that could help?
Updated my BIOS last week to current version.
CPU & GPU drivers are up to date.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,927 (3.79/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
Run your DDR4 at default speeds (ie, disable XMP) for a week and see if that makes a difference.

I've built several hundred Ryzen 3000 and 5000 computers and the cache heirarchy error I've only seen twice, both times I identified it as a faulty CPUs by swapping the CPU and only the CPU with another PC, only to see the problem jump with the CPU.

AMD replaced both times under warranty.
 
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
15,741 (2.48/day)
System Name AlderLake / Laptop
Processor Intel i7 12700K P-Cores @ 5Ghz / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Gigabyte Z690 Aorus Master / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12A 2 fans + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut Extreme + 5 case fans / Fan
Memory 32GB DDR5 Corsair Dominator Platinum RGB 6000MHz CL36 / 8GB DDR4 HyperX CL13
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 980 Pro 1TB + 970 Evo 500GB + 850 Pro 512GB + 860 Evo 1TB x2 / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) Panasonic SA-PMX94 / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system / Harman Kardon Go + Play / Logitech G533
Power Supply Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750W / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech M330 wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 11 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R23 (Single Core) 1936 @ stock Cinebench R23 (Multi Core) 23006 @ stock

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
That's some rare memory sticks you got there...

32GB (2x16GB) Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO DDR4-3600 RAM CL18 (18-22-22-42) Kit​

https://www.cyberport.at/marken/corsair.html

Run your DDR4 at default speeds (ie, disable XMP) for a week and see if that makes a difference.

I've built several hundred Ryzen 3000 and 5000 computers and the cache heirarchy error I've only seen twice, both times I identified it as a faulty CPUs by swapping the CPU and only the CPU with another PC, only to see the problem jump with the CPU.

AMD replaced both times under warranty.
Apperantly XMP was already disabled.
Just enabled it. See if that makes a change.

I'll need to check if I know someone with a rig that can fit my CPU to see if the problem also accures there.
 

Attachments

  • WhatsApp Image 2022-07-24 at 11.29.28 PM.jpeg
    WhatsApp Image 2022-07-24 at 11.29.28 PM.jpeg
    413.8 KB · Views: 99
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,927 (3.79/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.

32GB (2x16GB) Corsair Vengeance RGB PRO DDR4-3600 RAM CL18 (18-22-22-42) Kit​

https://www.cyberport.at/marken/corsair.html


Apperantly XMP was already disabled.
Just enabled it. See if that makes a change.

I'll need to check if I know someone with a rig that can fit my CPU to see if the problem also accures there.
Enabling it won't improve stability.
Sounds like a dodgy CPU but it can't hurt to update your motherboard BIOS to the latest version in case there is an issue with the version you're running.

Honestly though, the cache hierarchy error really is something you only tend to see when the CPU is faulty. It's not a symptom of something else like bad RAM or GPU, it's literally a CPU hardware error.

If its only rebooting twice a day then it's marginal and you may find you can correct for it by throwing a lit more voltage at the CPU - but the fact you're getting errors at stock speeds means you should probably RMA it while you still have a warranty, provided you can prove it's the CPU at fault.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,943 (2.29/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
Motherboard Gigabyte X670 Aorus Elite AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 4090 AMP Extreme Airo
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 2TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG GP850-B, LG GN950-B
Case bequiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Any OC, manual Voltage, Curve Optimizer or other tweaks?

if not, run OCCTs Memtest with AVX for at least 30-40 Minutes.
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,714 (1.98/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC on since Aug 18th 2019, 1st CPU R5 3600
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X, ECO mode 88W PPT
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro (Rev1.0), BIOS F35, V2 1.2.0.7
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (w/ Contuctonaut since Jan 2020)
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo (GTZN) 3600MHz 1.40V CL16-16-16-16-32-48 1T, tRFC:274, B-die
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X, GPU 2100MHz, VRAM 1750MHz
Storage Samsung NVMe: 980Pro 1TB (OS 2022), 970Pro 512GB(2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB(2015) 860Evo 1TB(2020)
Display(s) Dell Alienware AW3423DW 34" QD-OLED curved by Samsung, 3440x1440
Case None... naked on desk
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G935 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2) w/ LCDSirReal applet
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (21H2)
Hey guys,

Since weeks i've had problems with my pc. Randomly shutting down (90% of the time with a BSOD).

CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 5800X 3.80 GHz
Motherboard: MSI MPG X570 Gaming Edge Wifi
GPU: AMD Radeon RX 5700 XT Red Devil 8GB
Memory: Corsair DIMM 32GB DDR4-3600 (2x 18GB)

Samsung SSD 860 EVO 1TB
NVMe Samsung SSD970 SCSI Disk Device
KINGSTON SA400S37480G

First time today:
Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 0

Second time today:
Reported by component: Processor Core
Error Source: Machine Check Exception
Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error
Processor APIC ID: 14

Anyone that could help?
Updated my BIOS last week to current version.
CPU & GPU drivers are up to date.

WHEA Event ID 18

Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error

Indicates some issue with the memory subsystem (DRAM <> MemoryController=UMC <> DataFabric=IF=InfinityFabric

Usually this type is caused by OCing all related parts (DRAM <> UMC <> IF), some times on XMP/DOCP profile as well. Never saw it on default 2133MHz though or I dont remember it anyway...
Some times a combination of DRAM, Board, and CPU can cause this also, even if no OC (beyond XMP) is achieved.
I'm not excluding a faulty CPU as the UMC and IF are parts of the CPU package.

Can you post screenshot of the latest ZenTimings in both situations? (XMP on/off)

MCLK is DRAM speed
FCLK is IF speed
UCLK is UMC speed

1658734226216.png
 
Last edited:

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)

WHEA Event ID 18

Error Type: Cache Hierarchy Error

Indicates some issue with the memory subsystem (DRAM <> MemoryController=UMC <> DataFabric=IF=InfinityFabric

Usually this type is caused by OCing all related parts (DRAM <> UMC <> IF), some times on XMP/DOCP profile as well. Never saw it on default 2133MHz though or I dont remember it anyway...
Some times a combination of DRAM, Board, and CPU can cause this also, even if no OC (beyond XMP) is achieved.
I'm not excluding a faulty CPU as the UMC and IF are parts of the CPU package.

Can you post screenshot of the latest ZenTimings in both situations? (XMP on/off)

MCLK is DRAM speed
FCLK is IF speed
UCLK is UMC speed

View attachment 255847
I've never overclocked any of the parts, since I don't think it's necessary with these parts.
After the first couple of BSOD's I read somewhere that underclocking the CPU could work, but it only caused the PC not to reboot anymore after multiple different settings and tests.

I still have a Ryzen 5 3600 from my old rig.
I could test if that one works. Only need to buy some new cooling paste.

Hereby the 2 screenshots.

Any OC, manual Voltage, Curve Optimizer or other tweaks?

if not, run OCCTs Memtest with AVX for at least 30-40 Minutes.
No OC. Only some underclocking after the first couple of BSOD's, but then it wouldn't start anymore.
Only tweaks I did where fan related for cooling purposes.

I'll try the Memtest later today.
 

Attachments

  • ZenTimings_Screenshot_XMP_off.png
    ZenTimings_Screenshot_XMP_off.png
    32.7 KB · Views: 88
  • ZenTimings_Screenshot_XMP_on.png
    ZenTimings_Screenshot_XMP_on.png
    32.9 KB · Views: 94
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,714 (1.98/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC on since Aug 18th 2019, 1st CPU R5 3600
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X, ECO mode 88W PPT
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro (Rev1.0), BIOS F35, V2 1.2.0.7
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (w/ Contuctonaut since Jan 2020)
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo (GTZN) 3600MHz 1.40V CL16-16-16-16-32-48 1T, tRFC:274, B-die
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X, GPU 2100MHz, VRAM 1750MHz
Storage Samsung NVMe: 980Pro 1TB (OS 2022), 970Pro 512GB(2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB(2015) 860Evo 1TB(2020)
Display(s) Dell Alienware AW3423DW 34" QD-OLED curved by Samsung, 3440x1440
Case None... naked on desk
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G935 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2) w/ LCDSirReal applet
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (21H2)
What happened with XMP enabled? Same?

BTW all looks normal in both your ZenTimings shots.
Try to run different CPU with this DRAM/Board combo and also if you can borrow different DRAM sticks to try also with the same 5800X/Board. DRAM between 3200-3600MHz.

Some corsairs are designed for Ryzen but maybe most of them can causing such issues, again with certain CPU/Board combos.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2019
Messages
5,927 (3.79/day)
System Name Bragging Rights
Processor Atom Z3735F 1.33GHz
Motherboard It has no markings but it's green
Cooling No, it's a 2.2W processor
Memory 2GB DDR3L-1333
Video Card(s) Gen7 Intel HD (4EU @ 311MHz)
Storage 32GB eMMC and 128GB Sandisk Extreme U3
Display(s) 10" IPS 1280x800 60Hz
Case Veddha T2
Audio Device(s) Apparently, yes
Power Supply Samsung 18W 5V fast-charger
Mouse MX Anywhere 2
Keyboard Logitech MX Keys (not Cherry MX at all)
VR HMD Samsung Oddyssey, not that I'd plug it into this though....
Software W10 21H1, barely
Benchmark Scores I once clocked a Celeron-300A to 564MHz on an Abit BE6 and it scored over 9000.
What happened with XMP enabled? Same?

BTW all looks normal in both your ZenTimings shots.
Try to run different CPU with this DRAM/Board combo and also if you can borrow different DRAM sticks to try also with the same 5800X/Board. DRAM between 3200-3600MHz.

Some corsairs are designed for Ryzen but maybe most of them can causing such issues, again with certain CPU/Board combos.
I have used Corsair Vengeance (not LPX in several builds) and not had the grief that LPX so often causes. Still a small sample size of maybe a dozen machines as I prefer to steer clear of Corsair RAM altogether given my ridiculous RMA rate with LPX.

I don't typically get cache heirarchy errors with bad RAM, but I guess it wouldn't hurt to run an OCCT memtest or even boot to Memtest86 to confirm that the RAM is actually stable. Plenty of Corsair LPX that was faulty failed at JEDEC default speeds and voltage so that part isn't too surprising to me.
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2014
Messages
8,019 (2.47/day)
Location
SE Michigan
System Name Dumbass
Processor AMD Ryzen 7800X3D
Motherboard ASUS TUF gaming B650
Cooling Artic Liquid Freezer 2 - 420mm
Memory G.Skill Sniper 32gb DDR5 6000
Video Card(s) GreenTeam 1080 Gaming X 8GB
Storage Samsung EVO 500gb & 1Tb, 2tb HDD, 500gb WD Black
Display(s) 1x Nixeus NX_EDG27, 2x Dell S2440L (16:9)
Case Phanteks Enthoo Primo w/8 140mm SP Fans
Audio Device(s) onboard (realtek?) - SPKRS:Logitech Z623 200w 2.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse forgot....
Keyboard Corsair K100
Software windows 10 H
Benchmark Scores https://i.imgur.com/aoz3vWY.jpg?2
might wanna consider re-seating RAM and maybe even changing slots.
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2005
Messages
6,670 (1.03/day)
Location
Asked my ISP.... 0.0
System Name Lynni with a Flare \ Lenowo TwinkPad T480
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 7700 Raphael \ i7-8550U Kaby Lake-R
Motherboard Asus Prime X670-P WiFi Bios v. 1408 (Cheapest X670 around) \ Lenowo 20L60036MX Bios 1.47
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.Black (Only middle fan) \ Lenowo WN-2
Memory G.Skill Flare X5 2x16GB DDR5 6000MHZ CL36-36-36-96 AMD EXPO \ Willk Elektronik 2x16GB 2666MHZ CL17
Video Card(s) XFX Radeon™ RX 7900 XT Speedster Merc 310 20GB | Nvidia MX 150 2GB GDDR5 Micron
Storage Gigabyte M30 1TB|Sabrent Rocket 2TB|850EVO 1TB|Exos 16TB|10TB|1TB \ SKHynix 256GB 2242 3x2
Display(s) LG UltraGear 27GP850-B 1440p@165Hz | LG 48CX OLED 4K HDR | AUO 14" 1440p IPS
Case Fractal Design Meshify 2 Tempered Glass White/Black | Lenowo T480 chassis
Audio Device(s) Steelseries Arctis Pro Wireless
Power Supply Seasonic Prime 1200 watt 80Plus Platinum (Backup Seasonic Focus PX 750W Platinum) | 65W
Mouse Logitech G305 Lightspeedy Wireless | Lenowo TouchPad & Logitech G305
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow Chroma X UK | T480 UK Lumi
Software Win11 Pro 22H2 UK (Build 22621.1555)
Benchmark Scores 3DMARK: https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/89434432? GPU-Z: https://www.techpowerup.com/gpuz/details/v3zbr
@strikemaker could you fill out your System Specs?

Also what PSU are you powering your system with?

What happened with XMP enabled? Same?

BTW all looks normal in both your ZenTimings shots.
Try to run different CPU with this DRAM/Board combo and also if you can borrow different DRAM sticks to try also with the same 5800X/Board. DRAM between 3200-3600MHz.

Some corsairs are designed for Ryzen but maybe most of them can causing such issues, again with certain CPU/Board combos.

Some RAM yes, but I been using my mixed Geil Dragon DDR4 with Hynix and Samsung B-Die chips running at 3000MHz (Hynix kit speed) and both kits of mine ran stabile with my AMD Ryzen 9 3900X with a Asus ROG Strix B550-A Gaming, and now I am on a Intel Core i7-11700K and a Gigabyte Z590 Vision G which BSOD with either XMP or a manual 3000MHz tune on both my kits and I been talking with Gigabyte support but they won't suggest anything and says that it's a Geil problem if I can't do XMP or manual tuning of my ram.

Maybe I am just lucky with my Geil Dragon DDR4 ram since I only ran them at 3000MHz on AMD Ryzen 3000 series CPU not sure or Asus just did a good job with their bios and B550 board.
 

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
Any OC, manual Voltage, Curve Optimizer or other tweaks?

if not, run OCCTs Memtest with AVX for at least 30-40 Minutes.
Nothing special happend with the memtest.

Temperatures also stayed way lower then when i'm gaming. CPU could reach 70-75 celsius.
I've ordered some MX4 cooling paste, so I can try the whole setup with a different Ryzen cpu.
 

Attachments

  • OCCT-Screenshot-20220725-134752.png
    OCCT-Screenshot-20220725-134752.png
    131.8 KB · Views: 81
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,943 (2.29/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
Motherboard Gigabyte X670 Aorus Elite AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 4090 AMP Extreme Airo
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 2TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG GP850-B, LG GN950-B
Case bequiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Nothing special happend with the memtest.

Temperatures also stayed way lower then when i'm gaming. CPU could reach 70-75 celsius.
I've ordered some MX4 cooling paste, so I can try the whole setup with a different Ryzen cpu.
if you swap the CPUs take a look at the pins and in the socket. normally a CPU does not die or malfunction that easy.
i know the good ol' idle crashes and similar (which can be worked against with changing the PSU Idle Control to typical instead of auto/low)
but since you get BSODs i don't think that that's the problem.
for the next step i'd reinstall windows.
 
Last edited:

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
if you swap the CPUs take a look at the pins and in the socket. normally a CPU does not die or malfunction that easy.
i know the good ol' idle crashes and similar (which can be worked against with changing the PSU Idle Control to typical instead of auto/low)
but since you get BSODs i don't think that that's the problem.
for the next step i'd reinstall windows.
I've checked the CPU 2 weeks ago. Pins are okay. Socket is okay. Put new cooling paste on it and that helped for a short period of time i thought.

PSU is 800 watt, more like a overkill then not enough.

Windows is reinstalled as well 2 weeks ago.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
39,291 (6.76/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Try different ram and get back to us, not corsair
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,943 (2.29/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
Motherboard Gigabyte X670 Aorus Elite AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 4090 AMP Extreme Airo
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 2TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG GP850-B, LG GN950-B
Case bequiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
I've checked the CPU 2 weeks ago. Pins are okay. Socket is okay. Put new cooling paste on it and that helped for a short period of time i thought.

PSU is 800 watt, more like a overkill then not enough.

Windows is reinstalled as well 2 weeks ago.
i own the whole Zen 3 Lineup and some CPUs double.

i had a launch 5800X that crashed randomly and i never fixed it.
you could try to change the PSU idle control.

in the bios should be under CPU config a AMD CBS option.
there is the Power Supply Idle Control Mode which should be on auto.
change that to typical and see what happens. (i have two CPUs that need that on typical to function normally. (one was RMAd and replaced)
 

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
i own the whole Zen 3 Lineup and some CPUs double.

i had a launch 5800X that crashed randomly and i never fixed it.
you could try to change the PSU idle control.

in the bios should be under CPU config a AMD CBS option.
there is the Power Supply Idle Control Mode which should be on auto.
change that to typical and see what happens. (i have two CPUs that need that on typical to function normally. (one was RMAd and replaced)
After switching this to typical i got this an hour later:

1658780379887.png
 
Joined
Feb 6, 2021
Messages
1,943 (2.29/day)
Location
Germany
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 7950X
Motherboard Gigabyte X670 Aorus Elite AX
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Chromax. Black
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z5 NEO 6000 CL30
Video Card(s) Zotac RTX 4090 AMP Extreme Airo
Storage WD Black SN850X 1TB + 2x 2TB, 2x 4TB Crucial MX500, 2TB Samsung 870 Evo.
Display(s) Alienware AW2723DF, LG GP850-B, LG GN950-B
Case bequiet! Pure Base 500 FX
Audio Device(s) Bose Companion Series 2 III, Sennheiser GSP600 and HD599 SE - Creative Soundblaster X4
Power Supply bequiet! Dark Power Pro 12 1500w Titanium
Mouse Logitech GPRO X Superlight & G502 X
Keyboard Corsair K65 RGB Mini, Razer Black Widow V3 TKL
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
TPM error? or is that from the crash?
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2005
Messages
4,127 (0.62/day)
Location
Ikenai borderline!
Corsair RAM has a long history of not liking Ryzen CPUs. As others have said, get some other RAM to test with. If the same issue occurs with different RAM then the CPU is the issue.
 

tabascosauz

Moderator
Supporter
Staff member
Joined
Jun 24, 2015
Messages
6,130 (2.11/day)
Location
Western Canada
Processor 5800X3D | 5700G
Motherboard ROG Impact | B550I Aorus AX
Memory 32GB 3733CL14 | 16GB 4333CL16
Video Card(s) RTX 4070 Ti Eagle | Vega 8
Storage 8TB of SSDs | SN550
Case Caselabs S3 | Lone Industries L5
Audio Device(s) FiiO K7 + DT770
Power Supply Corsair HX1000 | HDPlex 200W
it's all from the crash. Now again.

Both times during playing Dota 2

Cache Hierarchy type WHEA is strictly CPU core related. If it was Fabric/memory controller, it would be Bus/Interconnect type (WHEA 19 I think).

Either:
  • the board you have doesn't like your CPU and isn't giving it enough idle or load Vcore,
  • the BIOS you're currently on doesn't like your CPU and isn't it giving it enough Vcore,
  • or your CPU is bad and needs to be RMA'd
Have not yet heard of bent pins causing Cache Hierarchy, but you never know. CPU being bad is rare, but WHEA 18 used to happen quite a bit for earlier production Ryzen 5000 (late 2020 or very early 2021).

In the meantime, you can try some different BIOSes, or up the Vcore a bit by using a slight positive Vcore offset (don't exactly remember how the MSI BIOS setting is laid out), or using positive Curve Optimizer offset on the affected APIC ID cores (looks like it's all over the place so maybe just apply to all cores).

Otherwise, you can try turning Power Supply Idle Current to Typical as mentioned. More drastic measure would be to disable C-states entirely (Global Cstates setting, not DF Cstates).

If all fails, it's time to hit up AMD RMA. They will try to make you jump through troubleshooting hoops, just document what you've already done and be persistent that troubleshooting is useless.
 

strikemaker

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2022
Messages
10 (0.03/day)
Corsair RAM has a long history of not liking Ryzen CPUs. As others have said, get some other RAM to test with. If the same issue occurs with different RAM then the CPU is the issue.
Just switched my RAM back to my oldies:
Curcial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR4

Curious what will happen now.
That one always worked together with my ryzen5 2600
 

Attachments

  • ZenTimings_Screenshot.png
    ZenTimings_Screenshot.png
    32.5 KB · Views: 51
Joined
Sep 3, 2019
Messages
2,714 (1.98/day)
Location
Thessaloniki, Greece
System Name PC on since Aug 18th 2019, 1st CPU R5 3600
Processor Ryzen 9 5900X, ECO mode 88W PPT
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Pro (Rev1.0), BIOS F35, V2 1.2.0.7
Cooling Corsair H110i 280mm (w/ Contuctonaut since Jan 2020)
Memory 2x16GB G.Skill Trident Z Neo (GTZN) 3600MHz 1.40V CL16-16-16-16-32-48 1T, tRFC:274, B-die
Video Card(s) MSI RX 5700XT Gaming X, GPU 2100MHz, VRAM 1750MHz
Storage Samsung NVMe: 980Pro 1TB (OS 2022), 970Pro 512GB(2019) / SATA-III: 850Pro 1TB(2015) 860Evo 1TB(2020)
Display(s) Dell Alienware AW3423DW 34" QD-OLED curved by Samsung, 3440x1440
Case None... naked on desk
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Z <--optical link--> Logitech Z5500 5.1 500W, Logitech G935 headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech MX Master (Gen1)
Keyboard Logitech G15 (Gen2) w/ LCDSirReal applet
Software Windows 10 Home 64bit (21H2)
Just switched my RAM back to my oldies:
Curcial Ballistix Sport LT 16GB (2x 8GB) DDR4

Curious what will happen now.
That one always worked together with my ryzen5 2600
Is it no XMP enabled (2400MHz) or thats their XMP speed?
 
Top