• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

WHEA Logger Fatal Hardware error

Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Hi
I have this new build since Januarry and it works fine stability and performance-wise

But checking Event Viewer I saw two WHEA-Logger events. Both say this

A fatal hardware error has occurred. A record describing the condition is contained in the data section of this event.


They happened on Feb 4 and Feb 24
I don't remember any freezing/BSOD/reboot nor stability issue when they happened but the first one happened right after a (seemingly normal) boot after a Kernel-boot event (The boot type was 0x1)

The XML view for the Feb 4 event is this
- <Event xmlns=" ">
- <System>
<Provider Name="Microsoft-Windows-WHEA-Logger" Guid="{c26c4f3c-3f66-4e99-8f8a-39405cfed220}" />
<EventID>1</EventID>
<Version>0</Version>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>0</Task>
<Opcode>0</Opcode>
<Keywords>0x8000000000000002</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2021-02-04T05:27:30.5093180Z" />
<EventRecordID>39430</EventRecordID>
<Correlation ActivityID="{509fe7ac-fe26-4480-98e5-b63f7a4e4921}" />
<Execution ProcessID="4976" ThreadID="6444" />
<Channel>System</Channel>
<Computer>DESKTOP-xxxxxx</Computer>
<Security UserID="S-1-5-19" />
</System>
- <EventData>
<Data Name="Length">462</Data>
<Data Name="RawData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ata>
</EventData>
</Event>



Does anyone have a clue about what happened? I tried to find how to decode that string but nada!
Many thanks :)
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
774 (0.61/day)
They normally happen for me after a system sleep or restart. Very uncommon though, at most they only appear once a week or so in the event logs. Many Ryzen owners get WHEA errors, but generally they're only a cause of concern when they create instability or BSODs.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
They normally happen for me after a system sleep or restart. Very uncommon though, at most they only appear once a week or so in the event logs. Many Ryzen owners get WHEA errors, but generally they're only a cause of concern when they create instability or BSODs.
Thank you
One of them happened, as you said right after boot, the other happened while the computer was idle ( I think I was away RDPing it but I don't remember quite well).

As you said I didn't get any stability issues, the computer is rock solid.***

***I just remembered I got a BSOD once, searching event viewer the BSOD was 0x00000139 (0x000000000000001d, 0xffffd08b40562eb0, 0xffffd08b40562e08, 0x0000000000000000). (KERNEL_SECURITY_CHECK_FAILURE) and happened on 24 January right after a boot. I hadn't had any BSODs since.

I also updated UEFI, just in case...
 

PaulieG

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
12,441 (2.33/day)
Location
Yankee lost in the Mountains of East TN
Processor 5950x/5800x(2)/5700g/5600x/i9 10850k/5600g/2700x/1700x
Motherboard MSI B550 Carbon (2)/ MSI z490 Unify/Asus Strix B550-F/MSI B450 Tomahawk (2)
Cooling EK AIO 360 (2)/EK AIO 240, Arctic Cooling Freezer II 280/EVGA CLC 280 and a couple Cryorig M9's
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite/32 GB TridentZ/16GB Mushkin Redline Black/16 GB Dominator
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX3060/EVGA 970(2)/Asus 750 ti/Old Quadros
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB/WD Black M.2 NVMe 500GB/Adata 500gb NVMe
Display(s) Acer 1080p 22"/ (3) Samsung 22" 1080p
Case (2) Lian Li Lancool II Mesh/Corsair 4000D /Phanteks Eclipse 500a/Be Quiet Pure Base 500/Bones of HAF
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G(2)/EVGA Supernova GT 650w/Phantek Amps 750w/Seasonic Focus 750w
Mouse Generic Black wireless (5)
Keyboard Generic Black wireless (5)
Software Win 10/Ubuntu
Are you overclocked at all?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Are you overclocked at all?
No, I am at stock with PBO enabled and power limited to 65W (due to overheating with stock cooler)
 

PaulieG

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
12,441 (2.33/day)
Location
Yankee lost in the Mountains of East TN
Processor 5950x/5800x(2)/5700g/5600x/i9 10850k/5600g/2700x/1700x
Motherboard MSI B550 Carbon (2)/ MSI z490 Unify/Asus Strix B550-F/MSI B450 Tomahawk (2)
Cooling EK AIO 360 (2)/EK AIO 240, Arctic Cooling Freezer II 280/EVGA CLC 280 and a couple Cryorig M9's
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite/32 GB TridentZ/16GB Mushkin Redline Black/16 GB Dominator
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX3060/EVGA 970(2)/Asus 750 ti/Old Quadros
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB/WD Black M.2 NVMe 500GB/Adata 500gb NVMe
Display(s) Acer 1080p 22"/ (3) Samsung 22" 1080p
Case (2) Lian Li Lancool II Mesh/Corsair 4000D /Phanteks Eclipse 500a/Be Quiet Pure Base 500/Bones of HAF
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G(2)/EVGA Supernova GT 650w/Phantek Amps 750w/Seasonic Focus 750w
Mouse Generic Black wireless (5)
Keyboard Generic Black wireless (5)
Software Win 10/Ubuntu
So, no curve optimizer settings either?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
So, no curve optimizer settings either?
I suppose not or using stock settings (I didn't even know what's that so unlikely I have touched it)
 

PaulieG

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
12,441 (2.33/day)
Location
Yankee lost in the Mountains of East TN
Processor 5950x/5800x(2)/5700g/5600x/i9 10850k/5600g/2700x/1700x
Motherboard MSI B550 Carbon (2)/ MSI z490 Unify/Asus Strix B550-F/MSI B450 Tomahawk (2)
Cooling EK AIO 360 (2)/EK AIO 240, Arctic Cooling Freezer II 280/EVGA CLC 280 and a couple Cryorig M9's
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite/32 GB TridentZ/16GB Mushkin Redline Black/16 GB Dominator
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX3060/EVGA 970(2)/Asus 750 ti/Old Quadros
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB/WD Black M.2 NVMe 500GB/Adata 500gb NVMe
Display(s) Acer 1080p 22"/ (3) Samsung 22" 1080p
Case (2) Lian Li Lancool II Mesh/Corsair 4000D /Phanteks Eclipse 500a/Be Quiet Pure Base 500/Bones of HAF
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G(2)/EVGA Supernova GT 650w/Phantek Amps 750w/Seasonic Focus 750w
Mouse Generic Black wireless (5)
Keyboard Generic Black wireless (5)
Software Win 10/Ubuntu
What about you memory? What kit is it, and are you using the XMP profile?
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
What about you memory? What kit is it, and are you using the XMP profile?
16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz (is not a kit, it's 2 separate bought modules but they are the same model)
No I am not using XMP (DOCP is disabled), I am using UEFI's stock settings (I did checked and RAM is running at its stock timings on
1615214099395.png


I just noticed one stick chips is made by Micron and the other is made by SK Hynix could this be bad?
 
Last edited:

PaulieG

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Feb 19, 2007
Messages
12,441 (2.33/day)
Location
Yankee lost in the Mountains of East TN
Processor 5950x/5800x(2)/5700g/5600x/i9 10850k/5600g/2700x/1700x
Motherboard MSI B550 Carbon (2)/ MSI z490 Unify/Asus Strix B550-F/MSI B450 Tomahawk (2)
Cooling EK AIO 360 (2)/EK AIO 240, Arctic Cooling Freezer II 280/EVGA CLC 280 and a couple Cryorig M9's
Memory 32 GB Ballistix Elite/32 GB TridentZ/16GB Mushkin Redline Black/16 GB Dominator
Video Card(s) Asus Strix RTX3060/EVGA 970(2)/Asus 750 ti/Old Quadros
Storage Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB/WD Black M.2 NVMe 500GB/Adata 500gb NVMe
Display(s) Acer 1080p 22"/ (3) Samsung 22" 1080p
Case (2) Lian Li Lancool II Mesh/Corsair 4000D /Phanteks Eclipse 500a/Be Quiet Pure Base 500/Bones of HAF
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 850G(2)/EVGA Supernova GT 650w/Phantek Amps 750w/Seasonic Focus 750w
Mouse Generic Black wireless (5)
Keyboard Generic Black wireless (5)
Software Win 10/Ubuntu
16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz (is not a kit, it's 2 separate bought modules but they are the same model)
No I am not using XMP (DOCP is disabled), I am using UEFI's stock settings (I did checked and RAM is running at its stock timings on
View attachment 191534

I just noticed one stick chips is made by Micron and the other is made by SK Hynix could this be bad?
Unlikely at those conservative stock settings, but if you were running at XMP it is technically overclocking and hynix and micron will respond differently to timing and voltage adjustments. It is highly recommended to buy kits rather than individual sticks to rule out memory as a culprit in many scenarios.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Wow I've forgotten about this thread... until yesterday I got another brand new WHEA-Logger event.
This time seemed to happen right after awaking the computer from sleep, again no weird behaviors (I noticed it by chance)
BIOS is latest version
Seems to repeat it on a 20-day basis more or less.
Isn't there any way to know what happened and what component caused the event?

Maybe I will follow @PaulieG advice and get a kit (or try to remove a stick, but I would have to wait a month or so to see if the event repeats lol
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
774 (0.61/day)
Wow I've forgotten about this thread... until yesterday I got another brand new WHEA-Logger event.
This time seemed to happen right after awaking the computer from sleep, again no weird behaviors (I noticed it by chance)
BIOS is latest version
Seems to repeat it on a 20-day basis more or less.
Isn't there any way to know what happened and what component caused the event?

Maybe I will follow @PaulieG advice and get a kit (or try to remove a stick, but I would have to wait a month or so to see if the event repeats lol

Are they being reported by a local service like mine are?

You should be able to look at the WHEA event details and find a Process ID. Then go into Details tab of Task Manager and find the active process that reported the error. Note that if you restart the computer, all the process IDs will be different and you won't be able to find it.

It's not much to go by (mine are reported by svchost.exe) but it helps gather a bit more information at least.

EDIT: I just learned that if you right-click a process in the Details tab, you can click "Go To Service(s)" and it will take you to the actual service running in the Services tab. It looks like my WHEAs were reported by "Diagnostic Policy Service". Interesting.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Are they being reported by a local service like mine are?

You should be able to look at the WHEA event details and find a Process ID. Then go into Details tab of Task Manager and find the active process that reported the error. Note that if you restart the computer, all the process IDs will be different and you won't be able to find it.

It's not much to go by (mine are reported by svchost.exe) but it helps gather a bit more information at least.

EDIT: I just learned that if you right-click a process in the Details tab, you can click "Go To Service(s)" and it will take you to the actual service running in the Services tab. It looks like my WHEAs were reported by "Diagnostic Policy Service". Interesting.
Thanks!
Same as you, the process is svchost and service is DPS (luckily I didn't reboot or shutdown since yesterday, I usually put it on sleep).

I see that many users getting this event have Ryzen like you and me, maybe it's something "normal"?

Do you have stability issues? I don't (except a one time bsod a month ago)
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
774 (0.61/day)
Thanks!
Same as you, the process is svchost and service is DPS (luckily I didn't reboot or shutdown since yesterday, I usually put it on sleep).

I see that many users getting this event have Ryzen like you and me, maybe it's something "normal"?

Do you have stability issues? I don't (except a one time bsod a month ago)

Huh, no way! Maybe there's some rhyme or reason to these WHEA errors after all....

Nope I haven't had even one sign of stability issues for months now. Perfectly reliable. See, one would think that if there were a serious hardware flaw that a whole multitude of different processes would be spitting out errors, but instead it's just this one jerkbutt process in Windows. But it would explain why my system posts two WHEA errors every week like clockwork. Maybe it's just a software issue and it's not a "fatal" failure at all.

I figured I'd just disable the DPS process entirely and see if that fixes the problem. That would be nice if it does lol
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
416 (0.47/day)
Location
The New England region of the United States
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B450M-Pro S(Temporary) Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi(Open RMA)
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB (Boot/OS)|Samsung 980 1TB (Games)|2 x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB & 500GB (Misc)
Display(s) Gigabyte G27F
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Redragon M808-KS Storm Pro (Great Value)
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
VR HMD Nope
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Nope
I had WHEA errors all the time with my Ryzen 3800x until I updated to Windows 10 20H2 and then they all went away. They never caused an issue anyway. It's one of the lovely gifts we get from Microsoft for being their BETA testers for Windows 10!
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Huh, no way! Maybe there's some rhyme or reason to these WHEA errors after all....

Nope I haven't had even one sign of stability issues for months now. Perfectly reliable. See, one would think that if there were a serious hardware flaw that a whole multitude of different processes would be spitting out errors, but instead it's just this one jerkbutt process in Windows. But it would explain why my system posts two WHEA errors every week like clockwork. Maybe it's just a software issue and it's not a "fatal" failure at all.

I figured I'd just disable the DPS process entirely and see if that fixes the problem. That would be nice if it does lol
Maybe I will try that too!
I had WHEA errors all the time with my Ryzen 3800x until I updated to Windows 10 20H2 and then they all went away. They never caused an issue anyway. It's one of the lovely gifts we get from Microsoft for being their BETA testers for Windows 10!
I currently have 20H2 but I have a cumulative update pending, I will install it. Also I'm not on insider channels
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
416 (0.47/day)
Location
The New England region of the United States
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B450M-Pro S(Temporary) Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi(Open RMA)
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB (Boot/OS)|Samsung 980 1TB (Games)|2 x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB & 500GB (Misc)
Display(s) Gigabyte G27F
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Redragon M808-KS Storm Pro (Great Value)
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
VR HMD Nope
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Nope
Maybe I will try that too!

I currently have 20H2 but I have a cumulative update pending, I will install it. Also I'm not on insider channels
Yeah, no insider channels. I was being sarcastic about the BETA testing for Microsoft, I do that too sometimes but not on my main rig.

I'm not on the latest AGESA either. I'm running the last BIOS before they added Ryzen 5xxx support. I think I'm on the latest AMD chipset driver.

I also haven't installed the Cumulative Update(KB5001649) yet. I'll run a full back-up either today or this weekend and then install the update.

I seriously wouldn't worry about the WHEA errors unless you are seeing something else too. I know it's hard to do, once you see it you want to fix it. I started ignoring them and then at some point they went away and haven't come back.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Yeah, no insider channels. I was being sarcastic about the BETA testing for Microsoft, I do that too sometimes but not on my main rig.

I'm not on the latest AGESA either. I'm running the last BIOS before they added Ryzen 5xxx support. I think I'm on the latest AMD chipset driver.

I also haven't installed the Cumulative Update(KB5001649) yet. I'll run a full back-up either today or this weekend and then install the update.

I seriously wouldn't worry about the WHEA errors unless you are seeing something else too. I know it's hard to do, once you see it you want to fix it. I started ignoring them and then at some point they went away and haven't come back.
oh OK I tough you were on insider channel :) I use insider builds on a VM lol
I did update to latest UEFI before the last event, so I've ruled out that (unless a new update comes out)
So maybe that's the best option, ignore it until getting stability issues, but I'will try to keep an eye and maybe try taking a memory stick out but I use it for work and 8 GB is too little lol.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
416 (0.47/day)
Location
The New England region of the United States
System Name Daily Driver(gaming, browsing)
Processor Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard ASUS TUF Gaming B450M-Pro S(Temporary) Gigabyte X570 Aurus Pro Wifi(Open RMA)
Cooling Corsair H60 w/Nidec GentleTyphoon
Memory 16GB(2x8) G.Skill FlareX DDR4-3200C14
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64
Storage Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB (Boot/OS)|Samsung 980 1TB (Games)|2 x Samsung 860 EVO 1TB & 500GB (Misc)
Display(s) Gigabyte G27F
Case Corsair Graphite 600T w/mesh side
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z625 2.1 | cheapo gaming headset when mic is needed
Power Supply Corsair HX850i
Mouse Redragon M808-KS Storm Pro (Great Value)
Keyboard Corsair K70 Lux - Blue on Black
VR HMD Nope
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Nope
So maybe that's the best option, ignore it until getting stability issues, but I'will try to keep an eye and maybe try taking a memory stick out but I use it for work and 8 GB is too little lol.
Not to mention you'll lose even more performance because Ryzen 3xxx is memory bandwidth starved with even dual channel DDR4.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2010
Messages
2,387 (0.61/day)
Processor AMD 5900x
Motherboard Asus x570 Strix-E
Cooling Hardware Labs
Memory G.Skill 4000c17 2x16gb
Video Card(s) RTX 3090
Storage Sabrent
Display(s) Samsung G9
Case Phanteks 719
Audio Device(s) Fiio K5 Pro
Power Supply EVGA 1300 G2
Mouse Logitech G600
Keyboard Corsair K95
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
774 (0.61/day)
Ryzen and LPX is a bad idea...

Why? Source? LPX is one of the most popular RAM kits on the market and I don't hear many complaints.

That said, I do know with Corsair that they love to make sure that no two kits are identical. You can buy two kits with the same product code, one will be Samsung and the other will be Hynix modules because the version numbers are likely to be different. So it's hard to narrow down precisely which kit has incompatibility issues because they're all bloody different. That makes it great fun when you're trying to buy an additional matched kit for a future upgrade.
 
D

Deleted member 205776

Guest
Too many forum posts like this with LPX being involved, and my own personal experience with two Ryzen builds. I heard they released specific SKUs for Ryzen but I'm not sure. I actively avoid it on Ryzen builds. Works just fine with Intel builds.
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2018
Messages
774 (0.61/day)
Too many forum posts like this with LPX being involved, and my own personal experience with two Ryzen builds. I heard they released specific SKUs for Ryzen but I'm not sure. I actively avoid it on Ryzen builds. Works just fine with Intel builds.

It's too early to call right now if the RAM kit is at fault, and frankly not enough indications that it would be. The WHEA error says "fatal hardware error" but I would take that with a grain of salt. It's not the first time that Windows has lied about what the real problem is.
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2010
Messages
1,515 (0.35/day)
Location
Spain
System Name Custom Built
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus PRIME A520M-A
Cooling Stock heatsink/fan
Memory 16GB 2x8GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 2400MHz
Video Card(s) MSI 1050Ti 4GB
Storage Samsung EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) HP Pavilion 24es
Case Aerocool CS103
Audio Device(s) Realtek
Power Supply Seasonic M12II-520 EVO
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2S
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Too many forum posts like this with LPX being involved, and my own personal experience with two Ryzen builds. I heard they released specific SKUs for Ryzen but I'm not sure. I actively avoid it on Ryzen builds. Works just fine with Intel builds.
What symptoms did you have? did you get WHEA-Logger events?

It's too early to call right now if the RAM kit is at fault, and frankly not enough indications that it would be. The WHEA error says "fatal hardware error" but I would take that with a grain of salt. It's not the first time that Windows has lied about what the real problem is.
Yeah, could bad RAM or RAM incompatibility cause ONLY those events? while the computer is stable, while gaming, Prime95, etc? (except the one time BSOD that sounded more like drivers than anything else - I updated them since- )

Not to mention you'll lose even more performance because Ryzen 3xxx is memory bandwidth starved with even dual channel DDR4.
I've used the computer for a week with only one stick (though 8 GB would be enough) and it performed relatively well (except 8 GB wasn't enough)


------------

I forgot to say that I am using the same Windows install as with previous MB (H110M-K-D3) and CPU (Intel i3 6100), but could that cause this event? (I work on it and formatting would be difficult) I did Uninstall old drivers
 
Last edited:
Top