• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

When the dGPU is loaded, the CPU will experience Power Limit Throttling.

Hi-Tech

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
20 (0.05/day)
I followed this guide to get rid of CPU Power Limit Throttling : https://bradshacks.com/disable-power-limits/

Then, in the Cinebench and Fire strike physics test, Power Limit Throttling never occurred.
My CPU continued to show power consumption exceeding 120W if the heat did not exceed 98 degrees.

It is clear that power limits have disappeared from CPU stress testing programs like Cinebench and Fire Strike.
But the problem is the game.

When I start playing, the GPU starts consuming 115W of power, and Power Limit Throttling inevitably occurs on the CPU.
However, in games that do not utilize the GPU properly, the power consumption of the GPU shows two digits, and the CPU does not have Power Limit Throttling.

What do I need to do to completely eliminate Power Limit Throttling?

I am an XMG Pro 17 laptop user : https://www.xmg.gg/en/xmg-pro-17
Equipped with the I7-10875H and the RTX 2070 Super mobile.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
756 (0.51/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
In the FIVR window tick on the box "Disable and lock Turbo power limits" below the monitoring window.
Same thing with my Acer Triton 500 too, we have the same specs :D
 

Hi-Tech

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
20 (0.05/day)
In the FIVR window tick on the box "Disable and lock Turbo power limits" below the monitoring window.
Same thing with my Acer Triton 500 too, we have the same specs :D
Nice to meet you. "Disable and lock Turbo power limits" is already checked.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
756 (0.51/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
can you upload the TS log file during game play ?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
756 (0.51/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
it shows you have Short turbo power limit PL2 of 55W, perhaps the XMG software impose another set of power limits, set them to Turbo or Performance profile.
 

Hi-Tech

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
20 (0.05/day)
it shows you have Short turbo power limit PL2 of 55W, perhaps the XMG software impose another set of power limits, set them to Turbo or Performance profile.
Thank you for good information. However, I'm already Performance profile.

Could this problem be solved by any chance by uninstalling the XMG software? I have a software called Control center.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
756 (0.51/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Thank you for good information. However, I'm already Performance profile.

Could this problem be solved by any chance by uninstalling the XMG software? I have a software called Control center.
Yeah I think you need to do change the thermal paste first though. The CPU shot up to 93C in just a couple seconds after you start a load is not a good sign, it is probably thermal throttling you are experiencing.
 

Hi-Tech

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
20 (0.05/day)
Yeah I think you need to do change the thermal paste first though. The CPU shot up to 93C in just a couple seconds after you start a load is not a good sign, it is probably thermal throttling you are experiencing.
Oh...Yes you are right. But, I have already tried it 3 times. However, the temperature problem remains. I've already spent it. There's no more.

@nguyen
And this is the log when I played Valorant.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
756 (0.51/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
Yeah your CPU is thermal throttling before reaching power limit. Though it is already running very close to its max boost clock of ~4.3Ghz and only thermal throttling slightly.
I must say that is quite good already.

Experimenting with undervolting can help you extract a little bit more performance outta the CPU.
Also better thermal paste, what paste did you use ? Kryonaut ?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2016
Messages
756 (0.51/day)
System Name The de-ploughminator
Processor I7 8700K @ 5.1Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Gaming 5
Cooling Custom Watercooling
Memory 4x8GB G.Skill Trident Neo 3600mhz 15-15-15-30
Video Card(s) RTX 2080 Ti + Heatkiller IV wb
Storage Plextor 512GB nvme SSD
Display(s) LG 34GN850-B
Case Lian Li 011D Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Creative AE-5
Power Supply Corsair RM1000
@nguyen
My CPU is already running at -100mv. The thermal paste I use is Thermalright TFX.
oh wow we use the same thermal paste :D
You can increase the CPU Core undervolt further without increasing CPU cache undervolt.
For example -90mV for cache and -180mV for Core
 

Hi-Tech

New Member
Joined
Oct 28, 2019
Messages
20 (0.05/day)
oh wow we use the same thermal paste :D
You can increase the CPU Core undervolt further without increasing CPU cache undervolt.
For example -90mV for cache and -180mV for Core
Thank you for good information.
 
Top