• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Which free Anti-Virus uses the least resources. <-Thats not a question.

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#1
I figured I do a quick test on a few of the most popular free anti-virus programs out and see which really uses the most resources.

Test Method:

I used a fresh install of Windows 7 x64 Pro. After installing Win7, drivers, and all Windows Updates I made an image of the machine. Then I installed each anti-virus, re-applying the image between anti-viruses to make sure each one gets a equally clean slate. After the AV was installed, I let the computer sit for 30 minutes to make sure it goes through its initial update process. The AVs were idle when I took the readings, these are not scan resources, but your scan should be set to run when the computer isn't in use anyway.

The resources I'm worried about is the RAM usage of each program. To figure this out I used ProcessXP which just makes it easy to pick up what processes belong to the AV software.

Results:

[TABLE]AVG|81MB
Avast|34MB
Avira|110MB
Comodo|145MB
MSE|158MB[/TABLE]

Short and sweat. But really, any system with reasonable amounts of RAM(2GB or more) probably won't even notice the difference.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 31, 2005
Messages
1,625 (0.35/day)
Likes
552
Location
The Pico Mundo Grill
System Name Commercial towing vehicle Nostromo
Processor R7 1700X Base Clock @4.000.000.000 Hz
Motherboard Crosshair Hero VI (BIOS 1701)
Cooling Hydro H110i V2 High Performance
Memory 2x8 GB Dominator CMD16GX4M2B3200C16 v4.31
Video Card(s) 970 STRIX
Storage 960 EVO M2 500 GB w. EKWB EK-M.2 NVMe nickel heatsink / UV400 480 GB / Red PRO 4 TB
Display(s) VG248QE
Case HAF XB
Audio Device(s) Onboard / JDS Labs O2 AMP / K550 headphones
Power Supply AX 860
Mouse KANA
Keyboard K60
Software Win 10 Pro x64 / KIS 2018
Benchmark Scores 2141 lightyears per hour.......
#2
KIS v. 11.0.2.556 on Win7 Pro 64bit

[/IMG]
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#4
Is this with the program doing a scan? or idle?
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
Is this with the program doing a scan? or idle?
Idle. I'm not to worried about scanning resources, because scans should be set to go when the computer isn't in use.:D
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2010
Messages
4,623 (1.65/day)
Likes
1,995
Location
Redditch, Worcestershire, England
System Name RyZen Reynolds
Processor Ryzen 1600 6c/12t -3.8Ghz@1.26v
Motherboard Asrock AB350m
Cooling Wraith Spire
Memory 16GB DDR4 2800
Video Card(s) PNY GTX 780 Ti
Storage Seagate 1TB - 128GB SSD
Display(s) BenQ G2420HD
Case Corsair Carbide Series SPEC-01
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair VS 550w
Mouse Zalman ZM-M401R
Keyboard Razor Lycosa
Software Windows 10 Home x64
#6
I see no Panda cloud AV in there, I think the client uses a few MB's that said it did something to my conenction when I tried it a few days ago, uninstalled and then couldnt log on as a standard user, would click to log on and it wouldn't even get to desktop then just switch to logging off, also stopped my 360 from connecting to the pc. Uninstall didn't fix it either I had to do a system restore :shadedshu
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,644 (0.57/day)
Likes
1,037
Location
I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
Processor W3520 Xeon
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Cool it Vantage
Memory 6gb Dominators
Video Card(s) GTX 460
Storage 60Gb Vertex II 500Gb storage
Display(s) LG 42LH40 42" 1080P
Case 932 HAF
Audio Device(s) Voices in my head
Power Supply Raidmax730/
Software Win7Pro64
Benchmark Scores Pretty High one's. but it's not a contest/ I just read them for the articles.
#8
I normally use a combination of three diff anti-virus programs to be safe. All low impact and free... If you torrent it would be a mistake to rely on only one imo. Because a good virus will disable MSE The two biggest factors that i use is: does it do it's job(real time and scan) and what is the annoyance factor(does it have stupid pop ups and crap) But even with that many virus softwares a virus is inevitable and i do a fresh install when i catch one. With all that said thanks for the info newtekie!
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2008
Messages
5,730 (1.68/day)
Likes
874
Location
Wakefield, UK
System Name [Insert Witty Name Here]
Processor Intel Core i7 4790k
Motherboard Asus Rampage VII Ranger
Cooling Antec Khuler 920
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage 4x8GB @ 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 2x AMD Asus HD7950 DirectCU II 3GB
Storage Sandisk X110 128GB + Mushkin Deluxe 240GB
Display(s) Iiyama ProLite X2775HDS-1
Case Silverstone FT02
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar Phoebus
Power Supply Corsair AX1200i
Mouse Steelseries Ikari Laser
Keyboard QPad MX-50
Software Windows 8.1 Pro 64bit
#9
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#10
I normally use a combination of three diff anti-virus programs to be safe.
isnt generally known that using even 2 antiviruses isnt recommended?

my Avast! Pro use max of 10MB of memory idle,in 2 processes,so I dont know whats up with yours..

EDIT:..uhm,strange,checked on Process XP too and there it shows 30.7MB..while in Windows taskmanager its much less...obviously is sort of up and down all the time,but I've tried to refresh both windows of Process XP and Taskmanager at the same time and in Taskmanager it shows always roughly half of what it shows in Process XP..
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 26, 2010
Messages
1,644 (0.57/day)
Likes
1,037
Location
I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
Processor W3520 Xeon
Motherboard Asus Sabertooth X58
Cooling Cool it Vantage
Memory 6gb Dominators
Video Card(s) GTX 460
Storage 60Gb Vertex II 500Gb storage
Display(s) LG 42LH40 42" 1080P
Case 932 HAF
Audio Device(s) Voices in my head
Power Supply Raidmax730/
Software Win7Pro64
Benchmark Scores Pretty High one's. but it's not a contest/ I just read them for the articles.
#11
isnt generally known that using even 2 antiviruses isnt recommended?
obviously not at the same time... have one running real time and when i pick up a virus i run each individually...
 
Joined
Jun 22, 2010
Messages
496 (0.18/day)
Likes
45
Location
Portsmouth,UK
Processor Core i7 950 @ 4.025GHz 1.3125V
Motherboard Asus Rampage III Extreme
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory G.SKill PI Silver Edition 6GB Kit 1600MHz 3- Channel (@1403MHz 7-7-7-20)
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 480 835 Core/1670 Shader/1900 Memory
Storage Primary: Velociraptor 300GB,Secondary:Caviar Black 500GB,External:WD Elements 500GB ,SG 300GB
Display(s) LG W2261VP 22" full HD LCD @ 1920 x 1080 via HDMI
Case HAF 932 default fan setup + 120mm Akasa Apache + 2 x 120mm Noctua NF-P12 Vortex
Audio Device(s) On Board 7.1
Power Supply Hiper 880W
Software Windows 7 Home Premium x64
Benchmark Scores 3dMark Vantage GPU:21754 / CPU:66169 / Total:P26141 3dMark11 P5857
#12
Joined
Sep 3, 2010
Messages
3,443 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,685
Location
NL, Europe
Processor Intel Core i5-4460
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
Cooling Arctic Freezer i11
Memory Crucial Ballistix Sport, DDR3-1600, 2x4 GB kit
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon R9 270X Vapor-X
Storage Kingston SSDNow V300 (120GB) + Seagate Barracuda 7200.14 (1TB)
Display(s) AOC G2260VWQ6 | Acer AL1916 (in reserve)
Case Cooler Maste Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic G450
Mouse Logitech G500
Keyboard Qpad MK-50
Software Windows 10
#13
I run McAfee Antivirus Plus in realtime and Malwarebytes in case of doubt (for example in case of possiblle false positives). And BTW, I use that McAfee product because it's cheap (actual price 25 euros, but cheaper for me personally because I simply share a license with my dad decreasing the price for me even more) and because I need a good firewall (the Antivirus scores better than the free ones in some Dutch tests, though the false positives can be annoying).
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,277 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,367
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#14
This is what i get idle:

http://img.techpowerup.org/101212/Untitled994.jpg

Windows 7 64bit (Formatted last Tuesday).
MSE is taking about 75MB in that screenshot. With all of them they jump around a lot, so it is kind of hard to get a definitive exact number, I just took what they were at when I looked.

my Avast! Pro use max of 10MB of memory idle,in 2 processes,so I dont know whats up with yours..

EDIT:..uhm,strange,checked on Process XP too and there it shows 30.7MB..while in Windows taskmanager its much less...obviously is sort of up and down all the time,but I've tried to refresh both windows of Process XP and Taskmanager at the same time and in Taskmanager it shows always roughly half of what it shows in Process XP..
That is why I used ProcessXP, it seems to be more accurate about memory usage. So take my results as a worst case.