1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Which would be the better 2900XT to buy?

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by -1nf1n1ty-, Aug 2, 2007.

  1. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,265 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Houston
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. pbmaster

    pbmaster New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    2,588 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    292
    Location:
    Savannah, GA
    Go with the one that gives better performance!!!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. SlipSlice

    SlipSlice New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    770 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indiana
    hmm, i dunno on the heatpipe issue, but if u are about to spend the money on either of those get the game with it..im sure the other one will stay kewl enough..u can always get a cooler if it shows heat signs while gaming..
    asus IMO
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,265 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Houston
    Thats what I figured, plus im not sure if the gigabyte comes with black box :/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,341 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Go for the better cooled card if you are not going to change the cooler and you want to overclock or if your not going to overclock and like the free game get that, swings and roundabouts :)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. affinity0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I have the Sapphire 1GB version I have only two heatpipes and as of right now, the performace is about the same as the 512MB version.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,265 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Houston
    well if thats the case then im happy with just getting a 512mb version, unless its gonna bite me in the ass, later on....since I do have a SLI board its already bitting me in the ass knowing that Im going to get the new ATI card...I wont be able to crossfire but I can still buy another so I can use that as a physics card...if thats how it works
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. affinity0 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    yeah, right now there is no advatange to 1GB and on the R600 core i doubt there ever will be to a significant advantage. I only got the 1GB version because it sounds kinda cool. Heh.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. TonyStark

    TonyStark New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2007
    Messages:
    225 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I have the Gigabyte. Temperatures hit 76°C when I benched it on 3DMark06 with the Core overclocked by 115MHz and the stock cooler.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. -1nf1n1ty-

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    2,265 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    190
    Location:
    Houston
    heh, well I hope me having a SLI board wont be a downfall
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. mandelore

    mandelore

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,252 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    .... there IS an advantage, unless u play at 1024x768 or summit u wont see 1, but at higher resolutions the 1gb version is better, better ram, better core

    i have the 1gb version and it flies @ 1920x1200

    u shud get a better overclock on the core, and the ram have more bandwidth and can be clocked MUCH higher.

    on stock volts, no changes from what was factory set i can crank the memory to 2300mhz, and the core a wee bit over 850, im waiting on a dangerden waterblock for it also, and once i get access to voltages this is gonna be awsome!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Grings

    Grings

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,717 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    446
    Location:
    Blighty
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. mandelore

    mandelore

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    3,252 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    150
    Location:
    UK-small Village in a Valley Near Newcastle
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,318 (6.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,777
    Even if it is only GDDR3, 1GB should still prove useful in gaming at high resolutions, especially with DX10.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    977 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    if u play at normal standard resolution anywhere aorund 1680 x 1050 you will not see any difference in performance b/w 1gb and 512mb versions , now if u play at 1920 x 1200 and above or use LCD monitors that are 24inches and up you will see a huge difference b/w 1gb and 512mb versions.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. zOaib New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    977 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    32
    Location:
    FL
    thats interesting , i guess they are shipping soem 1gb ddr3 version in uk , cause the HIS and Sapphire versions released here in USA are 1gb ddr4 , i also know because in rivatuner it registers it as ddr4 and also in Ati catalyst specs information . but it also is printed in barcode on the card too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)