• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Why does my computer seem slow?

Q

quasar923

Guest
#1
My PC has never really seem to run at its full potential, i may be wrong but i just want to make sure. Im questioning my Winxp64, does a 64bit OS that isnt using 4 or more gigs of ram tend to slow down a PC compared to a 32bit system? Im comparing my system to my friends PC which we built last Christmas. here is his setup:
e6750 OCed to 3.4 with aftermarket HS/F
2 gigs crucial balistix PC8000
Powercolor HD3870
Asus P5E X38
WD caviar SE 250 gig sata
700 watt psu

My system is listed in my specs.

My start up time seems longer than his, pausing in and out of games to the desktop is defiantly slower, he would have instant response from COD4 but when i do it from COD4 it takes about 5 seconds and waits on a black screen then goes to my desktop. his 3dmark 06 score was 12300, mine was 13000 with the 8.8 beta drivers but it has dropped 2000 points by switching to the 8.8 final release drivers. But my computer seemed to be slower than his even before i made the change in drivers and had the 13000 3dmark06 score.
 

aharvey

New Member
Joined
Jul 11, 2008
Messages
113 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
Location
Maryland, USA
System Name Aaron1200
Processor Intel QX6850
Motherboard Asus P5Q Pro w/ Ket's mBIOS 1406
Cooling Xigmatek S1283
Memory 4GB G.Skill Pi RAM @ 1066
Video Card(s) Palit 4870 Sonic Dual BIOS
Storage OS: Crucial c300 64GB, DATA: Seagate ES.2 250GB
Display(s) 24 inch Dell Ultrasharp LCD
Case Antec 1200, Red Antec Intake Fans, Ultra Kaze Exhaust
Audio Device(s) On Board w/ Logitech Z2300's
Power Supply Corsair 1000HX PSU
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
#2
do you run a lot of applications in your background? AntiVirus stuff will kill performance.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#3
Anti virus can cause slowdowns and maybe a defrag on the HDD will help.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,866 (0.82/day)
Likes
697
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x4GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 780TI
Storage SSD Kingston 240GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 7 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
#4
Also check your memory timings to see if there set correctly.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,565 (0.62/day)
Likes
272
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 750
Motherboard MSI P55-A FUZION
Cooling Titan Fenrir
Memory 8 gb Mushkin and 4 gb Hyper X
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 Xfire
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / Kingston 128 gb ssd / 3x1 terabyte hdds
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Xigmatek midgard
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 950 w (Hur Hur !)
Software Windows 7
#5
Other people get better fps with 8.8. Issues like this can be random if it`s frustrating. Tried a tweak program to speed up responsiveness ?
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#6
I don't notice any performance difference in the change of graphics drivers lol.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#7
Yes try different Antivir and Defragment your HDD.
I had interesting problem in WinXP I had process running in the background svchost.exe that was using 50% od CPU at all times when I closed that process via task manager than I lose sound. To regain sound I would go and activate Windows Audio service. Start up Task Manager and see if there is some process that is using you CPU or some of your memory.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#8
I found 64Bit much slower than 32Bit for me, and don't worry about 3Dmark06...My 4850 scores nearly the same as my old 2900XT.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,526 (0.73/day)
Likes
507
System Name Desktop | Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6500 4.5GHz@1.275V | 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Motherboard ASRock Fatal1ty Gaming | Intel 5500
Memory 16GB DDR4 2400MHz | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) RX480 8GB |On-Board
Storage 250GB SSD + 512GB SSD|4x320GB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Case Fractal Design Define Nano S
Software Windows 10 | Server 2012 r2
#9
I got from winXP 32 bit to Vista 64bit and I like it. It is far from perfect . Doesn`t run 20% of the software that I used on XP. Other 80% it runs perfect. It is more responsive. In WinXP on clean install and drivers it is fast as light but when I install 50 programs it lose responsivnes. In Vista clean or full loaded same responsivnes. And I lost all my save games on Vista (when I started supporting Vista).
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,373 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,785
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#10
I found 64Bit much slower than 32Bit for me, and don't worry about 3Dmark06...My 4850 scores nearly the same as my old 2900XT.
If i remember right i get near 13k in 3DMark all though my card is overclocked. But yeah 3D Mark is not the real thing. Never found XP x64 slower though.


like others are saying maybe you got a lot of stuff running in the background. As you only THINK it's slower i think if it bothering much to do more tests with your friend and make sure you both are using the same settings in game and in CCC.
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#11
do you run a lot of applications in your background? AntiVirus stuff will kill performance.
i am not running 43 proccess in task manager and as im writing this the cpu usage goes from 0- 5%, commit charge is 778M/3963M altho i have no clue what that means.

Proccesses using the most mem usage are:

firefox.exe *32 86k
svchost.exe 42k
aim6.exe 39k
RTHDCPL.exe *32 25k
explorer.exe 22k
SixEngine.exe *32 21k
ashServ.exe *32 18k
ashWebSv.exe *32 14k
SmartDoctor.exe *32 15k
CCC.exe 14k
searchindexer.exe 13k
svchost.exe 10k

then the rest is less than 9k


there are 7 processes of svchost.exe all using more than 3k and the most using 42k


my anti virus is Avast home edition, is there another virus software that is free that uses less resources?

I will run a defrag
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#13
you've got too much shit running at startup, for example AIM. look in the preferences and find th option for that. Also take a quick run through start>run>msconfig>startup and see what you can get rid of
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#14
you've got too much shit running at startup, for example AIM. look in the preferences and find th option for that. Also take a quick run through start>run>msconfig>startup and see what you can get rid of
I do not have aim start with windows start up. What i posted was after running the comp and using it for a few hours. I start aim after windows starts, and i did have it start with windows when i had 32bit and i did it a few times with 64 bit and it seemed much slower with 64 bit.
 

J-Man

New Member
Joined
May 14, 2007
Messages
2,248 (0.58/day)
Likes
80
Location
Oakham, UK
System Name Watercooled beast
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 4.02GHz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula X48
Cooling Swiftech Apogee GTZ, Black Ice GTX Xtreme 480, EK 250 Rev 2, EK 4870 X2, MCP655, 1/2" Tygon Tubing
Memory 4GB DDR2 OCZ @ 1066MHz 2.1V
Video Card(s) HIS ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 800 on core, 1000 on memory (overclocked in CCC)
Storage 500GB Maxtor Diamondmax 22 SATA II 32MB Cache
Display(s) Samsung 24" SM245B
Case SilverStone TJ07 black/windowed version
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Xtreme Gamer Fatal1ty + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower 1200W Modular
Software Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit Retail
#15
I found 64Bit much slower than 32Bit for me, and don't worry about 3Dmark06...My 4850 scores nearly the same as my old 2900XT.
:laugh:
 
Q

quasar923

Guest
#16
can some one compile a list of all things i can uncheck in msconfig, i dont wanna uncheck anything that is needed to run the comp. i unchecked a few things already but dont wanna make any mistakes. thanks. also is it ok to start in diagnostics verses normal start in msconfig, because wont that be much faster?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#17
I don't even know what all you have in your msconfig.
 
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
2,355 (0.60/day)
Likes
237
Location
Nova Scotia, Canada
System Name Main Rig
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K De-lidded 4.4GHz 1.24v
Motherboard MSI Z87-GD65 Gaming
Cooling NZXT Kraken X61
Memory 8GB(2x4GB) DDR3-1600 CL8 Crucial Ballistx Tracer Tactical
Video Card(s) XFX AMD Radeon Fury X
Storage 120GB Samsung 840 - 250GB 840 EVO - 640GB WD Black - 2TB Seagate
Display(s) LG 27" 4K Freesync IPS - LG 29" Ultrawide 21:9
Case Fractal Design Arc Midi R2
Audio Device(s) Onboard - Focusrite Scarlett 2i2
Power Supply Corsair 650TX
Software Windows 10 64Bit
#20
If i remember right i get near 13k in 3DMark all though my card is overclocked. But yeah 3D Mark is not the real thing. Never found XP x64 slower though.


like others are saying maybe you got a lot of stuff running in the background. As you only THINK it's slower i think if it bothering much to do more tests with your friend and make sure you both are using the same settings in game and in CCC.
Yea, 3Dmark the same...everything else is nearly twice as fast:)

Both 64Bit and 32Bit were on clean installs, was slow from the start. It was very unresponsive, everything seemed very very sluggish. I read it had something to do with my SATA controller or something, idk.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,578 (4.55/day)
Likes
3,192
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#21

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,373 (3.98/day)
Likes
4,785
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 390X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#23
i see your running aVast, so try disabling Standerd Shield as that will scan files like crazy.
 
Joined
Jun 5, 2007
Messages
2,011 (0.52/day)
Likes
280
Location
127.0.0.1
System Name Zangief (Reborn)
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X @ 3.825ghz , 1.35v
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-AX370 Gaming K7 Rev 1.0 BIOS F10
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 Push / Push Config | 2x ML120 | 2x Phanteks 120 mm
Memory 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z @ 3200mhz cl 16 @ 1.45v
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Aorus GTX 1080 +100 core / +550 mem
Storage 250 GB Samsung Evo 850 / 1tb WD Black / 3tb WD Blue
Display(s) Asus VX239H 23" AH-IPS Led
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M TG
Audio Device(s) On Board Realtek HD / Logitech G633 Gaming Headset
Power Supply Corsair HX750i
Mouse Logitech Proteus Core G502 | Logitech G602 Wireless Gaming
Keyboard Corsair K70 Cherry Red
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#25
I was a previous user of win xp x64 although I never found it slow for me.. It ran perfectly, just tweak/optimize the services/applications that you don't use and then try a HDD defrag.. And see how well the system improves...