• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Why does my FPS drop suddenly until I alt-tab out?

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#26
In Nvidia control panel, set Power setting to maximum performance, not adaptive.
Might help alleviate these kinds of issues.
That actually sounds reasonable. I NEVER touched anything in the nvidia control panel, but as mentioned earlier, it could be that the performance is being undercut due to surge in temperature or whatever.. :S
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#27
That actually sounds reasonable. I NEVER touched anything in the nvidia control panel, but as mentioned earlier, it could be that the performance is being undercut due to surge in temperature or whatever.. :S
It defaults to adaptive and has already been known to cause problems. It fixed some issues for me as well. Good luck, fingers crossed...lol..
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#28
I have a CD with older version that came with the GPU but that's about it. But I suspect that it'll decrease my computer performance...

Why do you say that just out of curiousity?
Because it wasnt happening with the older driver thats why. The new driver seems to be causing the issue, be it a memory leak or over heating or whatever. Roll back the driver and problem solved.
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#29
vsync is on, but it wasnt acting like this last week.
Well then, that's an important bit.. You installed a new driver within that time?

Did you try rolling back to an older driver?
Well.. Did you?
Usually people like it when you respond to them and they are trying to help you. Please let us know you are actually trying what we say.

In Nvidia control panel, set Power setting to maximum performance, not adaptive.
Might help alleviate these kinds of issues.
Did you try this as well if the last step did not fix your problem?
please let us know..
 

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#30
Well then, that's an important bit.. You installed a new driver within that time?
Yes, as soon as I put my new GPU in, I installed the new driver.

Do you think it has to do with the case air flow? Right now, my cable management is so bad that it's blocking some spaces lol.

*EDIT: Never tried with older driver, I'll get back to this thread in a bit when I get home
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2007
Messages
3,788 (0.96/day)
Likes
671
Location
Pompano beach, Florida
System Name HAL
Processor Core i7 4770k @ 4.6 ghz.
Motherboard Asus Maximus VII Hero
Cooling H80i Closed loop liquid cooling.
Memory 4x 4 (16) GB Corsair Vengeance ddr3 2133 @ 2200
Video Card(s) GTX 1080 FTW
Storage 256 GB Ocz V4 SSD "Thank you Kreij (Dean)" + 2x 1TB drives.
Display(s) 50" Samsung, UHD, 4k, 60hz.
Case Corsair Carbide MId tower
Audio Device(s) LG system through optical 5.1
Power Supply CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX850M
Software Microsoft Windows 10 x64
Benchmark Scores Haven (3720), Cinebench (932)
#31
Yes, as soon as I put my new GPU in, I installed the new driver.

Do you think it has to do with the case air flow? Right now, my cable management is so bad that it's blocking some spaces lol.

*EDIT: Never tried with older driver, I'll get back to this thread in a bit when I get home
No, I don't think it's heat at all.. My two cents. I doubt your even overclocking..
I'd need you to test temps to be sure though..

Ahh I see now.. You downloaded the new driver right?
Did you try the one that came with the disc?
If so, when you tried it, did the game run well at that point?

Yea, when you get home I'd try the adaptive power setting and set it to max performance in nvidia control panel.. Me thinks there is your problem..

Trying the old driver couldn't hurt either, it does happen..

About your case air flow. You sound like you have a lot of fans.. Is your ambient temp cold in your house or is it hot/warm?

You live in Canada, in almost October, so I know it's not hot.. Don't worry about heat yet too much
but check when you can.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#32
Try the driver that came with the disk.
 

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#33
No, I don't think it's heat at all.. My two cents. I doubt your even overclocking..
I'd need you to test temps to be sure though..

Ahh I see now.. You downloaded the new driver right?
Did you try the one that came with the disc?
If so, when you tried it, did the game run well at that point?

Yea, when you get home I'd try the adaptive power setting and set it to max performance in nvidia control panel.. Me thinks there is your problem..

Trying the old driver couldn't hurt either, it does happen..

About your case air flow. You sound like you have a lot of fans.. Is your ambient temp cold in your house or is it hot/warm?

You live in Canada, in almost October, so I know it's not hot.. Don't worry about heat yet too much
but check when you can.
You know what, your method works!!! I changed the power management option and now it works flawlessly. Under 100% usage, I have ~63C on my GPU!!

Thank you so much for your help! But I'll come back to this topic if I stupidly do something wrong T_T
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,161 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,711
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#34
Memory leaks are a fairly common problem in some games. How much RAM are you running and do you reboot to help free up RAM before playing? Also what size page file do you use and is the drive defragged?

I actually disable all fetching except for boot fetching to help keep more free RAM available. Some have argued the need to do that, but in my findings W7's fetching is a RAM hog.

We did a test on my friend's rig and after disabling all but boot fetching, the lag he was getting in Crysis cleared up. I was also shocked at how little difference there is in launching apps with it disabled, esp considering how much RAM is sucks up.

Note that there is also a very good defragging tool that's Windows certified which defrags sys files on reboot, including the page file. It's called Perfect Disk.

I suspect the Black Mesa mod, or certain uploads of it being reported corrupt archives, are causing similar problems, and yes, as MailMan said, I have had the same issues with Skyrim. I've been able to clear up such problems with Black Mesa via a reboot and defrag.

Upon defragging, Black Mesa files were the ones most fragmented. Aside from memory leaks, some games are horrible at fragmenting files written to the file page. I suspect those with memory leaks typcally have that problem too.

Lots of people rave about HL having a very liberal save writing feature, being able to quick save wherever and whenever you want. Yeah well it also has a quirky audio stutter when loading saves, indicating maybe it's trying to store them too quickly and fragmented. Google for Black Mesa videos and you'll see what I mean, audio stutter when loading saves is common.

It's kinda a bitch that one should have to use a minimum of 8GB RAM largely to account for poor coding, but what can you do? I built my X58 based rig with 6GB, and often times I wish I'd waited for 1155 and gone with 8GB.

Game engines can vary so much in what they do well and what they do horribly. I think a lot of devs get so caught up in what they want their engines to do that they don't take enough time to do proper performance testing along the way, and when they do, it's often on a best case scenario system than most can't afford.
 
Last edited:

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#35
Check the power properties of the system in windows control panel. PCs really dont need power saving functions like laptops or net tops or tablets do
 

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#36
Memory leaks are a fairly common problem in some games. How much RAM are you running and do you reboot to help free up RAM before playing? Also what size page file do you use and is the drive defragged?

I actually disable all fetching except for boot fetching to help keep more free RAM available. Some have argued the need to do that, but in my findings W7's fetching is a RAM hog.

We did a test on my friend's rig and after disabling all but boot fetching, the lag he was getting in Crysis cleared up. I was also shocked at how little difference there is in launching apps with it disabled, esp considering how much RAM is sucks up.

Note that there is also a very good defragging tool that's Windows certified which defrags sys files on reboot, including the page file. It's called Perfect Disk.

I suspect the Black Mesa mod, or certain uploads of it being reported corrupt archives, are causing similar problems, and yes, as MailMan said, I have had the same issues with Skyrim. I've been able to clear up such problems with Black Mesa via a reboot and defrag.

Upon defragging, Black Mesa files were the ones most fragmented. Aside from memory leaks, some games are horrible at fragmenting files written to the file page. I suspect those with memory leaks typcally have that problem too.

Lots of people rave about HL having a very liberal save writing feature, being able to quick save wherever and whenever you want. Yeah well it also has a quirky audio stutter when loading saves, indicating maybe it's trying to store them too quickly and fragmented. Google for Black Mesa videos and you'll see what I mean, audio stutter when loading saves is common.

It's kinda a bitch that one should have to use a minimum of 8GB RAM largely to account for poor coding, but what can you do? I built my X58 based rig with 6GB, and often times I wish I'd waited for 1155 and gone with 8GB.

Game engines can vary so much in what they do well and what they do horribly. I think a lot of devs get so caught up in what they want their engines to do that they don't take enough time to do proper performance testing along the way, and when they do, it's often on a best case scenario system than most can't afford.
Hmm.. I just built this computer 2 weeks ago, so I suspect nothing's wrong. I fixed the issue by setting the power management to maximum.

I have 8GB of RAM.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#37
so are you still having issues?
 

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#38
so are you still having issues?
Oh no, it's working just fine now ! thanks to you guys for help!

So do I need to close this thread or something :D
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#39
glad the issue is solved. I think this should be a Pinned as a solution
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,161 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,711
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#40
Yeah I'm going to try that with my old GTS 250 too, even though it is't the new turbo boost type, there's still such an option in the NCP. Looking to replace it with a 660 Ti soon though.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#41
i honestly feel any desktop should try the Max Power setting for gaming, throttling is a neat idea but if it does it automatically there is a problem, forcing it to run at a spec freq and voltage is better.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,161 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,711
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#42
Personally I'd rather they just stick to boosting and throw throttling out the friggin window entirely. CPUs and GPUs already are dynamic anyway. They idle when no heavy calculations are being performed and ramp up nicely as needed.

There's far more need for boosting than throttling. If there are problems encountered where the GPU is trying to work too hard, then you need to consider a more powerful GPU or lowering settings. The manufacturer shouldn't try and make those adjustments for you.

I'm all for progress, but I'm picturing the fatties on floating chase lounges in WALL-E here. We don't need out tech gear doing EVERYTHING for us.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
3,248 (0.89/day)
Likes
396
System Name Thakk
Processor i7 6700k @ 4.5Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte G1 Z170N ITX
Cooling Deepcool Maelstrom 120k / H55
Memory 16GB Corsair LPX DDR4 2400
Video Card(s) GTX1080ti Founders Ed. AIO Cooled
Storage Corsair Force GT 120GB SSD / Intel 250GB SSD / Samsung Pro 512 SSD / 3TB Seagate SV32
Display(s) Acer Predator X34 100hz IPS Gsync / HTC Vive
Case Cougar QBX mini itx
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150 > Creative Gigaworks T40 > AKG Q701
Power Supply Thermaltake 600w 140mm
Mouse Logitech G900
Keyboard Ducky Shine TKL MX Blue + Vortex PBT Doubleshots
Software Windows 10 64bit
Benchmark Scores http://www.3dmark.com/fs/12108888
#43
Hmm.. better check on those power profiles later.. didn't know that as well
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#44
That i agree upon. I recall with my laptop id manually adjust the clock faster before i started a game so id get max perf and after the game ended id manually adjust it back. Npw when i booted the machine i would have a preset of lower than factory when on battery.

I still have that laptop today- stock gpu clock 350 memory 300. Max overclock at 459 gpu 416 ram. Cpu ran at 3.4 ghz in wall. Throttled back on battery. Dell Inspiron Xps Gen 1.

Personally I'd rather they just stick to boosting and throw throttling out the friggin window entirely. CPUs and GPUs already are dynamic anyway. They idle when no heavy calculations are being performed and ramp up nicely as needed.

There's far more need for boosting than throttling. If there are problems encountered where the GPU is trying to work too hard, then you need to consider a more powerful GPU or lowering settings. The manufacturer shouldn't try and make those adjustments for you.

I'm all for progress, but I'm picturing the fatties on floating chase lounges in WALL-E here. We don't need out tech gear doing EVERYTHING for us.
 

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#45
Personally I'd rather they just stick to boosting and throw throttling out the friggin window entirely. CPUs and GPUs already are dynamic anyway. They idle when no heavy calculations are being performed and ramp up nicely as needed.

There's far more need for boosting than throttling. If there are problems encountered where the GPU is trying to work too hard, then you need to consider a more powerful GPU or lowering settings. The manufacturer shouldn't try and make those adjustments for you.

I'm all for progress, but I'm picturing the fatties on floating chase lounges in WALL-E here. We don't need out tech gear doing EVERYTHING for us.
I second that.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
22,402 (5.82/day)
Likes
8,926
Location
'Merica. The Great SOUTH!
System Name The Mailbox 4.5
Processor Intel i7 2600k @ 4.2GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP5 TH Intel LGA 1155
Cooling Scythe Katana 4
Memory G.SKILL Sniper Series 16GB DDR3 1866: 9-9-9-24
Video Card(s) MSI 1080 "Duke" with 8Gb of RAM. Boost Clock 1847 MHz
Storage 256Gb M4 SSD, 500Gb WD (7200) 128Gb Agelity 4 SSD
Display(s) LG 29" Class 21:9 UltraWide® IPS LED Monitor 2560 x 1080
Case Cooler Master 922 HAF
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX X-Fi with Bose Companion 2 speakers.
Power Supply SeaSonic X Series X650 Gold
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei (RAW) and a Wacom Intuos 4 tablet.
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow
Software Windows 10 Pro (64-bit)
Benchmark Scores Benching is for bitches.
#46
Yeah I'm going to try that with my old GTS 250 too, even though it is't the new turbo boost type, there's still such an option in the NCP. Looking to replace it with a 660 Ti soon though.
I think this is a new 600 series feature. This is the first I have heard of this issue. What he said is normally a symptom of a memory leak. But its good/bad to hear its a new feature in the 600 series. Good it throttles when needed. Bad that is seems to cause an issue.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
19,252 (5.04/day)
Likes
4,830
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
#47
Windows power saving features are a 1 size fits all meaning they dont compensate for all configurations.

Issues are still present with Intel and amd power functions in bios too. For a split second a cpu may throttle back and decrease voltage even though the cpu is well within operating temps and there is a piece of software such as a game that needs all cylinders. Same can happen to todays video cards with power save functions.
 
Joined
Nov 9, 2010
Messages
5,161 (1.99/day)
Likes
1,711
Processor Intel i7 950 @ 3.2GHz
Motherboard ASUS P6X58D-E
Cooling Corsair H50 push/pull
Memory Kingston HyperX 1600 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 7970 OC
Storage Plextor M5P 128GB/WD Black 2x1TB,1x6TB/Seagate 1TB
Display(s) Panasonic TC-L32U3
Case Antec DF-85
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V371 AVR
Power Supply XFX 850w Black Edition
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Logitech K120
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
#48
I think this is a new 600 series feature.
Well I thought so too, but yet my NCP's Power Management is set to Adaptive by default, and let's me change it to "Maximum Performance", so I'm not getting why if it only applies to the 600s that would be the case.

PWM BIOS have been part of video cards for some time regarding fan speeds ramping and dropping, don't know why they couldn't incorporate it into the actual GPU speed since they already ramp up and drop according to needed use.

Maybe the 600s just make more elaborate use of it, but it seems like you could incorporate such a thing in drivers across a range of models.
 

swchoi89

New Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2012
Messages
56 (0.03/day)
Likes
1
Location
Toronto, Canada
Processor i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LK
Cooling CoolerMaster 212+ Hyper
Memory Ripjaw G-Skill 2x 4GB 9-9-9-16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 670 FTW
Storage OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
Display(s) Samsung 27'' LED
Case NZXT Lexa S
Power Supply OCZ 850W Modular
Software Windows 7 64Bit Professional
#49
Well I thought so too, but yet my NCP's Power Management is set to Adaptive by default, and let's me change it to "Maximum Performance", so I'm not getting why if it only applies to the 600s that would be the case.

PWM BIOS have been part of video cards for some time regarding fan speeds ramping and dropping, don't know why they couldn't incorporate it into the actual GPU speed since they already ramp up and drop according to needed use.

Maybe the 600s just make more elaborate use of it, but it seems like you could incorporate such a thing in drivers across a range of models.
Hmm... maybe it's happening to me because I have like 3 games loaded at the same time (my RAM of 8GB is at 80% lol). My GPU Temp reaches well above 61C to 64C.

I don't know about the other guy posted in this thread who's had the same situation