1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wich System Setup is Better?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Azn Tr14dZ, Jun 5, 2006.

  1. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Setup 1: AMD
    Processor: AMD Athlon 64 3000+
    Motherboard:ECS RD480-A939 Skt 939 ATI Radeon XPRESS 200 CrossFire
    HardDrive: Western Digital Caviar 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s
    RAM: Kingston ValueRAM 1GB Dual-Channel PC-3200 RAM
    Lite-On DVD+/-RW
    Lite-On DVD-ROM

    Total Cost: $368.51

    Setup 2: Intel
    Processor: Intel Pentium D 820 2.8GHz
    Motherboard: ECS 945P-A Skt T (LGA 775)
    HardDrive: Western Digital Caviar 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s
    RAM: PQI Turbo 1024MB Dual-Channel DDR2 PC2-5400
    Lite-On DVD+/-RW
    Lite-On DVD-ROM

    Total Cost: $381.95

    Which setup is better? I'm using it for gaming and burning DVDs most of the time. Watching TV also. Which motherboard also overclocks better, that would be a plus. I would want the Pentium D to go from 2.8GHz to around 3.4-3.6GHz and the AMD 64 3000+ to go to around 2.2-2.4GHz. The harddrive is fine, I'll go RAID 0 later on, not now.

    Everything else I have, X800XL, TV/HDTV Tuners, 450 Watt Antec PSU, Super Talent ST833BK Case, Big Typhoon, everything is all good.

    Thanks for the replies, I should be buying soon for second comp.
    -Azn
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. amd64skater

    amd64skater

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2006
    Messages:
    609 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    Jacksonville ,Florida
    i hate to say it

    well i hate to say it even though i am a hardcore amd fan i would use the intel its the better one now if u would have had a better amd chip like an x2 3800 or better then i would say use the amd but u r pitting a dual core vs a single core to there is no comparing the 2 but for gaming u might still get better play out of the amd than that pentium d but im not sure maybe some one else maybe better to say on that and for overclocking hopefully someone can help u on that also good luck
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    Pentium D OC's very easily, like amd64skater said, you can not beat the Intel Dual Core for the price.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Both are about equal. I would change that HDD for a 250GB SATA2 16mb cache model though. Thaat extra cache makes quite a bit of difference with NCQ.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    If you put the better ram in the AMD system I might go for that, but the intel probably just about edges it for me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. rgrizzard New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Go for the Intel but change from an 820 to a 920.
    This takes the processor from 90 nm to 65 nm, which = lower temps and reduced voltage.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. markkleb Guest

    Get the RedChrome stuff (better and cheaper)
    AMD3000+ $106/Jetway GT4 SLImobo $50/1 Gig Geil Ram $88/ 2 Hitachi Sata2 HDDs Raid0 $92

    $336 (you can always upgrade CPU)

    ECS mobos suck
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 5, 2006
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. NamesDontMatter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    803 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    37
    .... dont get a single core get a pentium dual core, and MARKLEB the ECS 945 Mobo kicks ass, my friend got a Pentium 805 D up to 3.5+ on it. For a budget board that is perfect. Tr14Dz go with your second setup it is perfect man.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Alright, but I might change the 820 to a 920 like you guys said. Will the 920 still be able to overclock to 3.4-3.6GHz?

    The reason why I put 820 is because I could get it for about $100, which isn't bad. I might wait though until Conroe comes out in a few months, then If they lower prices on 920 or 930, I'll get that instead. But will the ECS Motherboard support 65nm dual-cores?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. magibeg

    magibeg

    Joined:
    May 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,052 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    235
    Unless you're in dire need of a new computer i suggest waiting for conroe to come out. The prices of the pentium D's should drop like a rock and if you wanted to spend a bit extra you could get yourself a mid-low range conroe that would probably perform beautifuly.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Not bad but, I wanted the ECS CrossFire motherboards because later on I might get 2 X1800GTO's. I'm not really planning to get any nVidia card or SLI anytime soon.

    BTW guys, would refurbished motherboards still be good? What do they come with?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. markkleb Guest

    I will repeat this one more time ECS SUCKS!!!!!!!
    you may as well get a PC chips.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok then, but what about refurbished/openbox products? They good?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. markkleb Guest

    They are fine, I use refurb for almost all my stuff. Right now the only good crossfire boards are the expensive ones.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. markkleb Guest

  16. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. markkleb Guest

    Dam what a deal,

    Sometimes they do and sometimes they dont..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Cables are cheap anyway so...I might go with that?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. ataraxia New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2006
    Messages:
    75 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    indiana
    ^agreed. also if your on a budget and want a chip ($120.99!!!!!!!!!!!) :eek: that will beat high end chips..get this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16819116001 i have seen benchmarks with this cpu hitting 4.1 on air. :twitch: i would try to find out which board they went with "asus" something??

    here is one review and benchmarks
    http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/05/10/dual_41_ghz_cores/
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    I already said that I can get a Pentium D 820 for $100. I don't want an 805 for $20 more.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. markkleb Guest

    didnt you just say u didnt want a SLI? There are a lot of bad reviews with Abit.

    If ur going SLI "GET THE JETWAY GT4 SLI
    "http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16813153030R

    check the reviews on the Jetway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    yeah..but there aren't any good CF mobos at my price range. I guess I might try out SLI, but will ATI cards have problems/conflicts with SLI mobos?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Ok... I got it. Here's what I'm going to get, just need your guys approval:
    AMD Athlon 64 3000+ -$106.00
    Jetway 939GT4-SLI-G (Openbox) -$45.99
    Corsair ValueSelect 1GB (2x512) DDR RAM PC-3200 -$79.99
    Western Digital Caviar 160GB S-ATA 3GB/s -$64.99
    Lite-On DVD+/-RW -$29.99
    Lite-On DVD-ROM -$19.99

    Total-$346.95

    Later on, I'll probably upgrade to an Athlon 64 3800+ or 4000+. Also, might add another WD 160GB for RAID 0, and 1GB more for RAM, and probably SLI, but that's later on, B-Day or X-Mas probably. Does this sound good for now though?

    Also, will my X800XL have any problems with the Jetway mobo because it has an nVidia Chipset?

    Thanks,
    -Azn
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Azn Tr14dZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2006
    Messages:
    5,298 (1.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    ...is ^ good?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)