• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Win7 SP1 Install issues

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
It's been a couple years since my last post. Anyway,

I am trying to install SP1 on my EEE1000HA. Windows update shows the last installed updates were installed on 12/25/10.
I downloaded SP1 directly from Microsoft, upon attempting to install it fails with a CO_E_SERVER_EXEC_FAILURE(0x80080005) Error.
I ran the troubleshooter to repair Windows Update, no difference. Removed Antivirus, still failed. I tried running SFC /scannow and it errored out with 'cannot start repair service'.

Is there anything that could fix it? Or do I need to reinstall?
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.98/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Have you tried going into safe mode and running sfc in offline mode?
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,875 (0.40/day)
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
Just booted into Safemode to prompt and 'Windows Resource Protection could not start the repair service".

Edit, I have not used Driver Cleaner on this system.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,875 (0.40/day)
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
try it from the disk DVD

to do the in place upgrade start your dvd setup at your win7 desktop select upgrade option ,it will keep your files and settings,you may need to reinstall some drivers .
 
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
6,799 (1.82/day)
http://markparris.co.uk/2011/02/22/windows-7-service-pack-1-installation-failure-error_access_denied0x80070005/

-||- snip
Navigating to C:\Windows\Logs\CBS, I located the log called CBS.log

Opening the log file I searched for the usual negative terms such as failure, denied and error, with Error giving me the most results. I found multiple references in the CBS.log such as these

-||- snip

Opening from the Control Panel, Programs and Features and then by selecting “view installed updates”, I removed all the listed updates that reported ERROR_NOT_FOUND in the CBS.log.

-||- snip
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (0.98/day)
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
Just booted into Safemode to prompt and 'Windows Resource Protection could not start the repair service".
Did you start sfc in offline mode?

Did you use this command line?
sfc /scannow /offbootdir=C:\ /offwindir=c:\windows
 

KennyT772

New Member
Joined
Dec 21, 2005
Messages
3,572 (0.65/day)
System Name Raptor
Processor Intel E8400 Wolfdale @3600
Motherboard Asus P5Q-Pro LGA775
Cooling Zalman CNPS9700
Memory 1024mbx2 Crucial Ballistix DDR800
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT
Storage Seagate 7200.11 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216Wbd and Acer AL1717
Case Gigabyte 3DAurora Black
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Extreme Gamer Faitality
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 500w
I don't currently have access to an install disc (netbook) so I will have to tear into this more once I have access to my usb dvd drive.

Any other options such as CBS.log I will look into. My CBS log is currently 17mb, so it will take some time to dig through.

I am curious why I can't run sfc at all. This installation might simply be too far gone to repair.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 21, 2010
Messages
386 (0.10/day)
Location
Romania
Processor Intel Core i5 4570
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z87-HD3
Cooling Stock
Memory 8GB Kingston ValueRAM CL9 1333MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTS450OC-1GL
Storage 1TB WD Black + 1.5TB WD Black + Kingston V300 120GB
Display(s) T200HD
Case Delux MZ401
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Enermax NAXN 500W
Software Windows 8 Pro x64
Have you tried to install from the SP1 iso you can download from Microsoft through a virtual drive because it might have the missing files and go further with the installation without having to use CD drives or whatsoever. I too get a lot of failed updates and never used the Driver Cleaner on this install so far. As a last resort if you need to reinstall the OS search an SP1 kit and install from there. I've tried and it worked with my non SP1 Ultimate key without problems.
 
Top