• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 issue, restarting Windows 10 can cause a Tecinicolor DWA1230 router to (probably) crash and reboot

Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
400 (0.11/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 20H2
Randomly, after rebooting Windows 10, the router suddenly reboots by itself!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
49,830 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK ARGB block
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
Try disabling the adaptor and re-enabling it, or disconnecting and reconnecting the cable and see if it triggers it

you likely just have a dying router, and this is making it work harder for a brief moment
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
400 (0.11/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 20H2
Try disabling the adaptor and re-enabling it, or disconnecting and reconnecting the cable and see if it triggers it

you likely just have a dying router, and this is making it work harder for a brief moment
I never had that happen during a heavy load, it looks like a firmware bug relating to Windows renegotiating. I never had downloads die, either.

When the issue occurs, it looks exactly like I held down that tiny button on the back for at least 5 seconds! (the reset button)
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
49,830 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK ARGB block
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
I never had that happen during a heavy load, it looks like a firmware bug relating to Windows renegotiating. I never had downloads die, either.

When the issue occurs, it looks exactly like I held down that tiny button on the back for at least 5 seconds! (the reset button)
devices reconnecting and asking for a new IP loads it in a certain way - that could be the way that makes it crash

firmware update it, or replace it
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
400 (0.11/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 20H2
That's what I suspect and didn't recall such thing until recent builds of Windows 10, LOL. And I just got this router in 2018, FFS!
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
49,830 (8.21/day)
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK 240mm RGB AIO | Custom 280mm EK loop
Memory 64GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @ 3800 C16
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB (0.8v 1.8GHz) - EK ARGB block
Storage 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + 500GB 850 Evo
Display(s) Gigabyte G32QC + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (32" 1440p 165Hz/144Hz curved )
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Razer Leviathan + Corsair Void pro RGB, Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Lots of RGB, so you know it's fast.
its got nothing to do with windows 10, its just the time your router has decided to have issues
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
400 (0.11/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 20H2
its got nothing to do with windows 10, its just the time your router has decided to have issues
It at least somewhat looks like the firmware exception'ing because of the way Windows 10 negotiates.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,561 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
its got nothing to do with windows 10, its just the time your router has decided to have issues
I agree with Mussels. This is not an OS issue. I also agree this appears to be your router. However, before buying a new router, note that Ethernet cables are flimsy, cheap, easily damaged but extremely critical network devices. Try a different cable.

Also, Ethernet ports can go bad - perhaps from yanking or tripping over the cable. Try a a different port on your router.

Do other computer's on your network cause this problem? If not, then your computer's Ethernet adaptor could be failing or damaged. You can add a 1Gbps PCIe network adapter for less than $10. Or go USB to Ethernet.
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
400 (0.11/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) Acer KG271U bmiippx
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 x64 20H2
I agree with Mussels. This is not an OS issue. I also agree this appears to be your router. However, before buying a new router, note that Ethernet cables are flimsy, cheap, easily damaged but extremely critical network devices. Try a different cable.

Also, Ethernet ports can go bad - perhaps from yanking or tripping over the cable. Try a a different port on your router.

Do other computer's on your network cause this problem? If not, then your computer's Ethernet adaptor could be failing or damaged. You can add a 1Gbps PCIe network adapter for less than $10. Or go USB to Ethernet.
Nope, the ethernet cable from the router to the PC, is good! No signs of a bad onboard ethernet controller.
 
  • Haha
Reactions: Cai
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
8,561 (1.58/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
That's good, but too bad as that then points back to the router - a more expensive solution.
 
Top