• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 10 Start Button Isnt Working

Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
961 (0.27/day)
Likes
1,092
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor i5-4670k @ 4.4 / i5-4460
Motherboard ASUS z97-AR /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR3 1600 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega / Zotac GTX 980Ti AMP! Omega
Storage 250 GB Crucial SSD MX200, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB WD Red
Display(s) 3x 24" Asus Ve248H LED (5760x1080) / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 7 Home 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
#2
Tried restarting the computer?

Have you tried simply pressing the "Windows" key on the keyboard? Or even a "ctrl + ESC" to see if the Start Menu opens up?
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2014
Messages
1,937 (1.24/day)
Likes
875
Location
USA
System Name $170 family PC, rest was reused old parts.
Processor Ryzen Athlon 200GE @ 3.2Ghz ($55)
Motherboard Biostar A320M Pro ($42)
Memory 8gb (2x4) DDR4 2666 CAS 15-15-15 ($63)
Video Card(s) Vega 3 Integrated
Storage 120GB SSD
Display(s) AOC 22V2H 21.5" Frameless 75hz Freesync
Case Thermaltake View 22
Audio Device(s) Schiit Modi 3 + Custom Tube Amp + Sennheiser HD58X
Power Supply Corsair 750w Bronze
Mouse Roccat Kone AIMO
Keyboard Logitech G610+ Cherry MX Red
Software Ubuntu
#4
I had this problem A LOT in windows 10 fall creators update, but since the new spring creators update its gone away in full. weird stuff lol
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2017
Messages
303 (0.75/day)
Likes
193
Location
Argentina
System Name Desktop4
Processor Intel Core i3-4330
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-B85M-D3H v2.1
Cooling Standard Intel Cooler
Memory 32 GB DDR3 1600 MHz (11-10-10-29 CR2)
Video Card(s) Gigabyte AORUS Radeon RX 580 8 GB
Storage Kingston HyperX Fury 240 GB // Toshiba 2 TB HDD // WD 2 TB HDD
Display(s) LG 22MP55 IPS Display (6-bit + FRC)
Case Corsair Carbide 100R
Audio Device(s) Logitech G430 Headset
Power Supply Corsair CX650M
Mouse Logitech Wireless Mouse M280 // Microsoft Trackball Optical 1.0
Keyboard Microsoft Natural Keyboard 4000
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores CPU-Z: 327.9 ST / 973.8 MT
#5
Either restart the computer or wait a little while. I sometimes clicked on Start and the menu didn't open until after like a minute or so.

Funny how this issue seems to be a Windows 10-only problem. Good job MS, you broke the Start menu for the first time since Windows 95.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,336 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,344
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 18.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
#6
Okay, this is our section, windows users, why is this here?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
15,670 (3.32/day)
Likes
6,154
Location
Piteå
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Cherry MX-Board 3.0
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
#7
I think restarting explorer.exe fixes it as well, iirc.
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
23,862 (6.36/day)
Likes
13,009
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire NITRO+ RX 590 Special Edition 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos 12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#8
ctrl+shift+esc, find explorer.exe and click on restart

If that doesn't work, something more sinister is afoot. I think I saw a freshly erased and reinstalled computer do that. Ended up just reinstalling again and it took care of it.

Okay, this is our section, windows users, why is this here?
There is no "Windows" section.

Thread was a weebit necro'd.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2007
Messages
5,336 (1.29/day)
Likes
1,344
Location
Nelson B.C. Canada
System Name Blacknet
Processor E5-1650 Xeon @ 4.7Ghz
Motherboard Asus P9X79 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14/7case fans
Memory 32gb Gskill 1866 Cas9
Video Card(s) EVGA FTW GTX 980 Ti ACX 2.0+
Storage Toshiba 3TB, x300 Toshiba 5TB, 2x EVO 850 250GB
Display(s) 27" Asus VS278Q, 23" VZ239H IPS
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar MKII+ AKG Q701 Studio Monitors
Power Supply XFX XTR 750 Gold
Mouse Corsair Vengeance M95
Keyboard Cheap Azio
Software Kubuntu 18.10
Benchmark Scores It's linux baby!
#9
Heh, sorry just noticed that necro. But still, we do have a linux section, why a windows question here? Again, sorry, I know he just posted
wrong. It's all still fun in the end.....
 
Top