• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 11 Pro Comes with Built in Load Balancing!!!!

Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
18 (0.10/day)
Location
New Milford, CT 06776
System Name LiQuiDM3tH Main PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz, 3601Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s)
Motherboard ASUSTeK Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Liquid ML360R Addressable RGB Close-Loop AIO CPU Liquid Cooler
Memory 32GB 3200mhz Geil EvoPotenza DDR4 4x4GB+ 2x8GB all in Quad Channel Node and Banks Optimized
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX™ 2060 GAMING OC PRO 6G (rev. 1.0) rev. 2.0
Storage 512GB 970evo Pcie / 2x 3TB Hitachi Deskstar 3 7200rpm Raid0 / 4x 1TB Silicon Power A55 Raid 0
Display(s) Panasonic TH65VX100U 65in Premiere Plasma / 2x LG-27GL850 B27UltraGear 144HZ Nano IPS Displays
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme PCIe 7.1 DTS/Dolby/THX
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W 80+ Platinum Smart RGB Special Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 11 Professional (x64) Build 22581.200
1a.png
1b.png


Was using windows 10 and a few 3rd party programs to load balance multiple Isp connections to my rig at home for the past year. That did work very well after getting it setup and downloading a program to help with the load balance of the multiple connections. Well it was not always the best but walk away after starting some data transfers and Windows 10 and the Load Balancer program would figure it out and be working about 75-95% of full network utilization over the multiple incoming and out going connections to the net.
Now I Switched to Win11 last month and never got around to setting up anything on this new window install and said let's just see what happens when I just connect to 2 Incoming hardwired cable connections and a Wireless connection through Verizon's cellular internet network... leave em set to fully automatic default win11 DHCP ipv6/ipv4 and see how bad it is...well after spending the last few days downloading over 1.5 Terabytes of incoming data and 860GB of outgoing Data , it actually started within a few minutes on merging the 3 Ip connections and hasn't had any issues that I can see..... Really not a single routing table configured or network TAP drivers setup , not a damn thing except saying go ahead win11 have at it....lol I was just sitting here using 2 of the connections tonight and just like 3 connections , the two just seemed to play well together and manage the multiple Ip addresses being fed to the win11 network stack and not any issues... I'm impressed Microsoft, load balance programs cans cost a lot of money not to mention a load balancing piece of hardware lol so its nice to see slapping in a bunch of network cards into a win 11 machine and letting it go to town seems like it may be effort less to get running...
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,925 (8.33/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Curious.

Is it truly merging across the networks, or are specific applications/transfers just binding to one adapter?
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,584 (3.11/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
I wonder if it actually sorts out the rubbish speeds I get at 10Gb.....
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2010
Messages
9,600 (2.14/day)
Location
Jakarta, Indonesia
System Name micropage7
Processor Intel Xeon X3470
Motherboard Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd. P55A-UD3R (Socket 1156)
Cooling Enermax ETS-T40F
Memory Samsung 8.00GB Dual-Channel DDR3
Video Card(s) NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800
Storage V-GEN03AS18EU120GB, Seagate 2 x 1TB and Seagate 4TB
Display(s) Samsung 21 inch LCD Wide Screen
Case Icute Super 18
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte
Power Supply Silverstone 600 Watt
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Sades Excalibur + Taihao keycaps
Software Win 7 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Classified
wait, you run with wifi and ethernet
since it read from different type of connections maybe
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,584 (3.11/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
11,174 (1.84/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
Curious.

Is it truly merging across the networks, or are specific applications/transfers just binding to one adapter?

Also depends on the next hop hardware, most is setup to reject source routed packets so if a packet is sent from one address it almost always has to be returned to the same. As IPv4 becomes more congested I foresee a lot more CGNAT where it’s even harder to load balance without carrier side support.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,925 (8.33/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Also depends on the next hop hardware, most is setup to reject source routed packets so if a packet is sent from one address it almost always has to be returned to the same. As IPv4 becomes more congested I foresee a lot more CGNAT where it’s even harder to load balance without carrier side support.
CGNAT is the default here downunder now, i run IPv6 and stick with one of the few telcos still on direct v4

I mean, my router has an LTE backup connection at 20Mb/5Mb and my main connection is 50/20

If it wasnt a nightmare to reset and change it all, it'd be fun to run a second modem and go ham with a theoretical 70/25 - and all the gigabit people are laughing at me arent they
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2005
Messages
11,174 (1.84/day)
System Name MoFo 2
Processor AMD PhenomII 1100T @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Asus Crosshair IV
Cooling Swiftec 655 pump, Apogee GT,, MCR360mm Rad, 1/2 loop.
Memory 8GB DDR3-2133 @ 1900 8.9.9.24 1T
Video Card(s) HD7970 1250/1750
Storage Agility 3 SSD 6TB RAID 0 on RAID Card
Display(s) 46" 1080P Toshiba LCD
Case Rosewill R6A34-BK modded (thanks to MKmods)
Audio Device(s) ATI HDMI
Power Supply 750W PC Power & Cooling modded (thanks to MKmods)
Software A lot.
Benchmark Scores Its fast. Enough.
CGNAT is the default here downunder now, i run IPv6 and stick with one of the few telcos still on direct v4

I mean, my router has an LTE backup connection at 20Mb/5Mb and my main connection is 50/20

If it wasnt a nightmare to reset and change it all, it'd be fun to run a second modem and go ham with a theoretical 70/25 - and all the gigabit people are laughing at me arent they
Don't feel bad, I pay 80 a month for 25/5 with some blocked ports that they magically know nothing about when asked so one of my VPNs only works on cell tethering.
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,584 (3.11/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
CGNAT is the default here downunder now, i run IPv6 and stick with one of the few telcos still on direct v4

I mean, my router has an LTE backup connection at 20Mb/5Mb and my main connection is 50/20

If it wasnt a nightmare to reset and change it all, it'd be fun to run a second modem and go ham with a theoretical 70/25 - and all the gigabit people are laughing at me arent they
I feel your pain I had a main connection similar to your backup connection..

I was under the impression that you'd either be able to use one or the other, rather than the two connections together?
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,528 (6.67/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
I feel your pain I had a main connection similar to your backup connection..

I was under the impression that you'd either be able to use one or the other, rather than the two connections together?
I rember 98SE having that functionality.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,925 (8.33/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I feel your pain I had a main connection similar to your backup connection..

I was under the impression that you'd either be able to use one or the other, rather than the two connections together?
By default i can only do that yes, but i've modded the router firmware to let me force the backup signal to be always on - then i can use fancy commands to have the wifi run off the LTE with the LAN ports off VDSL - i just never saw any purpose to it

I mean heck i still dont, even a 50/20 connection gets anything i want done in a reasonable time, i dont get the gigabit desire
 

phill

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jun 8, 2011
Messages
12,584 (3.11/day)
Location
Somerset, UK
System Name Not so complete or overkill
Processor Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard Asus Crosshair 8 Hero (Non Wi-Fi)
Cooling Air :(
Memory Patriot 3200MHz 64GB
Video Card(s) 2 x EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC Black Edition
Storage 1 250GB Crucial SSD for OS/Programs, 2 500GB Crucial SSD for Steam and Epic stores
Display(s) 3 x 23" LG IPS panels (can't remember model!!)
Case 10mm thick MDF on plastic risers.. It's kinda a case??
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA P2 1200w
Mouse Corsair thingy
Keyboard Logitec K120......
Software Windows 10
Benchmark Scores I've actually never benched it!! Too busy with WCG and FAH and not gaming!! :( :(
By default i can only do that yes, but i've modded the router firmware to let me force the backup signal to be always on - then i can use fancy commands to have the wifi run off the LTE with the LAN ports off VDSL - i just never saw any purpose to it

I mean heck i still dont, even a 50/20 connection gets anything i want done in a reasonable time, i dont get the gigabit desire
I think that's the problem with mine since I haven't the access with my router, so I can't do anything that way.. I need to switch out my router....

The only reason I went with the '1Gb' connection was simply due to the price... The 450/100 connection was £40 a month, then when I called they had the half price offer on all connections for life, so £40 again for the 950/200 package.. I don't need it, but its very nice to have :) Steam games, downloads that can take the bandwidth (thank you TPU gods!!) just makes everything so much nicer :) If it had stayed at £80, I'd have gone with the 450 package instead :) Nearly 60MB/sec down is pretty decent I think :)
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,925 (8.33/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
I think that's the problem with mine since I haven't the access with my router, so I can't do anything that way.. I need to switch out my router....

The only reason I went with the '1Gb' connection was simply due to the price... The 450/100 connection was £40 a month, then when I called they had the half price offer on all connections for life, so £40 again for the 950/200 package.. I don't need it, but its very nice to have :) Steam games, downloads that can take the bandwidth (thank you TPU gods!!) just makes everything so much nicer :) If it had stayed at £80, I'd have gone with the 450 package instead :) Nearly 60MB/sec down is pretty decent I think :)
The reason people invented this mod, is to force the inbuilt VOIP ports onto the LTE backup at all times, since its low bandwidth but benefits from a constant connection (default 60 second timeout before changing + any VOIP related delays = big issues for work related VOIP)

Telstra here downunder use Technicolor routers with great hardware, and CRIPPLE THE SHIT OUT OF THEM in firmware

people got smart and found ways to forcibly hack them (by pretending to be their always on update server) and unlock not just the stock functions, but add more in that never existed (like binding the LTE backup to a specific LAN port or wifi SSID, or the VOIP ports)

Eventually it reached the point of custom firmwares needing a whole let less Telnet commands

So yeah i buy $20 second hand routers users hate, unlock them and get high end AC1200 routers with LTE backup as long as the original owner stays with that ISP (minimum 2 year contracts says free internet for me, weee. 50GB a month before it slows from 25/5 to 10/1 - with a UPS, i have solid free backup internet)


The tangent from the thread, is that i can have the VDSL to LAN1, the LTE to LAN2 or wifi and then load balance them. If i can be bothered.
 
Joined
Apr 6, 2021
Messages
256 (0.57/day)
Location
Bavaria ⌬ Germany
System Name ✨ Lenovo M700 [Tiny]
Cooling ⚠️ 78,08% N² ⌬ 20,95% O² ⌬ 0,93% Ar ⌬ 0,04% CO²
Audio Device(s) ◐◑ AKG K702 ⌬ FiiO E10K Olympus 2
Mouse ✌️ Corsair M65 RGB Elite [Black] ⌬ Endgame Gear MPC-890 Cordura
Keyboard ⌨ Turtle Beach Impact 500
...well after spending the last few days downloading over 1.5 Terabytes of incoming data and 860GB of outgoing Data...

Dang, are you running a business or a torrent pr0n server farm, lol. o_O
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,925 (8.33/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles (Power efficient, <350W gaming load)
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Just tried confirming this here:

It works
(wifi is 25/5 LTE, wired is 50/20 VDSL. single anime torrent)
1654144605317.png



The catch is: it only works in programs that can run multi threaded connections, speedtests and web browsers dont work, torrent clients do.

felt like every time i closed and opened my browser it'd change which adaptor it was using, which meant it got stuck on the slow one often enough
1654144808585.png
 
Last edited:
Top