1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Windows 7 Home Premium or Ultimate?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by char[] rager, Oct 14, 2010.

  1. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    I am trying to use my reserved PC money to focus primarily on getting around the best current hardware, and I don't really want to pay that much for the operating system.

    I already read Microsoft's official comparison guide, but I still want to know which one to get.

    I am primarily just gaming, surfing the web, running benchmark software, and viewing media.
     
  2. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,259
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    No need for anything more than Home Premium IMO, regardless of what you're going to be doing.

    The extra money could much better be spent on something else
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,071 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,250
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    I couldn't live without Professional. Ultimiate is a waste though.
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  4. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,894 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,171
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    I've used both and don't see a big difference, minus the XP Mode. My preference is to Professional though, all the way. For your uses though, there doesnt look to be a difference.

    MS runs the Windows 7 Professional Upgrade for $65 all day everyday, and occasionally drops it to $29.99 (most recently about a month and a half ago): http://www.microsoft.com/student/en/us/software/windows/default.aspx If it applies to you of course :)
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Batou1986

    Batou1986

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,908 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    659
    Location:
    Baltimore MD
    +1 pro is the way to go
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,755 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,426
    The best thing about Ultimate is that you can switch between languages imo.

    Then it's totally about your needs. I think Home Premium is pretty perfect for my needs, and by the looks of it, yours too.
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Thanks for the replies. I am going to get Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit.
     
  8. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,834 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,450
    the only big difference between pro and home is being able to join domain in pro and some extra features. for home user home premium is enough, home basic isn't bad either
     
  9. [Ion]

    [Ion] WCG Team Assistant

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2009
    Messages:
    13,391 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,259
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
    I think you'll find that that's the best use of your money :toast:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,071 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,250
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Oh there is more than that, some things that I just can't live without when customizing and setting up my home PCs off the top of my head:

    • Local Users and Groups under Computer Managerment
    • Encrypted Files
    • Group Policy Editor
    • Can handle more than 16GB of RAM
    • Remote Desktop
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,834 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,450

    I know but what regular app. requires more than 16 gigs anyway
     
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,071 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,250
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    There isn't a single app now. However, it isn't uncommon for me to be using 6GB+ on my workstation.

    But with my next platform upgrade in a year or two, I will likely move to 16GB+ of RAM, and I will likely continue to use Win7 for at least 5 years. So where will we be in 5 years? What is the point of a 64-bit OS if you still have a relatively small artifical memory limit? There are already desktop PCs today with more than 16GB of RAM.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,894 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,171
    Location:
    Northern CA, USA
    I was so excited about remote desktop until I found out it crashes F@H clients :( Was able to log in and use my computer from my ATT Fuze though- crazy.

    Completely OT: Newtekie, what voltage is your GTX 470 at?
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,071 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,250
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yeah, it really sucks that it crashes F@H GPU clients. The worst part is that it doesn't really crash the client, but kills the WU, and then you get enough bad WUs that the client shuts down for 24 hours... So you can look at it in the tray and think all is well, when really it isn't doing any work.

    I didn't put it on the list though because there are reasonable alternatives, VNC for example. Just like with XP Mode, I actually prefer VMWare Player.

    My GTX470 is at 1.087v, IIRC. I'm not at home right now to check.:toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. Drone

    Drone

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    5,834 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,450
    I know about x64 and it's true. However the lack of software for 64 bit is upsetting. We really should get pure 64bit without looking back at x86. Teh interwebz should be 64 bit too. Plus, time for 128bit isn't that far.
     
  16. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Newegg Link

    Is this a good buy? It is OEM and the disclaimer says:

    Can I use this for my PC upgrade? Will I be able to run Windows Update, play games, or stuff like that?
     
  17. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,755 (3.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,426
    Totally. It's a real license, but it's tied to your computer (or the motherboard actually). If you change your hardware the license expires.
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,071 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,250
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Yes, all that disclaimer is basically saying is that Microsoft won't provide any technical support for it, but that is what the forums are for.:D

    You will be able to do everything you want, that is a full version of the OS, identical to the version that you would get if you went to the store and bought a pre-built computer off the shelf.
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  19. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Believe it or not, I just got around to calculating how much this PC upgrade is going to cost, and if I want to get a 6xxx series ATI when the better ones come out in November, I could really save the 100 USD by not purchasing Windows 7, and just continue to use Vista.

    My question is, are all the features of DirectX 11 fully supported on Vista, or only on Windows 7?
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24,071 (5.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,250
    Location:
    Indiana, USA
    Vista can use DX11 the same as 7.
     
    char[] rager says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  21. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    I just made myself LOL, because, this thread was about me getting Windows 7, but in the end, I decided to stay with Vista.
     
  22. 95Viper

    95Viper

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    5,650 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,638
    Location:
    στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
    char[] rager says thanks.
  23. char[] rager New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    310 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    26
    Location:
    Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Computer Sc
    Holy SHIT, thank you 95Viper for the suggestion.

    I went to ask a buddy of mine here at MIT, and it turns out, just like we got Visual Studio 2010 for like 80 percent off, I can buy Windows 7 Ultimate, OEM though the school, for like around 50 USD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)