• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wireless network adapter for Asus Netbook not working?

Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#1
Hi, I just bought a used (in excellent condition btw) Asus EeePC 900hd Netbook (Intel Celeron M cpu 900mhz) for my wife's birthday and I am getting it all ready to go so she doesn't have too do all the downloading and tweaking to get this baby running smooth. Anyway I am having trouble with the wireless network adapter, it is not recognizing my wireless router or anyone else in the area? This Netbook originally came with XP, but I install Win7 home prem x86 on it. I spoke to the seller and he said he had this issue on Win7 as well and had to search for a Vista driver to get it to work. In the beginning of the installation the os did try to connect to my home network and wanted the password, I put in my WPA password and it denied it:confused: What password do they want? Anyway ended up skipping that part and here I am...does any have this driver or know where I can get it. I have briefly tried to google possible drivers but just came across a bunch of bs.


btw: I do already own an Asus EeePC (but it's newer I think- 900HA with Itel Atom 1.6Ghz cpu) which also had XP, but was install with Win7 home prem by the seller. I never had wireless network issues with that one.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#2
Anyone wanna help me...she gets off work in 2 hours and her birthday is tomorrow:eek: I would hate to say "here is your very own Netbook hunny!....but there is no internet!":( that would be a major B-day FAIL.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#3
It looks like it uses a Realtek wireless 802.11 b/g chip. Try this driver: Realtek Software: Drivers & Utilities

You might have to un-install any other one you have installed, if it is not Realtek. The one from ASUS for XP is an older version (2007) of the Realtek one.
:)

Edit: And, also, the old one contains Vista drivers, but not Windows 7. The wireless chip is a Realtek (or is suppose to be) RTL8187SE. The new one, I linked to, should work.

EDIT Again: Is the little wireless indicator light on? If not, the blue "Fn + F2" (F2 looks like a little radio transmission tower)will toggle it on and off.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#4
Thank you sooooooo much 95Viper:respect: That fixed it! and not a moment to soon, my girl is on her way home from work right now. (just enough time for me to finish up and hide it from her):p
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#5
Back with a new issue and I believe might be related...

Ok so as some of you remember I was having issues with the network drivers (read OP), but got it fix yesterday. Now today when I gave her the Netbook it wouldn't boot up correctly and go straight to black screen. The desktop only come on when I ctrl-alt-del and open Task Manager. Oh it gets better! the wireless network doesn't work anymore:shadedshu and now I'm back to where I started. When I finally get into to the desktop, windows notifies me that my network Firewall is off and Action center is down, but it wont let me turn the Firewall back on:confused: Event Viewer is not working, support and help isn't working, Updates wont to on...... Talk about a crappy birthday present:cry:

This comes up on the screen every couple boots...
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 26, 2008
Messages
4,250 (1.27/day)
Likes
2,802
Location
S.Cali
System Name Freeman's Box (HL2 mod)
Processor Intel core i7 860 @ 3.6Ghz
Motherboard Asus Maximus III Formula P55
Cooling ApogeeXT/EK pump/ 140 rad x2
Memory Kingston HyperX 2166 8Gb
Video Card(s) Evga SSC GTX 970 4Gb
Storage SSD 840 250Gb, WD 640Gb
Display(s) 32" Samsung SyncMaster
Case NZXT Tempest Case
Audio Device(s) Creative SupremeFX
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W
Mouse Razer DeathAdder
Keyboard Razer Tarantula
Software Win.7 Home Prem. x64
Benchmark Scores Good enough ;)
#6
Ok I said f*ck it and was going to reinstall the OS, but it wants to save the os in its own folder:wtf: would I be able to use the same key again? AND even with the ethernet plugged there is still no connection!

This is driving crazy...:banghead:
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,661 (1.67/day)
Likes
2,609
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#7
Ewww, looks like mis-behavin' drivers...

Try turning off UAC. Then, see if you can control the firewall and other stuff.

Goto device manager and see which devices have an exclamation point by them. Right click on the device and un-install the device. Then, goto to the menu, at the top of device manager and scan for new hardware. See if that corrects itself, if not, then maybe...

You might have to wipe it and re-install. And, start over, could be some setting in the registry screwing with the setup. Yes, you should be able to use the key again, it is your key.

This time don't enter the key until you get it stable (just press next or continue at the enter key prompt). You can use the OS for XX days before it goes into limp mode.

You may need to install the LAN driver, as well as the WLAN driver, to get the LAN working.

Seems... Windows 7 is hit and miss with that netbook, most are having troubles like you.

Here is a link to the Asus forum.
Info here may help in aquiring the correct chipset, graphic drivers, etc.:)
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,911 (2.48/day)
Likes
5,126
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#8
Time to nuke it and start over. The key wont be an issue, you can wait like ^ or just call MS if it doesnt activate and go through their automated phone system.