• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wrong flash hd 4870 palit

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Hello, I have a Palit HD4870 sonic dual édition 512 & I flash the the turbo mode with a diamond bios (I know not a good idea since the begining... but I try to modifiy the original by my self and it was not as good as I'll want) & it don't work, so now I can't put the turbo mode anymore, it's stay me the other one but I don't want to touch him...
My question is, do someone know how to reflash the turbo mode, I can't boot on him at all... ?

Sorry if I'm not talking good... I'm french
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Up, anyone know how to reflash just the turbo mode witch didn't boot ?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.52/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
I waiting on one of these 2 figure this out.

Let me send in a email to PALiT.


I don't know if you can flash it by using atiflash -p -f 1 filename(zero being the first card 1 being the 2ed)I think it turns it all the way off.


I've been busy, but I'm trying to figure out how to make a blind flash CD. I think I know how to do it, and just need to place it all together.
 
Last edited:

Darren

New Member
Joined
Feb 27, 2005
Messages
1,936 (0.28/day)
System Name Cheap yet powerful gaming and entertainment rig!
Processor AMD Athlon 3800+ X2 Windsor, 1 MB L2 Cache (512k L2 Per Core), 65W Energy efficient, 2GHz @ 2.78 Ghz
Motherboard Asrock ALiveNF7G-HD720p Rev v5.0
Cooling Freezer 64, 2x120mm, 1x92mm
Memory 8 GB DDRII PC6400 @ 929 MHz OCZ (2GBx4) timing: 5-5-5-5-16-2T
Video Card(s) XFX ATI4830
Storage Seagate 320 GB SATA (16 MB Cache)
Display(s) 19' HannsG (1440x900 @ 75hz)
Case Coolermaster Elite 330 Black Case
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Meridian, Pioneer VSX-516 Receiver 7.1 with DD/DD EX/Prologic II/DTS/DTS-ES//DTS: Neo
Power Supply Cool Master eXtreme Power 460W PSU
Software Vista Ultimate X64 Corporate Edition
Hello, I have a Palit HD4870 sonic dual édition 512 & I flash the the turbo mode with a diamond bios (I know not a good idea since the begining... but I try to modifiy the original by my self and it was not as good as I'll want) & it don't work, so now I can't put the turbo mode anymore, it's stay me the other one but I don't want to touch him...
My question is, do someone know how to reflash the turbo mode, I can't boot on him at all... ?

Sorry if I'm not talking good... I'm french


Find an old PCI graphics card, you can usually find on eBay for cheap. Stick in the PCI graphics card and your broken 4870 at the same time. Make sure you have a bootable floppy ready with ATI flash and the original bios file on the floppy and flash the card as normal.
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Thx for helping me, so with ATIFlash with 1 to flash the second card... ok I'll try right now.
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.52/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
let us know if it worked or not please.
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
So I haven't my bootable usb on me for now so I'll try tonight... Try to boot with the old card and the palit... work a a lil' time but it sounds good... I'll give you news when it will be done.
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
DaMulta you say in our thread that you put around 1.3v to our 4870, how did you do to up the gpu voltage ?
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.52/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Allready try with RBE 1.15, but this soft seems don't like my palit & the gpu voltage is 1.263 max in this one & the 1.16 doesn't work for me ("out of memory")... so I'll wait the RBE fix to play with bios again...
Today I'll put back old bios with atiflash.
Result soon...
 

DaMulta

My stars went supernova
Joined
Aug 3, 2006
Messages
16,168 (2.52/day)
Location
Oklahoma T-Town
System Name Work in progress
Processor AMD 955---4Ghz
Motherboard MSi GD70
Cooling OcZ Phase/water
Memory Crucial2GB kit (1GBx2), Ballistix 240-pin DIMM, DDR3 PC3-16000
Video Card(s) CrossfireX 2 X HD 4890 1GB OCed to 1000Mhz
Storage SSD 64GB
Display(s) Envision 24'' 1920x1200
Case Using the desk ATM
Audio Device(s) Sucky onboard for now :(
Power Supply 1000W TruePower Quattro
How did you rip your bios?

Did you use GPU-Z?


How did you end up re flashing your card?
 

Fastmix

New Member
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
627 (0.11/day)
Location
The Kingdom of Heaven
Up, anyone know how to reflash just the turbo mode witch didn't boot ?

What about if you boot in normal mode with a bootable device such as usb stick of floppy containing atiflash and the bios, then type "atiflash -p o 4870.bin", switch to turbo mode and hit enter........in theory is like a blindflash and it should work.
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Thx I'll try like that...
For bios mod I use RBE & to extract my bios I try with GPU-Z & with the one on this website for my card... but they don't want to let me up gpu voltage.
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Sorry thx for help, but now my pc don't want to star at all, nothing happened :eek:... I just put off the card like yesterday & the day before & plug an adaptator on the second fan, connect the adaptator & the card... try to turn on... &... nothing at all. I install ccc 8.10 around 1h before but it start just after...
My pc want to blast my balls... :banghead:
Thx for helping me :toast:
 

tress972

New Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2008
Messages
19 (0.00/day)
System Name -
Processor Q6600 @ 3.2Ghz
Motherboard Gygabyte EX38-DS4
Cooling Sunbeam Core-Contact Freezer
Memory Crucial Ballistix PC-8500
Video Card(s) HD4870 Palit Sonid Duall Edidition 512Mo
Power Supply Corsair TX750W
Software XP Professionnal SP3
Benchmark Scores Super PI/ 1M : @ 3.6 ---> 14.469 - @ 3.2 ---> 16.022 / 3dMark06 : @800 - 1100 ---> 15 969
Power Supply dead, thx for help, will work, I'll try to switch before and to flash like 2nd card... will work I think... answer in a few time...
 

4870

New Member
Joined
Nov 29, 2008
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Hey, i think i've got similar problem.

Got 4870 palit sonic dual bios 512mb, i flashed "turbo bios" exactly like it says here http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=672474
and with "top asus 4870 bios" and card is not botting.. had to switch to second bios (thanks palit for dual bios :D).
So what can i do to save the turbo bios?? is there a way to ressurrect it?
Only 100% sure ways please, i dont want to return another card.. (had faulty sapphire 4870 already).
 
Top