1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Wrong wi-fi icon?

Discussion in 'General Software' started by Black Panther, Aug 22, 2012.

  1. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,934 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    I have my 'old' Black Panther system now connected by a wi-fi dongle.

    There isn't a networking problem here, because the pc gets online with no problem.

    However the bottom-right icon (near the clock) shows the symbol for not connected - 5 empty bars and a red cross over them.
    Mousing over the icon it says 'network - internet access' :confused: And there is internet.

    Why isn't the correct icon showing up? :wtf:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. temp02 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2009
    Messages:
    493 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    166
    Does it show the small red cross over any connection icon under Network Connections (Windows + R -> ncpa.cpl)? If it does, disable that one and see if the task-bar icon remains the same.
     
  3. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,934 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    Here's what I'm getting so far:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]



    Now with Windows + R -> ncpa.cpl

    [​IMG]

    I think the problem lies with this last photo? When I saw it I kept right-clicking on the "Broadband Connection" and selecting to remove it from default, but it still maintains the green ticked icon there...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    24,269 (5.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,086
    what if you try a simple disabling of the wifi network connection then enable it again and see if the icons change? It shows the Broadband connection as disabled anyways, so I cant think that would effect the icon status of the enabled wi-fi.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderatorâ„¢ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,934 (2.39/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,202
    Done. No-go. :ohwell:

    Edit: I think I solved it by deleting the 'Broadband connection' altogether

    Wth the pc got confused? I was connecting through wifi yet wifi says not connected and broadband connection was connected? :wtf:
     
    Last edited: Aug 22, 2012
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. ThE_MaD_ShOt

    ThE_MaD_ShOt

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    5,975 (2.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,293
    Location:
    Hi! I'm from the Internet
    I was just going to say it might have something to do with the broadband connection that is not being used.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)